This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp

Reviews of Tortilis Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tortilis Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tortilis Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

14% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

88% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Oryx

38% success

Eland

29% success

Aardvark

14% success

Gerenuk

13% success

Pangolin

13% success

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
SueD
UK

"elephant heaven"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2020
"Liked my tent, the grounds and the setting. The highlight of my stay was having Joseph as my guide, he was totally brilliant and a lovely man. Kibeki was a great waiter. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mrs Jana
Berlin

"A Perfect Stay with a perfect view"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"This was a perfect organuzed stay with a incredible view of the Kilimandscharo, every day game drives in my own car with my own driver, best food ever and the best managmant couple I ever met. We celebrated the 30th anuary of falling down the wall and for me it was a very emotional evening." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

3 sightings

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Style without substance!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"This camp bears all the hallmarks of an establishment that treats guests as clients which could not be said of the other two camps in Meru and Masai Mara.

The hosts based on our experience do not engage with the guests other that on a superficial level. On our last night when we were enjoying supper we were abruptly informed to clear our room by 10:00 am and comeback early from our last game drive. We were told this is camp policy. It is also camp policy to restrict sundowners until the last night!!

On a positive note our guide was very good and we had some excellent opportunities bird watching. In addition the Elephant interactions and sightings were excellent and the best we have ever experienced in 12 years of travelling to Africa." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr W
Canada

"In the shadow of Kilimanjaro"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"Only shortfall of this camp is the long steep incline from rooms to central amenities. Motor transport was provided for me to and from our room but this may not have been practical for others located in area with no road access." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs S.
Datchet

"Tortilis Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Nothing can prepare you for the view that Tortilis camp offers. The dining area faces Kilimanjaro and we were lucky to be able to see the mountain every day (it wasn't shrouded in mist!).

There is a man made watering hole which attracts animals. Our tent was vast with a very comfortable bed. No view of the mountain though.

The food was satisfactory. Usually soup and then a buffet.

We were struck at the variety of terrain in Amboseli from swamp to moon like landscape." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Two Travellers
UK

"Tortilis Camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2019
"Our principal reason for wanting to visit Amboseli was to see elephants, and our wish was more than fulfilled - though it was also great just to sit quietly and take in the sheer numbers and variety of birds which vied for attention with them in the swampy areas. We also enjoyed the sight of hundreds of flamingoes which was a really stunning spectacle. It was good to have the option of game drives in the Kitirua conservancy though to be honest I think we had better luck game viewing in the park itself, which luckily did not seem as busy with other visitors as we thought it might be.

Unfortunately Kilimanjaro remained pretty well shrouded in cloud for most of our stay, but it was obvious that the view of it from the camp would have been amazing had it been more visible. As well as having a fantastic location, the camp itself was immaculately maintained and the food excellent, though as with Elsa's I think the atmosphere must inevitably be very different in high season when the camp is full. We very much appreciated the charming and understated hosting of Candy and Graeme, and along with our guide Patrick, wanted to express particular thanks to Jackson who not only looked after us so ably at mealtimes but also led us on a very enjoyable bush walk on the last morning of our stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr H
Sussex

"Tortilis Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"Amazing views of flamingoes as we flew in. Excellent guide. Safe camp.

Friendly, helpful staff. Good views of the water hole with several visitors at night.

Watched lions mating.

Had opportunity to visit Maasai village. Valuable experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs P
Horsham

"Tortillas camp in Amboseli Conservancy "

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"Loved this place, unfortunately we never got a very good view of Kilimanjaro which I really wanted to see as Peter had climbed this 10 years ago. However wonderful wildlife - and birds - flamingoes were stunning.

Lions, cheetahs, hippos buffalo, elephants giraffe wildebeest, hyena gazelles, Secretary bird.

Brilliant guide, good hosts, great service from all the staff.

Visited local village, felt slightly pressured as on my own with one of the chief's sons as we were shown all the handicrafts" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs Jane C
USA

"Respite in the dust"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2017
"Exciting location on the edge of the national park. Beautiful tents. Great guide, Boni. Staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast in the bush was a great treat.

Food otherwise just OK. Barbecue meat tough. Mixed drinks weak." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Tortillas Camp – Excellent Base for Amboseli"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"Tortilis Camp has an excellent location on a hillside facing Kilimanjaro and overlooking a small waterhole, just outside the Amboseli park boundary – although this is something of a technicality as there is no noticeable boundary, other than at the entrance to the camp itself. It is a fenced camp, so there are no restrictions on walking around, during daylight or evening hours.

The accommodation, as is fairly typical for tented camps in our experience, comprises a spacious tent pitched on a solid base with a thatched outer roof, incorporating a bathroom at the back, behind the (very comfortable) double bed, and opening onto an outdoor sitting area at the front. There is a good degree of separation and vegetation between tents to provide privacy. From our tent we had views of Kilimanjaro – when it wasn't shrouded in cloud – but we were not able to see the waterhole or anything much of the wildlife that came to visit it. However, up at the main lounge / bar / restaurant area there was a better view and we were able to watch various animals come to drink, including some elephants while we were having lunch, one day!

The food was excellent, with a good range of options. Buffet for breakfast and lunch; à la carte in the evening. One morning's game drive included a bush breakfast, which was very pleasant out on the plane in the shade of a tree, looking at Kilimanjaro before the clouds rolled in. This was also outside of the park boundary, which again was something of a technicality and it certainly did not deter the family of 3 cheetahs that we saw immediately afterwards. (Maybe they fancied one of the cooked-to-order omelettes?)

The activities provided by the camp were morning and evening game drives, which were in an open-sided safari vehicle with a canvas roof for shade. At this time of year most of the park is a dustbowl except for the areas around the lake and marshes, which are what makes Amboseli such a magnet for wildlife – and tourists, although we were not overly aware of too many of those at the various sightings where we stopped to view the wildlife. There were lots of elephants, hippos, buffalo, wildebeest, various antelopes and giraffes, and loads of birds, both waterfowl and other species. We are not mad-keen bird watchers but easily spotted at least 40 different species without trying particularly hard.

Although the water provided by the lake and marshes makes for great wildlife densities at this time of year, there was not a huge variety and predators, in particular, seemed to be difficult to find. We were fortunate to see the cheetahs after our bush breakfast, and the same 3 the following morning as well, as it happened, as they had not moved that far away. We also had two hyena sightings, including a cub which had popped up from its den. However, the variety of birds was extensive and perhaps the one area where our guide could improve his knowledge. We are not expert ornithologists by any means but our experience on previous safaris elsewhere has been that the guides have a pretty good eye and knowledge of what they are looking at – that is why they are safari guides! They may not know everything (who does?) but usually have a good initial idea, with the relevant well-thumbed guidebooks on-hand for confirmation. It was slightly disconcerting, therefore, to have occasions when we would see a bird and appear to have more of an idea about it than our guide. For example: asking what type of bee-eater we were looking at, to be told it was a fly-catcher because the single page quick ID guide said so, was not really very good. (For the record, when we persuaded our guide to look the bird up properly in his guidebook, it was confirmed as a cinnamon chested bee-eater.) In conversation we understood from our guide that he had been working in Amboseli for 20 years; we would expect a slightly better grasp of the local birdlife after all that time.

This last point aside, our guide's general abilities in terms of driving us around safely, knowing the geography of the park and surrounding areas, and looking for and finding animals, were absolutely fine. He also drove us safely all the way to our rendezvous at the Tsavo West gate as part of our transfer at the end of our stay." See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
94%
14 reviews of Tortilis Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
11
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Amboseli and the Chyulu Hills

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Porini Amboseli Camp

Porini Amboseli Camp

Porini Amboseli is a small and homely community-staffed eco-camp located in the Selankay Conservancy.


93% (11 reviews)
Selenkay Adventure Camp

Selenkay Adventure

Selenkay Adventure Camp is the dome-tent satellite camp of Porini Amboseli Camp, located in the Maasai-owned Selenkay Conservancy, one of the oldest community wildlife conservancies in Kenya.


100% (4 reviews)
Campi ya Kanzi

Campi ya Kanzi

Campi ya Kanzi is a very well integrated, eco-friendly bush lodge and tented camp on the slopes of the Chyulu Hills in its own, 1000-square-kilometre Maasai conservancy.


90% (4 reviews)
Satao Elerai

Satao Elerai

The closest camp in Kenya to Mount Kilimanjaro, Satao Elerai is located in its own, private conservancy, the Elerai Conservation Area, just outside Amboseli National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Ol Donyo Lodge

Ol Donyo Lodge

Ol Donyo is a luxurious and innovative designer safari lodge with magnificent views and excellent walking, riding and wildlife country in its own private conservancy.


100% (1 review)
Tawi Lodge

Tawi Lodge

Tawi Lodge is modern, luxury safari lodge on a private wildlife conservancy in the Amboseli ecosystem in southern Kenya.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa