This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr F & Mrs B from Preston

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

So Many Beautiful Memories

Kenya between 19 Jan 2019 and 26 Jan 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a special trip for our Grandson Toby to celebrate his 21st birthday and originally just myself ( Grandad ) and Toby. However my wife ( Elaine ) managed to come at the last minute and this must have taken a bit of organising so thank you Expert Africa !

Toby`s comments..well " The best week of my life " and one day when we saw a baby impala being born and so many other things was his " best day of my life ".

We all really enjoyed the whole experience and loved the Conservancies and their concept. A very big thank you to Olivia for suggesting these and it was perfect for Toby. A guided walk was one of the highlights and an experience not to be missed.

A superb holiday and we could not fault it !!

No problems at all with the camps dealing with gluten free meals they were meticulous and we were very impressed with this.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just keep employing people like Olivia !!

Just keep on doing what you are doing. We will recommend Expert Africa without reservation. Well done."

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jan 2019
"We were only there a few hours on the first night but the room was good and they organised a packed breakfast box for us as we had to leave early.

Great convenient location."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Porini Amboseli Camp

Porini Amboseli Camp

"Fantastic Experience at Porini Amboseli"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2019
"We arrived at Porini Amboseli on schedule and from the first minute the service was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome.

Our tent was comfortable and the location was unbelievable , right in the middle of everything and all the wildlife. The game drives were absolutely first class and we saw such a lot. Our 22 year old grandson was with us and this was his first safari and indeed long haul flight. He was totally amazed with everything.

The food we had was first class as was the service. Our grandson, Toby has to eat gluten free and is vegetarian. The camp coped with this very well indeed and were very careful . We were really impressed. The concept of these Conservancies is excellent and the fact that on the drives you can go off road is ideal and very exciting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

"Kicheche Valley The Experience of a Lifetime"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2019
"What a fantastic location with great views from the tent and mess tent. The food was restaurant quality and we all loved every meal. Our grandson Toby is gluten free and vegetarian and they coped easily with this and made the food really tasty for him. We visited back of house and saw the kitchens etc and we could see the care they were taking with any eating allergies etc. Very impressive.

The quality of the game drives and knowledge of the guide was absolutely first class.

What a holiday and a wonderful camp with impeccable service. We wholeheartedly recommend Kicheche Valley"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"Emakoko Review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jan 2019
"We spent just a half day there as day guests in readiness for our overnight BA flight home. Originally we intended to visit the giraffe sanctuary but found this would take a long time and it was better for all of us to chill out after a very busy week of game drives etc.

The food was excellent and it was in a great location. However the drive there had some of the worst roads we had seen ! Very bumpy !

Overall a nice ending to a perfect trip but maybe the Emakoko is looking a little bit tired now ?"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

One of Our Best Holidays !

Namibia and 1 other country between 15 Dec 2013 and 2 Jan 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was certainly one of our best ever holidays and up there with New Zealand and Australia. We loved Namibia even though it was the rainy season. The combination of Cape Town and Namibia was perfect. Thank you Expert Africa !

We used Air France from Manchester to Cape Town via Paris and booked this ourselves as we got good deals.

A mention about Wilderness Safaris as they were always helpful when we contacted them. Again thank you."

Acorn House

Acorn House

"Superb Accommodation and Service"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2013
"Our stay at Acorn House exceeded our expectations and although we expected a small room ( the literature says this ) we were given a bungalow with extra space and a lounge area. It was really comfortable and quite luxurious.

We only had a few days in Cape Town so we had to limit our trips but two we wanted to do were visiting Cape Point and going up Table Mountain. Stewart at Acorn House helped us with a trip to Cape Point at really short notice because the weather seemed good down there and it proved to be a superb trip. We managed to go up Table Mountain when the "tablecloth" cleared and dashed up there immediately after breakfast . Acorn House tried to get us on line tickets but they were sold out however we made it up there early and the queue was only 35 minutes ! Great. You should have seen the queue on our way back down at least 3 hours waiting time for the cable car. We walked back from the cable car station to Acorn House and this was a really pleasant walk. The coffee shop/café ( Carlucci`s ) at the end of the road almost opposite Acorn House is really good by the way.
Nelson`s Eye restaurant is within walking distance and excellent for steaks but we found the service a bit lacking. Still a good meal however.

I had arranged with Acorn House to meet us at the airport and this worked like clockwork.

All told we absolutely loved Acorn House and would not hesitate in recommending this to other travellers and if we ever return to Cape Town would certainly stay there again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Excellent Value"

1 night Arrived 18 Dec 2013
"We were surprised by this accommodation as it was classed as budget but we found it really good. Clean, compact with good facilities and an excellent WiFi connection. Certainly very good for a quick one night stay at the end or beginning of a trip.

Breakfast was basic but quite adequate and the staff were very helpful all the time. We had a slight problem with contacting Budget for our car and the receptionist there was very helpful and did this for us .Well done Elegant Guesthouse."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Kalahari Delight"

1 night Arrived 19 Dec 2013
"We loved Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch and the accommodation was idyllic. Nice sundowners and views. In the evening we had a very spectacular storm with lightning. Not too much rain but some. We did the Bushmans Walk and this is highly recommended. A very interesting activity but the morning was cool and so were the bushmen !!!! Their story of the Love Bow and the dual purpose tree for constipation and diarrhoea.... is well worth seeing as the miming is great !!

Visit was one night only but unfortunately marred by the fact my wife lost her mobile smartphone. This only discovered at the next lodge and we immediately contacted Bagatelle as the only place it could have been lost was in the jeep transfer from dune house to our car. Unfortunately they could not find it so this was a bit of a black mark. Someone has it I am afraid."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Really Nice Pool"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2013
"Canon Lodge was an oasis with very good accommodation and facilities. The pool area was really nice. Needed as the temperature was 40 degrees.

Food was good and it was an excellent base to tour Fish River Canyon. A visit to its sister Canon Roadhouse is well worth a stop either for coffee, a meal or just to see the quirky interior based on old cars !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"In the Middle of Nowhere !!!"

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2013
"The drive from Canon Lodge to Helmeringhausen was long and tedious and the c14 was badly rutted so slow going in our 2WD. Some rain had also made the road a little treacherous in places. So when we reached the hotel it was a great relief ! Petrol station there and a store plus post office.

The hotel was ideal for a one night stay en route to the Sesriem area and the room was comfortable and the food good. We did find the room too hot and the fan did not help much however. Try the apple cake it is delicious. A nice touch by Wilderness Safaris as they had put a printed welcome on the room door with our names on."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Lovely Christmas Eve Meal"

2 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2013
"We really liked this accommodation and the views were marvellous. Food and service were first class and in particular we had a really nice evening meal on 24th December which was quite special. We were up early for a trip to the Dunes ( 5.00 am ) as it gets too hot later on and the hotel had made us a packed breakfast which was a nice touch.

The trip to Sossusvlei was well worth it and the scenery spectacular. Many photos were taken ! We took the shuttle jeep from the car park and climbed a dune and entered Dead Vlei ! The temperature was above 40 degrees. Very exhillerating climb/slide down the dune side to get into Dead Vlei. Nice sundowners back at the hotel !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Perfect Place to Stay"

2 nights Arrived 25 Dec 2013
"Everything here was excellent from its position, overall accommodation, breakfasts and service. The owners and staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Many thanks to the gardener for washing our car !! Swakopmund was very busy of course and most of Windhoek were there ! The breakfasts were really good.

The drive from Helmeringhausen down the C14 was long and slow in a 2WD as the road was badly rutted so this was probably our longest day driving at 8 hours ! We were very pleased when Walvis Bay came into view.

Cornerstone Guesthouse was a pleasure to stay at and we have no hesitation in recommending this to other travellers. Would we stay there again ? Yes of course !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Luxury Tents with Views !"

1 night Arrived 27 Dec 2013
"Really worth visiting and we had one of the best tents for views. Good food and a very enjoyable stay, although short.

You really feel close to nature but in a 2WD drive car you have to leave this in the car park away from the lodge and there is no means of contacting them to collect you and your luggage !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Etosha is green !!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2013
"We were surprised by the Main Camp here as we did not expect it to be as good as it was. The room was certainly satisfactory. Food was OK but nothing special however this did not detract from the stay there.

Plenty of water in Etosha so the animals were not visiting the known waterholes as much."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"One of the highlights of the trip !"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2013
"We had New Year`s Eve here at Main Camp in Okonjima and they really went to town and tried hard. Excellent service and food. The activities were excellent and our guide was superb. It was very rewarding to visit the Africat Foundation. We got some superb sunset photos here.

We cannot praise all the staff there enough. No one should miss staying there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Nice Place"

1 night Arrived 1 Jan 2014
"As before [Ed: see their earlier review, below] it was a very good place to stay before leaving Windhoek.

We were able to eat at Joes Beergarden which was a short safe walk from the guesthouse. This is worth a visit and an institution ! You need a large appetite !"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team