This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara

Reviews of Kicheche Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

82 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 54 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

89% success

Wild dog

5% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

92% success

Striped Hyena

8% success

Black Rhino

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 82
Duration
Arrival date
HLG
Manitoba

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2024
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Mara review"

7 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2024
"Our favourite camp and as good as ever." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

T&J
London

"Kicheche Mara review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2024
"Slightly bigger than other but maintains the same high standard. We were upgrade to family tent which was amazing: a home. Again, food, service, guides all excellent.

Feels slightly less accessible that others because tracks are much more rough and we had unusually heavy rains. We actually had to switch airstrip to leave but Andrew, manager, took care of it all.

Lots of big cats to see but make sure to head to Mara river for Hippos, birds and different landscape." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

N&C
Poole

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2024
"We have stayed in a lot of safari camps and this is definitely one of the best we have encountered.

Very nice first impressions - a lovely oasis in the bush.

Well spaced tents with ample privacy.

All in all a first class camp - the food was really good as was the guiding." See all these reviews: 20n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

CB&BB
USA

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2023
"We didn't think it would be possible to top Laikipia but Mara North might just have done it. We were greeted at the airstrip by a smiling, enthusiastic guide Paul who immediately made us feel at home there in the Mara. He offered to take us on a game drive or drive straight away to the camp. We of course chose the game drive and were taken on an amazing introduction to the truly extraordinary Mara North and could see why Paul had gotten into being a guide 10 years ago inspired by his brother who was also a guide.

We were greeted by Anne, our house manager, Charles (our server in the dining area), Frank (bartender) McKenna and so many friendly outgoing faces and voices that were a part of the Mara welcome crew. Charles almost immediately started teaching us both swahili and Masai ways to say common phrases and told us some more local culture and history of what he was clearly proud of with the Masai tribe. We had continued amazing food, drink, desserts, snacks everything this time from a couple of female chefs that were constantly checking in to make sure what they were providing met our satisfaction. There was never a doubt as our expanded waistlines can attest to.

Our tent was Kanga and we appreciated being one of the closer tents to the main area of Kicheche Mara. The velvet monkies immediately showed interest in our tent so we learned the importance of keeping things zipped up and tight as they showed themselves to be very curious and mischievous. That was a special part of staying at Mara, with no fences you could hear the animals and see the animals that enjoyed being within a safe and respectful distance to your tent. A few cute bush bucks stayed close by and grazed behind our tent on the fresh green grass. Similar to KL we were greeted with cards, flowers and beautiful facilities at our tent. We were always comfortable and took advantage this time of the fans, water bottles at night and laundry service which was so helpful to keep things fresh and clean after our rides and adventures.

Paul had a truly special gift of being able to communicate and understand the thoughts, movements and reactions for all creatures great and small. We trusted him from the beginning and were thrilled at how we literally felt like observers in their day to day life not bothering them but rather there to appreciate them. We had so many special encounters with so many animal families, babies and even solo wanderers. He was determined for us to see everything including the leopard but despite valient efforts the leopard will be something we return to try and see.

He took us to a special Thursday market day and again made us feel so at ease and privileged to get to meet and understand the people he had grown up with and still clearly stayed close with in the Masai tribe. We learned so much in a such a short amount of time and we were constantly asking questions and probing Paul for even more info and he was always so gracious to share it all. He had such a joy every day whether it be early in the morning or later in the evening after a long day. We always felt like he truly wanted this to be the most amazing adventure for us. It absolutely was!

Every staff person we interacted with made it their goal each day to talk to us about what we'd seen, how we were doing or share some special tidbit of information that just added to our great adventure. These Kicheche camps truly set themselves apart from any place in the world we've ever been in terms of hospitality, quality of stay (soup to nuts) and leaving us wanting more and more." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2023
"It was largely the sightings and guide from our first visit here that convinced us to do a last minute wet season safari. The tents have been refurbished and are lovely. They feel much more spacious and have a hotel room like feel. The camp has also given up on communal dining of the entire camp, as it was becoming unmanageable. They now have smaller communal or individual tables, which was a vast improvement and made it much easier to keep up with conversation.

We arrived 6 and a half hours later than scheduled, as the flight was unable to land in Laikipia to pick us up, due to the weather. Consequently, we were exhausted when we stepped off of our game drive transfer. Andrew, the camp manager and Lucy, the head of housekeeping anticipated this. We were taken straight to our room to have a hot shower, rather than a welcome drink and going through the health and safety form etc. This was completed later at dinner, which was served on a table for two, very fast, so that we could get an early night. We were shocked when we got back to the tent to see that my rather slap dash unpacking had been redone and every item of clothing folded neatly. This continued for our entire stay. Anything that we left even remotely untidy or out of place would be moved on our return. This is only place we have ever stayed that provided such a service. It was a lovely surprise and made packing a cinch.

The following morning we were back to the usual safari routine. Johnson, our guide, was younger and less experienced than the others. Although we specified an interest in birds, he did not seem to share this. His lack of photographic experience was also stark when compared to our other two guides. However, we quickly noted this and directed his vehicle placement for photography or asked him to stop for unusual birds where necessary, so it all worked out ok. He was however, very good at noticing where the action was and got us to kills (really attempted hunts) amongst the first vehicles on several occasions.

Food and drink was again excellent. For meals we were grouped with a photographic safari tour, run by the co-owner, Paul Goldstein. I don't know if this was because we were from the UK or into photography, but it worked out well, once the ice was broken. Mealtimes were certainly memorable. It was very interesting seeing his shots from sightings that we had also been at, to compare with ours. Having not met him before, it was an experience as he is a larger than life character. We got to see a very shy male leopard and despite arriving as the last vehicle, managed to get the best position twice as we followed it, with shots comparable to his!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms D.
Canada

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2023
"Loved this place.

The staff and the accommodations were superb.

The drives were absolutely amazing with lots to see and take in, and the drivers were very informative and friendly. I felt very safe at all times.

I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to go on safari." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Gwendolyon
Ithaca,NY

"Home on the Mara"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2023
"What an amazing place. The people, the food, the tents, the guides. Everything was perfect. We had no idea what to expect, and never in our wildest dreams would have expected such perfection.

From the moment our guide, Saruni, picked us up from the airstrip, our greeting and reception when we arrived, the comfort of the “tents”, the thoughtfulness in remembering and catering to each guest’s needs, the laundry service, the wake up coffee, tea and cookies, the amazing and delicious meals, it was all perfect. The staff, Maurice, Fred, Priscilla, and Charles, to name a few, go out of their way to ensure the guests’ comfort on all levels (food, accommodations, activities).

I made the mistake of not indicating a food preference on my Expert Africa form and Priscilla noted this to herself. For the following meals she prepared for me a separate dish accommodating this. Sam made sure we got to our tent safely every night and to the truck every morning; and also went out of his way to assist my traveling companion when she hurt her leg. Everyone we met made a point of talking with us, getting to know us, and making us feel like family.

I am in awe of the amount of knowledge our guides, Jimmy, Saruni, and George have to share with us. Prior to the trip I had no true understanding of what a silver rating implied. It becomes overwhelmingly clear once we were in the trucks with them. Every animal, every plant, every bird and their song. Everything about their behavior. The connection with some of the animals, knowing their history and behavior." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Gar
USA

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2023
"From the first welcome to the final goodbye, this place was amazing!
Everybody was so warm and welcoming upon arrival and throughout the stay.
The food and beverage offerings were excellent - certainly better than one typically associates with 'camp food'.

The tents were very inviting and comfortable - all with a view of the plain below the camp.

The game drives were well executed - morning and afternoon.
(I do have to say that Jimmy's driving was a bit unnerving at times. I nicknamed him - depending upon the situation, it was "Lead Foot Jimmy" (due to excessive speed) or "No Roads Jimmy", which was often times combined with the lead foot. He is incredibly knowledgeable and friendly; I really enjoyed his fun personality, but was a bit nervous at times due to his aggressive driving.)

Breakfast on the plains - WOW! Watching the different animals in the distance, while being pampered by the guides setting up breakfast and making coffee. Such an indulgence!

Then again, during the Sundowner experience. Kenyan sunsets, cocktails, snacks - what could be better?!

Cocktails by the fire upon return in the evening, to talk about what an amazing day it had been - or to quietly reflect on the amazing day on The Mara with the abundant animal sightings.

All the guides were kind, welcoming and knowledgeable. So knowledgeable - and clearly love what they do, which equates to a better experience for their passengers." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

8 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms J from FL & IL
USA

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2023
"Awesome.

Caring staff truly concerned with our having a WONDERFUL experience.

Food was AMAZING -- quality, taste, presentation.

Even the nighttime guards were helpful, willing to take me for star gazing & night photography.

I was so shocked at the beauty of my tent accommodations." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 82
98%
82 reviews of Kicheche Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
76
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (94 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


99% (58 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (48 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (41 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


99% (16 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


93% (16 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (13 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


96% (10 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


95% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


94% (7 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


97% (7 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (2 reviews)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa