This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Colchester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2014 trip

Kenya between 19 Jul 2014 and 29 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent - for all the reasons we have given"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

"The Norfolk Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"We had the warmest of welcomes. That warmth and hospitality continued throughout our visit with each member of staff with whom we came into contact.

I tended to to discover their Tribe, and, largely speaking Kiswahili had interesting discussions, which were frequently hilarious. I felt I was being treated as a long lost friend, which, considering this was my favourite hotel from 1953 until I, latterly we, moved to West Nyanza. The Hotel was more modern in many ways but retained its essence. The courtyard garden was still beautiful. Food and service were outstanding. It was sad to see that it was necessary for there to be a permanent armed guard from the GSU the first leader of which had been a friend as I told the startled askaris on duty.

Our driver at this time was Kim who was first class."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"We much enjoyed this Lodge.

Well run, a good welcome, and again many chats invariably in Swahili, withe engaging and delightful staff.

The otherwise good bathroom had some awkward fittings for example if one dropped the soap/shampoo on one side of the bath it became almost impossible to retrieve."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Kicheche Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"This was a wonderful experience. Excellent hosts and staff.

How did they manage to train a Maasai to keep so precisely to times and programmes!?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

"Porini Lion Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"We also much enjoyed this stay. The Maasai, again without exception, were first class in every way. Again they were well informed, eager to help, and delightful companions, whether discussing game, or any topic under the sun.

We were the only couple to go a walk. We passed a lioness at about 40 metres. She did nothing save keep her watchful eye on our every step. We felt confident that that had she taken more interest in us our armed guard and our instructing escort would have known what to do. It was a feature of this visit that Lion prowled and roared just outside our tent - a lasting memory! Again the Maasai staff's timekeeping was such that I was tempted to use the arrival of tea to fix my watch!

The send-off party and farewell were remarkable - we did not want to leave!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

0 night Arrived 29 Jul 2014
"As before - a good way to wind up a happy safari.

[Ed: see their comments of the Emakoko from their first visit there, at the start of their trip, below. ]"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team