This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp

Reviews of Luangwa River Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Luangwa River Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Luangwa River Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

25% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Buffalo

81% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Marford

"Luangwa River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2018
"We could not have been treated better.
The guides were very knowledgable" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Well managed camp set in woodland"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2018
"This was our second visit to the camp and we enjoyed our stay here.

We were delighted to find that Daudi was managing the camp and we were given a warm welcome by him and the other staff. The communal areas (bar, sitting and dining areas) are on a raised shaded platform by an open grassed area. The accommodation chalets are set in the trees with distant views of the river. The food was delicious (as expected from Robin Pope Safaris).

Shadrak was our guide and he was excellent. Emanuel was our spotter and he did a great job too." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
F
Derbyshire

"Luangwa River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2018
"Luangwa River Camp was glorious. It was wonderful being greeted at Mfuwe Airport and having a game drive on the way to the River Camp; it provided a splendid introduction to the whole Robin Pope Safari experience. We received a fabulous welcome from Daudi, the camp manager. His was doubling up as host, very ably, as the host was away whilst we were staying there. He explained the daily routine and gave us a full introduction to the accommodation.

I consider we were extremely fortunate to be assigned Shadrak as our guide, with Emmanuel, acting as the spotter at night. Shadrak was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the bush life. He was able to provide the Latin names of plants, give detailed explanations of the physiology of animals, explain the interrelationship between all the animals, plants and the eco-system and much, much more. If, on the very rare occasion, he was not able to answer a question he would, without fail, come back with an answer having looked it up. He was delightful companion with a good sense of humour and excellent interpersonal skills.

I went on one walk, with Sebastian as the lead, whilst at the River Camp. It was a fantastic experience and gave me another very special perspective of life in the bush. As with all the guides, Sebastian was extremely knowledgeable and was able to point out minute fascinating details. I thought that all aspects of health and safety were addressed comprehensively and the briefing we were given, before we set off, was very thorough.

The bar and eating areas at the River Camp were exceptionally nice and there was a well stocked reference library which I appreciated. The food was splendid. The staff serving the food were charming and very attentive. All the staff were delightful, including the nightwatchman who guided us to and from our rooms." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Miss P
London

"Luangwa River Camp"

5 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2018
"Lovely camp with a great view of the river. I prefer the more open rooms at Nkwali, although I could see the benefit of the Luangwa River Camp rooms if it was a time of year with high insect activity.

RPS were very sensitive to guests' needs and even when there were only 3 guests in camp, they sent out two vehicles as they realised we had slightly different priorities. This was much appreciated. My guide Yona was great and quickly picked up what I was interested in.

I was keen to look for wild dogs and we had great success. On three of the four full days I had here we were able to find the dogs in the morning and go back in the afternoon to watch them wake up and go hunting. The cat sightings at this time of year were definitely tricky compared to dry season. We had a great sighting of Ginger and Garlic's pride who had just killed a baby buffalo and the herd were trying to keep the lions away from the kill.

Walking options were very limited due to the boggy conditions underfoot. I was pleased I had the 3 days at Nsefu to walk, as there were not many suitable areas around Luangwa River Camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

The Sand Martins
Oxon

"Two nights at Luangwa River Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2018
"After our three nights at Nsefu, we returned downstream by boat to LRC for the last two nights of our trip in the South Luangwa. The main area of LRC has a splendid river front location. The five chalets are a little further away, but our chalet also enjoyed a river view. The chalets are spacious and comfortable. The camp is very well organised by Daudi and his team - we have known Daudi for many years when he ran Nsfeu. Dining is a pleasure, with excellent food.

Activities involved boating across the river to pick up a vehicle stationed at the other side. Daudi guided us with his skill and experience. One of the highlights was to see, at a very close distance, a pack of about twenty wild dogs. We found then firstly in the morning, relaxing in the shade of trees by the roadside. Returning after lunch, they became more active, moving out of the shade. After some time, they decided to move on slowly. This was the best sighting of wild dogs that we have seen at any time during our six visits to the South Luangwa." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Luangwa River Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2018
"Great birthday - we saw wild dogs and leopards. Great sun downer surprise." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Luangwa River Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2018
"Jonna is a fantastic guide and made out stay the greatest. Lack of rains in January and February resulted in early die back of the grasses and the game was unbelievable. I shed a tear having to leave River Camp after 4days and 5 nights of total excessive hospitality." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Farrier
UK

"Luangwa River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2017
"Wonderful camp very well run." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Our first visit to Luangwa River Camp"

4 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"As usual Robin Pope Safari staff were there to meet us at Mfuwe Airport. We were met by Kanga who guided us for 8/12 days of our stay. The transfer to the camp gave us and our friends a wonderful introduction to the delights that were to follow. This was our first visit to this particular camp. It was a wonderful opportunity to visit a section of the park that we were less familiar with.

The camp itself is surrounded by trees and bushes (more so than Nkwali and Nsefu) and is further from the river. This meant that the room was relatively dark during the day but this was not a problem as the communal area had comfy seating and a more open aspect. As with all the camps the food was delicious. We cannot praise the staff too highly - all the staff were helpful, polite and provided great service. Moses, our spotter, gave us two great opportunities to see bush babies. The guiding was fantastic - special thanks to Kanga.

There is one innovation that RPS has introduced that we hope they will reconsider - the request for a customer satisfaction survey on an iPad on the morning of our departure. Although I willingly completed the survey and rated RPS very highly I did not enjoy the experience - it seemed at odds with their otherwise very high quality of service." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Chiswick

"Luangwa River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"Game viewing was excellent.

There were a fair number of other vehicles around compared to the other places we visited but not so many that the experience was spoiled. We did a very good walk which included seeing a leopard on foot which was thrilling.

A feature of our trip to Zambia which we particularly enjoyed was the ability to go out on night drives in the National Park and we were able to see a lot of nocturnal creatures. Yvonne, the camp manager, was particularly charming and helpful." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 59
96%
59 reviews of Luangwa River Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa