This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp

Reviews of Vundu Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

41 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vundu Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Vundu Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

20% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

80% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Eland

88% success

Spotted Hyena

88% success

Roan antelope

27% success

Sable antelope

13% success

Wildebeest

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 41
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Vundu - one of our favourite African Lodges"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"For us it provided the perfect balance between "wild" and "comfortable". 24 hour electricity and fans in the room are great in October but it was also good to have an outside bathroom. It is the first lodge we have encountered with a gym (too hot to use in October). The accommodation is unbelievably spacious and the vehicles used for game viewing were excellent with plenty of space and a useful storage box between the seats. Our guide, Simeon was first class and all the staff at the camp were helpful and attentive. We put it in our top 3 of African Lodges (along with Musekese and Tafika in Zambia). The canoeing was excellent. The food was good but the steak we had for dinner the last night was the best we have had in Africa, so we are unsure whether to grade the food as good or excellent. Nick's nephew, Ethan, was an asset to the camp as he has a good sense of humour and excellent "people skills"." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Undue camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"We loved the fact that here you got out of the car and got up close and personal on foot with elephants and wild dogs. Terrific. Quite different to any other lodge we have visited in Africa. Great views of a honey badger foraging in the daylight. Good birding.

Simeon was a very knowledgable and experienced guide. He got us great views and wildlife experiences.

The camp was slightly more basic, but with all the essentials. The food was plentiful, but the choice was a bit limited especially between deliveries." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr S.
Clontarf

"Fabulous stay at great camp "

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"From the time we were met at the strip by Melanie to the morning we left we felt at home - very friendly, extremely keen to ensure we had great experiences and close encounters with the game (especially lion, painted dogs and elephant) whilst always respecting the animals and their environment.

Daryl is a fabulous guide and committed to protecting the wildlife. Melanie is a great host and included all the staff ensured they got credit for their involvement in our stay. Daryl and Melanie seemed as excited as us to see the animals, especially the dog pups.

We will always remember our canoeing along the Zambezi and the unique views of hippos. The accommodation and food were excellent. It was also fascinating to hear about Nick and Daryl’s efforts with their Conservancy protecting the wildlife in the park.

Thoroughly recommended for any trip to Zimbabwe." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Wellington

"Vundu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2018
"Excellent.

Only reservation was that the area was a bit busy with traffic." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr C & Mr P
BC

"Bush camp on the Zambezi river"

4 nights Arrived 18 May 2018
"Nice location on the banks of the Zambezi river. Camp is a bit worn, bed linen was very worn. My bed sheets were badly stained and I had to ask for it to be replaced (which it was ).

Breakfast was minimal. No protein just carbohydrates. Toast and granola etc. There seemed to be a shortage of guides while we were in camp. Steve was hired by one camper as his private guide leaving Henry to deal with six of us. Two of these people did not want to walk due to health issues so we were quite limited for the first day despite our wish for lots of bush walks.

The next day, the couple who did not want to walk requested Henry to themselves and so we were in a bit of a pickle. Daryl (the manager) had to go to the airport to pickup more campers. Fortunately Steve was freed up for the day as the fellow who had hired him as a private guide decided to stay in the camp , so our day was rescued and we had a wonderful morning walk in the bush. Definitely will be back to Mana Pools. Uncertain if we will be back to Vundu Camp.

Dinners were excellent kudos to the chef loved eating en famille. Daryl and Melanie were wonderful hosts and there was lots of lovely dinner conversations." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Vundu Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 12 May 2018
"We were the first visitors to the entire park (early May), so game was quite disbursed since water was available everywhere.

This meant we have far fewer sightings than we expected, but the camp still was a pleasure to visit. It's in a beautiful spot on the Zambezi River, the people are very warm and friendly, and the guide Henry was excellent.

We did three approaches on foot to lions, and since we stayed fairly far away it was actually pretty tame!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms N
California

"Vundu Camp is the best!"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2017
"We had a 3 night safari at Vundu Camp 2 weeks ago and loved our experience. It was our favorite camp. The family feel and welcoming environment is amazing. Our guide, Alex, was first class. He went above and beyond and absolutely contributed to our positive experience at Vundu. The walking tours and the opportunity to get very close to elephants on foot was incredible.

The staff are friendly and the food was good. You won't go hungry! In total, we stayed at 4 camps across Zimbabwe and Botswana and Vundu was our favorite experience for their amazing guides and warm hospitality.

Our only suggestion is for Vundu to invest in new mosquito nets as ours had a couple holes." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
BJB
Los Angeles

"Vundu Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2017
"Vundu is situated on the Zambezi River and lends itself to adventure seekers. It is a permanent tented camp with large bedrooms and living room. The staff is wonderful and accomomdating.

Expert Africa arranged for Nick Murray as a private guide here; these travellers commented:

When we were leaving Camp Hwange, one of the staff commented that Nick enjoys getting close to the wildlife. She was not kidding.

Nick has a vast knowledge of the wildlife in Mana Pools and is writing his dissertation on the wild dogs. Mana Pools does not allow off road vehicles, so all tracking is done on foot. Therefore, we spent one unforgettable day hiking to a blind to observe wild dogs in their habitat and then watching them minutes after a kill. Later, we were on foot within feet of lions mating. Our hearts still race as we recall the roar of the male as he mock charged us.

Truly an unforgettable adventure!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Ms N
Georgia

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2017
"Staff was top knotch and the food was good.

Simian our guide was very personable and went out of his way to look for the Painted Dogs. Very personalized guiding.

Listening to Nick and his guides recount their experiences over dinner was priceless. Mono Pools is a very remote and wonderful park. Incredible animal numbers and the walking on the flood plain is amazing, no telling what you may find. Will return in 2018! It's that good." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Steve King
USA

"Great camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"Shortly after departing on the first game drive we came across painted dogs munching on an impala. We were able to get close and observe them. Amazing.

Great location on the Zambezi where you can hear the river and animal sounds through the night. Breakfast around the campfire. Excellent staff. Got to see Boswell the elephant rear up. Daddy, our guide, was knowledgeable and helpful in locating wildlife. An overall great experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 41
96%
41 reviews of Vundu Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


93% (15 reviews)
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


94% (14 reviews)
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking, river safaris, night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


96% (11 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, along the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa. Each night you'll camp on the banks of the river.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


90% (2 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (2 reviews)
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


100% (1 review)
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


No reviews yet
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Tembo Plains Camp

Tembo Plains Camp

Building commenced on Tembo Plains Camp in February 2021. Details are sparce at this stage but we'll update this page once we know more.


No reviews yet
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet
Mana River Camp

Mana River Camp

Mana River Camp sits on the banks of the Zambezi River, a site formerly occupied by Mwinilunga Camp.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa