This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara
Sarara

Reviews of Sarara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sarara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sarara.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

33% success

Elephant

100% success

Gerenuk

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Buffalo

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S.
Bainbridge Isla

"Sarara review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"Sarara was a wonderful camp. The setting was gorgeous and the whole camp felt luxurious without being pretentious.we especially appreciated the close relationship between the Samburu team and the local community. We felt we get to see a bit of Samburu culture without the experience being contrived for tourists.

On the down side, this is not a a place I would go outside the dry season. Because the rains had come, some activities we had really looked forward to like the Singing Wells and sleeping in a star tent were not available. We had actually booked Sarara Treehouse but because of the rains the road getting there was so bad supplies couldn't be delivered so they shut it down. Wildlife had fanned put across the great expanse rather than gathering at watering holes so we saw very little. Worse, the bugs were intense-so intense that most guests ate in their tent instead of at in the lovely open air dining area. Beetles were literally flying into our faces, her and water. At night you couldn't read because the light from a kindle would attract them. There were no mosquito nets!

But even with all that, we could see Sarara is an extraordinary place and only wish we could have been there at the right time of year." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
P&JG
Scotland

"Stunning location at Sarara Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"We particularly came to Sarara because our son, who lives and works in Kenya, wanted us to include in our itinerary the more mountainous regions of Samburu and the Matthews Range. In this respect Sarara Camp certainly delivered.

The location is absolutely stunning and even without all the excitement of the game drives, bush walks and local visits, this would be a fabulous place simply to chill out and enjoy the views and the facilities of the camp. The staff were all incredibly attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our guide, Robert, was particularly impressive, sharing with us his enormous knowledge of the wildlife, the flora and his Samburu cultural heritage in a most engaging, articulate and good humoured way.

Our visit coincided with the rare event of a local Samburu gathering for the ceremony of circumcision of the young men about to become warriors. In the evening we were honoured to be invited to witness the celebrations and dancing that followed the ceremony, during which Robert just seamlessly morphed from safari guide to Samburu warrior and joined in the dancing, with impressive expertise!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Gerenuk

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Miss A
Okehampton

"Superb!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2019
"Absolutely wonderful in every way- the location, tents, staff, things to see and do, food... all terrific. The infinity pool a delight- overlooking two water holes which were regularly visited by elephant, buffalo, warthogs, giraffe, zebra and impala.

The 'singing wells' hugely interesting- a unique experience - we only hope it will not be affected by too many tourists.... (A ban on photography such a good thing..). The new Namunyuk Elephant Sanctuary - about an hour away - is beautifully run, with excellent facilities - in a natural setting.

A visit to a local Samburu nomad's village was fascinating- how nice of them to allow us to pay a visit... Andrew amazed them by being able to milk a goat. (They were obviously ready to have a good laugh!)

We loved this place- the resident echidna under the main house, semi-tame Grevys zebras visiting the swimming pool, a friendly, rescued giraffe, beautiful birds, magnificently dressed Samburu men- all adding to its unique charm. " See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Gerenuk

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

E & D
New Mexico

"Sarara forever"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2019
"We had the great luck of staying at Sarara when Nicky and Tim were hosting. They are old-time Kenyans who know everybody and are so thoughtful and gracious in making sure we were always having fun and being well looked after. Amenities such as tea or coffee brought down to the room before our 7am rides with Lenawalla, or knowing there were kikoy-wrapped towels for use after a splash in the pool overlooking the waterhole below.

Sarara is such an inspiring example in the new model of engaging with the local community to create eco-tourism that benefits everybody. The Samburu staff and guides had such pride in their place to share with us and it was like visiting old friends. The walk to the Singing Wells is a must-do, as is a trip to Reteti, the elephant orphanage." See all these reviews: 18n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Gerenuk

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

The C family
Surrey

"Sarara Tree House was a great experience!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2018
"Sarara Tree House Camp is a new satellite Camp to Sarara Camp (only open for 6 weeks). We only stayed two nights (one full day) at the end of our holiday after having done exhausting safaris in the Mara.

The camp is well run and our Samburu hosts were great - we learnt a lot about the Conservancy and its history. Robert our Samburu Tree House Host was really good and a very likeable chap. He was good company and very knowledgable.We had fun together.

We really enjoyed our short visit. The experiences we had were new to us and varied. Walking, visiting the rescued baby elephant sanctuary, the Singing Wells (A biblical experience as our guide described it - and it was!). Night driving, just relaxing by the infinity pool with magnificent views

It is not a classical game viewing location like the Mara (i.e. no Lions or Rhinos or Buffalo - the top predators are the Hyena and Lepoard). But it has a lot to offer. We are regular safari trippers and have seen most things but we saw 5 new species and have never seen so many Dik Dik and Hyena, the scenery is stunningly beautiful.

It is a great place to relax and unwind at the end of a hectic safari tour. Fond Memories." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Gerenuk

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

SueD
UK

"Loved Sarara"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"Sarara is special - accommodation, staff, guides, food all superb. The downside is the 2hour drive from Kalama airstrip but when you get there it's worth it! (a large family or group of friends travelling together might consider a charter plane to land at the airstrip nearby but it's costly). Four nights here is ideal - both to enjoy the setting and everything about Sarara, and to face the long drive back to the airstrip especially if it's a very early flight - but I could happily have stayed longer.
Meg and Rob were perfect hosts, my two guides were wonderful. The 'roads' are pretty rough - it's a long time since I've been flung around a Land Rover like that! - the wildlife sightings were better than I'd been led to believe (update your Rough Guide Richard!) but the highlight was the Singing Wells. I went back to experience this a second time and would have gone again if I'd stayed longer. My guides were amazingly knowledgeable and simply lovely people. Think I'll dream about returning to Sarara for a long time to come." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr A
London

"Unbelievably beautiful and interesting"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2017
"We absolutely loved Sarara. It's a bit off the beaten track for most safari goers and so the people here tend to be a bit more intrepid. The setting is spectacular and the interaction between the lodge, the conservancy and the local people is excellent.

We particularly enjoyed visiting the singing wells. The wildlife is increasing and we had the opportunity to visit the local elephant sanctuary, which was well worth it. We tried hard to see a leopard but were unlucky this time.

Rob, Meg and the team are excellent and so welcoming. Mark, our guide, had been around the area his whole life and so was full of knowledge about the area, the people, the wildlife etc." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Eye

"Hidden Hideaway"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2017
"Whoever you are Sarara is a magical experience. We were most warmly welcomed, although a little puzzled to be asked, at 3.0p.m., what would be our choice of sundowner!

At 4.30 we set off for our first game drive, with our assigned driver/guide and askari, and after more than an hour of watching reticulated giraffe, elephants, impala, dik dik and more, we pulled up beside a large, flat, sun-warmed stone where we sat and were served our G&Ts as we watched the African sun go down.

We loved the easy, happy relationship with the local people, and one of the (many) highlights of our stay was our visit to the singing wells, which was so beautifully done, with the opportunity to walk down for those who were able, and a complete ban on cameras, which made everyone more relaxed and able to participate fully in the experience.

We also enjoyed the relationship with some of the hand-reared animals, especially Kody, the lesser kudu who was always ready to join the party." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Comfort, culture and wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2014
"The third and final camp we visited this trip was Sarara, further north in Laikipia (and listed under 'Northern Kenya' by Expert Africa) on the edge of the Matthews Range and also a community-based project which presents some interesting contrasts with Il Ngwesi and Tassia.

Sarara is the home of Jeremy and Katie (and was established originally by Jeremy's parents), who run the camp in a relaxed and welcoming style. Having been brought up there to a significant extent, Jeremy in particular is a font of insights into the region and its culture. The accommodation is genuinely high end - very comfortable, spacious tent with a fine view of the busy waterhole, excellent lounge and mess facilities etc. Meals were consistently enjoyable - nice to have fish on a couple of occasions as well as lamb (two dishes which are not that often served in safari camps in our experience). We are not surprised that there are many return visitors (including while we were there).

Throughout our stay we were guided by the excellent Mark, a Masai who has an extensive knowledge of the flora and fauna of the region as well as local culture and who is engaging and humourous. We really enjoyed his company and benefitted enormously from his knowledge and willingness to share his thoughts with us on local issues.

For three of our four days we followed a pattern of early morning birding walk, a drive after breakfast and then a late afternoon drive stretching into a night drive. The wildlife in the area is excellent: we topped 120 bird species and saw around 20 mammals, including leopard, buffalo and plentiful elephant. The fourth day was taken up with a climb up the ridge behind the camp to about 6,500 feet into the cloud forest - not for the faint-hearted but well worth the effort for those prepared to make it.

We also visited the famous 'singing wells' and witnessed this cultural phenomenon for ourselves. Despite the (appropriate, in our view) ban on photography, we were left feeling that our presence and, therefore, tourist visits generally are having an impact on the conduct of the herders there and, without in any way wishing to be judgemental, we wonder how much longer the phenomenon can continue in its 'natural' state, despite efforts to preserve it.

In sum, Sarara provided us with a fitting final four-night stay to our 12-day tour through Laikipia and camps rooted in the local community." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
98%
9 reviews of Sarara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Northern Kenya

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Oasis Lodge

Oasis Lodge

Oasis Lodge is a basic hotel for adventurous travellers near the east shore of Lake Turkana.


90% (4 reviews)
Saruni Rhino

Saruni Rhino

Saruni Rhino is the only camp in the Sera Conservancy in northern Kenya, where guests are based when tracking black rhino on foot.


100% (3 reviews)
Ngari Hill Ecolodge

Ngari Hill Ecolodge

The 6-room Ngari Hill Ecolodge is the only full-service lodge in Maralal and makes a convenient overnight stay en route from Nairobi to Lake Turkana.


87% (3 reviews)
Desert Rose

Desert Rose

This small, unique mountain lodge – Kenya’s northernmost luxury accommodation – is set amid the towering landscapes of Mount Nyiru, and is a superb place for rest and relaxation.


90% (2 reviews)
Marsabit Lodge

Marsabit Lodge

Marsabit Lodge is the only safari lodge in the fascinating Marsabit National Park, and the only decent accommodation anywhere between the Mathews Range and the Ethiopian border.


70% (2 reviews)
Sarara Treehouses

Sarara Treehouses

Sarara Treehouses is a luxurious camp with tents raised up in the forest canopy. Come here for the wildlife, walking and cultural activities, accompanied by excellent local guides.


100% (1 review)
Wild Frontiers Camel Safaris

Wild Frontiers

Wild Frontiers Camel treks are based in the Milgis River area and run in various parts of northern Kenya between Lake Turkana and Laikipia.


No reviews yet
Kitich Forest Camp

Kitich Forest Camp

Kitich Forest Camp is one of Kenya's most established, remote highland forest camps, offering exciting bush walks and close encounters with big game as well as insects and birdlife.


No reviews yet
Palm Shade Camp

Palm Shade Camp

Palm Shade Camp is a simple camp for adventurous travellers near the east shore of Lake Turkana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa