This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs T from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

2019 Kenya trip

Kenya between 25 Feb 2019 and 9 Mar 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are now great fans of Porini camps and their concepts.

Wonderful trip and hopefully will be back, when next in Nairobi, to go on safari to other Porini camps or even back to Porini Amboseli and Rhino camps."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Porini Amboseli Camp

Porini Amboseli Camp

"Excellent safari at Porini Amboseli"

3 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2019
"The camp was everything that we hoped for and exceeded our expectations as it was a simple but very comfortable tented camp. Our guide Amos was very proud of the Masai culture and very knowledgeable about the wildlife. The driver Melita was superb at positioning the vehicle to get the best light for photography.

We loved the sundowners at the waterhole and enjoyed the day out at Amboseli and great to see Kilimanjaro and to get the classic photo shot of elephants in the foreground of Kili, but we appreciated being based in the Selenkay conservancy as we saw no other vehicles.

The food was delicious and of the right quantities.

We enjoyed flying with Yellow Wings to the Selenkay airstrip and sitting in the co pilots seat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp

"Porini Rhino Camp excellent safari"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2019
"Highlights were seeing cheetah and her cub, 2 day old giraffe, hyena and her cub, and black backed jackal families one with 4 and one with 6 pups. In addition seeing the 2 types of rhino.

The water hole in front of our tent in camp was very special and we spent all our time whilst in camp watching bush TV!!

The camp was excellent and like the Porini Amboseli was unfenced, simple but comfortable just as we love.

Michael, our driver/guide, was very knowledgeable and we learnt a lot about animal behaviour."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Mar 2016 trip

Kenya between 11 Mar 2016 and 19 Mar 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Again, a very well organised safari by Expert Africa"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 11 Mar 2016
"After a weeks working in Nairobi, it was extremely nice to come to a small but very comfortably and peaceful guesthouse, where one could just switch off from the hetic pace of Nairobi.

My only criticism, which is very small, is it would have been nice to have had a slightly larger bottle of water in the room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Offbeat Meru

Offbeat Meru

"Offbeat Meru review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2016
"Offbeat Meru is exactly what I was expecting, a small rustic tented safari camp which caters for people who want to experience the authentic safari.

Had an excellent guide in Stanley and saw Cheetah and 15 rhinos as well as a large number of giraffes and other game, as well as birds to numerous to mention.

I was well looked after, and on the trip back to the airstrip, Stanley even spotted a leopard tortoise which I had jokingly said that I had wanted to see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

"Offbeat Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2016
"Like its sister camp, Offbeat Meru, this is again a small rustic safari camp, slightly better appointed than the Meru (is that because there are so many other camps in the Masai to choose from), but without loosing that rustic individual charm.

The contrast in the landscape with Meru could not be greater, open plains compared to deeper bush, which is why the 2 camps makes an excellent combination. Lucky enough to see 2 separate prides of lions eating their kill, large herds of Zebra and Gazelles as well as Topi, water buck and different birds to that seen at Meru. Both camps offer morning game drives taking picnic breakfast with you, which makes game drives longer then normal, but does give you the opportunity to stay out and see more wildlife.

An opportunity that I took up on every occasion, and very worthwhile."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 18 Mar 2016
"Lovely relaxing place to come back to after a weeks safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2012 trip

Botswana between 23 Sep 2012 and 6 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fabulous time.

We saw more wildlife than we have seen on previous safaris. We particulary enjoyed our walking and canoeing.
We felt that the standard of the guides and camps was excellent.

We will certainly use Expert Africa when we go to Africa again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Prefer to complete a feedback on paper rather than on-line"

Arranged By Megan Green


Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

"Stanley's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"A very friendly and welcoming camp which was ideal for our first 2 nights. We enjoyed the choir at the camp. We also liked the attention to detail in particularly the decoration of the beds by our housekeeper.

The elephant experience was wonderful and we learnt a lot about elephant behaviour.

It was especially nice to see a pack of wild dogs on one of our game drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

"Selinda Canoe Trail review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2012
"We were initially very disappointed to learn just before we left for Botswana, that the canoe trail had been cancelled due to the low water levels. We were therefore very pleased when Josh, our guide, informed us at the airstrip that we would be after all be able to do part of the trail and include a bush camp for one of the nights.

The other 2 nights we spent at Selinda Explorers Camp, which had just been opened, and was excellent.. Although a bush camp it harks back to the days of old explorers and is glamping rather than camping, sited in a beautiful position. All the staff were wonderful but a particular highlight was Dollar's cooking. We are hoping to swap recipes!!!!

The canoe trail was all that we hoped it to be - and it was an interesting experience to canoe pass hippo pods and to see buffalo so close from the canoe. It was great fun to actually have a night out in the bush and was an experience not to be missed.

Josh was a superb and knowledgeable guide and made you feel very safe whilst on the canoe and on our walks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Selinda Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2012
"The camp is in a beautiful setting and we had the honeymoon suite which was extremely comfortable. It was nice to see a herd of elephants walking around and through the camp. Personally for us, we felt that the camp was slightly too big, and that eating as a large group of 17 guests plus staff around a huge circular table did not work. Unlike at Stanley's camp where you were very discretely asked what your dinner choice was, here you were asked in front of everyone.

Dinner could be served slightly earlier as soon as dessert had been served, there was a rush of people wanting to be escorted back to their rooms.

However it is difficult to judge a camp when you are there for only a day as they all have their own character. Our highlight was seeing the Selinda pride of lions feasting on a buffalo."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Saile Tented Camp

Saile Tented Camp

"Saile Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"This is exactly the type of camp that we like - small, personal. simple rustic bushcamp in a lovely setting. We were very well looked after by Dennis and his team.

The game viewing, whether by vehicle or on foot was excellent, and we probably saw more game here than we have ever done before - huge variety and quantity. The elephant population was vast.

Dennis was our first guide who asked us what our interest were, and based the activities around these and encouraged us to do more walking than we originally thought of doing. Not only did we see mammals but he also showed us a lot of the bird life."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

"Footsteps Across the Delta review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"Again just the sort of camp that we love. The staff were very friendly and the camp was very well run by Changu and her team. There was more attention to detail and the tents were better quality than at Saile. it was a nice surprise to have a birthday cake. We would like to thank Ker & Downey for the complimentary bottle of fizz, However it was the work and effort that the staff put in to make a special meal which we had in a romantic setting which will make it a birthday that will not be forgotten.

The guide, OP, and trainee guide, Aaron were delightful and humorous and were for ever setting us quizzes and tests to test our knowledge on dung and tracks!!! (Judging by our results, their jobs are safe!!).

The most memorable highlight was seeing the 4 male lions and hearing them as they passed camp during the night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team