This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp

Reviews of Vundu Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vundu Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Vundu Camp.
Lion

77% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

75% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Eland

92% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Roan antelope

31% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-38 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"A wonderful river location"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"We had a super four nights at Vundu, complementing perfectly our immediate previous four nights off the river at Kanga. Dean McGregor is a brilliant guide - very knowledgeable and a wonderful sense of humour. Our walks with him were packed with interest - as well as fantastic animals - and the canoeing was the highlight of what was, all round, a brilliant trip.

In camp we were made to feel very welcome by Nick and Natalie.

As for the animals, we were delighted to see nyala for the first time ever; but the most memorable has to be the (male - his mate followed a couple of nights later) pennant-winged nightjar flying into the lounge area one evening - fabulous.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P & Mr C
Weeton

"Elephants for lunch at Little Vundu"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"Little Vundu is in a beautiful location right on the banks of the Zambezi. Once again we spent most of our time walking in the bush and along the flood plain. One morning at breakfast Mark heard alarm calls and we set off quickly on foot just in time to see a lioness walking among the thickets behind camp.

At lunchtimes in camp elephants would walk through right alongside the dining table. One bull in particular would walk up almost to within touching distance.

We were lucky to see the area's Wild Dog pack not far from camp. The puppies were chasing a warthog which was very exciting to watch. We saw the Wild Dogs on two other occasions, the last being on foot and during which we were able to watch at close hand the darting and re-collaring of one of the dogs by the Painted Dog Conservation team." See all these reviews: 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Sutton

"Great time at Vundu"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2012
"Mana Pools is beautiful: it was a pleasure just to be there. We liked that we could drive until we found something interesting and then investigate on foot, rather than having to decide in advance whether we wanted to drive or walk, as in some other places. It made wildlife viewing feel spontaneous and exciting.

Nick Murray is up there with the best of the guides we have had on several safaris. He took care to find out about our interests and experience, and then to repeat activities we'd enjoyed or find new ones we'd asked for. We couldn't believe how close we could get to lions and elephants on foot and yet feel completely safe.

We found Vundu to be a very friendly and sociable camp and this added to our overall enjoyment of our stay. We spent our time in camp with guides, guests and staff-everyone just mixed together.

Best afternoon cakes of the trip!

Negatives about Vundu-having to leave!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
E & D
New Mexico

"Vundu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2012
"This camp was right up my alley. The rooms were comfortable yet not pretentious, the staff was friendly without being overly-enthusiastic (which some staff tend to be), and the owner and guide Nick was what I like in a host, answering questions and asking about things he wanted to know about us, but in an honest, genuine exchange.

We love to walk in the bush, and this was the best walk ever. About an hour in, on our way to a wild dog den, we had to do some very quick lateral shuffling to get out of an ele's path, Nick then found the den, we sat down and watched the pack return, the puppies come out and be fed, the vultures come in to join the feasting, just incredible! We had stay as long as we dared, as the light was beginning to fade and we had about 4 km to traverse to get back to the vehicle. It was on the return that we were saw the dust cloud of the buffalo, were mock-charged by a lone female maybe looking for her calf, and heard the hyena very close by.

At this Nick said it was getting dark, we could maybe go on rather than investigate, although we all knew this is what we all wanted to do so, after an nanosecond of consultation we headed into the the thick bush to see what we could see. Nick stopped dead about 30 meters in, turned and said "lion, large male", we turned left and kept moving toward the heart of the activity (maybe another 20-30 meters), stopped and could hear and see a pack of wild dogs on the flank, the buffalo herd was moving off ahead of us, the hyena and lion to our right (or behind). At this point it was agreed that we had used up enough the daylight and needed to move off. 20 minutes later (we must have really been moving along) we were back at the vehicle and on our way to camp.

At no point did we feel in any danger. Nick's astute understanding of the situation and conditions and our ability and willingness to follow ever instruction and stay close together (we are very fit, have walked in the bush through all types of terrain and habitat and hopefully our vulnerabilities and limitations) made this feel we had done something very special, but not an experience for everyone.

Go and spend three days or more at Vundu if you like to walk and canoe. It's the best!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Malawi; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Vundu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Vundu was a great experience from a wildlife and guiding point of view. Having not visited Zimbabwe for 11 years, it was amazing to find that our guide at Vundu was Mark, who we had last met when he had guided us at Musango camp on Lake Kariba. We had a great few days in Mark's company, which included a hilarious encounter with a male elephant which is definitely worth sharing on YouTube; an amazing sighting of a female leopard and her cub; lions eating a young elephant (gory but fascinating); and close-up, on-foot viewings of the local pack of wild dogs.

As a camp, Vundu is functional rather than comfortable and it feels tired and in need of some TLC. Some "sprucing up" would make Vundu feel more cared for, without losing the real bush camp feel.

The layout of the camp along the river left no space for any "sitting out" area in front the of the tents and little to see in camp, although the antics of the vervet monkeys around the dining area were always entertaiing." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"Excellent location and guiding. Amazing to walk up to lions, wild dogs and very large elephants.

A very different safari experience with the guides also doing the hosting in camp, this enabled us to find out more about how the country is doing.

Also managed to get to Mana Pools just before it started getting really hot!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The D family
London

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2011
"Thank you very much for putting our minds at rest about travelling to Zimbabwe. We had the most amazing 3 days at Vundu camp. Our accommodation was very comfortable with en suite open-roofed bathrooms & hot showers but it wasn't too chic which suited us very well.

There was a pan in front of the accommodation & we often saw elephants, warthogs & buffalo there. We had lovely food including home made cakes for afternoon tea. We ate together with the other guests & guides in the evening & met some interesting people.

You were right about the Zimbabwe-trained guides - we had an amazing guide called Andy who was great fun but also had an encyclopaedic knowledge of the animals he showed us. He tracked a lion on day one & we felt so safe with him that we went for a canoe trip on the second day which we had vowed not to do for fear of hippo attack.

He knew the area very well so was able to take us to the hotspots for animal viewing & we had a nice mixture of driving in the jeep & walking. It was quite cold in the early mornings in August but the jeep was equipped with blankets so we were kept warm. Our 2 girls age 10 & 12 really enjoyed it. The camp was a few feet from the Zambezi river which was beautiful." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Volcano

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2011
"Vundu is a nice camp in a beautiful location on the banks of the Zambezi River. We were met at Chirundu by our guide, Mark van Zuydam, and Mark spent the next 4 days with us (2 at Vundu Camp, 2 along the Zambezi as we canoed downriver). Mark is a superb guide. Extremely knowledgeable and personable. The mixture of driving and walking game viewing offered at Vundu is great. We had high expectations for Mana Pools and were not disappointed.

Our highlight here was the time spent with Mark canoeing downriver. The paddling was leisurely, with plenty of game viewing along the way. The mobile camps set up before we arrived were excellent and quite comfortable, with great food and fantastic views of the Zambezi at sunset and sunrise. For those interested in a little adventure, a canoe trip at Mana Pools should not be missed!

Additional comments on the multi-day canoe trail: As I said, the Ruwesi Canoe Trail was the highlight of our Mana Pools visit. Our guide, Mark van Zuydam, was the absolute best! The river experience is really an adventure, and having a competent guide is a critical part of the trip. We saw lots of game (including passing by hundreds of hippos!) from the canoes, and enjoyed walks when on shore. The mobile camps were very comfortable in spectacular riverside settings." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-38 of 38
96%
38 reviews of Vundu Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking and river safaris, as well as canoe trips and night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


93% (14 reviews)
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


94% (14 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


96% (10 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Mana Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, canoeing down the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa, camping on the banks of the river in dome tents each evening.


100% (4 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


90% (2 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (1 review)
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


No reviews yet
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


No reviews yet
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa