This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Luangwa Safari House
Luangwa Safari House
Luangwa Safari House
Luangwa Safari House
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House


13°7’12.7"S 31°44’18.4"E

Reviews of Luangwa Safari House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Luangwa Safari House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Luangwa Safari House.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

50% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Chris
Oslo

"Wet, but wonderful at Luangwa Safari House"

7 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2019
"I spent a week with my extended family at this fabulous safari house. I know for sure that Brian, my dad, and my elder brother, Mike, have given detailed and very positive feedback.

All I would like to do here is to complete the online wildlife research form on behalf of my parents and the group as a whole, and, otherwise, to add my huge thanks to the whole team, not least our two eminent guides, John and Nyambe, for amazing service from start to finish." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs M
Appledore

"Carnivore Week at Luangwa Safari House"

7 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2019
"As I and one other couple were the only guests we had a choice of bedrooms and I opted for one upstairs with a view over the pool and the lagoon. The first few nights were hot and the breeze system over the bed was a welcome coolant.

There were bats roosting in the bathroom and I enjoyed their comings and goings and the knowledge that they were keeping the mosquitoes down in number. There was a good feeling of being relaxed and at home in the house and the staff were always on hand to deal with my needs before I knew I had them.

The rains began in earnest towards the end of the week so less time was spent outside round the pool but the house is so open and airy that there was never a sense of being shut in by the weather.

===

RPS - Carnivore Week with the Zambian Carnivore Project

Amongst the alpha predators

It was a privilege to be able to see the work of ZCP for the second time. The use of satellite tracking collars was new since my last visit and it was interesting what a difference it made to being able to pinpoint the animals.

The presentation on Day 1 was professional and informative and the ZCP team, especially Thandi, were very generous with their time. I worried, though, that there was too much of their valuable time spent coming with us to make sure we got to see the lions and dogs. I had expected that they would go about their usual work and would let us come along and observe. But so saying it was a very special experience being able to listen to them talk about their work and their intimate knowledge of the packs and prides in South Luangwa and Zambia's other parks.

Jonah our guide treated us to some very accomplished off-road driving to locate the lions and dogs and was managed the inevitable punctures and getting stuck in the mud competence and good humour. Altogether an exciting and educational week." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Glos.

"Beautiful Luangwa House"

10 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"This was our second visit to the House with the family and again everything was as expected. After the fist visit we could not have had a more enjoyable stay and this was again the same. First class rooms excellent hospitality and guiding.

Nothing was too much trouble.

We cannot praise everything about our stay too highly." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bucks

"Luangwa Safari House review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"The House and its facilities were superb and the staff outstanding - professional, welcoming & relaxed. There would be very little to highlight for improvement opportunities to be honest and this would definitely be a place we would recommend to all our friends.

The game drives were outstanding with so much wildlife to see and our guide was extremely knowledgeable but with such a great character it made each drive a real pleasure.

The walking safari should be a must for all visitors - especially being able to hear the sounds without the vehicle and spotting a Leopard in a tree!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
LJ
Ealing

"Fabulous house amid teeming wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"Wonderfully warm and friendly welcome, not just at the outset but at the return from every trip. Service was a brilliant mix of attentive and understated - akin to eating in a top class restaurant where the sommelier and waiters pitch in at exactly the right moment, without any unnecessary hovering or intrusiveness. The meeting of our every need - down to insect repellent, torches and cups of tea - a testament to the experience of the House owners and the skills of the daily team. I suspect our group was particularly demanding at breakfast as we were not perhaps as punctual as might have been, yet we were all fed and watered and magically ushered onto the safari vehicles with our water bottles almost to schedule. No mean feat.

As to the wildlife - who could have asked for more? To get so close, and to feel so much a part of goings on, was sometimes to the point of surreal, and incredibly special. This includes the location of Luangwa Safari House itself. How fabulous to have a watering hole within yards of the seating area and viewing platform/lunch area, and a hide from which to watch the elephants/warthogs/stork about their business. And, on early arising, to be able to ask the team 'what is that noise?' and get the answer (ground hornbills). The 'knock knock' was delightfully subtle, and the breakfast perfectly handled for those like me who are not morning people. Top porridge. I thought Claire did a super job shepherding us all. She was consistently thoughtful and attentive and it was lovely to have some open conversations with a young person just starting out to hear what she had learned and to share experiences.

A great pleasure also in the contrasting styles of our guides, Jacob and Obi, each of whose knowledge have a particular depth, but from a different vantage. Being somewhat English and reticent myself, Obi gave me the confidence to ask quiet questions whilst Jacob's energy, enthusiasm and intimate understanding of the Luangwa ecosystem enabled sights that we never would otherwise have seen, with a particular sensitivity to capturing the best vantage for the photographers among us. Completely fabulous - I do hope he imparts at least some of his knowledge to the next generation.

I should add that the option of a walking safari was very welcome over the four days. It could have been quite frustrating being confined to the house area and vehicles over a number of days, watching the wildlife roam free in a way that we, for obvious reasons, could not. The flexibility over driving/walking and regarding night safaris was most welcome.

Delighted that both Jacob and Obi were able to join us for the special, slightly breezy, bush curry to talk a little further. Although the birthday guest was indisposed we all greatly appreciated the event and the trouble that had been taken. And what amazing food! Hats off, of course, to chef Simon who really really knows what to do with beef and who presented some of the best food I have tasted in a long time (the lunchtime salads, and bush curries, were spectacular)

Room for improvement? Like heck! But if the lily needed gilding, it would be nice to have a one-pager (apologies if I missed it) about the main house and how it was built as this was a great conversation piece among our party. We were particularly fascinated by the front door and how on earth it was made to fit. The over all design of the house is of itself a talking-point, with every possible comfort and the most enormous beds I have ever seen.

From sublime to ridiculous, the clothes laundry service was excellent but, allowing for local considerations regarding ladies' underwear, it was a bit tricky to find somewhere to hang my smalls to dry after handwashing - my travel clothes line wasn't quite long enough to tether between the available points, so in the end I just got creative …

The only other observation comes from a subsequent visit where the night safari used yellow filters for the spotlights. This was (apparently) to protect the vision of the big cats and avoid disturbing the prey mammals. I have no idea whether there is any science behind this, and none of the other night drivers we saw in Luangwa Park seemed to use them, so it may or may not be something to consider for the future.

A fabulous stay at a cleverly thought-out, brilliantly located and immensely comfortable and welcoming venue. A truly magical and memorable holiday. My thanks and appreciation to all." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Victoria

"Exceptional Luangwa Safari House"

5 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2015
"Luangwa Safari House is luxurious, spacious four bedroom house with excellent game and bird viewing and great meals.

From our bedrooms we were treated to visiting elephants, buffalo, impala, puku, hippopotamus, giraffe, mongoose, warthogs, baboons and monkeys. On our drives and walks with our excellent guide Jacob, we came across all of these plus multiple leopards, a lion pride and many other animals. And we lost count of the birds.

And as Jacob kept telling us, the landscapes were highights in themselves.

We also spent half a day visiting a village supported by the local tourist industry - an eye opener to the life of the locals." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family L
Lagos

"Luangwa Safari House--Fantastic"

4 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2015
"This was our second stay at Luangwa Safari House and it lived up to our high expectations.

Jacob, the guide and manager really knows his job. He made us welcome and planned our stay well. We had a great visit to the local village and school which really made an impression on us all. The animals were great and they staff went out of their way to make our Easter special -- they even staged an egg hunt for the kids.

Thanks!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
E Family
UK

"Luangwa Safari House review"

8 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"A fantastic experience with brilliant staff and a great location" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Glos.

"Great family safari"

8 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Being a regular safari fan it was decided to take my family to Luangwa Safari House for their first taste of Africa. The family included my 7 year old grandson and 11 year old grand-daughter who had her birthday during our stay.To say the trip was a success would be an understatement with my grandchildren being entertained and spoilt by all the staff even to the extent of doing some cooking in the kitchen. They even saw Wild Dogs on two occasions!!

Not only must praise be given to Jacob and Tina for their kindness and attention to us all but also to all the backroom staff whose efforts to make our stay so enjoyable were second to none. Many thanks goes to all at the House.

On a general note the meet and greet service arranged by Robin Pope Safaris at Lusaka Airport was very welcome and efficient." See all these reviews: 23n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L
Tunbridge Wells

"Luangwa Safari House review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2014
"Robin Pope kindly up-graded us to this spectacular house for two nights and it really does have the 'wow' factor.

The décor, bedrooms, service, food, location - everything is amazing. Tina, our hostess, ensured everything ran absolutely smoothly without a hint of rush. Simon cooked us some wonderful meals, and Kanga the guide was so knowledgeable and managed to track a mother leopard with a cub for us to see and enjoy on one of the evening safaris. He really was in tune with the sights and sounds of the safari park. Peter and Emanuel were also so friendly and efficient.

We went to visit Peter's village which is part of the South Luangwa Community Project and it was a pleasure to meet all the local people and visit the school. Robin & Joe Pope have put so much back into the local community with the aid of the other lodges in the area.

A long deck runs out past the small swimming pool to a swamp area where for several hours one afternoon we watched 20+ elephants mud bathing - great viewing. Giraffe also come close by and there is a great telescope set up for private viewing.

What more could you ask. We would love to return one day for a longer visit. It was far too short a stay/." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
100%
14 reviews of Luangwa Safari House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa