This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs T from Ireland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic Holiday

South Africa between 25 Oct 2016 and 10 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved every place we visited. We even enjoyed the 2 long drives we had.

It was one of the best holidays we have had.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have no suggestions we have used Expert Africa 3 times."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

"Quiet retreat"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2016
"Camps Bay was a very quiet place to stay. The suite was lovely and large. Privacy could be a problem because of the open plan type bathroom in the bed room. When using it the blinds need to be closed but this then makes the bedroom dark.

Camps Bay is in easy walking reach of Camps Bay itself.

The food was very good we had one dinner as well as breakfast."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Farm 215

"Good for peole interested in all things ecco"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2016
"Farm 215 is set in a beautiful area not far from Grootbos. It is very ecco friendly it generates its own electricity and the water is golden in colour but very safe to drink.

The room in the Homestead was very large with a wood burning stove. It had a bathroom with shower and bath. In the room was tea and coffee, water and ahair dryer. Our room also had a separate balcony. The room was basic but clean with no fancy cushions etc. But we really liked it. We didn't see inside the suites.

The food was very good. In the evening you could have 3 course set meal we had 2 and they were great. There is also an honesty bar wre you can have a drink and write on a tab and pay when you leave,we really like it.

We met some lovely people and chatted well into the evening.

Camps Bay is ideally placed and Walkers Bay and the Cafe on the Rocks was grand and well worth a visit.

Farm 215 is a good place to visit if you are interested in going horse riding."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

"Wow lovel hotel"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2016
"It is a beautiful hotel but still relaxed nothing was too much trouble.

The room was really lovely with the wow factor. There was a free mini bar every day. The view was great and the hotel is ideally placed for the beach and the town.

We had a great time staying there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"Fantastic place to visit"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2016
"I don't know what to say about Kwandwe because it was really amazing, we loved it.

The whole place was great the trips out on safari were the best we have been on.[we have been on safari before] Our guide Doc and spotter Monde were brilliant and we saw lots of animals. The whole place is well organised and if you don't want to go out on safari you don't have to.

The food was lovely but too much of it. You could have anything to drink at any time and the free laundry was a bonus.

The rooms are unbelievable as is the view. We would highly reccommend it to anyone wanting a safari in the Eastern cape."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hacklewood Hill Country House

Hacklewood Hill Country House

"A lovely quiet stop over"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2016
"It was a lovelt old huse we had a large room with an even bigger bathroom. The grounds and gardens are very nice.

Breakfast was good and it gave us the chance to have a rest before flying home."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Our holiday of a life time!

Namibia and 2 other countries between 11 Aug 2010 and 25 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and it was fabulous.

We have been to Namibia and Zambia before, but this was so very different.

We loved every bit of it and all the arrangements ran like clock work."

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse was easy to find"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"Very helpful owners/staff."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Very peaceful at Ghaub Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"Very helpful manager and staff. Very ineresting history about the farm.

Loved the birthday cake I was given by the lodge."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Great views of hippos at Ndhovu Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2010
"Very helpful staff. Breakfast was early and dinner late, there were drinks available during the day but no food at all not even to buy.

We were in a sedan car and it was not suitable to use for the game drive so we paid for a game drive which was very good.

Loved the sparkling wine I was given by the lodge for my birthday!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Great boat trips at Mazambala Island Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2010
"Loved the location and the atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed. The owner/staff were very helpful.

I feel the lodge could have been cleaner. It needed some tender loving care."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Stunning views at Muchenje Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2010
"The activities were great, the guides were very good.

The managers were a little too regimented wanting us to eat lunch and then go on a game drive before seeing our rooms. We were allowed to go to our rooms, first when several of us who arrived at the same time, insisted.

The lodge and the views were very good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

"Great welcome at Ichingo Chobe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2010
"This was were my favourite lodge.

The owners were very welcomng and having our own guide was great. Our Guide was Robert and was very patient when we went out fishing.

The lodge was on an island and the activities were on boats, but because you had your own guide you could choose what you did and when.

I would recommend this lodge as a good place to visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Didn't use the houseboat"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2010
"We liked the lodge so much that we didn't go on the houseboat but stayed at the lodge."
Good
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Great bubble bath at Tongabezi"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2010
"This was a great place to end our holiday.

The room, the view and service were great, as were the activities. We even went on a helicopter ride over the Victoria Falls, paid for by us, but arranged by the lodge and taken to the airport and waited for.

The laundry service was also very good.

My only criticism was that the mats in the room needed a good clean to remove stains."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team