This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel


1°42’16.2"S 29°15’37.8"E

Reviews of Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Kivu Serena Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Lake Kivu Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2017
"The setting of the hotel was stunning.

Our only disappointment was that we stayed just the one night here." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
London

"Lake Kivu Serena Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"A excellently located hotel that could do with a bit of a refurbishment and better staff training. As with everywhere in Rwanda, the staff were friendly, however, they were not as well trained for their roles as you would hope. As an example, one of the bellhops loaded our luggage onto a different vehicle without checking first and the bags were nearly lost when the vehicle drove off.

The pool and beachfront area are lovely and an easy place to spend a couple of days. Good location in walking distance from a local restaurant and bar.

Despite full board, we choose to eat out on the second night because the food in the restaurant was of a poor standard and very disappointing.

One larger concern -- we went to the wrong hotel room by accident and found that our key was able to open the door. Not sure if this is a larger security issue across multiple rooms but it was a little worrying." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Ms P
London

"Nice spot to end the holiday"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"The Lake Kivu Serena is not as good as its Kigali counterpart: food was especially disappointing, and the place (especially the very dated foyer) could do with a bit of a facelift. However, its beachside location makes it a lovely spot to stay at on Lake Kivu, especially after an active few days trekking.

The Congolese border and Tam Tam Beach (for much better food at Bikini Tam Tam) are just a short stroll away." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Best hotel in the area"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"Good location. Comfortable room. excellent breakfast buffet" See all these reviews: 15n in Rwanda; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms J
Dublin

"Lake Kivu Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jan 2015
"Pool and beach available. Our guide said we should not walk outside the grounds. We requested towels at the pool from an attendant and were told to go to the beach. 15 minutes later we saw another attendant and requested towels again as the first attendant had not showed up. She brought them after a 5 minute wait. The first attendant turned up half an hour later!

We ordered drinks. They arrived about 20-30 minutes apart. Service was poor and very slow.

We were bored and considered it a very poor experience as even the boats were broken. They had a launch that only went straight out and back and one jet ski but not allowed to go beyond the hotel environs. It would be better to miss this." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Miss F & Mr H
York

"Lake Kivu Serena Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2012
"Great quality of hotel in a prime location." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms K party
Herts

"Relaxing stay at Lake Kivu"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2009
"Good place to relax after trekking for four days. Great location right on the beach and we had a lovely boat trip out and round the headland to the hot springs.

Breakfast on the first morning was laid out on the beach which was lovely! Buffet meals were fine, although the prawns from the a la carte menu served on the Sunday night were fantastic!! Staff were helpful and sevice was generally good." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-7 of 7
74%
7 reviews of Lake Kivu Serena Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
1
4
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lake Kivu

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cormoran Lodge

Cormoran Lodge

Cormoran Lodge is a small, friendly lodge on the shores of Lake Kivu, with beautiful views from its seven chalets.


87% (26 reviews)
Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill is a rather dated budget hotel, outside the town of Kibuye on the shores of Lake Kivu.


74% (10 reviews)
Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge, sister lodge of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, is located on a remote peninsula on the shores of Lake Kivu.


80% (2 reviews)
Paradise Malahide

Paradise Malahide

A small and simple guesthouse on the shores of Lake Kivu, Paradise Malahide has rustic charm, a friendly atmosphere and some great views.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa