This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwamba Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

45% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Dorking

"Small remote Bushcamp with superb hide"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"What a wonderful way to finish our holiday. Lovely small camp with back to nature simplicity. Fantastic hide overlooking waterhole and wonderful opportunities for close up photos.

Craig and Lyndie were welcoming and attentive managers. All the staff were excellent. It was good to have our excellent guide Noelle who came with us from Kaingo.

We had great game and bird viewings and the highlight was the wild dogs and their 4 month old pups and a wonderful sighting of a Pel’s Fishing owl which we had been looking for during numerous trips to Africa over the last 30 years" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs JK
Surrey

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Such a brilliant idea of David Shenton to build a bush camp which is taken down late October and rebuilt every year.

Small camp which works so well - bucket showers (hot and cold mixes) arrive to order and animals wander through the camp which is not fenced so lots of noises in the night! The hide is such an amazing attraction (you can just walk to it whenever you feel like it - divided into 3 sections and wonderful to just sit and watch the game come down and drink, roll in the mud, etc. Great bird life there too.

Noelle accompanied us and we had fantastic sightings of wild dogs and their pups in their den on two occasions - very special as only 3000 left in the world. Saw the pups chasing vultures, adults regurgitating food for pups after hunting and just enjoyed watching them play - so very privileged.

Loved our night drives and always saw genet and civet and of course leopards with kills in trees." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Mill Valley, CA

"Mwamba Bush Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"The camp itself is lovely. We overlooked what was then a dry river bed which led to "the last water hole,” so we could see lots of animals both leaving and arriving at the hole just by sitting outside our chalet. The camp is managed by a wonderful couple, Craig and Lindy, who were very knowledgeable, personable and attentive to all our needs.

As with Kaingo, the food was fantastic, all the more wonderful from having been prepared in a bush camp. Patrick continued to be our guide, and we thoroughly enjoyed our walks and game drives with him. Special mention needs to be made about “the last waterhole.” We had a wonderful time watching scores of buffalo, wildebeest, zebra, impala, and elephants coming down for a drink, sometimes one group right after another. And the birds were just as interesting.

And, now that we're home, we can see what's going on at the hide by viewing their webcam." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Bishopston

"My best ever Safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Kaingo was absolutely excellent , but Mwamba was I thought even better. It is set in a remote location with just 4 cabins , which are very comfortable and well constructed. Each cabin is given the name of a tree , and mine was Sausage tree , named after the tree which is next to it , giving some shade in the very hot weather. It is also the closest cabin to the Camp's nearby natural waterhole, which has an excellent hide with three levels, the very lowest right at water level , but a bit of a squeeze to get into.

The hide is a good place to spend a couple of hours at almost any time of day. The waterhole is frequented by much of the local wild life from Elephants and buffalo to Impala , kudu , bushbuck and other antelope. A great many birds , often in swarms visit it in the dry season. These include lovebirds, starling species, and several colourful finches.

I had an excellent guide in Andrew who was extremely knowledgable and an excellent spotter of everything from Leopards in trees to Chameleons in the dark. We became firm friends and he taught me a lot about the animals and people of the area. He took me on an extended morning walk which proved a good contrast to the drives.

I took my tally of Leopard sightings in the South Luangwa to 14 at Mwamba including a male and female together at night and a big old male who had stolen a kill from a younger male ( watching nearby ) Night drives were also productive with views of Civet, Genet, honey badger and owls of various kinds, as well as leopards.

On one evening we came across a Giraffe that had just given birth and the baby was still very wobbly on its legs . They were taking cover in a grove of trees until the baby Giraffe could walk properly. We had good sightings of large buffalo herds coming down to drink at the shrinking waterholes, and elephants coming down for their morning mud baths. One of the star viewings was at length ( albeit a little obscured in the bush ) of a pack of wild dogs with cubs shortly after a successful hunt in the early morning.

The food at Mwamba was if it is possible , even better , which is truly remarkable considering the remote location and limited kitchen facilities.

The managers are a young couple Craig and LIndy, who were highly professional, experienced ( particularly Craig ) and very friendly. The group evening meals were especially entertaining and informative, set out completely in the open. I was privileged to witness the end of the capture of Peter the 12 foot python who had been living near the hide , and although completely harmless it was thought best to relocate to a an area away from the camp.

In short Mwamba would be a tough act to follow for any camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr D
Middlesex

"Mwamba - A true bushcamp with great hosts"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"Mwamba made us feel very at home. The thatched chalets and washing area including bucket showers very traditional but spacious with a bit of luxury - just what we enjoy. The setting of the chalets and other areas is beautiful and felt very remote. The camp included 3 hides at different levels above the waterhole and while we were there, a family of elephants were regular visitors together with impala zebra and baboons, plus stunning birds, such as Lilian's Lovebirds and Blue Waxbills. Two bushbucks roamed the camp eating the sausage tree flowers and drinking at the bird bath.
Craig and Lindy felt like old friends by the time we left as Craig had been to many of the places we had been and they planned to go to others. Lindy was was exceptionally kind and proactive when she managed to get me some appropriate antibiotics when I had a recurrence of an old illness. The guiding was good and it was interesting learning about the Mwamba-Kaigo, Mwamba-Kapanda and Hollywood prides (made famous on recent TV Programme.)
Mwamba and Kaingo are run by the same family and it is great to know that the fantastic food includes vegetables from their own plot in Mfuwe run by local people" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Leics

"Great camp in South Luangwa"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"We had stayed at Kaingo last trip but Mwamba was even better. Craig and Lindy were very welcoming hosts and it is a lovely small bush camp with comfortable rooms and an efficient bucket shower system.

Andrew and Alex were definitely the A team as far as tracking and finding game and we were lucky in seeing the wild dogs with puppies plus several leopards and a lot of different prides of lions. We were very impressed with Andrew who not only was very knowledgeable and informative but was also clearly dedicated to his work and the business of conservation and also passionate about his country and its people which made for some interesting discussions - he also had a great sense of humour.

The hides by the water hole were a pleasant way to spend a few hours in the middle of the day and to get some great close up photo's.

There was so much to see I wish we had had another night or two!" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
San Diego

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"Mwamba is a bit more remote than its sister camp Kaingo but I loved the sense of being right in the middle of the mix. From the breakfast table you can watch Elephants, Giraffes, and even a lion one morning going about their business. Craig and Lindi are excellent managers and have a wealth of knowledge regarding the park and surrounding area. Just as with Kaingo, the service and food are excellent. The staff is top notch at Mwamba.

The reed and thatch chalets are very comfortable and come with beautiful outdoor bathrooms. The beds would be turned down at night with the netting set in place. We did not have any issues with mosquitos. A pail of hot water would be raised each morning for a shower or you could order the hot water at any other time of the day. The nearby hide was a great place to go and observe the resident hippo and bee eater birds on down time.

The game drives and walking safaris are different from those of Kaingo so it's not more of the same. The family and I got up close and personal with the Mwamba Kaingo pride of lions, this was definitely a highlight of the Mwamba leg of our safari. Of course, we were still with our guide Patrick from Kaingo and he brought along the same tremendous enthusiasm that he had at Kaingo. I highly recommend Mwamba for a more off the beaten path kind of safari." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Worcs

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2017
"A complete contrast to Waterberry. Very much in the bush with two wonderful hosts and very good food.

The rooms were fairly basic and the absence of matting in the washing area meant it was necessary to put on shoes when going to the toilet at night.

That said, we came to love it and the game drives were superb with excellent guides. Catering was outstanding and we wouldn't hesitate to return there." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Partridge family
Kent

"An experience of a lifetime"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2017
"Everything about Mwamba Bushcamp was wonderful. Craig and Lindy were the most charming hosts that one could wish for. We had fantastic guides, with Andrew being particularly outstanding and incredibly well-informed. The quality of the food was amazing and the rooms are beautifully made out of reeds and thatch, with a wonderful bathroom area. We would not hesitate to recommend Mwamba to anybody who may be considering wanting to experience a true insight to remote Zambia, but with very welcome luxury as well. Fabulous, no complaints whatsoever." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
London

"Heaven"

5 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"Mwamba means "heaven", and heaven it is... if you like a small, intimate bush camp that is both rustic (bucket showers only) and luxurious (a hot shower in the bush!), with a wonderful hide offering front-row seats for all the action at "the last watering hole", charming managers in Craig and Lindy and excellent guides, Mwamba is all you need. It was my fourth visit in five years and I can't think of a better place to stay at in South Luangwa, far away from the bustle around the park gates and in one of the most productive areas of South Luangwa.

The food was excellent, too, with fresh, tasty offerings including plenty of salads and fruit (perfect for hot October days). Although lion prides were somewhat quiet, I had exceptional leopard sightings every single day. One killed an impala at the watering hole and we were able to watch him on consecutive days, feeding in a tree and later dragging his prize off.

At this time of the year, the high concentration of elephants and giraffes was notable as well. In short, when I go back to South Luangwa, it'll be straight back to heaven." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 124
99%
124 reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
117
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa