This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp

Reviews of Porini Lion Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Porini Lion Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Porini Lion Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
P&JG
Scotland

"Porini Lion Camp Lived up to its name"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2019
"Porini Lion Camp lived up to its name both in terms of feeling like a proper camp (rather than a "lodge") and in view of the number of lions and other big cats we encountered, at surprisingly close quarters, during our stay.

Whilst the tents were perfectly comfortable, this is perhaps not a camp for those looking for somewhere merely to hang out and be pampered all day. The point of this place is to get out there and track down the animals and this we did at length and with some success. The camp staff were attentive and friendly and our driver (Bill) and guide (Little John) proved to be fountains of knowledge and information and very good company.

There is also now a very good "media tent", with ample charging facilities and internet access." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr Dario
Richmond

"It's called Lion camp for a reason !"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"We stayed at Porini Lion Camp for our last 2 days in the Mara, having been at Ol Kinyei the previous 2 days. I am happy we decided to see another camp and another area as the landscapes and animals were different enough.

The number of lions and cats in general that we saw there in those 2 days beggars believe. On the 2nd day our tally indicated we'd already seen 22 lions since we set off at 6.15 and it wasn't 8 am yet!

We also got to see the great migration which was a spectacle, even though you can't avoid feeling that something is not right when you are part of a huge number of vehicles parked by the side of the river stalking the poor wildebeest that are trying to make up their minds on whether and when to cross. Just too many people, too many of us tourists. In the end I enjoyed a lot more our drives in the conservancy with our maasai guides and also the visit to a proper Maasai village not too far from the camp. I definitely recommend that, if you get a chance." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Q
Berks

"Porini Lion camp game drives Brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2015
"Food excellent particularly the soups and service by all staff excellent.

William and Josephat our driver/guides very knowledgeable about all game and very enthusiastic with great sense of humour.

A very well run camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs AS
Herts

"A disappointment after the first camp"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2014
"Although OUR tent had a good outlook I felt that on the whole they were too close together. Mess tent was small, and really not enough seating when having pre-dinner drinks, although round the camp fire it was OK.

I felt the wildlife was slightly better here - we saw leopard and I liked the fact that hippos were around us a night! I did feel the Manager did not always have his finger on the pulse, but the staff were very friendly. Guides were very good." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Surrey

"An interesting experience of life in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2014
"Perhaps we were setting the standard too high having just spent three wonderful days at Kicheche, but Porini Lion Camp did not quite live up to expectations. The Masai staff, Guides and Drivers were excellent and worked hard to make sure we could do everything we wanted , including night drives and a whole day trip into the Mara Reserve. We also had an amazing twenty minute send off when we left with all the staff traditionally dressed and full of energy and fun

Although our rooms (number 5 in our case) were clean and comfortable there were one or two issues which had to be pointed out - lack of hand towel, light bulb needing replacement and a chest of drawers with a faulty top which collapsed under the slightest pressure making it impossible to open the drawers, and just 4 coat hangers. The wind up torch in the room was useless, despite a great deal of winding when ever we had a spare moment! Fortunately we had taken our own head torches - a must for this camp!

The communal dining area was very dimly lit and although we had candles on the table for one meal, which greatly improved things, they were normally left unlit on a side table, also several of the dining chair cushions had lost their ties and could not be fixed in place. The food was tasty and adequate in most cases, but at lunch on the first day the very small salad bowl was not sufficient for 12 people and was only replenished at the end of the main course when most people had finished everything else on the plate. We were very surprised not to be offered a hot drink at the end of lunch, or the evening meal - especially as obviously there are no drink making facilities in the rooms. However, when asked, the manager did agree to provide tea or coffee on subsequent occasions. The beef stew, mashed potato and mixed veg on the last evening meal was, I fear, rather reminiscent of a school dinner but the soups were excellent." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Miss S & Mr P
Suffolk

"Porini Lion Camp"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2014
"We had been told before we arrived that Porini would be different to Kicheche, and it was. The only way I can describe the feeling that I had when we arrived was that I had left home and had arrived back at boarding school! My heart sank.

As this is my first experience of a safari I can only compare the two camps. Everything seemed a little tired at Porini. On the approach to Porini there was an area of waste ground with a large piece of broken concrete pipe lying there.

Our Tent (No 4) was very dark with no outlook due to scrub growing up close to the tent. Just a small amount of clearing would have given more light and a view over the river and beyond. Otherwise we had no outlook from "our veranda". Beyond the scrub were discarded items including a mop & mop head, this just showed maybe the lack of attention to detail that separated Porini from Kicheche.

The Mess Tent was very dark, on the first night two of our party wore head torches to eat their dinner by. There were lovely substantial candles which were on the sideboard unlit. (Although they were used on the second night.)

We have put good for food except the beef (?) casserole which was largely fat and gristle.

By Activities I assume this means the Game Drives and these were excellent, as were our guides and as indeed were all the staff who looked after us extremely well.

Despite our comments we grew quite fond of Porini and would return. However we would go to Porini first and then on to Kicheche.

The difference between excellent for Kicheche and good for Porini does not really show how much more superior Kicheche was but it would be churlish to give Porini anything less than good as we felt they were trying and perhaps more leadership from the management would have dealt with the problems before they arose." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Colchester

"Porini Lion Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"We also much enjoyed this stay. The Maasai, again without exception, were first class in every way. Again they were well informed, eager to help, and delightful companions, whether discussing game, or any topic under the sun.

We were the only couple to go a walk. We passed a lioness at about 40 metres. She did nothing save keep her watchful eye on our every step. We felt confident that that had she taken more interest in us our armed guard and our instructing escort would have known what to do. It was a feature of this visit that Lion prowled and roared just outside our tent - a lasting memory! Again the Maasai staff's timekeeping was such that I was tempted to use the arrival of tea to fix my watch!

The send-off party and farewell were remarkable - we did not want to leave!" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Dorset

"Excellent 3 days at Porini"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Our tent was situated just above the river and had less of a view than Kicheche but the birds were much more numerous which made up for it.
The drives into the Mara were really exciting and our drivers were again friendly, informative and competent.

We missed two of our drives at the end of the trip because we were unwell but have no idea what caused it. The first time in all our many travels abroad so maybe we were a bit blasé and were not careful enough." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-8 of 8
83%
8 reviews of Porini Lion Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
3
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa