This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Porini Amboseli Camp
Porini Amboseli Camp
Porini Amboseli Camp
Porini Amboseli Camp
Porini Amboseli Camp
Porini Amboseli Camp

Porini Amboseli Camp


2°20’23.0"S 37°18’16.7"E

Reviews of Porini Amboseli Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Porini Amboseli Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Porini Amboseli Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Gerenuk

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms B
UK

"A good start to our trip"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"Camp is simple but comfortable, tents are quite close together. Organisation and communication in the camp could have been better. Generally our dietary needs were catered for but there were some lapses.

Guiding was good.

The habitat around Selenkay is mostly scrub. Although the density of wildlife is not as great as the Mara, it is still interesting with a range of different species e.g. gerenuk and lesser kudu. Given this, in our opinion this camp is better visited at the start of a safari. Visiting the man-made waterhole added a lot to the stay.

The trip into Amboseli was enjoyable. In both Selenkay and Amboseli the birding was very good and we saw a number of large tuskers (elephants, not beers!)." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Hants

"Excellent safari at Porini Amboseli"

3 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2019
"The camp was everything that we hoped for and exceeded our expectations as it was a simple but very comfortable tented camp. Our guide Amos was very proud of the Masai culture and very knowledgeable about the wildlife. The driver Melita was superb at positioning the vehicle to get the best light for photography.

We loved the sundowners at the waterhole and enjoyed the day out at Amboseli and great to see Kilimanjaro and to get the classic photo shot of elephants in the foreground of Kili, but we appreciated being based in the Selenkay conservancy as we saw no other vehicles.

The food was delicious and of the right quantities.

We enjoyed flying with Yellow Wings to the Selenkay airstrip and sitting in the co pilots seat." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"Fantastic Experience at Porini Amboseli"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2019
"We arrived at Porini Amboseli on schedule and from the first minute the service was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome.

Our tent was comfortable and the location was unbelievable , right in the middle of everything and all the wildlife. The game drives were absolutely first class and we saw such a lot. Our 22 year old grandson was with us and this was his first safari and indeed long haul flight. He was totally amazed with everything.

The food we had was first class as was the service. Our grandson, Toby has to eat gluten free and is vegetarian. The camp coped with this very well indeed and were very careful . We were really impressed. The concept of these Conservancies is excellent and the fact that on the drives you can go off road is ideal and very exciting." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms D
Wellington

"Porini Amboseli"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2017
"Not one of the better camps I've stayed at ! I found the camp a bit disorganised, we were asked to be ready for game drives at a certain time, but our guide was always 15-20 minutes late.

I had chosen this camp because of my love of elephants, very few in the conservancy, and we only went into Amboseli one day for a few hours.

I presume that you passed onto the camp that I was vegetarian, very embarrassing when I asked for a vegetarian meal, it finally arrived when all the other guests had finished eating, and was the same meal they all had, minus the chicken.On the last night the meal was good, so they finally got things right.

I was in the furthest away tent, which is ok, but they would forget about me in the evenings, and I would need to walk to dinner unescorted-- I was ok with this, but for other guests who have not had much bush experience it would have been a frightening experience, especially after they had emphasised the dangers of walking alone after dark.

A small thing, but I never got a clean towel in the 3 days I was there. The second day I purposely left it on the floor, but it still wasn't replaced, just folded and put back on the rack, dirty .

The staff were lovely, I just don't think the management skills were there, things seemed a bit disorganised. This all sounds quite picky when I read back over it, but I have stayed in many different camps over the years, and have very rarely been disappointed." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Porini Amboseli Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2017
"Amboseli is, of course, best known (and rightly so) for its iconic vistas and wonderful elephants. But it should also be highly rated for its birdlife, the primary aim of our trip.

We opted for six nights (more than the norm based on what we saw of other guests while we were there) in part because of the frequency of Kenya Airways flights from Livingstone (where we live) and in part because we wanted to have a decent break and really explore Amboseli and the Selenkay Conservation Area where Porini is based. We are also very interested in camps which are owned and (largely) run by the local community. this being the fourth at which we have stayed in Kenya. Six nights was not too long.

This is not a high end camp. But it is comfortable and offers good standards of service. Acting Manager Daniel did an excellent job while we were there, keeping everything running smoothly. In the mess tent, John ensured that drinks and meals were well provided in a timely manner. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The Conservation Area is a very worthy and well run project. From next to nothing two decades ago the community has created a hub for a whole range of animals - including four of the 'big five'. The game is plentiful and habituated, attracted by permanent water. It lives alongside the Masai cattle which are protected by the lion guardians whose job it is not only to protect the lions but also to keep distance between the two prides and the cattle herds, thereby avoiding clashes between the people and the cats.

The area offers several micro-environments which means that there is a great range of birds there. Add to this Amboseli NP itself, less than an hour drive away, and it isn't surprising that we logged 214 species in our six-night stay, despite being out of peak (ie inward migration) season.

All in all, strongly recommended both in its own right and as a base for exploring the NP." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"Amazing elephants"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"Our visit to Porini Amboseli began with a sighting of a cheetah leading her two cubs to dine on an impala -- a thrilling start to our 4 days there. Wildlife was plentiful, especially around the waterholes that have viewing stands. We enjoyed seeing many elephants, lions, and had our first sighting of the gerenuk, a gazelle that stands on tiptoe to feed in the trees. The area is uncrowded, and we saw few other cars on our game drives.

The camp itself was uncrowded during our visit and we were indeed the only guests one night. Because of that, we were able to have a private car with two guides for each drive. Both of the guides were Maasai from the Mara and had only been in the Amboseli area a short time.

The visit to the national park was probably worthwhile to see the lunar-like landscape and dust devils, but it makes a very long day and of course doesn't allow for driving off road for closer animal sightings. We did enjoy seeing the marsh area, but in the main we wished we had stayed in the Selenkay conservancy for the day.

The camp tents are adequate but not luxurious. The lighting could be improved, and our bucket shower provided plenty of hot water but at a trickle. The food was good, but not exceptional and the staff was gracious and friendly. We chose the Porini camp because of the emphasis placed on Maasai culture, but we didn't find the experience any different than what we experienced at the other Kenya camps we visited where the staff is almost exclusively Maasai. We did the village visit, which was interesting and thankfully non-commercial. But visits of that sort with lots of picture-taking and no ability to communicate with the residents are always a bit awkward.

In general, we had excellent wildlife sightings and good guides, but didn't feel like this camp was one we would return to." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms DGV
W London

"Great Safari adventure"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2016
"Amboseli, was just amazing and life changing. Run my mara people, who were and are all just fantastic, knowledgable, funny and kind.

They don't quite beat the awe of the fantastic wildlife that I was treated to but they certainly add too it and help make it an unforgettable adventure." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Leederville

"Amazing!"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2016
"Simply wonderful. Staff and management were marvellous. The chef was very accommodating to Mary's rather specific dietary needs and took the time and trouble to provide meals she really loved, thank you!

The guides and drivers were excellent, professional and courteous as well as skilled and knowledgable.

Waiting staff may have been a little over-anxious to clear away after meals, sometimes we felt we were a little rushed.
Overall, an amazing experience, and one we could not recommend highly enough." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Stroud

"Elephant heaven at Porini Amboseli Camp"

3 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2016
"A very special moment here as we were able to see the first steps of a newborn baby elephant right behind the camp.

We loved our stay here - the service was friendly and efficient, Julius was a great guide and it was good to know that our stay helped the local villagers to conserve their own way of life and their wildlife.

We were told that the camp was due for an upgrade, but the spacious tent was comfortable and the bucket shower system was good.

Food was simple and unpretentious, and plenty of it." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sarah
Arizona

"Porini Amboseli Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2015
"Porini Amboseli Camp was a wonderful place to stay while exploring the African bush." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 10
92%
10 reviews of Porini Amboseli Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Amboseli and the Chyulu Hills

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tortilis Camp

Tortilis Camp

Tortilis is a finely situated and well built safari camp located in the private Kitirua Consarvancy just outside Amboseli National Park and with wonderful views of Kilimanjaro.


94% (14 reviews)
Selenkay Adventure Camp

Selenkay Adventure

Selenkay Adventure Camp is the dome-tent satellite camp of Porini Amboseli Camp, located in the Maasai-owned Selenkay Conservancy, one of the oldest community wildlife conservancies in Kenya.


100% (4 reviews)
Campi ya Kanzi

Campi ya Kanzi

Campi ya Kanzi is a very well integrated, eco-friendly bush lodge and tented camp on the slopes of the Chyulu Hills in its own, 1000-square-kilometre Maasai conservancy.


90% (4 reviews)
Satao Elerai

Satao Elerai

The closest camp in Kenya to Mount Kilimanjaro, Satao Elerai is located in its own, private conservancy, the Elerai Conservation Area, just outside Amboseli National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Ol Donyo Lodge

Ol Donyo Lodge

Ol Donyo is a luxurious and innovative designer safari lodge with magnificent views and excellent walking, riding and wildlife country in its own private conservancy.


100% (1 review)
Tawi Lodge

Tawi Lodge

Tawi Lodge is modern, luxury safari lodge on a private wildlife conservancy in the Amboseli ecosystem in southern Kenya.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa