This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2017 trip

Zimbabwe between 6 Jul 2017 and 15 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really enjoyed visiting Zimbabwe

Thank you, Claire, for organizing such a great trip for us, again!!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

"Zambezi Sands review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2017
"Very friendly camp. In a lovely position by the river.
The safari experience is not that easy due to heavy scrub which makes it quite difficult to spot the animals.
However we managed three sightings of lions, and lots of elephants!
We also used it as a base for our visit to the falls.
Its a bit of a way out but we much preferred the peacefulness of its position to the noise of helicopters in Vic Falls.
Really enjoyed our stay here."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Hide

The Hide

"The Hide review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Lovely camp. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Very knowledgeable guide, Daffy (sorry for the spelling !). Greatly helped improve our bird recognition.
We were lucky enough to see lions, cheetahs and sable here, all great sightings.
We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here. Everyone made sure we were very well looked after.
The actual hide by the waterhole is a real bonus.
Slight drawback from the train noise at night, but it didn't really bother us."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
John's Camp

John's Camp

"John's camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2017
"A very special little camp.
It felt like a proper bush camp which we loved, but also had a luxury feel to it.
The tents were really lovely with great views.
The food was excellent.
We were lucky enough to meet John Stevens who was a delightful man and whose knowledge of the bush is second to none.
It made the stay there feel even more special.
Milo, David and all the staff there looked after us incredibly well.
Thank you everyone, we had a great time!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Amazing safari to South Luangwa.

Zambia between 4 Aug 2016 and 14 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing trip to South Luangwa.
We have been on many safaris before but never seen so much game, especially Leopard and Lion, as this time.
Our camps were faultless and our guides were wonderful.
Claire, thank you for organizing such a lovely trip for us.
We really appreciated your advice in the camps you helped us choose.
They were all excellent.
A perfect holiday!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Nsefu

Nsefu

"great start to holiday at Nsefu"

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"We had a wonderful start to our holiday here.
The rooms are quite close together but we were lucky that the camp wasn't full so we didn't feel too overlooked.
The location makes up for it anyway, it is probably the best in South Luangwa.
I could lie on my bed in the afternoon and watch the elephants crossing the river.
Our guide, Thomas, was excellent. We saw Leopard, Lion, Wild dogs and much more, all on our first morning drive!
Excellent sightings carried on for our whole visit there.
There was also some wonderful bird life there. We even managed to get a very good sighting of Pel's fishing owl.
The food was also excellent, and the camp host, Ruth was extremely good.
Couldn't have asked for a better start to a trip!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Great safari at Kaingo."

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"We crossed the river by canoe to arrive at this camp which was good fun.
The camp hosts, Garth and Liz, were extremely helpful and gave the camp a very relaxed feel.
Our room was lovely with the deck overlooking the river being a real bonus.
The food was excellent here.
We were lucky enough to have the head guide, Patrick, whose knowledge of the bush is second to none.
We had amazing sightings of Leopard every day, with many sightings of large prides of Lion.
We were also lucky to see a pack of Wild Dogs having a tussle with a Hyena over a Puku kill.
We went on a three hour walk with him to get to the next camp, Mwamba , during which we had sightings of many animals and birds, including Lion which felt very special.
It was a wonderful camp to visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Amazing visit to Mwamba camp."

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2016
"We arrived here with our guide Patrick on foot, having walked from the previous camp, Kaingo.
It is a very special place.
I would put it in one of my top 10 places to visit anywhere in the world!
The camp hosts were very helpful, Craig and Lindy.
The room was lovely, despite it being a bush camp.
The bucket shower worked extremely well.
It has the added bonus a a waterhole hide just by the camp.
This gave us close up sightings of many animals and birds coming to drink there.
Elephants came to wash and drink, which felt very special.
We again had our wonderful guide , Patrick to take us on drives.
We saw Leopard every day, and many Lion prides.
We had a very special walk stalking a large herd of Eland.
Then we had a very special end on the last morning of 3 lionesses with their 8 cubs, 3 of which were tiny!
All in all a very special end to the trip. We will return!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Jun 2014 trip

Zambia between 14 Jun 2014 and 23 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was an amazing trip, organised very well by Claire. She was very helpful when we found we had a 2 hr delay in leaving Heathrow. She contacted Skytrails so they knew we were probably going to be late and made sure I had the right phone numbers to call them once we had reached Johannes burg. This ensured we got back on track and reached our final destination without to much trouble. Thank you, Claire, for all your help"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Wasa Lodge

Wasa Lodge

"wasa lodge"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"Great stay. We went for the sitatunga and saw them on both morning visits. The staff were very helpful and the guiding good.

It would not be suitable as a regular safari camp as there are very few animals to see, and the birds are not that plentiful either, but for the specific reason of looking for sitatunga it is very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp

"Shoebill Island Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2014
"The camp is simple but the facilities are quite satisfactory. The food was very good considering how remote the camp is. The manager had only been there a month before we got there. It shows. I think he was more used to people arriving with their own guide. We were the only guests so we were able to make sure we got a knowledgeable guide for the birds and the shoebill trips, but I think if there had been more guests there then we may not have been so well looked after.

There were also problems with water in the bathroom. It was easily sorted out with a room move but again this could have been a problem with a fuller camp.
The shoebill trips are not for the fainthearted! We were lucky enough to see them on both visits but were not really prepared for how difficult it would be to wade out in the swamp area. I took reef shoes which were a great help and perhaps should be recommended to future visitors. It was probably the most unusual safari experience I have been on and I am very glad I went. I would not want to go again however!

Apart from that the other birds on the lake are amazing and the boat trips were very special. Again we had to make sure we had a good birding guide with us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2014
"We have been to Tena Tena before and it was just as good this time. The guiding was excellent, the lodge and new location beautiful and the staff very helpful. It was only let down by the average food. The two camps I visited prior to Tena, Wasa Lodge and Shoebill Island, managed much better in more difficult circumstances.

However the camp itself still remains one of my favourites in all Africa, probably because of its position on the river in such a beautiful part of the South Luangwa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team