This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

7

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

25

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2022 trip

Zambia between 3 Aug 2022 and 18 Aug 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have been to Robin pope safaris many times now.

This has to be one of the best safaris we have had, the guides were excellent, the games viewing was good and the weather was not too hot for us!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15 review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"we did not spend much time at the hotel but it was a fair journey out of Lusaka.

In hindsight we would have preferred to stay closer to the airport"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Average
Rooms
Good
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Luangwa River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2022
"we had not been to this camp before, so it was good to see the camp and meet the staff.

the camp and the staff were excellent but out on the drives you saw many vehicles from other camps - due to its location"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2022
"we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Nsefu"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

"Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2022
"There was only 3 of us on the bush camp, which worked in our favour as we got on really well and then had a further 3 days at Tena tena together

We had Sebastian for our guide who was excellent, we wanted him to focus on the birds and he did.

But we also saw a Leopard up a tree with a kill plus 8 lions all in the same evening plus we were about 25 metres away from a Lion the following day"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2022
"We continue to believe that Tena Tena is one of the best Robin Pope camps in Zambia.

we had an excellent time but were too tired to do much walking but had some wonderful sightings of baby hyenas and wild dogs"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2022
"Its a shame this was the end of our holiday and we only had 2 days here.

Again we went walking, this time with kiki who made the walk fascinating

We also had Kiki as our guide for the rest of the time- which was really good"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

My Feb 2022 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 19 Feb 2022 and 1 Mar 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Despite the problems we had with conencting flights and lost luggage ( many thanks to Chris and Lucy for their help on a Sunday - it was much appreciated)

We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday it was amazing to be on safari in the wet season - and it was not too wet!

Plus we had some amazing drives and sightings

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

none other than we already have our next safari booked with yourselves for Zambia in July/August"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2022
"The hotel was very pleasant and the food was good but it was not how we thought we would start our holiday, plus searching for lost luggage"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Feb 2022
"I am not sure we can comment on Lagoon camp as we were only there for 12 hours and that was all in the dark and we slept most of the time"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2022
"we really enjoyed our time at Lebala and met some really nice guests

We had an excellent guide and tracker plus the food was just mouth watering"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2022
"This was an excellent camp with loads of space plus very modern

The tracker and guide were excellent

we both enjoyed the water activities"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2018 trip

Zambia between 7 Aug 2018 and 18 Aug 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"we enjoyed the whole trip

Kanga was the highlight of our visit

we went earlier in the year this time so the temperature was better for us"

Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2018
"we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Nsefu

The accommodation is a bit close and dated but as we left we had a long conversation with Rob from RPS who advised us that the huts would be rebuilt as they are slipping into the river

And he was at Tena Tena to show 3 local official around to hopefully start the process"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

"Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2018
"We had Kanga who made the bush camp experience outstanding

We gave the same feed back to Rob who knew we had asked for Kanga and said they would always try and allocate staff if they have been asked for"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2018
"Overall we both thought this was our preferred site to nsefu

Also the food at Tena Tena was excellent"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2016 trip

Zambia between 3 Sep 2016 and 14 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A very good and enjoyable holiday with many highlights

The only down side for us was we were not met at Lusaka and had to manage our way through customs/immigration etc with only 20 mins to spare before our flight to Mfwue"

Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"This was a really good start of the break for us

In hind sight we should have had three nights here and not two"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2016
"This was another excellent camp and from our perspective the best camp of our holiday ( apologies to the other sites)

Good guiding and excellent viewing"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

"Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"This was the first time we undertook a mobile and was another good choice

we will return for a longer mobile another year but perhaps when it is no so hot"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"This was the first time we had been at this camp and it was very enyoyable but felt quite close to the other rooms and so lacked some of the privacy the other camps provided"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2014 trip

Zambia between 30 Aug 2014 and 12 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall excellent and we will return to Zambia"

Arranged By Maruska AdyeRowe


Nkwali

Nkwali

"Excellent"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2014
"Very enjoyable time at Thai camp and all the staff made us very welcome

Nothing was too much trouble

It was the busiest of they camps we went to for seeing other cars"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Extremely excellent"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"Again another friendly camp with an excellent guide Chris and nothing was too much trouble

Out of the three camps we visited this was our favourite"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Good safari"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"A good camp with very friendly staff"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Zambia 2010

Zambia between 3 Sep 2010 and 13 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a very good time on safari and it lived up to all we were expecting"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2010
"the camp was well organised and all events provided when we asked for them"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2010
"Again the camp was well organised and all activities provided, as we asked to go out on daily walking safaris and these were provided with no problems"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"this was our third visit to Chiawa so we knew what to expect

the camp was extremely well run but compared to the other two camps we stayed at did seem much larger, but we could do the water activities which we could not in South Luagana"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Ros and Andrew

Botswana between 14 Feb 2009 and 22 Feb 2009

Trip rating: Good
"We woudl have liked to have known before we went that neither camps could cope with us walking the first one as it is in a national park and you are not allowed and the second one we all worked as a group so if one wanted to go for a walk everyone had to we were hoping to have gone on a guided walk on our own as we have done before"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2009
"The camp was very new and was still experencing some minor set up problems but that did not impact on out enjoyment everyone at teh camp was very helpful and pleasent to us

It would have been helpful to know before we visited that you could not do night drives or go off the road

I"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2009
"again everyone was very friendly and could not do more to help us, but we were hoping to do more water actvites than was available e.g canoeing"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team