This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp

Reviews of Tortilis Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tortilis Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tortilis Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

58% success

Wild dog

30% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

83% success

Oryx

55% success

Eland

50% success

Striped Hyena

45% success

Gerenuk

27% success

Aardvark

20% success

Pangolin

18% success

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T & Mr L
Amsterdam

"Tortilis Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2021
"Tortilis was an excellent camp in a lovely situation on the top of a ridge with spectacular views on clear days across the plains to Mount Kilimanjaro. There is a very comfortable open-sided bar area with ample seating where guests are welcome throughout the day. And watching the animals come to the waterhole at all hours is a treat.

The lodge itself is larger than we would normally choose with big tour groups passing through for one or two nights. This did make it feel more commercial than our very intimate Elsa's Kopje experience. But I think this is a consequence of being in Amboseli which is a popular and easily accessible park. However, the camp was extremely well run by Moses and his team and coming from a sister property meant that we didn't need to sign additional paperwork et cetera. They had even called Elsa’s to find out what we were drinking for sundowners so they could suggest the same. And overall we were very well looked after by David and Jackson

Food was less compelling than Elsa's with a pre-prepared buffet lunch with a different theme (middle-East, Indian et cetera) and David was happy to provide excellent sandwiches as an alternative when asked.

By our fifth day we also found we were being offered the same food as day one but the camp explained that most guests were staying for a much shorter period than we were.

As with Elsa's there was a small pool (with lots of birds) and plenty of game to be seen from the room (tent) and from the bar area overlooking the floodlit waterhole. There were a few biting flies at night but nothing too bad.

We were in tent seven which was comfortable but showing some signs of wear and tear. And monkeys were an absolute menace, able to access the tent via the worn velcro flap even when the tent was fully zipped. So we made good use of the monkey proof chest. They took an especial liking to the blue Delft KLM houses we were given by KLM and the chewed wax seals on those houses is a nice souvenir of the trip :-)

This was also the first time we had been to Amboseli and the park itself was a revelation. A range of habitats (quasi-desert, lake bed, swamp and marsh, forest, rocky hills) and the variety of game was enormous. Huge herds of wildebeest and zebra, fantastic elephants and buffalos, plentiful bird life and some lovely cheetah (and in spite of our best efforts we also saw lions). The only downside was the park was very busy with lots of vehicles, especially over the long weekend at the end of our stay.

Our guide Soloman was excellent, again very respectful of our wish to avoid lions and happy to allow us to spend long periods simply watching the big herds of elephants and buffalo. At our request, he was adept at finding quiet areas of the park, away from other vehicles and we never felt rushed. And again it was great to have our own vehicle which maximized flexibility.

One observation about the location of Tortilis. It is quite a distance (45 minutes plus) from the marshy areas of the park which meant that it was almost impossible to get deep into that area in the afternoons. Instead the afternoon drives tended to be more cursory, staying close to the concession where it was possible to drive after 18h when the main park was closed. So the mornings started early with a long drive to the marsh area and lasted six hours or more. This was fine (indeed we had some amazing morning drives) but as a night owl it was a shame that the afternoon excursions were not able to be similarly epic. But lovers of morning drives will the very happy!

One benefit of the early start on our first morning was some jaw-dropping views of Kilimanjaro at sunrise. But be warned. If you see the mountain, be appreciative. We took that view slightly for granted and then never saw the mountain again during our stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Olga
Dubai

"Amazing place in amazing location!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2021
"I had very interesting experience to stay in 5-star tent:).

Wonderfull camp, very professional and friendly staff, perfect service!" See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Pangolin

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr B.
Colorado

"aquatic paradise"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2021
"Amboseli was amazing, there was a virtual carpet of life all about you. The Location of Tortilis was great, on a hill with views of the entire valley. Out of all the places we stayed, the scenery at Amboseli was my favorite. The wildlife may have been a bit further away, but there was always something. Like all of the Elewana collection, the food, service and ambiance were amazing. Ali was a great guide and we had an amazing time with him! Normally we travel more budget conscious, but, this experience has shown us what is possible, and may have spoiled us for truly amazing vacations, destinations, and accommodations." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

E & D
New Mexico

"First nights in Amboseli"

2 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2020
"Due to traveling during the covid pandemic, we didn't really know what to expect in the camps. There were fewer visitors and hence less staff but the level of quality was not diminished in any way.

We loved our bush walk with the experienced guides and shared a great drive with Ben Stilet, a local Maasai guide who joined us in our vehicle. Since we had unintentionally strayed a bit off the beaten path on our first game drive (i.e. gotten lost at night in the deep, dark backside of Amboseli), we were happy to invite Ben to go with us the second time out.

We had wonderful viewings of elephants and hippos, sunk up to their bellies in the swampy grasslands, and all the gazelles, buffalos, flamingos, etc one could ever want to see, all backlit by rainbows." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

SueD
UK

"elephant heaven"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2020
"Liked my tent, the grounds and the setting. The highlight of my stay was having Joseph as my guide, he was totally brilliant and a lovely man. Kibeki was a great waiter. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mrs Jana
Berlin

"A Perfect Stay with a perfect view"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"This was a perfect organuzed stay with a incredible view of the Kilimandscharo, every day game drives in my own car with my own driver, best food ever and the best managmant couple I ever met. We celebrated the 30th anuary of falling down the wall and for me it was a very emotional evening." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

3 sightings

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Style without substance!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"This camp bears all the hallmarks of an establishment that treats guests as clients which could not be said of the other two camps in Meru and Masai Mara.

The hosts based on our experience do not engage with the guests other that on a superficial level. On our last night when we were enjoying supper we were abruptly informed to clear our room by 10:00 am and comeback early from our last game drive. We were told this is camp policy. It is also camp policy to restrict sundowners until the last night!!

On a positive note our guide was very good and we had some excellent opportunities bird watching. In addition the Elephant interactions and sightings were excellent and the best we have ever experienced in 12 years of travelling to Africa." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr W
Canada

"In the shadow of Kilimanjaro"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"Only shortfall of this camp is the long steep incline from rooms to central amenities. Motor transport was provided for me to and from our room but this may not have been practical for others located in area with no road access." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs S.
Datchet

"Tortilis Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Nothing can prepare you for the view that Tortilis camp offers. The dining area faces Kilimanjaro and we were lucky to be able to see the mountain every day (it wasn't shrouded in mist!).

There is a man made watering hole which attracts animals. Our tent was vast with a very comfortable bed. No view of the mountain though.

The food was satisfactory. Usually soup and then a buffet.

We were struck at the variety of terrain in Amboseli from swamp to moon like landscape." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Two Travellers
UK

"Tortilis Camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2019
"Our principal reason for wanting to visit Amboseli was to see elephants, and our wish was more than fulfilled - though it was also great just to sit quietly and take in the sheer numbers and variety of birds which vied for attention with them in the swampy areas. We also enjoyed the sight of hundreds of flamingoes which was a really stunning spectacle. It was good to have the option of game drives in the Kitirua conservancy though to be honest I think we had better luck game viewing in the park itself, which luckily did not seem as busy with other visitors as we thought it might be.

Unfortunately Kilimanjaro remained pretty well shrouded in cloud for most of our stay, but it was obvious that the view of it from the camp would have been amazing had it been more visible. As well as having a fantastic location, the camp itself was immaculately maintained and the food excellent, though as with Elsa's I think the atmosphere must inevitably be very different in high season when the camp is full. We very much appreciated the charming and understated hosting of Candy and Graeme, and along with our guide Patrick, wanted to express particular thanks to Jackson who not only looked after us so ably at mealtimes but also led us on a very enjoyable bush walk on the last morning of our stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 18
96%
18 reviews of Tortilis Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Amboseli and the Chyulu Hills

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Porini Amboseli Camp

Porini Amboseli Camp

Porini Amboseli is a small and homely community-staffed eco-camp located in the Selankay Conservancy.


93% (11 reviews)
Selenkay Adventure Camp

Selenkay Adventure

Selenkay Adventure Camp is the dome-tent satellite camp of Porini Amboseli Camp, located in the Maasai-owned Selenkay Conservancy, one of the oldest community wildlife conservancies in Kenya.


100% (4 reviews)
Campi ya Kanzi

Campi ya Kanzi

Campi ya Kanzi is a very well integrated, eco-friendly bush lodge and tented camp on the slopes of the Chyulu Hills in its own, 1000-square-kilometre Maasai conservancy.


90% (4 reviews)
Satao Elerai

Satao Elerai

The closest camp in Kenya to Mount Kilimanjaro, Satao Elerai is located in its own, private conservancy, the Elerai Conservation Area, just outside Amboseli National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Tawi Lodge

Tawi Lodge

Tawi Lodge is modern, luxury safari lodge on a private wildlife conservancy in the Amboseli ecosystem in southern Kenya.


100% (1 review)
Ol Donyo Lodge

Ol Donyo Lodge

Ol Donyo is a luxurious and innovative designer safari lodge with magnificent views and excellent walking, riding and wildlife country in its own private conservancy.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa