This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp
Kapamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Kapamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kapamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kapamba Bushcamp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

67% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Giraffe

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
The C Family
Ireland

"Kapamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2019
"Kapamba bushcamp was special to us as we had a sighting of 17 hyenas on a morning walk about 5 minutes from camp. We were also lucky to have one of the 2 rooms with a private tree house. The tree house has a large bed and cushions to slouch on and was a great way to relax for the afternoon while keeping an eye on the warthogs, elephant etc. We also had an elephant in camp.
Kapamba also do a lovely surprise brunch in the bush which is lovely after a walk.
The animals seen from all three bushcamps that we stayed in are not as habituated to jeeps as in the areas closer to the gate like Mfuwe Lodge which we liked but you do end up with lots of photos of rear ends!
As with the other camps we had no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr K-Prof V
Michigan

"An Intimate but Luxury Bush Experience "

4 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2018
"We spent 4 nights at Kapamba near the beginning of the rainy season and had the luxury of enjoying the camp with few other guests. The food was excellent, the open chalets face the river and allow Africa into your dreams (while a metal gate keeps out the local wildlife) and the game drives were superb.

In addition to the usual "Sundowners" at a beautiful spot with a view, the staff surprised us several times with meals in the bush - once including a "build-your-pizza" lunch with a wood-fired pizza oven, white table cloth-covered tables, and our choice of wines. This was an absolutely first-class experience and we plan to return during a different time of the year to see.

The birds and wildlife were fantastic, our guide was top-notch, and the entire staff did a superb job." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr C & Mr P
BC

"fabulous magical camp "

4 nights Arrived 9 May 2018
"I was astonished at how lovely this Bushcamp is--magical at night with the solar lighting. Loved the rooms.

Loved how meals were eaten at different locations and the quality of the food. My favourite was having sundowners IN the river complete with a brazier which produced delicious kabobs to go with our sundowners. (And, the piece de resistance, a herd of elephants who walked across the river in the distance appearing as black silhouettes against the orange and purple and red sunset.)

Our guide, Steve , was excellent--we did lots of walking each day. Had several good leopard sightings and saw my first porcupine!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr&MrsJ
Rugby

"great camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2016
"Another well run camp with a innovative manager

Gamewas short on drives but made up with finding two lions and their kill

Wonderful brunch one day in the bush under trees making our individual pizza that was cooked for us on a mobile oven
Sundowner,s in the shallows of the river magical" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Warks

"Kapamba Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2016
"Although we have stayed at nearly all the Bushcamp Company camps on previous safaris, we had not been to Kapamba before. It was a shame that the main river road was still too wet to drive, as the alternative route from Mfuwe Lodge was more or less game free. When we eventually arrived we were welcomed by Julius, who we had met before at Zungulila, and he showed us to our chalet, which was superb. We were very lucky to have a lovely raised day bed area overlooking the river.

We enjoyed great walks and game drives, including sightings of two very bloated male lions. All credit to Fanuel, Elijah and Bottle for finding the lions and the remains of their buffalo carcass in the thick, tall grass.

Julius and his team looked after us really well at Kapamba and without wishing to go into too much detail (spoiler alert!!) they sprang a couple of lovely surprises on us. Very enjoyable 3 nights." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Kapamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2015
"Good Lodge, but we missed the water in front of the camp" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Dr VRG
Chiplun

"Good Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"This was my second bushcamp and the transfer from Bili took only 20 minutes. This camp located along the Kapamba river with lovely views from both the deck and the chalets. The chalets are more substantial with stone construction. The bathrooms are big and the bathtub is more like a small plunge pool!

It was hosted by Claire, a Zimbabwean, lady who managed the camp well in her understated way. The guide is Fanuel Banda, a young enthusiastic guide. Fortunately I had good company with a couple from California who were keen birders like me. We ended up spending better part of a morning near a lagoon watching storks, ibises, hammerkops and even fish eagles going about their business. Last evening I was the only one in camp and hence spent the evening and the next morning with 2 male lions followed by some serious birding.

All in all a good camp, but it utilises the same area as Bili. In retrospect, I would have preferred to spend one more night at Bili and one night more at my next camp (Kuyenda) giving Kapamba a miss..." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Kapamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"Big spacious rooms overlooking a shallow river bed. The rooms are open with no curtains and watching the sunrise from the bed was magic.

A whole family of elephants in camp one afternoon. One young bull came trumpeting and charging towards our cabin. The whole family came and ate right beside our deck. We didn't see as many animals in this area as we did ifrom some of the other camps but I think that's just a matter of luck as we did hear lions and hyenas at night.

The food was good but more basic than the other camps without as large a selection of salads and fruit." See all these reviews: 22n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"standard fare"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"The 3 1/2 hour drive from Mfuwe Lodge was tedious in an open vehicule. The camp is one of many Bushcamp Company have set up along the south end of the Luangwa river.

The facilities are very solid and safe but over the top for a bushcamp in our view. Plenty of running water and electricity of course, but everything tiled and elaborate. The tucked in mosquito nets were annoying as they prevented any movement. The food was standard fare with limited choice and lacked fresh fruit. The service was attentive and the manager Amy was always very helpful.

Dealing with 8 guests with only 1 guide means all have to agree what to do. This is tedious. But Fanuell is an excellent guide who made the very best of it on the walking trips. His detailed explanations of tracks was fascinating and entirely the right thing to do with so many in the line.

Animals seemed scarcer than elsewhere. The roof over the 4wd limits the view, day and night, and also traps the tsetse flies. The 2 night drives were hopeless with a poor spotter and nothing found." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"An amazing experience"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2010
"Our first experience of a bush camp, and what an experience! Zilla, the acting manager was hospitality itself, and all of the staff were most helpful.

Our room was perfect and we loved the great bath! Our guide Fanuel was fantastic, so knowledgeable and passionate about his subject - we learned such a lot from him. We were the only guests for two of our three days and we really felt we were on a very private safari. Food was fantastic - how do they do it with the logistical problems. Returning one evening to a darkened camp, we were dined on our own terrace under the moonlight - wonderful.

Game a little sparse at this time of the year, but made up for by the wide range of other things we learnt about tracking, plants and poo!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
94%
17 reviews of Kapamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa