This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara

Reviews of Kicheche Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

57% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

8% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

93% success

Striped Hyena

9% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Excellent comfortable camp"

4 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2020
"This was our first visit to the Kicheche Mara camp although we had previously been to other camps owned by Kicheche. The same level of service which we enjoyed at both Bush and Laikipia is immediately apparent on arrival at the camp.

The friendly welcome by Carys and the rest of the staff made us feel immediately at home. The accommodation was excellent and the hot and cold running water was an added bonus. No bucket showers here!! As expected the standard of the food was very impressive, watched over with a careful eye by Wellington, the chef.

Our guide, Saruni was impressive in his ability to locate the most elusive predators, finding a leopard on our first day at camp. The rest of the four night stay was equally impressive in terms of animal sightings. Given that the weather had been somewhat unusual in the weeks leading up to our arrival, Saruni coped extremely well considering the state of the "road" conditions. The long grass proved excellent cover for the cats and made sightings that more difficult but Saruni proved himself on more than one occasion in hunting them down.

Dinner in the evenings after the late afternoon game drive were communal affairs which we much prefer and Carys proved to be an excellent and attentive host.

One of the lovely things about the camp was the number of returning guests which in itself speak volumes for the style and manner in which Kicheche run their camps and for the staff on the ground who manage them." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Striped Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Mara camp - beautiful as ever"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2020
"We love this camp as it is in a beautiful setting. The camp and the staff were as lovely as usual but the safari drives were a bit difficult due to the large amount of rain which meant access to some areas of the conservancy was not possible. However, we still had fantastic wildlife viewing as in this conservancy the wildlife is abundant.

Our only issue was with the wifi which remains slow." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr V
Texas

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2020
"This was our second stay at Kicheche Mara, and we’d happily return for subsequent visits.

The rains created quite a challenge for the guides and staff. The river at the entrance of the camp was flooded when we arrived, and we were given Wellington boots to help us navigate the considerable mud in camp. We were not able to cross back over the river for game drives for several days, but there was plenty to see on the camp-side, so we did not feel particularly constricted.

We saw a lot of interesting leopard and lion behavior, and Mara North is an excellent place for those interested in birds. The tents had been plumbed since our last visit 2 years ago, so no more bucket showers, which I kind of missed, but a hot shower on demand is also much appreciated. Kicheche’s emphasis on longer game drives and time in the bush makes me a loyal and returning customer." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs A
Bridport

"A perfect partnership with Laikipia"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2020
"This was the second camp we stayed at. Three days at Laikipia and 4 days here. We were concerned that it would simply be more of the same. However, although there was, inevitably, substantial overlap in the animals and birds seen, everything was fresh and different. There were animals we hadn't seen at Laikipia (Topi, Wildebeest, Leopard and more), but even the ones we had seen we saw in a new light. The country was different, the behaviour was different and we came to appreciate that EVERY sighting of an animal seen before brought new insight. The Mara is very different to Laikipia and just amazing in its variety. A drive of a few minutes will transform the landscape from vast flat plains to rolling scub-covered hills, to hidden magical valleys with rock strewn rivers. One plain will be completely empty of mammals, the next teeming.
Our guide, Soit, was as informed and incredibly knowledgeable as Josphat had been at Laikipia. He was Masai and we had fascinating conversations with him about the Masai way of life and culture. A lovely man." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M.
Montreal

"Kicheche Mara"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2020
"I had a great experience at the Kicheche Mara camp..All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The wildlife was plentiful and the game drives were all very interesting.

The area had experienced a lot of rainfall in the weeks prior to my arrival so the roads and paths were quite muddy and challenging to navigate in many locations. On the day I arrived the river that flows through the camp had overflowed it's banks and we were not able cross the river to get to the camp. Before the end of the day, the camp management arranged to have a small helicopter carry myself and two other guests across the river to the camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sandra
Ottawa

"Kicheche Mara"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2019
"Enjoyed our stay here!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

9 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

9 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

The Hs
Edmonton

"Mara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2019
"Mara Camp was a great place to begin our adventure!

The tents were lovely -- we saw lots of wildlife "just outside" our doors, from buffalo to monkeys, dik diks and bushbucks, and one wandering hippo! Our hosts Caris and Bonny were great! We so enjoyed every moment!

Our guides were David and George and they were really terrific! We enjoyed meeting other guests and sharing stories of sighting at dinner. :)!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr S & Ms B
UK

"Excellent Camp"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Kicheche Mara has a beautiful setting along a small river. The tents are very well designed and well spread out. The camp is extremely well managed and run and Cerys is an excellent host. The whole staff team appeared to be very well trained and professional; they gave the impression that they genuinely wanted their guests to have a good experience.

Although the camp is very comfortable, the central focus remains on wildlife viewing; we really enjoyed having a bush breakfast each day, for example, rather than having to return to camp as with some other operators. The guiding was excellent and our guide (Saruni) was also very good at anticipating an animal's behaviour and so getting us in a position where the animal was walking towards us (rather than us chasing along behind, getting pictures of bottoms). He also understood the best angles for photography including the importance of light. The wildlife viewing was excellent.

The food was excellent and they were exceptional in how they coped with our complex dietary requirements. It became apparent that their team had discussed how they might do this in advance of our arrival. The chef at Kicheche Mara even phoned the chef at our next camp (Kicheche Valley) to advise him. All of this was very much appreciated.

We loved our stay at Kicheche Mara." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs L
Suffolk

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Very good camp and an excellent guide.

My room could have done with a separate table and chair and it was quite small." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Derbyshire

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2019
"This camp is in a most lovely setting. It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very well-integrated, friendly and most welcoming. The relief manager, Peter Cadot, was really excellent. He was extremely knowledgeable, about birds in particular, and came with us on one game drive.

The food - picnic breakfasts on game drives, very varied salad-type lunches and 3 course dinners - was delicious, beautifully presented and always interesting.

Our game drives with Richard were fantastic. We were lucky to have him to ourselves for the whole time. He was very patient, had a great sense of humour, and we learnt a lot from him. Every day we had exciting and varied wildlife sightings." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

7 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 39
98%
39 reviews of Kicheche Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa