This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp

Reviews of Vundu Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vundu Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Vundu Camp.
Lion

77% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

75% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Eland

92% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Roan antelope

31% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Wellington

"Vundu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2018
"Excellent.

Only reservation was that the area was a bit busy with traffic." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr C & Mr P
BC

"Bush camp on the Zambezi river"

4 nights Arrived 18 May 2018
"Nice location on the banks of the Zambezi river. Camp is a bit worn, bed linen was very worn. My bed sheets were badly stained and I had to ask for it to be replaced (which it was ).

Breakfast was minimal. No protein just carbohydrates. Toast and granola etc. There seemed to be a shortage of guides while we were in camp. Steve was hired by one camper as his private guide leaving Henry to deal with six of us. Two of these people did not want to walk due to health issues so we were quite limited for the first day despite our wish for lots of bush walks.

The next day, the couple who did not want to walk requested Henry to themselves and so we were in a bit of a pickle. Daryl (the manager) had to go to the airport to pickup more campers. Fortunately Steve was freed up for the day as the fellow who had hired him as a private guide decided to stay in the camp , so our day was rescued and we had a wonderful morning walk in the bush. Definitely will be back to Mana Pools. Uncertain if we will be back to Vundu Camp.

Dinners were excellent kudos to the chef loved eating en famille. Daryl and Melanie were wonderful hosts and there was lots of lovely dinner conversations. " See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Vundu Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 12 May 2018
"We were the first visitors to the entire park (early May), so game was quite disbursed since water was available everywhere.

This meant we have far fewer sightings than we expected, but the camp still was a pleasure to visit. It's in a beautiful spot on the Zambezi River, the people are very warm and friendly, and the guide Henry was excellent.

We did three approaches on foot to lions, and since we stayed fairly far away it was actually pretty tame!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms N
California

"Vundu Camp is the best!"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2017
"We had a 3 night safari at Vundu Camp 2 weeks ago and loved our experience. It was our favorite camp. The family feel and welcoming environment is amazing. Our guide, Alex, was first class. He went above and beyond and absolutely contributed to our positive experience at Vundu. The walking tours and the opportunity to get very close to elephants on foot was incredible.

The staff are friendly and the food was good. You won't go hungry! In total, we stayed at 4 camps across Zimbabwe and Botswana and Vundu was our favorite experience for their amazing guides and warm hospitality.

Our only suggestion is for Vundu to invest in new mosquito nets as ours had a couple holes. " See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
BJB
Los Angeles

"Vundu Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2017
"Vundu is situated on the Zambezi River and lends itself to adventure seekers. It is a permanent tented camp with large bedrooms and living room. The staff is wonderful and accomomdating.

Expert Africa arranged for Nick Murray as a private guide here; these travellers commented:

When we were leaving Camp Hwange, one of the staff commented that Nick enjoys getting close to the wildlife. She was not kidding.

Nick has a vast knowledge of the wildlife in Mana Pools and is writing his dissertation on the wild dogs. Mana Pools does not allow off road vehicles, so all tracking is done on foot. Therefore, we spent one unforgettable day hiking to a blind to observe wild dogs in their habitat and then watching them minutes after a kill. Later, we were on foot within feet of lions mating. Our hearts still race as we recall the roar of the male as he mock charged us.

Truly an unforgettable adventure!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Ms N
Georgia

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2017
"Staff was top knotch and the food was good.

Simian our guide was very personable and went out of his way to look for the Painted Dogs. Very personalized guiding.

Listening to Nick and his guides recount their experiences over dinner was priceless. Mono Pools is a very remote and wonderful park. Incredible animal numbers and the walking on the flood plain is amazing, no telling what you may find. Will return in 2018! It's that good." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Steve King
USA

"Great camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"Shortly after departing on the first game drive we came across painted dogs munching on an impala. We were able to get close and observe them. Amazing.

Great location on the Zambezi where you can hear the river and animal sounds through the night. Breakfast around the campfire. Excellent staff. Got to see Boswell the elephant rear up. Daddy, our guide, was knowledgeable and helpful in locating wildlife. An overall great experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
B family
Guildford

"Perfect for a Zambesi experience"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2016
"The atmosphere is Vundu camp was very different to that at Davison's, perhaps because we were the only guests staying there at the time. In the first place the staff were much more racially mixed. The accommodation was as good and although the rooms did not look out onto a water pan, they were only a few metres from the banks of the Zimbabwe and big animals such as hippos and elephants did wander through the camp at night, justifying the need for the armed escort when moving around the camp at night.

In contrast to Davison's, we spent little time driving around and much more walking and following the trails of animals. We had complete confidence in Nick, who was our guide all the time and who owns the camp. Twice we went out for a half day canoeing on the Zambesi with him, glad of his knowledge and experience given the number of hippos on the river. Stopping the canoes to let a family of elephants swim across the river in front of us was unforgettable. So was coming back in the canoes at sunset to find a candle-lit dinner set up on the bank.

We could none of us give this camp a higher recommendation." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
London

"Excellent service in a relaxed atmosphere"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2016
"Vundu is a beautiful, relaxed camp on the banks of the Zambezi. The rooms are luxury canvas tents overlooking the river, with indoor and outdoor bathrooms. They are very clean and comfortable and allow you to get close to nature - I heard a hippo dung-spraying onto my tent one evening!

Breakfast is nice and early, served around a fire as the Sun comes up. The food is good and the coffee delicious (and much needed!). The camp offers a variety of activities and I would highly recommend the canoe trip on the Zambezi - an adrenaline filled experience as you dodge hippos and then calm the nerves with sundowners on the bank. The walking safaris also allow you an amazing, different perspective on the wildlife and Nick, the head guide, is clearly very experienced and knowledgable, allowing you to track and get close to the animals. In particular he specialises in getting up close and personal with elephants and knows the animals in his area extremely well. He is also very friendly, likes a practical joke and has lots of good stories for around the camp fire in the evening.

The game viewing at the time of year that I went (May) is not the best as the bush is still green, but this makes the area more beautiful in my opinion and it provides more excitement as you have to work for your game viewings (or rather Nick does). The temperature is also more comfortable. An opportunity to see the wild dogs was a particular attraction for me, but this is by no means guaranteed at any time of year, as they cover great distances and move quickly, and sadly I was unlucky. Nonetheless this a was a wonderful trip that I would highly recommend, especially to those who want to really experience relaxation in the bush, rather than just view large concentrations of game." See all these reviews: 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
New York

"Vundu Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2015
"Great camp and amazing guide.

3 day canoe safari was excellent, though low water prevented access to many of the smaller channels, which were the most interesting part. C

anoeing may be better earlier in the season, though the concentration of wildlife close to the river was incredible." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 38
96%
38 reviews of Vundu Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


93% (14 reviews)
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


94% (14 reviews)
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking and river safaris, as well as canoe trips and night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


96% (10 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Mana Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, canoeing down the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa, camping on the banks of the river in dome tents each evening.


100% (4 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


90% (2 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (1 review)
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


No reviews yet
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


No reviews yet
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa