This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara
Kicheche Mara

Reviews of Kicheche Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

57% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

8% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

93% success

Striped Hyena

9% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
SueD
UK

"Happy experience"

4 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2018
"Enjoyed my stay here. Aki was lovely, very kind and helpful, my guides David and intern John were excellent, the staff in general very attentive (and the animal sightings were brilliant). This tented camp has a great atmosphere, relaxed and friendly, and the staff really seem to care that you have a happy time here and go out of their way to make sure you do." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"My favourite camp"

5 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2018
"I love this camp more than any other I have stayed at.

It is set in a beautiful valley with fantastic views from the tents. The staff are very welcoming and remember you when you make return visits.

Also, the wildlife viewing in Mara North is excellent." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr V
Texas

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2018
"The tents at Kicheche Mara were simpler affairs than those at the other two Kicheche camps where we stayed, smaller and with less natural ventilation and no enclosed sitting area, but their location above a shady tree-lined creek bed was arguably the most attractive setting we had. Although the food was a little more straightforward than at Laikipia, that wasn’t an issue with us, and everything was very good.

The gracious and outgoing manager, Raymond, was very hands-on, and our guide, Francis, was excellent. His intuition, determination, and patience paid off, leading us to witness an unforgettable kill by a single lionness. Francis could tell that she was interested in this particular hunt, and at his urging, we stayed with her over the course of several hours until it all unfolded just as he had predicted it might. Now that is superb guiding.

As at the other Kicheche properties, morning drives began at 6:00 AM, with breakfast in the bush and returns shortly after noon, just in time to freshen up before lunch at 1:00 (unless you were on a great sighting, and then lunch became secondary). This is exactly the type of camp we desired — it had everything we needed, but management never lost sight of the fact that we were here for the wildlife.

Only 4 of the 6 tents were occupied during our stay, but to Kicheche’s credit, they kept all their guides and vehicles operating, so we each had a private guide and vehicle, which was an exceptional privilege and really enhanced our experience there.

I could not be happier with the ethos behind Kicheche’s approach to safari. They’ve really got their priorities in order, and the fact that the majority of guests we met at both Mara and Bush camps were repeat customers (some had been coming for years) is a testament to their success in this area. " See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W
Stockton

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2017
"Another excellent camp. Location was fantastic. Felt at home straight away with the host Ray and all of the team. Guiding from Anthony was excellent. Very knowledgeable and a really nice guy. Tents were more than generous and kept nice and clean. Great leopard sightings. Cheetah and lions feeding. A real wildlife highlight to my trip. Thank you so much for a great experience . " See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Steve H
Leeds

"Exceptional safari at Kicheche Mara"

6 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2017
"Kicheche Mara camp was tremendous. Great wildlife, fantastic setting. Camp managers Andrea and Manuela are wonderful hosts and it felt like being with old friends.Joseph is a brilliant guide who understands the requirements of photographers and has his finger on the pulse of the environment. The cuisine was great and plentiful.
I love the spacious feeling of the camp with tents well-spread along the valley among large shady trees. Wildlife visits all the camps but it is more visible here and very relaxed within the camp.
I would happily return to any of the three Kicheche camps in the Mara conservancies but especially Kicheche Mara.
It is difficult to imagine how a safari could be better." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Mara - a really beautiful camp"

5 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"The approach to the camp, and its setting, are really beautiful. Just thinking about it while I'm writing this feedback is so uplifting!

But this camp is not just a 'pretty face', it has real substance in the form of abundant and diverse wildlife shown to you by phenomenal guides.

This was my third visit and we are already planning our next trip." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Kicheche Mara"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2016
"We stayed at 2 kicheche camps, the Kicheche Bush Camp and the Kicheche Mara. This is what I said about the Kicheche Bush Camp

"Fantastic. The managers, Darren & Emma are very personable and go out of their way to make sure that guests are looked after.
Nothing is too much trouble.The food and wine are first class. The guides all hold silver qualifications under the Kenya Professional Guide scheme. All of them regularly accompany professional photographers and as a result they instinctively put guests in the best position to view animals and to take photographs. They explain what animals have been sighted in the conservancy over the last few days and which are with cubs. They will then plan game drives which suit what the guest wants to view. You have the option to have packed breakfasts or lunches depending on what you want to see."

After staying at Bush Camp we stayed in the Mara Camp. Everything I wrote about the Bush Camp applies to the Mara camp where Andreas and Manuela are the managers. They are Italian and bring a delightful Italian influence to some of the dishes at this camp. They are both charming and knowledgeable about Kenya it's wildlife and people.

The mara camp is in an area which is ideal for sightings of lions, cheetah and leopards." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs J
Stockholm

"Brilliant stay at Kicheche Mara"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2016
"Even if this is quite a big camp with its 8 tents, these are placed unusually far apart which gives each party a lot of privacy. The tents are huge, very cosy and nicely decorated and sleep up to four people. Maybe that´s why this camp was visited by many families during our stay.

Everything at this camp was run smoothly and super efficiently by the Italian managers Manuela and Andrea. They were the most sympathetic and relaxed managers we ever met. We cannot praise them highly enough. As we had problems as to where to hang our washing, they really listened and already the next day, they had introduced a discretely placed new washing line at all tents. A washing line for the laundry that the staff cannot wash, is something that we had missed at all camps we visited so far.

Food is excellent here and no effort was spared as to fulfil my dietary needs. The cook, who even came in person to our table, baked the most delicious special rice bread just for me. All the staff was great.

The highlights of our stay were the game drives with our outstanding guide David, who has a lovely personality. It was a pleasure to spend our days in his company. He was very responsive to our interests and every day made suggestions for us to choose from. Mara North was teeming with wildlife and among many memorable sightings, we witnessed the unfolding drama of two jackals chasing and killing an impala fawn, through outsmarting the impala mother and the whole herd. Next thing, the carcass got stolen by a passing hyena.

We spent the lion's share of an afternoon with the Offbeat lion pride, watching the older cubs stalking each other, jumping high into the air while playing rough, three of them even went up a tree, all of them together. We also had several heartwarming encounters with elephant mothers and their young, who were calmly surrounding us at close range. Their obvious trust was deeply moving.

Most of our time each day we spent watching and photographing a cheetah mother, probably Amani, with her two cubs. Mostly we were the only vehicle there, except for a film team.






" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Waco, TX

"As advertised"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2015
"The star here is the beautiful Mara North Conservancy
anyone who loves the land will appreciate it
excellent guiding
abundant game as the southern herds were mostly here
Lions in huge numbers
Kicheche is very service oriented and responsive
A negative is there are a lot of vehicles from other camps in the general area
the tents and camp itself are quite nice but the camp facilities bar is high in this area




" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The C family
S London

"Lovely location and guiding at Kicheche Mara"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2015
"This is a beautifully sited camp and the tents are well located apart from each other. Really feel you are in the middle of the bush.

After Bush Camp though, Mara really lacked atmosphere. Don't know whether this is due to relief managers rather than permanent fixtures but it was infinitely less friendly and welcoming. David was an excellent guide and very informative and knowledgeable with a lovely gentle manner. He made the stay for us." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 39
98%
39 reviews of Kicheche Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa