This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara

Reviews of Sarara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sarara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sarara.
Lion

17% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

14% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Gerenuk

88% success

Spotted Hyena

88% success

Zebra

88% success

Buffalo

71% success

Aardvark

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F
Amsterdam

"Sarara, a hidden gem"

5 nights Arrived 31 May 2022
"We loved Sarara, this is such a special camp in such a remote location, glad we stayed for 5 nights to really get connected to the place. Very special to be flown in by the founder of Sarara in his private Cessna: while flying lowlevel over the spectacular landscape he introduced us to the area and his philosophy behind starting it all. The staffmembers are all very kind, a bit shy in the beginning (some reviewers interpreted this as formal) but once we knew them a bit better we had great laughs with all of them.

Newly appointed camp managers Emma and Darren create a homely atmosphere and are very approachable. The rooms are spacious and especially the terraces with spectacular views out into the valley, we could sit there for hours just gazing into the distance. We were lucky enough to have spotted a leopard while driving back to camp after sundowners on the first night, otherwise the wildlife is not overwhelming. Lots of giraffes for sure and elephants visting the camps’s waterhole, gerenuks and an interesting hyena family with 4 pups.

But wildlife is not the reason to travel all the way to Sarara. Samburu culture and their way of life in this harsh environment is what it’s about. Our guide James gave us a real insight into his culture, we had lovely conversations about many things and the Samburu view on it. Visting the singing wells and a local settlement were humbling and moving experiences. Also the visit to Reteti Elephant Rescue was very special and worth the bumpy ride. Very touching to see how the community committed themselves to this cause and how everyone places a role in it.

Sarara is not a cheap camp by any means but a large proportion of the rate flows directly back into the community supporting people and wildlife and their coexistence. If your are not looking for glitzy 5 star service and broadband wifi, but want to experience a real connection with people and their land, we highly recommend Sarara Camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Gerenuk

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"A pool with a view"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2022
""You guys are good at walking," said Peter before we left Treehouses for the main camp. "We'll walk to Sarara."

So we approached on foot, finding ourselves wandering up past the camp waterhole, avoiding the elephants but finding some surprisingly (to us) relaxed giraffe. (Not surprising to Peter, who explained some of them were raised at the lodge).

That waterhole is positioned just below Sarara's rather magnificent pool, hewn out of the natural rock, and a heavenly place to wallow in the hot dry heat of the day. From the pool, you can watch giraffe, elephants, antelope and more at the waterhole. If there's nobody in the pool, the local wildlife moves in there - you might see electric-blue vulturine guinea fowl or a family of baboons ranged along the brim.

Sarara, like its Treehouses cousin, is beautifully designed and located, with excellent and plentiful food, charming staff and a focus on making sure the local population benefit from conservation and tourism. Similarly, however, this is not the place to go to see spectacular number of game (with the exception of the elephants and the very nonchalent giraffe). You may well see more animals over lunch at the watering hole than on your activities; this is more a place for those who want to have a more rounded safari/African experience than just ticking off the animals.

We were really pleased that we had the same guide at both lodges; we had got to know him very well & he was also able to advise us on, for instance, which activity worked best at which camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Gerenuk

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Ms. N
Montana

"Sarara review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2022
"This camp may be one of my very favorites. Sarara is unique. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful throughout the entire stay. Rehama , my special host was so very kind and attentive. I had a woman guide - Anne, and her name - Nashipae means happiness. My other guide was Kalamon, meaning writing pen. Both were extremely knowledgable about the birds and the animals. They respected the distances while viewing the wild animals. They both shared their culture and answered all my questions in detail. The area was hot so I did enjoy the natural made pool every afternoon while watching other animals drinking in the pool below me. Animals were everywhere. I visited the Montessori schools that are in mobile tents to accommodate the pastoral community. All the materials were made by college students and each child had an oil cloth mat and then an activity to work on while I was visiting. There was no paper and pencils or crayons, but none were needed: the activities were so well planned and fit in with their culture...This activity was one of my favorites. In addition, I visited a village and also the mobile clinic. I met the male nurse who works with mothers and small infants in order to assist them with challenges they may be experiencing. The female nurse, Dorca, called me from Nairobi, she regretted not being there to greet me.
The singing wells were fabulous. It was difficult to imagine what staff were talking about before I visited the wells and seeing all the warriors and the animals. What is heartwarming is that the pastoral community leave the area by early evening so that the wild animals can also use the water in the dry riverbed. Respect for others is a mainstay of this community.
I also visited with the ladies who bead and learned they use all left over bags for their stitching. If you travel to Sarara, you might wish to bring small beads for them to use. In addition, I visited with the blacksmith. He takes scrapes and makes beautiful bracelets, rings and other items. He uses skins to force air into the fire to melt the metal. His services are needed everywhere in the community.
The people dress so beautifully everyday and it just makes me smile while remembering the beautiful colors and wonderfully welcoming smiles I encountered every day.
I am already planning a return trip to this wonderful camp: who supports the surrounding community and the tasks needed to be addressed.
I appreciated the good lighting, the robes provided, the massages provided, the outside shower was definitely one of my favorites - thank you.." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs Catherine H
UK

"Sarara review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2022
"We visited in 2018 and had such wonderful memories that we returned. This time it was even better. Our guide Mark, managers Terri and Robert and the whole camp staff made us feel instantly at home. Full of suggestions about what we could do, but happy to go at a pace that was right for us. We soon fell into a pattern of early morning walks, afternoon game drives with leisurely lunches by the pool watching the elephants, giraffe, warthog, impala and lots of other wildlife at the waterhole below. Nothing was too much trouble." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Gerenuk

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms S.
Bainbridge Isla

"Sarara review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"Sarara was a wonderful camp. The setting was gorgeous and the whole camp felt luxurious without being pretentious.we especially appreciated the close relationship between the Samburu team and the local community. We felt we get to see a bit of Samburu culture without the experience being contrived for tourists.

On the down side, this is not a a place I would go outside the dry season. Because the rains had come, some activities we had really looked forward to like the Singing Wells and sleeping in a star tent were not available. We had actually booked Sarara Treehouse but because of the rains the road getting there was so bad supplies couldn't be delivered so they shut it down. Wildlife had fanned put across the great expanse rather than gathering at watering holes so we saw very little. Worse, the bugs were intense-so intense that most guests ate in their tent instead of at in the lovely open air dining area. Beetles were literally flying into our faces, her and water. At night you couldn't read because the light from a kindle would attract them. There were no mosquito nets!

But even with all that, we could see Sarara is an extraordinary place and only wish we could have been there at the right time of year." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
P&JG
Scotland

"Stunning location at Sarara Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"We particularly came to Sarara because our son, who lives and works in Kenya, wanted us to include in our itinerary the more mountainous regions of Samburu and the Matthews Range. In this respect Sarara Camp certainly delivered.

The location is absolutely stunning and even without all the excitement of the game drives, bush walks and local visits, this would be a fabulous place simply to chill out and enjoy the views and the facilities of the camp. The staff were all incredibly attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our guide, Robert, was particularly impressive, sharing with us his enormous knowledge of the wildlife, the flora and his Samburu cultural heritage in a most engaging, articulate and good humoured way.

Our visit coincided with the rare event of a local Samburu gathering for the ceremony of circumcision of the young men about to become warriors. In the evening we were honoured to be invited to witness the celebrations and dancing that followed the ceremony, during which Robert just seamlessly morphed from safari guide to Samburu warrior and joined in the dancing, with impressive expertise!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Gerenuk

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Miss A
Okehampton

"Superb!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2019
"Absolutely wonderful in every way- the location, tents, staff, things to see and do, food... all terrific. The infinity pool a delight- overlooking two water holes which were regularly visited by elephant, buffalo, warthogs, giraffe, zebra and impala.

The 'singing wells' hugely interesting- a unique experience - we only hope it will not be affected by too many tourists.... (A ban on photography such a good thing..). The new Namunyuk Elephant Sanctuary - about an hour away - is beautifully run, with excellent facilities - in a natural setting.

A visit to a local Samburu nomad's village was fascinating- how nice of them to allow us to pay a visit... Andrew amazed them by being able to milk a goat. (They were obviously ready to have a good laugh!)

We loved this place- the resident echidna under the main house, semi-tame Grevys zebras visiting the swimming pool, a friendly, rescued giraffe, beautiful birds, magnificently dressed Samburu men- all adding to its unique charm." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Gerenuk

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

E & D
New Mexico

"Sarara forever"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2019
"We had the great luck of staying at Sarara when Nicky and Tim were hosting. They are old-time Kenyans who know everybody and are so thoughtful and gracious in making sure we were always having fun and being well looked after. Amenities such as tea or coffee brought down to the room before our 7am rides with Lenawalla, or knowing there were kikoy-wrapped towels for use after a splash in the pool overlooking the waterhole below.

Sarara is such an inspiring example in the new model of engaging with the local community to create eco-tourism that benefits everybody. The Samburu staff and guides had such pride in their place to share with us and it was like visiting old friends. The walk to the Singing Wells is a must-do, as is a trip to Reteti, the elephant orphanage." See all these reviews: 18n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Gerenuk

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

The C family
Surrey

"Sarara Tree House was a great experience!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2018
"Sarara Tree House Camp is a new satellite Camp to Sarara Camp (only open for 6 weeks). We only stayed two nights (one full day) at the end of our holiday after having done exhausting safaris in the Mara.

The camp is well run and our Samburu hosts were great - we learnt a lot about the Conservancy and its history. Robert our Samburu Tree House Host was really good and a very likeable chap. He was good company and very knowledgable.We had fun together.

We really enjoyed our short visit. The experiences we had were new to us and varied. Walking, visiting the rescued baby elephant sanctuary, the Singing Wells (A biblical experience as our guide described it - and it was!). Night driving, just relaxing by the infinity pool with magnificent views

It is not a classical game viewing location like the Mara (i.e. no Lions or Rhinos or Buffalo - the top predators are the Hyena and Lepoard). But it has a lot to offer. We are regular safari trippers and have seen most things but we saw 5 new species and have never seen so many Dik Dik and Hyena, the scenery is stunningly beautiful.

It is a great place to relax and unwind at the end of a hectic safari tour. Fond Memories." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Gerenuk

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

SueD
UK

"Loved Sarara"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"Sarara is special - accommodation, staff, guides, food all superb. The downside is the 2hour drive from Kalama airstrip but when you get there it's worth it! (a large family or group of friends travelling together might consider a charter plane to land at the airstrip nearby but it's costly). Four nights here is ideal - both to enjoy the setting and everything about Sarara, and to face the long drive back to the airstrip especially if it's a very early flight - but I could happily have stayed longer.
Meg and Rob were perfect hosts, my two guides were wonderful. The 'roads' are pretty rough - it's a long time since I've been flung around a Land Rover like that! - the wildlife sightings were better than I'd been led to believe (update your Rough Guide Richard!) but the highlight was the Singing Wells. I went back to experience this a second time and would have gone again if I'd stayed longer. My guides were amazingly knowledgeable and simply lovely people. Think I'll dream about returning to Sarara for a long time to come." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 13
98%
13 reviews of Sarara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Northern Kenya

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Oasis Lodge

Oasis Lodge

Oasis Lodge is a basic hotel for adventurous travellers near the east shore of Lake Turkana.


90% (4 reviews)
Saruni Rhino

Saruni Rhino

Saruni Rhino is the only camp in the Sera Conservancy in northern Kenya, where guests are based when tracking black rhino on foot.


100% (3 reviews)
Sarara Treehouses

Sarara Treehouses

Sarara Treehouses is a luxurious camp with tents raised up in the forest canopy. Come here for the wildlife, walking and cultural activities, accompanied by excellent local guides.


100% (3 reviews)
Ngari Hill Ecolodge

Ngari Hill Ecolodge

The 6-room Ngari Hill Ecolodge is the only full-service lodge in Maralal and makes a convenient overnight stay en route from Nairobi to Lake Turkana.


87% (3 reviews)
Desert Rose

Desert Rose

This small, unique mountain lodge – Kenya’s northernmost luxury accommodation – is set amid the towering landscapes of Mount Nyiru, and is a superb place for rest and relaxation.


90% (2 reviews)
Marsabit Lodge

Marsabit Lodge

Marsabit Lodge is the only safari lodge in the fascinating Marsabit National Park, and the only decent accommodation anywhere between the Mathews Range and the Ethiopian border.


70% (2 reviews)
Wild Frontiers Camel Safaris

Wild Frontiers

Wild Frontiers Camel treks are based in the Milgis River area and run in various parts of northern Kenya between Lake Turkana and Laikipia.


No reviews yet
Kitich Forest Camp

Kitich Forest Camp

Kitich Forest Camp is one of Kenya's most established, remote highland forest camps, offering exciting bush walks and close encounters with big game as well as insects and birdlife.


No reviews yet
Palm Shade Camp

Palm Shade Camp

Palm Shade Camp is a simple camp for adventurous travellers near the east shore of Lake Turkana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa