This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara

Reviews of Kicheche Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

53 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

96% success

Wild dog

5% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

92% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Striped Hyena

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 53
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C.
West Horsley

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"A very different camp and vibe.

Very beautiful and tranquil. luxurious and more tailored towards comfort and a tourist experience of being looked after and waited on. Some very lovely touches with own water bottles, hot water bottles, ponchos, morning coffee and cookies to our tent. Great areas to chill out in the shade, plenty of board games and other activities like archery. I liked the shop area of locally made products. Food portions smaller but we preferred that as 3 courses and very little waste.

The drives were fantastic. We had one guide Jimmy, the whole stay, great fun, friendly and very knowledgeable.

One tricky part for us was the tent situation. We had. 2 separate tents for our family of 5 which we knew in advance but we didn’t realise how spaced out they were bearing in mind it wasn’t safe to be outside without a night guard Present once dark. It was our choice to put the kids in one ( our eldest is 18) and us in the other but still it would have been helpful to have known this in advance so we could have planned the sleeping arrangements.

We opted to visit a local village on market day. Well worth it, very interesting and educational experience for all. This was about 120 dollars extra which was ok to spend but having this pointed out in advance would have been helpful. It was mentioned in the tent leaflets but it also needs pointing out by the staff.

Possibly one less day would have worked as well but we had a fantastic time. The wildlife spotting, time spent watching their behaviour, the close proximity to the animals; breakfasts on the savannah and sundowners were all absolutely incredible and unforgettable experiences." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr Vokes
Birmingham

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2022
"The camp was in a nice open situation, although the tent furnishings were sparser than the sister camp in Laikipia. I consider that the camp is a little too large, now with 9 tents, including 2 family tents. Dining is now split into three separate areas. It’s all a bit remote from a normal safari experience. However Peter, the acting manager, was the lynch pin front of house role, which he knew back to front. He made sure everybody felt welcome.

I have criticism of the Conservancy policy of allowing 5 vehicles next to animals; its gone up from 3, and it does lead in my view to harassment. It’s a pity the guides think it necessary that everyone has the same experience. Our guide David was excellent and knowledgeable; he arranged a walking safari, and indeed was sensitive to the request not to follow the other vehicles and do something different.

The unrestricted landscape and views were great. Again animal sightings were good, including lion hunting, two magnificent male lions, a Cheetah family and an elusive leopard." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr R.
Oldham

"Kicheche Mara review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2022
"Excellent camp and location." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr + Ms D
Santa Cruz

"Absolutely the best of the four camps we stayed in"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2022
"This was absolutely the best of the four camps we stayed in while in Kenya! Andrew, the manager, has put together a tremendous staff along with a great chef and fresh garden grown produce.

The rooms were beautiful with elephant sightings each day. The public spaces were accommodating and welcoming. Plus it has the great advantage of being in a wet area, with some light rains while we were there. As a result everything is green and the animals are thriving.

Guide - Saruni was amazing = totally fearless in going up hill sides, fording streams to get the best viewing of a great assortment and quantity of animals. His knowledge level was also first rate.

Wonderful place and experience." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"A great place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2022
"A driver from Kicheche Mara arrived punctually to collect us from Little Governors. The driver coped very well with the difficult boggy conditions in the Mara. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival at Kicheche Mara by the manager Andrew and some of the staff. The tents at Kicheche are well spread out and they all have wonderful views. We had been allocated the tent farthest from the reception area. Andrew kindly offered to move us to a nearer tent once the guests occupying it had left. We accepted and when we returned from our game drive that afternoon everything had been moved to the more convenient tent.

Meals at Kicheche Mara were very good and we enjoyed the food. Lunch was served outside and we sat with other people. However the communal dining for the evening meals was suspended and we had individual tables. Andrew explained that the reason was that some people were still uncomfortable being in close contact with others indoors.

Our driver/guide was George and we were again fortunate to have the vehicle to ourselves for the whole of the time we were there. George was an excellent guide. We saw lots of wildlife including excellent leopard, lion and elephant sightings. The cheetahs were elusive and had not been seen by anyone for a few days. George excelled at getting us into really good positions for photography. He was obviously a keen photographer himself and on occasions I was happy to let him take over my camera and take some photos for me!

We were in an electric vehicle for most drives and drove over some incredibly rough terrain. Using EVs is an interesting innovation, although as the animals are not yet used to the different engine sounds, some of them are more wary than they are of the diesels. We did have to return early from one drive as the vehicle was running low on charge due to driving over the rugged terrain. It was actually quite nice to have a bit longer in camp that day as the game drives are usually long: 5-6 hrs in the morning, (taking breakfast out with us), +3hrs in the evening - all very worthwhile.

On our last morning we managed a game drive with breakfast before flying out of Mara North." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2022
"This was our second trip to Kicheche Mara camp having first visited in Feb 2020 just prior to the start of the Covid pandemic. It was great to be back in such familiar surroundings and to be greeted by the camp staff in such a welcoming manner. There's no doubt of the impact that Covid has had on on the tourist volumes in Kenya and the Mara.

Saruni, who was our guide in 2020, picked us up from the airstrip and excelled himself as always by getting us up close and personal with a cheetah mother, cub plus dead impala on the way to the camp. Regrettably we learned that this particular mother's original litter was 6 cubs and only one was now left. Cheetahs really do have a hard life.

As we have come to expect from Kicheche, the camp was very comfortable and efficiently run by Andrew and his team. Food was excellent, from the picnic breakfast, through lunch to the communal dinners in the evening. Tents were very comfortable and spacious with solar powered showers.

Peter was our guide for the three night stay and proved himself more than capable of locating the wildlife in the area despite the tall grass and somewhat inclement conditions. We had some spectacular sightings of lions, both young and old. Watching the older lionesses attempting to cross some fast flowing rivers was an interesting sight, given their aversion to getting wet." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Matt
Warrington

"Kicheche Mara review"

7 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2022
"Kicheche Mara was everything i had hoped for and more.

Wonderful and caring staff, excellent food, superb guide/driver, accommodation of the highest of standard, it is hospitality at its very best.

The location could not of been better, watching elephants from the veranda of your tent just shows how well immersed the camp is within its surroundings. Waking up in the morning to hear that hippos and elephant have wandered past your tent whilst you sleep only adds to this wonderful experience

The vehicles are superbly maintained and perfect for wildlife viewing and for photographers.

Guides are all of the highest standard and work so hard to enable clients to get the very most out of their time at camp. They understand photographers and position their vehicles perfectly for light and composition, working tirelessly so you come back with a smile and memories to last a lifetime." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

10 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

9 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Steve H
Leeds

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2022
"Another fantastic stay at Kicheche Mara camp.

Amazing wildlife with driver/guide Dominic, in particular several cheetah families with cubs of various ages and leopard with young cubs. So many lions. Amazing knowledge of individual cats/prides. Superb catering again. Andrew was a wonderful host as Camp Manager, ably assisted by the rest of the team.

Yet again an unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms K
Florida

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2022
"I was glad to have experienced this camp, which was new to me. It was well-managed and had the advantage of a bonfire, which I like.

I was initially placed in the honeymoon suite, which was 1/2k from the main camp, making it difficult to deal with short times between activities.

I thought it was unwise to place a 75-year-old woman traveling alone in that tent, but managed until the toilet stopped working and I was moved to another, closer one." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr V
Texas

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2022
"This was our third trip to Kenya and our third stay at Kicheche Mara, which pretty much sums up how we feel about this and other camps in the Kicheche portfolio.

The food is excellent, the staff is warm and friendly, the accommodations provide every comfort (while still managing to retain a low-key, bush-like feel), but the real emphasis here is on the wildlife. We appreciate the standard Kicheche schedule of early morning starts and breakfasts in the bush.

We’ve always enjoyed the relatively lush landscape and varied bird life in Mara North, but this time we also found predator action to be quite high, including multiple memorable sightings of leopard and cheetah, both with cubs. Our guide, Peter, was excellent, and our vehicle had one of its front seats removed in order to better accommodate low-angle photography, which was a thoughtful amenity that we found very helpful." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 53
98%
53 reviews of Kicheche Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (54 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (37 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


97% (30 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (12 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (10 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (6 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (6 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


90% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


95% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa