This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Kapamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kapamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kapamba Bushcamp.
Lion

83% success

Leopard

83% success

Wild dog

17% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

83% success

Buffalo

67% success

Eland

17% success

Roan antelope

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Rowena
London

"Kapamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2023
"Kapamba is exceptional. We were driven there expertly in under 3 hours by Jeremiah, a brilliant driver and guide. It is deep in the bush with no wifi so one is truly cut off from the outside world.

It is a small camp (4 chalets) with a small team of very special people, led by Jacob, who treated us like family and who care so much for their camp, the environment and the animals they know so well. Wendy was warm and welcoming and we were treated to exquisite homemade meals cooked by Dixon and his team, all served with great courtesy and refinement by Jones who formally announced the dinner menu each evening - such a lovely detail.

The chalet is gorgeous, with its open aspect shower and luxurious outside daybeds on which to rest each afternoon and watch the elephants pass by and listen to the glorious sounds of the bush.

Francis, our wonderful guide, Gilbert, the mighty Ranger and Elac, the Night spotter, took us out twice a day on stunning drives. Their knowledge and expertise were impressive and again they taught us a great deal about the bush and its inhabitants. We laughed a lot as we enjoyed sundowners by and in the river, during heavy rain and dramatic electric storms.

We saw a leopard close up and followed a lion and lioness as they wandered across the dry riverbed to relocate under a tree on the other bank. We sighted many Kudu, Puku, impala and even a few days old baby impala hidden in the long grass with Mum standing some distance away on guard. Also there were many giraffe, noisy hippos, crocodiles, baboons, vervets, warthogs, mongoose, genet, an elephant shrew and leopard tortoise, not forgetting the gorgeous bird life and birdsong. We even spotted 2 hyena cubs next to the camp who came in one night and chewed on the cushions!

It was a great privilege to be with such special, warm-hearted people and to experience a once in a lifetime adventure with these amazing creatures in their own environment so close up and personal." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Kapamba Bushcamp 29 Oct to 4 Nov 2022"

6 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2022
"We were lucky enough to have a room with its own private tree house – with a double bed and cushions, it was an excellent place to relax in the afternoon, either to snooze off or to look at the wonderful view and watch wildlife!

On an early morning walk direct from the camp into the sand river, bringing up the rear, keen eyed Stephen spotted wild dogs. After just a brief glimpse of a couple as they chased an impala through the dense vegetation, we continued with our walk. A while later we received a call from camp to say the dogs were close by, so with a change of plan, we headed on in a more direct route to where the vehicle had been left for us to get back, and returned to have a good sighting of the dogs.

Later that day we were lucky enough to have an extremely good sighting of the dogs (12 in all) once again. A big thank you to Charles our guide for giving us the time to sit, wait and watch, instead of moving off to find something else. Luckily the other people in the vehicle were also happy to do this. With time and patience, we were rewarded with seeing the puppies chasing vultures and the pack ‘play chasing’ around after some buffalo!

Apart from the wildlife survey list of species, we did see several other species that we would count as notable ‘sightings’, such as: porcupine, genet, civet, Pel's fishing owl." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

L&M Canada
Dunham, QC

"Kapamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2021
"Kapamba Camp is composed of stone buildings. Each room is open to the outside on the front and while remaining very private it gives the feeling of living outdoors. We loved the atmosphere of the camp. Animals, buffaloes and elephants, would come forage next to our porch in the evenings.

The common area is large and comfortable, a small pool makes all the difference on a hot November afternoon.

Service was absolutely excellent! We were the only guests for 3 days and we always felt very appreciated.

We had several safari drives and a few walking drives, all extremely diverse and instructive." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

The C Family
Ireland

"Kapamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2019
"Kapamba bushcamp was special to us as we had a sighting of 17 hyenas on a morning walk about 5 minutes from camp. We were also lucky to have one of the 2 rooms with a private tree house. The tree house has a large bed and cushions to slouch on and was a great way to relax for the afternoon while keeping an eye on the warthogs, elephant etc. We also had an elephant in camp.
Kapamba also do a lovely surprise brunch in the bush which is lovely after a walk.
The animals seen from all three bushcamps that we stayed in are not as habituated to jeeps as in the areas closer to the gate like Mfuwe Lodge which we liked but you do end up with lots of photos of rear ends!
As with the other camps we had no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr K-Prof V
Michigan

"An Intimate but Luxury Bush Experience "

4 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2018
"We spent 4 nights at Kapamba near the beginning of the rainy season and had the luxury of enjoying the camp with few other guests. The food was excellent, the open chalets face the river and allow Africa into your dreams (while a metal gate keeps out the local wildlife) and the game drives were superb.

In addition to the usual "Sundowners" at a beautiful spot with a view, the staff surprised us several times with meals in the bush - once including a "build-your-pizza" lunch with a wood-fired pizza oven, white table cloth-covered tables, and our choice of wines. This was an absolutely first-class experience and we plan to return during a different time of the year to see.

The birds and wildlife were fantastic, our guide was top-notch, and the entire staff did a superb job." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr C & Mr P
BC

"fabulous magical camp "

4 nights Arrived 9 May 2018
"I was astonished at how lovely this Bushcamp is--magical at night with the solar lighting. Loved the rooms.

Loved how meals were eaten at different locations and the quality of the food. My favourite was having sundowners IN the river complete with a brazier which produced delicious kabobs to go with our sundowners. (And, the piece de resistance, a herd of elephants who walked across the river in the distance appearing as black silhouettes against the orange and purple and red sunset.)

Our guide, Steve , was excellent--we did lots of walking each day. Had several good leopard sightings and saw my first porcupine!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr&MrsJ
Rugby

"great camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2016
"Another well run camp with a innovative manager

Gamewas short on drives but made up with finding two lions and their kill

Wonderful brunch one day in the bush under trees making our individual pizza that was cooked for us on a mobile oven
Sundowner,s in the shallows of the river magical" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Warks

"Kapamba Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2016
"Although we have stayed at nearly all the Bushcamp Company camps on previous safaris, we had not been to Kapamba before. It was a shame that the main river road was still too wet to drive, as the alternative route from Mfuwe Lodge was more or less game free. When we eventually arrived we were welcomed by Julius, who we had met before at Zungulila, and he showed us to our chalet, which was superb. We were very lucky to have a lovely raised day bed area overlooking the river.

We enjoyed great walks and game drives, including sightings of two very bloated male lions. All credit to Fanuel, Elijah and Bottle for finding the lions and the remains of their buffalo carcass in the thick, tall grass.

Julius and his team looked after us really well at Kapamba and without wishing to go into too much detail (spoiler alert!!) they sprang a couple of lovely surprises on us. Very enjoyable 3 nights." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Kapamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2015
"Good Lodge, but we missed the water in front of the camp" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Dr VRG
Chiplun

"Good Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"This was my second bushcamp and the transfer from Bili took only 20 minutes. This camp located along the Kapamba river with lovely views from both the deck and the chalets. The chalets are more substantial with stone construction. The bathrooms are big and the bathtub is more like a small plunge pool!

It was hosted by Claire, a Zimbabwean, lady who managed the camp well in her understated way. The guide is Fanuel Banda, a young enthusiastic guide. Fortunately I had good company with a couple from California who were keen birders like me. We ended up spending better part of a morning near a lagoon watching storks, ibises, hammerkops and even fish eagles going about their business. Last evening I was the only one in camp and hence spent the evening and the next morning with 2 male lions followed by some serious birding.

All in all a good camp, but it utilises the same area as Bili. In retrospect, I would have preferred to spend one more night at Bili and one night more at my next camp (Kuyenda) giving Kapamba a miss..." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 20
95%
20 reviews of Kapamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (319 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (240 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (213 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (192 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (154 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (152 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


98% (119 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (93 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge is now the main office base for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (74 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (74 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (70 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (55 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (45 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (39 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (29 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


95% (26 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (24 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (21 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (18 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (13 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (13 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, in an area with a range of habitats to explore on foot and by 4WD.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Luangwa

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (2 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Currently in the final stages of an extensive rebuild, Chichele Presidential Lodge stands high within the park, with superb views, and is due to reopen in late 2024.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a more traditional property in the South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa