This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kuyenda Bushcamp
Kuyenda Bushcamp
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Reviews of Kuyenda Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kuyenda Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Kuyenda Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2015
"Typical African lodge with great food and lovely walking safaris" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The R Family
Surrey

"Kuyenda Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2015
"Kuyenda is in a lovely location and our transfer via Mfuwe was handled really well. Our guide was excellent and we had some amazing walks - even seeing a male lion with his buffalo kill.

We would have preferred to have spent more of the evening activity looking at the animals. Whilst it was nice to watch the sun going down, this took up a lot of the evening activity and the fixed time/place was a little restrictive for our game viewing.

The camp struggled with my dietary requirements initially - serving a number of dishes that I couldn't eat but after a day or so they sorted this out.

The rooms were lovely and the staff were really helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr VRG
Chiplun

"The best saved for the last!"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2014
"This was my third bushcamp and it was certainly the best of the lot. Kuyenda is located about an 1 1/2 hours from Kapamba/Bili area, a little closer to the Mfuwe lodge.

The camp itself is most rustic of the lot. There are only 4 chalets. All have views of an open plain and the sunrise in one of the best beautiful sunrises one can come across. But the soul of the camp is the couple who run it. Babette and Phil are legendary. They are genuinely warm people and I felt at home while staying with them. The food is superb. Phil, because of his age, is not able to do active guiding (which was ably done by Suzio) but he's always there to help and advise.

The biggest surprise however, was the wild dogs! The dogs were denning less than a kilometer from the camp and were seen practically everyday. One morning they killed an impala less than 100 metres from my room!! That was something! I did a lot of walking at Kuyenda with other guests. Suzio and Isaiah (The ZAWA ranger) always made sure that we always felt safe on the walks. We did see a lot of elephants, Giraffes and even a hyena on these walks.

One of the guests was a wildlife biologist who was working with Phil and his presence made these outings even more enjoyable. On the last morning I decided to take it easy. But after breakfast, decided to take a little drive to see the dogs for the last time. And behold! It turned out to am an incredible experience. While we were watching the pups, Suzio suddenly heard a distress call of an impala followed by the distinct "sawing" of a leopard. We hurriedly followed the sounds and came across an incredible sight!. A large leopard was up in a tree and he was growling at the wild dogs surrounding the tree. One of the dogs tried to sort of climb the tree which spooked the leopard. He made a jump for his life from the top of the tree and ran away! The dogs hung around for a while trying to locate the leopard but soon gave up probably thinking they had made a point!! as Phil explained what probably transpired was that the leopard made a kill, which in turn attracted the dogs resulting into the leopard being "treed" by the dogs.... Simply put I could not have ask for more. And I may not see something like this again!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"wonderful return trip"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"Phil & Babette were in fine form and it was wonderful to meet them and their ever-cheerful staff again. Excellent food as before as there are lots of choices and dishes are inventive. Zac is attentive, knowledgeable and fun. Walking was very good with Isiah in the lead.

We tested the quicksands this year, and watched the thunderstorm move around us with no rain on us. We followed the election of Sata to PM with the staff enthusiatic voters. We love them and this place and hope their trip "Phil's favorite places" goes well.

It is our priviledge to be with them for 3 days." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Kuyenda Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2011
"An excellent experience. If there was a rating of outstanding this camp would qualify. The food here was the best we had anywhere on the trip and the walks with Phil were wonderful and quite exciting as we kept meeting up with elephants.

This feels like a real bushcamp with an outdoor bathroom and our hut looking out over the plalin.This camp is very well run with Babette in charge. We especially enjoyed having seats set up for our sundowners in different locations and eating in different areas around camp at dinnertime.

The lions killing an impala in camp added some excitement also!" See all these reviews: 22n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"what a priviledge to visit"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"What a priviledge to come to this place and meet up with Phil Berry and Babette Alfieri. The stories written about them are not as striking as meeting them in person. They have turned a Bushcamp Company camp into a home with loads of personal touches.

The chalets are simple enough but the food is excellent with wide choices of special dishes. Babette also is highly imaginative in the way the camp is run e.g. with sundowners and dinner laid out in the bush with candles only. We enjoyed the traditional Nshima dinner, eaten with right hand only, under the instruction of local Zambian Zac.

Phil is of course a superb guide with such bush knowledge and we went out with him x2 a day walking through lovely and varied areas. We feel that 6 is the max number of people for walkiing and hope that they are not pressurised to take 8 as it limits what you can hear and where you can go. Lots of elephants to detour round and we saw many more animals and birds than at Kapamba. It is accesssible in 1 hour from Mfuwe Lodge, but with Phil gamedriving this stretched to 21/2 as we tracked a leopard closely.

This is a very special place with very, very special people and we loved every minute of our 3 day stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"High standards and attention to detail"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"We cannot speak highly enough of the care and attention that Babette and Phil put into running this camp and its activities.It has a real family feel and Babette goes to considerable lengths to make the stay special even on the sundowner stops. Babette makes meal times are a real event with plenty of conversation and of course outstanding food. The intimate nature of the camp means that you do actually feel part of the place. If you love Africa then you are always welcome here.

We were full of admiration for Babette and Phil with the way they coped with everyone's wishes even though we thought some guests were being totally unreasonable. We were also impressed by the number of tourists making repeat visits which speaks volumes for the quality and draw of the camp.

Phil as guide and driver carries a huge responsibility and does it with aplomb. His many years of guiding experience and his love of the Luangwa shines through. The bush walks were welcome as a way of getting some exercise but particularly for learning about the bush. In order to meet guest's desire to get close to the wildlife Phil has developed combined walks and drives to meet every need. Wildlife may not be as plentiful as in some other areas but the relative exclusivity of this part of the park means you are not competing with other camps to see it.

We leaft as friends and very much hope to return." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Kuyenda - the very best camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2010
"We had planned our itinerary in order to save the best until last and we were not disappointed.

The location of this camp is excellent, deep in the bush and very authentic. There was a buffalo herd right next to the camp whilst we were there and elephants very close. The camp is small, intimate & Babette hosted it as if we were guests in her home with lots of attention to the small details.

We were guided by both Phil Berry & Gilbert, both excellent. The morning walks were informative, scenic, enjoyable & just the right length. We saw some good game on the night drives including leopard & 3 lions with a kill. The food was excellent and the dinners memorable with time to enjoy the food and the conversation.

We would highly recommend this camp & would love to return to it one day." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"What a magical place!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2010
"To finish our safari here was perfect. Phil & Babette were charming hosts, and their staff great.

The situation of the camp, its simplicity and the presence of elephant and buffalo within feet of our window at night was unforgettable. We were lucky enough to have Phil guide us on two walks and one drive and it was the highlight of our trip.

Babette's menus were extraordinarily good. The surrounding bush was the most beautiful we had seen and the game amazing - a true Garden of Eden." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M
Oakham

"Kuyenda Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2009
"We loved Kuyenda and especially the walking. The wealth of experience of Phil and Babette and their very generous hospitality made for an extra special stay. Once again the location and comfort of the camp didn't disappoint.

The walks were full of interest and through very varied landscapes. One fairly close encounter was with a group of 10 giraffes, not to mention the young bull elephant who thought about charging. On one evening the sundowners were set out near the sand river in view of a gorgeous sunset on one side and moonrise on the other. Dinner was served under the stars and a nearly full moon, in the company of munching elephants. The tsetses were still annoying but didn't detract too much from a wonderful relaxing few days.

The only complaint here was that our departure from Kuyenda for the airport was dependent on a vehicle arriving from Mfuwe Lodge to transfer two other guests to another camp. That vehicle was late, meaning that we all had to pile into Phil's vehicle and meet up with the other transfer some way down the road. This meant that our transfer to Mfuwe Lodge was again at high speed. But Phil and Babette managed to deliver us with minutes to spare for our final tranfer to the airport. Again on arrival at Mfuwe Lodge everything was handled very efficiently and the same staff greeted us and sent us off to the airport.

Our time at Kuyenda will rate as one of our favourite bushcamp experiences." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 13
98%
13 reviews of Kuyenda Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa