This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp

Reviews of Luangwa River Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Luangwa River Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Luangwa River Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

25% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Buffalo

81% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
Dr S.
Melvin Village

"Last day at Luangwa River Camp"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"My Emirates flights were postponed a day - Lucy Copson from Expert Africa was right on it and gave me a few options, being able to book me at the Luangwa River Camp for another great experience. The transfers between camps were always like an additional game drive and timed so that you didn't miss any meals or scheduled game drives.

Another beautiful camp with more delicious food. Lovely two tiered swimming pool that, once I vacated, the baboons could come enjoy their afternoon drink! Game drives started and ended with an intense river crossing up and down the steep river bank. The Land Cruisers used are such reliable beasts and the guides are superb drivers! There were never more than 4 people in a vehicle either which was appreciated.

Got up close to a big male lion sitting by his recent kill and saw lots of giraffes, elephants, and a nice bachelor herd of kudu as well. Perfect end to my first safari! Smooth transfer back to the airport with assistance getting checked in. I would highly recommend the Robin Pope camps and the advice/assistance of Expert Africa!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Luangwa River Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"This was our third visit to the LRC. We were pleased to see that Daudi was still managing the camp and we received a warm welcome. Chris was our guide and provided a great service - always knowledgeable with a good sense of humour. Emmanuel was our spotter and was very effective.

We were pleased to see that some of the vegetation had been cleared immediately around the accommodation as it made elephant spotting easier when walking to and from the rooms. Tsetse flies were a bit of an issue but we didn't actually get bitten while staying at the camp.

We look forward to visiting LRC again." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Cumbria

"A perfect introduction for first time visitor"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"This holiday was our first to Zambia and our first to Africa, so when we arrived at Luangwa River Camp we were in awe. The main building, bar and dining was just so perfect, it was open, comfortable, welcoming and had wonderful views overlooking the river, so wildlife viewing started immediately. We were made very welcome by Matt, and later Ignacious who explained the timetable of the camp and activities. Our accommodation was wonderful and exceeded all our expectations, the house keeping in the camp was at a very high standard.

It was here that we first tasted the amazing food provided by RPS, I am a vegetarian and I was constantly served food that was beautifully prepared and tasted delicious. It was here that we first experienced the activities at RPS camps and we were not disappointed. Our guide, Daudi immersed us in the landscape and enhanced our experience, he quickly assessed that we were keen birders and introduced us to so many species.

The safari vehicles were the perfect way of getting close to so many animals. We also enjoyed the walking safaris and felt completely safe with Daudi and his team. All the staff were welcoming and friendly, including Alfred our night watchman, we enjoyed hearing how his night had been each morning.

We can’t praise the staff enough at River Camp, thank you all so much for a truly memorable stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr D
California

"Luangwa River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"The camp is located just across the Luangwa River from the National Park. Each activity starts and end with a short boat ride, because the game drives and walks are conducted in the main park. We get used to the routine quickly.

Our guide Sebastian Jr. (RPS has another older guide named Sebastian) is very good. We had good sightings of lion mating, and leopard/hyena interaction. The central part of the park does have good concentration of games. During the day time, it does not feel particularly crowded as game drive vehicles spread out in a large area. However at night, we do see spotlights everywhere. Night drives tend to focus on a small area close to the main gate so that everyone can easily get out of park at 8.

It is a very comfortable camp, with good food and friendly service. The location is excellent, close to an elephant crossing site. Special mention: the camp manager Ignacia who makes everyone feel as a special guest.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms M.
Peyia

"Relaxing and busy at the same time!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"A superb camp with exceptional staff who couldn't do enough for you, making you feel welcome, and ensuring you had a good time (which wasn't difficult given the location and facilities).

Thatched chalet was comfortable, and well maintained. Food was excellent.

There was always plenty to see on the game drives, the guides are extremely knowledgeable and without a doubt "know their stuff" whilst also ensuring your safety and being careful not to disturb the animals in what is their home.

We could not have asked for a better start to our safari / Zambia experience.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Steve H
Leeds

"Wonderful stay at Luangwa River Camp"

5 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"A fantastic camp set on the banks of the Luangwa River in a great wildlife area.

Wonderful service and great ambience in the camp under the management of Daudie ably assisted by camp host Ignacio. Amazing guiding by Daudie too." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss A
Haywards Heath

"Whisk me back please.."

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2019
"Hospitality with a capital H. Why did I feel so much at home? I loved it. I forsook a morning game drive and an evening one just to sit and 'be' - to savour the stillnes of the river, the light, the various noises and whatever wildlife happened to hove into view.. It was like an illustration in a book David Livingstone might have written.

What to say about the host, Ignacio? However many plates he must have spinning in his head at any given time, his focus is on his guests, of whatever ilk, whether just engaging in conversation or anticipating every wish/need. Each person treated as though they are the only one who matters. It's a rare skill. I know I was supposed to be there for the wildlife but as much pleasure as anything came from the wonderful mix of personalities at the lunch/dinner tablesand the consequent very entertaining conversations, handled very adeptly by Ignacio. I would run a mile from house parties in the conventional sense but revelled in this variety.

Can't get away from hot water bottles. I asked for one on my second night and duly found not only the bottle in my bed but an extra balnket on the bed as well. Very thoughtful and extra toasty.

Tremendous guiding and with the added dimension of crossing the river every time. Very soft, sandy,steep descent and ascent but I was never without the strong hand of Chris to keep me upright.. I now understand how extensive is the training for guides but even so, the knowledge is phenomenal, especially about birds. I loved all the careering through bush and scrub and then emerging onto a plain dotted with zebra, various entelope, giraffe etc. Was this real? As with the river, I could have happily sat stil just drinking it in. For me, the time of year seemed to be perfect. Still lots of water around and green areas but the rest just as I imagined it. I told Amanda I wanted to see hippos. I understand now why she was so confident in her assurances..

Breakfast sentiments the same as I wrote for Nsefu but on my activity- free morning it was bliss. 9am - chair and table on the terrace carefully placed by Ignacio. Order for cereal and toast taken and if possible a chopped apple to put on the cereal. No problem. I'd taken the newspaper I'd had since England to read but couldn't take my eyes off the view. As if on cue, a mother, father and baby elephant sandwiched between them slowly ambled in front of me and into the river..

Food was very good and imaginative. I didn't refuse a thing except the hot pickle second time round. (Another incomprehensible feat - organising the supply chain.) Immaculate service every time both foodwise and drinkwise.

As for the property itself, I suspect plans will be in hand to keep up the constant renewal process - conditions must be hard on wood maintenance etc. Not sure where this is on the list of priorities or if there is any practical solution but the soft sand makes for quite difficult walking between rooms and the main area - especially when running at 5.30am to squeeze in breakfast and then back again to be out by 6am!

Frustration of a trip like this is that it's hard to convey to anyone who has no experience of it exactly how it all works. That would have been me until last year. For someone who - needs must - look after herself, I felt as if I'd just succumbed to a 'care package'. 7th heaven.. Thank you to absolutely everyone involved.


" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Cornwall

"First visit to River Camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2019
"Daudi and the team looked after us very well. The chalet comfortable within a lovely setting, including resident elephant.

Perry was an excellent guide and it was good to see a different part of the park.


" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Macclesfie

"Luangwa River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2019
"Camp facilities are looking a little tired and vehicles a bit old.

The new guide was very knowledgeable about all wildlife but had not yet developed the art of tracking and locating them.

Food was excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Amazing stay at the River Camp!"

3 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2019
"We had the most incredible experience at the Luangwa River Camp during the beautiful Emerald Season in Zambia. Our host, Daudi, could not have given us a warmer welcome and our guide, Jonah provided us with expert guiding. Yumba was our nighttime spotter and he was also fantastic. We were the only guests staying at the lodge, which was a real treat, and we enjoyed the most amazing adventure. We loved having to take a boat to and from each game drive, often in the rain, and braving the puddles of flooded safari roads with Jonah.

As I said, the guiding was phenomenal, and we were treated to multiple lion and leopard sightings along with a bounty of information about the land and wildlife. Once, a pride of lions decided to nap in the shade of our open safari vehicle, and we were able to enjoy the thrill of their closeness. We also had a spectacular sighting of a leopard and her one year old, as well as seeing a leopard in a tree at night (thanks, Yumba!).

While at the lodge, we enjoyed the luxury of beautifully appointed, comfortable chalets with mosquito netting and big, beautiful bathrooms with standalone tubs and lovely showers. The pool was a welcome respite from the heat of the day. The lodge area was a comfortable place to relax and admire the beauty of the Luangwa River at its fullest. The food was top notch, and they accommodated my vegetarian needs beautifully. The variety of delicious lunchtime salads were my favorite!

The best part though, was the company of our host and guide, with whom we enjoyed numerous laughs and wonderful conversation over meals. We truly couldn't have had a better time, and when we were flooded out of our last night's stay and had to move to N'Kwali, we were truly sad to say goodbye to this beautiful lodge and its people." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 59
96%
59 reviews of Luangwa River Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa