This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The R Family from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2015 trip

Zambia between 12 Jun 2015 and 27 Jun 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful holiday and as usual Zamibia didn't disappoint when it came to game and hospitality. We have learnt that guiding is the key to a successful trip and in 3 of the 4 camps we stayed the guiding was excellent. We got very close to some big game and all the guides clearly demostrated their knowledge of the animals and how to track them. We prefer it when the guides don't radio each other the location of animals as it sometimes feels that you are at a spectator sport rather than on a remote game drive.

Some of the camps operate a very formal way of serving lunch which is a good for meeting the other guests and sharing experiences but does mean that there is often limited time to relax on your own in the afternoon.

We loved the walking safari and while you don't tend to see as much big game the experience of standing 10 metres away from male lion or having a giraffe walking 15 metres from you is truly amazing!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2015
"This was a great place to stay after our flight into Lusaka. We were collected from the ariport and dropped back the following day for our next flight.

The room and food were good (the steak was very good) and the staff were very friendly. Excellent value."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2015
"A wonderful remote bush camp that allowed us to experience walking in the bush. The food was lovely and the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly.

The relaxed atmosphere of this camp really suited us and chatting in front of the camp fire under the stars was a real highlight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2015
"Tafika is a wonderful camp with exceptional service and attention to detail. The guides in particular really seemed to do their best to ensure a fun and enjoyable experience for their guests.

Heather really looked after us and made sure that we got everything we needed.

The rooms are excellent and provide lots of privacy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2015
"Matt and Charlie are fantastic hosts and the camp has a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

The food was superb, and they coped exceptionally well with my special dietary requirements.

We were disappointed with our guide, but having said that the guide that we had when we went last year was very good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

"Kuyenda Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2015
"Kuyenda is in a lovely location and our transfer via Mfuwe was handled really well. Our guide was excellent and we had some amazing walks - even seeing a male lion with his buffalo kill.

We would have preferred to have spent more of the evening activity looking at the animals. Whilst it was nice to watch the sun going down, this took up a lot of the evening activity and the fixed time/place was a little restrictive for our game viewing.

The camp struggled with my dietary requirements initially - serving a number of dishes that I couldn't eat but after a day or so they sorted this out.

The rooms were lovely and the staff were really helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Excellent

11 night Safari trip, July 2014

Zambia between 15 Jul 2014 and 27 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip exceeded our expectations in every respect. It was our first safari for 3 of the 4 in the party and we all had an amazing time. We were particularly impressed with the camps and their guides - one member of the party had been on 15 previous trips and rates this as the best trip yet.

Expert Africa were very professional and handled all our queries, including when we had to delay our holiday. I would highly recommend them as an agent."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"overnight stay at Flatdogs"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"Our stay at Flatdogs was very brief as we arrived quite late and left very early the following morning. The camp were very welcoming and the accommodation was very comfortable.

We had a lovely dinner and a great nights sleep before moving onto our next camp. It was a great place to stay as it was close to the airport which was very handy after a long journey. We didn't do any game drives so can't comment on these."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Outstanding stay at Mwamba"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2014
"We had a fantastic time at Mwamba. All the staff were welcoming and friendly, the food was superb and the guiding was exceptional. The rooms were very comfortable and we were impressed with the bucket showers!

One of the highlights was a visit from an elephant who appeared outside our bedroom one lunchtime. The camp have great attention to detail - they went to a lot of trouble to make our stay extra special (we enjoyed the hot water bottles on the vehicle in the morning and their cakes were some of the best we've ever had).

Our guide, Sly, was brilliant - for some of the party it was our first trip and in 3 days he managed to show us all of the more common animals and birds and many unusual ones. We saw several great lion sightings including a kill as well as serval cat, wild dogs and leopard so some new sightings even for the person who has been on 15 previous trips! The camp is in an idyllic spot - we hope to go back again soon!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"great guiding at Tafika"

7 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"We had a fantastic week at Tafika.

The guiding was exceptional - we enjoyed the time we spent with all of the guides but we particularly enjoyed our drives with Mukupa C as he is not only very knowledgeable but he also has a great sense of humour. We had dinner with the guides several times and enjoyed hearing their views and sharing their experiences. Great sightings including lots of leopards and ellies and some unusual birds. We did a walking safari and when we stopped for tea we saw about 50 ellies cross the river which was a highlight for me.

The rooms were lovely - great facilities and very comfy beds! The location is amazing - set on the river with great views of the hippos. Animals sometimes wander through the camp and we were fortunate to have 3 ellies outside our chalet one afternoon eating the tree! The staff were very friendly and welcoming and went to a lot of trouble to make our stay memorable.

We hope to return to Tafika :)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team