This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwamba Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

45% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Mwamba was brilliant - just want to go back"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2016
"It was difficult to fault Kaingo but Mwamba was just a little bit better.

We started with a bush walk between the two camps which was really good.

Mwamba has everything that is good about Kaingo but also benefits from the proximity of the hide where there was always something going on and the fact that rather than being in the trees, it is more open so you are always aware of animals and birds moving to/from the hide.

We could have done with more time here - two nights wasn't really enough we could quite happily have done 4." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
W Sussex

"Mwamba really is a slice of heaven"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"On arriving at Mwamba Lindy told us Mwamba means "Heaven" And it certainly was that. Was a luxurious bush camp. There is something very grounding about having a bucket shower in the open air! We also loved the hide - what a position, and so much activity.

We kept Andrew our guide for our stay in Mwamba too. That is a very good touch as we really got to know each other over the 6 days we were together and therefore he got to know what we liked, where we had already been and where we had already had sundowners - very important not to go to the same place twice! Again too much food for the evening meal, but other than that couldn't fault it.

Have rated everything excellent taking into consideration the remote location - you'd never know it!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms N
London

"Wonderful Wilderness Experience at Mwamba"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"We loved the remote, part-of-the-bush feel of Mwamba - thanks to the wilderness setting and the size, open-air style, and materials of the camp.

We saw an extraordinary number and range of animals on our game drives and night drives. And we had a great guide - deeply familiar and knowledgable about the area and the animals and very lively in sharing it all with us and a very good companion.

One of the most spectacular animal experiences we've ever had was in the hide - sitting 3 feet from animals one is otherwise never able to get (and stay!) near and watching them for long periods in perfectly natural behaviour: elephants, various antelope, baboons, wart hogs, flocks of birds. I" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Surrey

"Amazing visit to Mwamba camp."

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2016
"We arrived here with our guide Patrick on foot, having walked from the previous camp, Kaingo.
It is a very special place.
I would put it in one of my top 10 places to visit anywhere in the world!
The camp hosts were very helpful, Craig and Lindy.
The room was lovely, despite it being a bush camp.
The bucket shower worked extremely well.
It has the added bonus a a waterhole hide just by the camp.
This gave us close up sightings of many animals and birds coming to drink there.
Elephants came to wash and drink, which felt very special.
We again had our wonderful guide , Patrick to take us on drives.
We saw Leopard every day, and many Lion prides.
We had a very special walk stalking a large herd of Eland.
Then we had a very special end on the last morning of 3 lionesses with their 8 cubs, 3 of which were tiny!
All in all a very special end to the trip. We will return!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Maidstone

"Mwamba Camp July 16"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2016
"I chose the option of walking to Mwamba from my last camp - Kaingo - and was glad that I did. Whilst the guide was explaining how leopards roll in impala dung to camouflage their scent right on cue a leopard walked out right in front of us! So much else to see on foot too.

Met at the camp by hosts Craig and Lindy who were absolutely wonderful throughout my stay - nothing was too much trouble for them - even when they didn't get much sleep because a wandering elephant was trying to 'move' their hut all night.

The rooms are basic 'bush' rooms of the type often found on safaris, but I would say 1 up on the 'luxury' tents some camps use. Comfortable bedroom area and outside flushing loo and shower. Food was excellent - plenty of it and all to a high standard.

The camp has a hide within its ambit which is well worth a visit to watch the birds and animals who 'drop in' for a drink.

My guide was Patrick - alias Dr Doolittle - I witnessed him 'talking' to a herd of wildebeest which he made turn towards us for good photos, and holding a 5 minute conversation / singing contest with a coucal which I would not have believed if I had not seen it. Very informative and knew just where to go for the best game sightings - on the last morning we followed a hunting pack of wild dogs and then saw them calling to compatriots on the other side of the river, at which point on the far bank 15 appeared and raced across the beach towards us - sensible enough not to try to cross because of the crocs - but it was an incredible hour or so which I won't ever forget.

Can't recommend the place highly enough.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
David
Hales

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"We waked here from Kaingo which was itself a wonderful experience and again were greeted and sent almost immediately off to explore the new domain - more leopards, a lion kill, more painted dogs plus the by now usual elephants, antelope etc.

The Camp is sufficiently different to be with a stay there, as is the slightly more inland approach to the drives (though the Hippo Hide was not neglected)." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F & Ms K
USA

"Amazing experience at Mwamba Bushcamp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2016
"We spent 7 nights between Mwamba Bushcamp and its sister camo, Kaingo.

We were guided by Sylvester, who was excellent. As we had an extended period with him, Sylvester chose to take us to different areas (for example, the Boabab Forest and Kapanda Lagoon). We did both walks and drives with Sylvester and were equally impressed on both. His ability to mimic bird sounds was truly amazing - he was able to call an owl back and forth between 2 trees (numerous flights back and forth) so we could photograph it in flight. He also found some of the more rare animals for us - notably a serval.

The staff at Mwamba were lovely. Craig and Lindy, camp managers, clearly love their job and love the property. Hopefully they will be with Shenton Safaris for years! We loved the rustic feel of the thatch chalets - Mwamba was our favorite camp for its accommodations. The food was excellent and varying food preferences were easily and graciously accommodated. After leaving, Lindy was kind enough to forward the recipes to us.

We chose Mwamba (and its sister camp Kaingo) for the focus on photography. The bean bag rests and dustcovers were appreciated. The guides are keen photographers as well, and passed along many helpful hints.

We highly recommend Mwamba Bushcamp, particularly to photography enthusiasts." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Seychelles; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Mwamba Bushcamp - 3 nights"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2015
"This was the most basic camp we visited, but it stands out as a favourite because of the guiding and sightings.

I wanted a camp that went back to basics - especially the bucket shower - and Mwamba delivered this excellently. The rooms are 'basic' but very comfortable and the service was very good indeed (for example: specific requests about our mosquito net were very well executed).

The guiding here was excellent and Andrew deserves a rating in our 'top ten' guides over fifteen years of visiting Africa. His method of waiting and listening to the environment was an amazing experience.

We really enjoyed this camp because it was simple (which we wanted) and had superb staff and viewings.

" See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Lusaka

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"Mwamba camp was a unique experience and we are really glad we spent 2 of our 5 nights there. If we had it to do over again, I think we would have started at Mwamba and "moved up" to Kaingo.

The wildlife was not as dense, but we did have a lot of viewings and also lots of eagles. The facilities are so unique and it was fun to experience them. Charlie and Matt were very good hosts / guides." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Mr W
Kent

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"This was our intro to African safaris and Matt and Charlie made us feel at home immediately. Matt was a very knowledgeable guide and great fun to spend time with.

Game in the area was simply astounding - lions galore, leopards day and night, along with all the other mammals. The hides were a spectacular addition, enabling intimate photography with animals and birds. The food was excellent and we especially enjoyed our romantic dinner on top of the anthill.

Mwamba provided the perfect blend of bush camp life with a high level of comfort. We couldn't have had a better introduction." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 124
99%
124 reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
117
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa