This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr W & Dr D from Leeds

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

28

Excursions taken

0

Great return trip to Kenya

Kenya between 7 Feb 2020 and 23 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"As always we loved our stay in Kenya and have already booked to go back next year."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton

"Four Points by Sheraton review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2020
"This is a very convenient place to stay when arriving on a late flight into Nairobi International Airport.

We were taken by private car from the airport to the hotel. The hotel had everything we needed for the overnight stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Kicheche Mara camp - beautiful as ever"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2020
"We love this camp as it is in a beautiful setting. The camp and the staff were as lovely as usual but the safari drives were a bit difficult due to the large amount of rain which meant access to some areas of the conservancy was not possible. However, we still had fantastic wildlife viewing as in this conservancy the wildlife is abundant.

Our only issue was with the wifi which remains slow."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche Bush Camp - excellent as ever"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"As always, the welcome from Darren and Emma was fantastic, and the wildlife viewing was phenomenal."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

"Kicheche Valley Camp - our first visit"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2020
"This was our first visit to Valley Camp and we were not disappointed. The tents were large with a beautiful view across the valley. As with all Kicheche camps, the service and food were excellent.

We enjoyed the night drive which doesn't happen at the other camps."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kinondo Kwetu

Kinondo Kwetu

"Kinondo Kwetu - a great place to relax"

4 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2020
"This place is in a stunning location right on the edge of the beach. There were lots of activities available but we used the time to relax and chill out.

However, the one activity that we did was amazing and we would definitely recommend it to others who love marine life. We went snorkelling with whale sharks with Whale Shark Adventures.

Anna, the manager, was very friendly and extremely helpful throughout our stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Feb 2018 trip

Kenya between 3 Feb 2018 and 17 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic!

In fact it was so good we abandoned the idea of travelling to Europe next and as soon as we arrived home we booked to return to Kenya again in 4 months time."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Eka Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2018
"Good for a overnight stopover between flights.

Seems to have good facilities e.g. swimming pool but we weren't there long enough to appreciate them."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"My favourite camp"

5 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2018
"I love this camp more than any other I have stayed at.

It is set in a beautiful valley with fantastic views from the tents. The staff are very welcoming and remember you when you make return visits.

Also, the wildlife viewing in Mara North is excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2018
"This is the best place we have ever been for the diversity of wildlife viewing and photographic opportunities.

The guides are phenomenal and never disappoint.

Darren and Emma, the camp managers, are fantastic and one of the many pleasures of returning to Kicheche Bush Camp is to meet up with them again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"This is a great place to start or finish your trip to Kenya.

We stayed here once before for one night but felt that this was too short so this time we stayed two nights. This worked much better as we were able to visit the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust as well as seeing a good diversity of wildlife on the game drives. Nairobi National Park is an excellent place for viewing both white and black rhino.

We were really impressed with the quality and variety of the food. Each meal was like fine dining in a high-end restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jan 2017 trip

Rwanda and 1 other country between 7 Jan 2017 and 20 Jan 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"With hindsight we would have changed just one thing - we would have reduced our stay at Mountain Gorilla Lodge to three nights, leaving after lunch after our second gorilla trek, so that we could have spent two nights on Lake Kivu."

Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Good place for overnight stay in Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 7 Jan 2017
"Good and convenient for overnight stay between flights in Nairobi"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jan 2017
"An oasis in the middle of Kigali.

Sitting in the restaurant overlooking the pool area, or sitting by the pool, you would not think you were in the middle of the capital city."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2017
"The position of the lodge and setting was good. The chalet however was not well designed and appointed. The room was large and with a concrete floor was cold even though a fire was lit in the fireplace in the evenings. The bathroom was also large. The shower was in one of the corners but didn't have a cubicle or shower curtain around it and when turned on the water sprayed onto the bathroom floor which strangely was a wooden floor. So there was a part of the floor which was repaired presumably where the floorboards had rotted from the shower water.

Good points about the room were the fireplace and evening fires and a hot water bottle in the bed in the evening.

The main lodge was adequate but not particularly comfortable. The food was good with lots of choice including freshly cooked stir fries in the evening and eggs and omelettes at breakfast. The service throughout the lodge was good."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

"Lake Kivu Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2017
"The setting of the hotel was stunning.

Our only disappointment was that we stayed just the one night here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2017
"Set in a beautiful area amongst the tea plants next to the Nyungwe Forest.

We saw a number of primates from our chalet and around the grounds of the lodge.

Architecturally very interesting and beautiful, with fixtures and fittings to a very high standard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jan 2017
"Already reviewed earlier in the itinerary [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jan 2017
"What a gem - a safari lodge in Nairobi! This was a wonderful way for us to finish our holiday.

However it is equally a great place to start a holiday, as were a number of other guests staying there. The lodge was beautifully appointed and very comfortable and the owner managers were extremely welcoming and obliging. The quality of the food and the service were excellent.

Nairobi Park was a delightful surprise. It has a good variety and quantity of animals. We had some of our best sightings of black and white rhino ever."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great return trip to Kenya

Kenya between 16 Sep 2016 and 2 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have always loved our trips to Kenya - they get better each time we go."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Eka Hotel - convenient for the airports"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"This was the first time we have stayed at this hotel. It proved to be very convenient for the international and domestic airports and was better value than other hotels we have stayed at on arrival into Nairobi.

As with most flights from the UK into Nairobi, we arrived at the hotel late in the evening but we were able to get a snack and drinks in the bar.

The room was modern, clean and comfortable and provided everything we needed for our short stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Kicheche Mara - a really beautiful camp"

5 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"The approach to the camp, and its setting, are really beautiful. Just thinking about it while I'm writing this feedback is so uplifting!

But this camp is not just a 'pretty face', it has real substance in the form of abundant and diverse wildlife shown to you by phenomenal guides.

This was my third visit and we are already planning our next trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche Bush Camp is the cat's whiskers!"

6 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"Kicheche Bush Camp really is the cat's whiskers.

Darren and Emma are the best camp managers we have ever come across and going back to Kicheche Bush Camp is like visiting old friends. As would be expected in a well-managed camp, all of the staff are friendly, helpful and diligent.

Wildlife viewing is very dependant on the quality of your guide but as all Kicheche guides are silver-badged and know the best angle for viewing and photographing the animals a good experience is assured.

But the stars of the show are the big cats and you will see plenty of their whiskers thanks to the expert guiding. There aren't many places where you can almost guarantee regular and good sitings of leopard and cheetah but this is one of them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

"Norfolk Hotel - like stepping back in time"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"We enjoy staying at old hotels with an interesting past so this was perfect for us.

Although an old hotel it has all the modern facilities expected nowadays."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Wildlife viewing in Kenya in June

Kenya between 5 Jun 2015 and 20 Jun 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"As someone who has travelled for many years I am a late comer to Kenya and I now regret all those missed opportunities. I first went to Kicheche Mara Camp 15 months ago and loved it so was determined to return. I did so with some trepidation in case I was disappointed but I need not have worried. The whole holiday exceeded our expectations.

The Kicheche Camps are well managed and in beautiful settings with amazing wildlife. They tick the box if you are wanting to stay in comfortable, small, traditional bush camps governed by sound ecological principles.

I have visited many countries to see wildlife and the Masai Mara ranks number one as far as I am concerned. I can understand why Kenya and Kicheche Camps get so many repeat visitors and I will be one them."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2015
"Very convenient for international and domestic airports.
Good food and service.
Rooms adequate for a one night stay.
We would definitely use this hotel again as an airport hotel"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2015
"We received a very warm welcome on arrival to the camp. The position was beautiful overlooking a waterhole where eland, waterbuck and elephants drank. The tents were very well equipped and had hot and cold water. The food and drink were excellent.

We travelled early in June and it was cold in the early mornings and late evenings. We wished we had taken two fleeces! However the hot water bottles kept us warm in bed at night.

We were combining this with a trip to the Masai Mara so our focus here was on things we would not see in the Mara and we were not disappointed. We saw both white and black rhino everyday and at close quarters, as well as reticulated giraffe (which are beautiful), Grevy's zebra, and oryx. Unfortunately the wild dogs were not denning in the area when we were there. However there was plenty of other wildlife such as lions, elephants, plains game etc so it provided a diverse wildlife experience. This was enhanced by the excellence of our guide, Onesmus."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Kicheche Mara review"

5 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2015
"This was my second visit to Kicheche Mara which I had loved the first time I visited. Consequently I was a bit anxious that it would not live up to my expectations. I need not have worried - the whole experience was absolutely wonderful!

The camp is in a beautiful valley next to a stream and the tents have a wonderful outlook across the valley. The staff were very attentive and even remembered me, and the food and drink were excellent.

The wildlife in Mara North is just fantastic. I learnt a great deal about 'spotting' and the animals from our excellent guide David. I have travelled to many countries to see wildlife and the Masai Mara ranks number one as far as I am concerned."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2015
"Kicheche Bush Camp is in managed by a really welcoming and friendly couple Emma and Darren. The tents were well equipped and comfortable. The food and drink were excellent.

The wildlife in Olare Orak Conservancy is just fantastic. The camp is renowned for its photographic interest and our excellent guide Nelson was always looking for the best position to take the photographs from.

I have travelled to many countries to see wildlife and the Masai Mara ranks number one as far as I am concerned. The combination of the friendliness of the camp hosts plus the quantity and diversity of the wildlife explains why Kicheche Bush Camp gets so many repeat visitors and I will be one them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Nov 2014 trip

Zimbabwe between 8 Nov 2014 and 24 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a great holiday!"

Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Vundu Camp"

4 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"The camp is in a beautiful position on the banks of the Zambezi. The main lodge was good with a bar and comfortable seating. A simple breakfast was served around the campfire, with a buffet lunch outside in the shade and three course dinner inside the lodge. The food was tasty but not exceptional. There were unlimited alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks.

We were the only guests in camp but the camp manager, Peter, invited other people for dinner which enlivened the evenings, particularly as these were very interesting wildlife people for us to meet and learn from.

The tent we were in was large but sparsely furnished and could be improved by more furniture and local artefacts. It was incredibly hot whilst we were there and as there was only a portable free-standing fan which stopped at night when the generator went off, trying to sleep was quite uncomfortable. A ceiling fan would have circulated the air better. The bathroom was outside the tent and open to the sky - but in fact this worked really well as it was cooler in the evenings. We liked the double sinks (with sink plugs that worked - such a rarity!) and the double shower, allowing us to both wash and shower at the same time.

What makes this camp special was it's position for wildlife viewing. It has a pack of wild dogs resident in the area that we saw each day, as well as seeing the other pack of dogs in the park on one occasion. We had other wonderful wildlife experiences including seeing the elephant "Fred Astaire" doing the 'Mana stand' on his back legs to reach for the apple-core pods. The combination of driving, then being allowed to walk in the park enabled us to drive around to spot things but then walk to get closer to them - the perfect combination. Our guide, Henry, was friendly, knowledgable, and competent.

We canoed down the Zambezi one afternoon and this was very special."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Changa Safari Camp

Changa Safari Camp

"Changa Camp"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2014
"This was a very comfortable camp. The position was beautiful, overlooking Lake Kariba. The room was one of the best thought out that we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail was amazing with every possible hook, accessory etc that one could wish for.

The activities were a mixture of game drives and boat trips on the lake. The variety of game was not as wide as we saw in the other national parks we visited but the mixture of land and water trips compensated for that. We met other travellers who were making this camp their last stop for a bit of luxury and R&R and it certainly was appropriate for that.

A highlight was the resident lesser bush baby that slept in the camp office during the day and was easily visible in the trees around the camp at dusk - it was habituated and very cute!

The camp had a swimming pool and the only reason we have given it good for facilities was the fact that the internet connection did not work."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2014
"The camp was in a fantastic position within Hwange. By being so far away from the other accommodation we hardly saw any other vehicles so all of our wildlife viewing was exclusive. The main lodge was good and comfortable, as were the tents but they were not as good as at Changa. For instance the lighting over the sink was poor making it difficult for Richard to shave when dark outside.

Our guide Dahmesh was excellent – good fun to be with and extremely knowledgable. We learnt a lot from him. He also had an interest in wildlife photography which was a bonus as he was always trying to get the best angle for us.

Hwange was a lovely park with diverse wildlife. We were lucky because one of the lion conservationists had come to the area to collar a dominant male, so we got to hear of the prides whereabouts. We witnessed the pride (including young lions) having recently killed a young elephant and feeding on it, which apparently that pride is quite notorious for but it is something we have never seen before.

We saw many, large elephants at close proximity, which was wonderful. I was delighted to have sightings of two males cheetahs and we also saw rarer things such as a honey badger during the day. Each evening whilst driving back in the dark, we saw interesting small animals such as serval, gennets, spring hares.

All in all we were very happy with our experience in Hwange."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge

Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge

"Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2014
"The position of the camp was lovely, overlooking the river and the park. The lodge was very luxurious with excellent facilities, food and service.

We are really pleased we went there but if we are truly honest we were a bit disappointed with it as a wildlife experience compared to Mana Pools and Hwange. There had been three days of heavy rain just before we arrived which restricted the driving in the park so that not much was accessible to us. We were unable to get to see the Chilojo Cliffs except in the plane journey back to Harare.

The park had an interesting array of different habits and the very old baobabs were beautiful, especially as they were in leaf and flower. Of course we never saw another vehicle in the park, but one disadvantage of the low density of visitors is that the animals were not habituated and most ran in the opposite direction as we approached them. One exception to this were the elephants who have the reputation of being feisty. The matriarchs in the breeding herds were but the bulls were more laid back and we had some very special moments watching the males covering themselves with mud and dust.

Clive was not in camp while we were there, our guide was Sam.

The visit to the village was fantastic. We had taken some books, pens, pencils, footballs etc for the school so had a very special visit there and the visit to the clinic brought back all my happy memories of working as a junior doctor in Harare in 1986. We also visited one of the shops, watched the milling of grain and of course visited Mr Mutema from whom we bought a beautifully carved wooden wild dog and a cheetah.

As this camp was also very comfortable and the last of our holiday, we chose it to be our R&R so we did not go into the park very often in view of the restricted access within it. We had a good view of the river from our room balcony and as we were elevated we were at the same height as many of the birds which gave us wonderful bird watching.

In summary, the lodge was excellent but from our experience we would not go all that way again on future visits to Zimbabwe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team