This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr Dario from Richmond

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2017 trip

Kenya between 9 Aug 2017 and 23 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"The 3 safari destinations (Laikipia + Maara) were great, all of them. The fact that we were first timers probably helped, but we were gobsmacked day after day seeing these beautiful places accompanied by excellent, smart, friendly, local guides.

The bit on the coast a bit less exciting as we were not quite ready to confront the beach boys so we ended up staying inside the hotel most of the time: good thing the hotel was very nice!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I think Richard has done a great job with us, nothing in particular i can think of."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"1 night at Lazizi"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2017
"Nice, modern, convenient (@ airport).

Very brief stay so not much to feedback.

Nice roof pool, too bad it was midnight (and winter..)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

"El-Karama, top marks"

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"Our first taste of Africa: amazing place, staff were lovely (all the 'junior' people were there as owners and main guide were on leave), the location is great and well looked after. We were nearly the only ones there for 4 nights and made friends with the staff in no time, everyone was terribly kind & friendly. Our 'banda' was beautiful and we like the eco touch to it, recycled timber, no plastic bottles, all solar powered, etc.

Food was great even more so considering we had 2 vegetarians out of 5 - and Kenyan love their meat: always had options for us.

Our driver/guide Andrew was superb and possibly had super-powers (driving at night, pointing the spot light, seeing invisible things, giving us insights: all at the same time!).

There wasn't a thing we did not like, could not have been better."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

"Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"Ol Kinyei was our first experience of the Mara: it was great all along. A minute after we landed (the airstrip is already an experience if you never landed on one) we were taken to see a cheetah that had been spotted a few minutes before by another car. That was a great start!

The camp was very nice, tucked away by the bend of a stream, a few tents scattered around with minimal impact on the surrounding environment. The camp manager gave us a tour and a talk and was very helpful with everything. Our guides were great, knowledgeable, just very nice people all round. The food was great too and again they catered to the 2 of us that were 'grass-eaters'.

The drives were always different and fascinating; the night drive was also a first for us and we saw animals we would only see at night so again something completely new. And -cherry on the cake- we had a resident female-hippo that came to graze every night by our tent - but very discreet! Top marks all round."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

"It's called Lion camp for a reason !"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"We stayed at Porini Lion Camp for our last 2 days in the Mara, having been at Ol Kinyei the previous 2 days. I am happy we decided to see another camp and another area as the landscapes and animals were different enough.

The number of lions and cats in general that we saw there in those 2 days beggars believe. On the 2nd day our tally indicated we'd already seen 22 lions since we set off at 6.15 and it wasn't 8 am yet!

We also got to see the great migration which was a spectacle, even though you can't avoid feeling that something is not right when you are part of a huge number of vehicles parked by the side of the river stalking the poor wildebeest that are trying to make up their minds on whether and when to cross. Just too many people, too many of us tourists. In the end I enjoyed a lot more our drives in the conservancy with our maasai guides and also the visit to a proper Maasai village not too far from the camp. I definitely recommend that, if you get a chance."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
AfroChic

AfroChic

"Lovely beach retreat, but beach boys so-so"

4 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2017
"This is a lovely relatively small hotel on northern part of Diani beach. Staff very kind, a lovely pool, right on the beach which would also be quite nice: if only you could step outside of the hotel area and go for a walk without being approached by ‘beach boys’ (that hotel stuff just warned you about) that want to do business with you, be that a key ring, a coconut or just a donation because life is tough if you’ve no job. It’s hard not to sympathise, and i am sure most of those guys are genuine good people in a bad situation. However the net effect is that you feel a little bit in a siege, which is not great, with 10 km of which beach right there for you to enjoy.

Going to visit Mombasa is a plan we considered and abandoned as the ferry is very temperamental and it can end up taking much longer than we were willing to, just to get there and get back. See excursions: we went on a short snorkelling trip which was ok, but not earth shattering. There was another full-day trip which looked nicer, but was quite pricey for a family of 5 and we ended up not going.

So the hotel was very nice with lovely food and great staff. Things to do outside the hotel - in relative freedom - a bit less so."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team