This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit

Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit

Reviews: Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit

Below are independent comments from 12 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 12
Date
Ms D.
Canada

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Sarara on 10 Feb 2024
"Private visit to Reteti so a lot more intimate than Sheldrick orphanage.

Wonderful interaction with the elephants and observed feeding beside us.

Viewed process for milk preparation and how the orphanage supports women in the local community.

Excellent guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms M.
USA

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Sarara on 29 Jan 2024
"I cannot say enough about the wonderful and amazing work being done here - not only for the orphaned elephants but the Samburu community.

It was an excellent presentation and learned a great deal about elephants and their care.

It was an absolute highlight." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
HLG
Manitoba

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Sarara on 29 Jan 2024
Overall
Excellent
Ms A.
Manchester

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Sarara on 15 Feb 2023
"I've supported Reteti through its foster elephant program for a few years now. I was eager to visit and see "my" orphaned elephants and learn more about how Reteti operates.

I got to see the giraffes fed first (and I bottle fed one!) and then the orphan elephants came out in two groups for their bottles. The keepers sing to them as they approach, which was neat to see and hear. Once all have had their bottles, visitors can watch them play in the mudbath. The keeper assigned to watch over me then took me to visit the kitchen and where the milk from the milk mamas is pasteurized so it's safe for the baby elephants. I learned a lot from the keeper and I'm glad I was able to visit. It was fun to see the sanctuary I've watched from afar over social media for so long.

I did not know until after I'd visited that Sarara and Reteti House guests have dedicated hours to visit. A couple staying at Sarara had the morning visit all to themselves. Had I known that I would have done that to avoid the crowds of guests that were at the late morning visit. Just a tip for other Sarara and Reteti House guests!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Sarara on 24 Jan 2023
"It was sad to see so many orphaned elephants but it was heartening to see how well they are being looked after. The great thing is that the elephants are released back into wild in the area that they were found." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs K.
Gravesend

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Saruni Samburu on 10 Oct 2022
"It’s a 2.5 hour drive from the camp but well well worth it ..the drive actually gave us a chance to see a bit of real Kenya outside of the conservancy ,the guides and rangers who accompanied us were excellent company once again it was just the two of us on the trip .

The orphanage itself ..wow wow wow what a truly amazing place ,we felt extremely honoured to have been able to visit ..what dedication from everyone we met ,Mary was our guide, she was so knowledgeable .We were the only visitors that afternoon its best to go for the 12 o’clock feeding as the elephants then have play time so you get to see so much more than if you go early ..think the early time is 9am. We also had the opportunity to feed the orphaned giraffes ..unbelievably lucky

So the message here is if you have the opportunity to go its so worth it ..you wont regret it and we had a great lunch under elephant rock" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Lola
Canada

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Sarara on 22 Sep 2022
"A must to visit. I was there for a 9 am and a late afternoon. The morning there was a little more activity. The late day I had the viewing to myself. The caregivers are passionate about their work and will explain absolutely everything about the care the elephants receive. It was also wonderful to see so many women working here!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr/Mrs E
Wisconsin US

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Sarara Treehouses on 11 Jun 2022
"We very much enjoyed the elephant sanctuary visit!

There were a lot of "orphans" of different species, which we got to see up close. We enjoyed feeding the baby giraffes and gerenook, and observing the elephant care plans (brief visit with the nutritionist). This was also a nice "link" to the singing wells, as several of the orphans had been rescued from them.

This is an excellent endeavor of the Samburu community and we highly recommend it!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms U.
Toronto

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Elephant Bedroom on 7 Mar 2022
"A truly special place, and we're so glad we had the opportunity to visit the sanctuary. While there were similarities to the facility in Nairobi, here we had the opportunity to talk to the keepers and really learn about the details of their program.

There was a one month old elephant who had arrived recently, and was bonding with his keeper. It was incredible to see the personality of this little guy, and the dedication of the keeper." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"Elephants and more"

Based at Sarara Treehouses on 20 Feb 2022
"We visited at midday as our guide recommended this was the best time to see the elephants playing as well as eating.

There aren't just elephants here - there are also baby giraffe and rescued antelopes just wandering around - but the elephants are the main attraction. They rush out for their feed and then there is general carnage as they head for the mud wallow.

If you like watching baby elephants rolling around together in mud (and who doesn't), you'll love it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 12
100%
12 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
12
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team