This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Wales

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

My Apr 2017 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 21 Apr 2017 and 21 May 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a lot of things we knew we really wanted to do but the additions recommended by Expert Africa really added to the holiday.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service
Proper maps for Capetown area. Update restaurant info etc and make this more personal rather than general travel agent type reviews.
Wilderness safaris in Namibia were fantastic. So helpful at the airport including dealing with all the car hire for us. Really excellent ground agents.

We have been using Expert Africa since 2002 on and off and we keep on coming back even though we know pretty much what we want to do on our trips. We use you because you add to our holiday and make good suggestions and you are good value for money and give us the back up it's comforting to have whilst we are away."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


River Crossing

River Crossing

"Good Stop Over"

1 night Arrived 22 Apr 2017
"Lovely setting. Calm after travelling.

Food and dining staff excellent. Other staff what you'd expect from a conference venue.

A really good choice for a 1 night in or out of Windhoek as you don't have to go into town.

Pool is in the middle of the dining area so not very private."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Family Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2017
"Wish we'd had more time here as the walking opportunities looked very good.

Excellent bird watching. Good area for accessing the Namib. Really family run.

Evening meals shared at a big table including family and some staff and good varied home cooked food."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Amazing beyond words"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2017
"We shared this amazing experience with a family who thought they were going to a luxury lodge!

We and they loved sleeping under the stars despite a few drops of rain in the desert. Guiding really good. Creatures of the desert fascinating.

Filo pastry at dinner in the desert. Bucket shower excellent. Sharing your "bedroom" with oryx and tok tokkie beetles.

We missed this experience 15 years ago and are so glad we went back to do it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"See previous review"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2017
"See previous [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"See previous"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2017
"See previous [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Bruno!"

4 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2017
"This place is for anyone who loves wildlife and wants to see Africa as it could be.

Lots of walking with Bruno who remains the best guide we've ever spent time with. You learn so much from him.

Mundelea is special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Stunning Landscape"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2017
"An amazing place with much more comfort than you'd expect. Great guided birdwatching.

General evening drive well worth the extra payment. Lots of trails to walk on your own. Great desserts.

Thank you for recommending this one!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2017
"A lovely hotel and it is an oasis of calm near the centre of Capetown.

The rooms are very well appointed although the view from the Mountain cheaper room was better than the more expensive courtyard room we had initially.

Myogi restaurant food unbelievable but service not up to the same standard. Gym good. Some staff excellent, some staff what you'd expect in rather a large hotel.

Overall it was comfy and nice but it didn't quite live up to it's billing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Own arrangements

"not applicable"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2017
"Not applicable"
Excellent
Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"See previous"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2017
"See previous"
Excellent
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2017
"Absolutely stunning place. Lovely place. It's a bit close to it's neighbours but overall it's a great place to stay.

You do get away from everything there and the level of comfort well...... You can walk out to most restaurants. They will book whatever you want to do.

Would definitely recommend this as the place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

"Bit of a let down"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"Billed as a quiet retreat with wonderful gardens.

However we had a building site behind our room, a crane in the view to the sea and on site chainsawing of trees and works. If we had known this was the situation then we might well have chosen a different hotel.

Staff variable. Some excellent, some poor. Wifi very poor. Rooms really nice, food and wine really good but over priced and on a limited menu.

Bit disappointing."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Constantia

The Constantia

"Best hotel ever"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2017
"Simply fantastic service and comfort.

The staff are excellent whilst being friendly and helping you with everything you need for your holiday. thank you Tess and Sam. They chose restaurants for us and didn't let us down. The hotel driver was really good and was there when you finished your meal without you having to tell anybody.

This hotel is worth every penny you pay to stay there."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team