This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwamba Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

45% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs G
Herts

"Still the traditional bush feel"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Has retained its bush character and style. Still one of our favourites. 4 rooms has made activities more flexible as long as you have 2 walking guides in Camp. Everything worked like clockwork.

Sandy was a great guide and walks were possible every day.

Waterhole hide was fabulous for mid day viewing. Game excellent." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Glos.

"A great 3 Nights"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2018
"It has been a while since we last visited Mwamba and whilst there have been a few changes these have only improved the experience.

Everyone goes out of their way to ensure you have a great time and the game viewing was outstanding." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S
Maidstone

"Mwamba camp 24-27 July"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2018
"My second visit to Mwamba - this time I brought 3 friends with me. As last time, we had Craig and Lindy as hosts and the superb Patrick as our guide.

This place has a real 'bush' feel, with reed walls and roof and an open air bathroom - but delivered with real style and panache. The hide in the camp overlooking the water hole is an added bonus, and we all had some great sightings of birds and animals from there. But Patrick's skill at interpreting alarm calls of baboons and squirrels, and knowing from them what was about and in which direction must be unsurpassed

We had wonderful game drives with him, and also a morning walk in the bush. The walk was something I would particularly recommend to anyone going to S Luangwa. Patrick spotted a headless baboon in a tree, and when we returned later with the vehicle we were rewarded with viewing mum leopard and her two baby cubs - a real magical 30 minutes spent watching them.

Carig and Lindy always busy in the background looking after our comfort, and did that very well - the sloshing of the hot water into our shower bucket always arrived just at the requested time!

A lovely camp to stay in - combining luxury and a real feel for being out in the bush wonderfully." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Ms ES
Hornsea

"The best at Mwamba"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2018
"This camp was very special, we loved it here, our guide Andrew was very special and Craig and Lindsey were wonderful, we had 3 nights here but wished we could have stayed longer, Thankyou for such a great time." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bath

"We Love Mwamba Bushcamp!"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2018
"We loved our stay at Mwamba Bushcamp. It's rustic, relaxed and surrounded by wildlife. Elephants peering over the bathroom wall, the sound of lions and a great hide for lunchtime entertainment.

Eve, Lyndie and Craig were superb hosts and the food was excellent. Superb work by the chef (Zacks).

We really enjoyed having a single guide for our stay in the camp - allowing us to build up a relationship with our guide Andrew. The game drives were excellent - we saw lots of wildlife (16 members of the Mwamba/Kaingo pride), great photographic opportunities and we loved the locations for morning coffee and sundowners. Andrew was a great guide - enthusiastic and committed, good company, informative and gave us a welcome window into Zambian life.

We'll be back!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Dersingham

"Mwamba - rustic but not roughing it!"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"The location of Mwamba gives it a truly remote feeling, where the boundaries between natural bush and the camp are very blurred. The four reed and thatch chalets are well hidden under the trees with spacious open-air bathrooms. Plentiful hot water for the shower and hand basin are provided by a bucket system, which can be requested on demand, or delivered at a set time. The provision of electric charging points for camera batteries etc is a welcome new feature.

Eating and drinking in the open air - be it breakfast, brunch or dinner - is a joy.

All the staff are friendly and helpful. On this visit our guide Andrew Mweetwa showed once again his superb knowledge and bushcraft, and was excellent company. Managers Craig and Lindy were very attentive, and Craig's helpful pointers in the hide were very much appreciated.

The high point of our stay was our first-ever sighting of African wild dogs, Andrew came back from a game drive to fetch us from the camp (where we had elected to stay one morning for an extended hide visit) in order to find them. Great service indeed!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

D & M
Munich

"Heaven on earth at Mwamba"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2017
"Mwamba is for us a magical place. Extremely remote, very peaceful and so unspoiled, that you feel very thankful to be guest of this gem and its beautiful nature. Of course you find wildlife in and around the camp in abundance. For people they are afraid that they may have wildlife in their room, Mwamba is maybe not the right camp.
We do love the hide "Last waterhole". We could sit their for hours.
Guiding and hosting here is on the highest level. Fantastic!" See all these reviews: 20n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss S
Wimbledon

"Remote but comfortable camp"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2017
"Any concerns that this bushcamp might be too spartan were misplaced. It may have helped that we had stayed first at the main camp, Kaingo, before moving to the bushcamp, but the chalet was comfortable and apprehension over the outside but enclosed bathroom facilities was unnecessary - it was fun showering and washing under the open sky.

As at Kaingo the guides were excellent and we enjoyed numerous sightings of leopards, lions and ellies. An advantage of the small number of chalets and hence guests was the intimacy of the camp and we felt that we really got to know the very entertaining guides and the lovely hosts, Craig and Lindi, over the excellent meals. Dinner was a treat.

The hides overlooking the waterhole were a good bonus as they were just a very short walk away in the intense midday and afternoon heat. We saw ellies drinking and spraying water on their backs from just a few feet away." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Manchester

"Fantastic time at Mwamba (again!)"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"This was the third time we have stayed at Kaingo and Mwamba and unbelievably each time excellence has been improved and exceeded our expectations.

Craig and Linda excelled when adverse weather conditions visited. The guiding food and accommodation are second to none.

We cannot recommend Kaingo and Mwamba camp highly enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Bath

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"We walked to the bush camp. This walk was very welcome after sitting and eating for three days and four nights at the main camp.

Sly was an excellent guide and went out of his way to accommodate us and all our needs.

The bush camp was almost the same as we rembered from our last visit. My only adverse comment is that there should be more rush mats in the shower area as the mud floors are difficult to deal with.

The leopard sightings were wonderful at both camps. I can't think of any other place were one can see some many leopard as well as so many baby elephants, every herd had several babies some just born.

The Hide at this camp was very good for spending spare time in as it is on site and accessable any time of the day. Very close up viewing of game and many birds." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 124
99%
124 reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
117
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa