This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs Muriel B from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

To say "A Dream Come True" is to Understate..

Kenya and 2 other countries between 30 Aug 2017 and 13 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"I feel so lucky and grateful to have made acquaintance with Justin Huff from Expert Africa. His knowledge was so thorough and immediate that I knew I had to take advantage of his service to plan our African adventure-- even to the extent that I risked a relationship with a very important friend who is a travel agent. I just didn't want to make any mistakes, traveling so far and at such expense!

We met someone on our trip who had spent the equivalent of four months at a full time job researching his trip to Africa, rejecting agency after agency when they didn't include or provide the amenities that this man deemed essential to a perfect safari. I was BEYOND DELIGHTED to learn that every single thing this man had learned was the best way to go, Justin at Expert Africa had included in our trip to the extent that it was literally perfect. I don't think I can put it any more succinctly than that.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Only one. I felt that canvas wallet you provided was a tad excessive, as I have no future use for it, and didn't really need it during the trip. Maybe others feel differently, but I do plan to send ours back.

Thank you so much for running a fantastic operation!"

Macushla House

Macushla House

"Outstanding Service and Great Location"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"We were absolutely delighted with the kind, generous staff here who welcomed us upon our late arrival and was willing to rustle us up some grub close to 11 p.m. They also made a point to learn how to make our favorite cocktails. Their willingness to make us happy was charming and very pleasing.

We were super happy to find out that the Giraffe Center was just minutes away, as well as the Elephant Orphanage. The room was large and the accommodations were very comfortable and clean."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tortilis Camp

Tortilis Camp

"Fantastic Management and Staff!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"We absolutely loved Graeme and Candy, the camp managers. They were so warm and hospitable, with a fabulous sense of humor as well.

Our guide, Alex, provided us with exceptional experiences from the moment we arrived at the humble little airport. I am confident that Alex's love of elephants allowed us to get closer to and feel the elephants at much greater depth than we would have under different circumstances.

This was a great camp to start at, with the local watering hole providing an ever changing vista of wildlife. Our tent was so nice. Our room attendant charming. All I can do is sigh and wish I were there right now.

The trip we made to the local Maasai village and school was educational and life-changing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

"The Bird Song was Extraordinary!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"This is an excellent camp to visit if you are interested in seeing rhinos!

The staff was kind and the guides knowledgeable. We had our most extraordinary lion experience on safari here -- witnessing a kill from start to finish. Our guide worked extra hard to ensure that we made fantastic memories!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

"Like Living a Dream..."

4 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2017
"I am overwhelmed by the prospect of having to adequately review Cottar's Camp. This was, by far, the most exceptional part of our African adventure. From the time we were greeted at the airstrip by the beautiful Maasai guide, Maku, until we had to say farewell, there was nothing in these four days short of pure magic.

The camp itself is exquisite. I absolutely loved the colonial motif, and was fascinated by the stories of the Cottar family's life in Africa for something like five generations. We were lucky to meet Calvin Cottar who is a wonderful, generous, worldly man. It was our 20th Anniversary, and the camp went to great lengths to give us a special experience, which I will not share because I don't want others to compare their experience to ours.

We stayed in the impossibly romantic Honeymoon Tent and indulged in the complimentary "Bush Bath" which will always be a peak memory. The view from the room was breath-taking, the bed as comfortable as one can imagine, and the shower hot and voluminous.

The meals were served European style, at one large table. There we met and dined with lovely folks from the U.S., Europe and Africa-- and just enjoyed the company and conversation so very, very much. The food was perfectly fresh and delicious.

I actually cried leaving here. This is a destination that will capture your imagination and soul."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Fine for a Practical Stay..."

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"We spent one night here to accommodate an early flight.

The bathroom floor was lethal slick when wet. Beware.

The food in the lobby lounge was expensive and dull."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"ROMANTIC!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We wondered where, exactly, we were going because the surrounding area seemed very ordinary. Even pulling into the parking lot, the wow factor was missing-- but, enter the camp and prepare to be dazzled. Set along the Zambezi river, every detail here has a touch of romance in mind. The views are spectacular. The staff is so professional and accommodating. And the activities are many and interesting to choose from!

We were blessed to be staying in the villa, which we had no idea about prior-- (thank you Justin!) and had our own private pool. There are lots of hippos in the area, which adds another element of excitement.

The dining tables are scattered far enough away from each other to allow plenty of privacy, imagine candlelit dinners, being serenaded by fabulous local acapella talent, listening to hippos grunting nearby. Just dreamy...

I had one of the best massages of my life here!

Even if you and your significant other aren't madly in love, you will leave here feeling more tender toward each other at the very least."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

"You won't want to Check Out..."

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Prepare to be greeted and treated with pure class from the moment you arrive until check-out. Excellently sited walking distance to so many interesting places in the Marina District.

I regret never getting to try the gorgeous looking carrot cake in the library!

The complimentary breakfast was off the charts."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team