This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena

Reviews of Tena Tena

Wildlife sightings and reviews

141 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tena Tena and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tena Tena.
Lion

81% success

Leopard

88% success

Wild dog

43% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Buffalo

88% success

Zebra

88% success

Eland

25% success

Roan antelope

4% success

Sable antelope

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 141
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2022
"We continue to believe that Tena Tena is one of the best Robin Pope camps in Zambia.

we had an excellent time but were too tired to do much walking but had some wonderful sightings of baby hyenas and wild dogs" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs & Mr L
Chicago

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2022
"Tena Tena was amazing!

We loved that it was a little bit further in the park, and therefore, we saw fewer other cars (though other cars around never bothered us).

Everything from the tent/room, staff, food, and location were exceptional and we had a great experience.

We would absolutely stay here again." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr J
Edinburgh

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2022
"Whilst my accommodation was called a tent it was very secure and comfortable. I loved being able to hear the hippos all day and night.

All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They made it all feel relaxed but it's clear that a huge amount of work was going on to ensure that I had the best holiday experience. The food was excellent, and the guides were incredibly knowledgable. Tena Tena felt remote and I didn't see many others vehicles. I don't know whether we were just lucky but we witnessed incredible wildlife interactions during our safaris - especially the wild dogs. To see these play out before us was incredibly special." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Surrey

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2022
"Still an amazing camp but has lost something since its relocation For first timers at the moment the fact that the dogs are so close is a double edged sword Amazing to have dogs run past your camps at breakfast -but there is a a consequence of their efficient hunting - much less game around
Kate was great

Top sightings 1.The dogs making a kill in front of us on the road one evening
2. Hyena pups













3" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr Logan
Singapore

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2022
"Great location, less vehicles around sightings vs Nikwali." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs K.
Middlesex

"Tena Tena - cats and dogs, and rain"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"This was our first visit to Tena Tena and we loved it. The only thing that we could possibly mark it down on is the size of the bedroom. When the nets are round the bed, it is a little difficult to have two adults moving around the room. But the bed is comfortable and there is plenty of hot water. You can charge your batteries in the room.

Camp manager Bertram doubled up as our guide and he did a brilliant job. He was great company as well as a great spotter. We got a second sighting of wild dogs - this time at night. Lions were pretty scarce - just one sighting - but we had four great leopard sightings. In total we saw 75 different species over the 3 night stay including loads of good elephant and giraffe encounters.

Time spent in camp was great fun. The other guests were a real hoot and mealtimes were full of laughter. During one evening game drive there was lots of lightning in the distance and by the time dinner started, it was chucking it down. The dining area isn't large and the dining table ended up wedged up against a huge pile of cushions from the sofas so as to keep everyone dry. Halfway through the meal the power went out, the solar lamps were switched on and everything just carried on.

The power was restored by bedtime except for a couple of tents, including ours. We were given some solar lamps and the rain meant that the night was cool enough not to worry about the fact that we had no working fan. Although the camp is set back a bit from the river, we had plenty of sightings including giraffes, and pukus that favoured the grass right in front of the dining room.

We'd like to thank the camp for giving us a private dinner for our 30th wedding anniversary which fortunately was the evening before the heavy rain. A big thumbs up to the cooks - the food was always delicious, and the baking was phenomenal." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr D
California

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"The camp provides an immersive African bush experience. We can hear hippo, hyena and lion all night.

We like our guide John. We saw a pack of 3 wild dogs on the day we arrived. They used to be found around the camp on regular basis, but had been away for over 2 weeks. We were lucky that they decided to come back for just a day. By next day, the dogs left again. Another highlight is the hyena den.

The night drive is particularly productive, with multiple leopards on the move, and hyenas trailing in the hope to steal a meal. On the other hand, lions continue to evade us. As in Nsefu camp earlier, we only saw lions across the river at a distance." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Cumbria

"A relaxed, friendly camp"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"Our stay at Tena Tena followed the River Camp and we were not disappointed. The public area was just lovely, the use of wood was amazing and so comfortable for enjoying the wonderful views whilst having a drink etc. The tents were large, comfortable and so well equipped and we loved the open plan (but private) shower and toilet. The sitting area outside the tent was the perfect place to relax during siesta, whilst enjoying the views.

Again, the house keeping was perfect, the food just wonderful and all the staff were welcoming and friendly. The activities at Tena Tena were fantastic, our guide Nyambe introduced us to so many new species of birds and animals. His knowledge and skills enhanced our experience and he was patient in our desire to see as much as possible, especially birds.

Again, we can’t praise the staff at Tena Tena enough, thank you all so much for a wonderful and memorable holiday." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

9 sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Tena Tena"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2019
"Slightly more setback from the river than the other camps we stayed in.

Great guiding from John - the highlight was seeing a lion stand-off against a herd of buffalo." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms M.
Peyia

"Exceptional"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2019
"A well maintained lodge where our large tented chalet that was very comfortable with a great view overlooking the river. Some interesting quirks in the room - mainly the slightly unconventional shower, but this just added to the whole ambience of the place (and it worked very well!).

Staff extremely friendly, service exceptional with high quality meals all the time.

Plenty to see on all the game drives and even doing a walking safari did not leave us disappointed - -there was a lot of game to see in very peaceful surroundings - hardly another jeep in sight. The guides were exceptional and how they see such a variety of animals in the dark / night drives is a credit to them.


Our second camp which just added to our experience, running out of adjectives to praise this place enough." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 141
95%
141 reviews of Tena Tena by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
111
25
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (292 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (215 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (197 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (177 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (109 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (68 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (64 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (65 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (63 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (53 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (22 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


93% (9 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa