This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2014 trip

Zimbabwe between 24 Jul 2014 and 5 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Average
"Our 7th trip to Africa and the 3rd with Expert Africa. Some real highlights, guides were second-to-none, but overall possibly our least favourite trip. Travelling time and stress to reach Zimbabwe was high (2 hours to get through flight connections at OR Tambo was not fun!). Some special game sightings, but we certainly felt there was less game than in other countries and that poaching was a major and growing problem. If we were to return, I'd want to look at a different route to get there. Having said that the light plane flights between camps were flawless, punctual and fun. I would also say that the trip was not the best value of our trips."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Rhino Safari Camp

Rhino Safari Camp

"Rhino Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2014
"Well run camp with excellent guides, unfortunately no rhinos have been seen for weeks, if not months so the description of "It usually takes a substantial amount of time to track black rhino on foot..." is true, but somewhat under-stated now. I'd suggest that this is revised in the Expert Africa brochure. It may be time to re-name the camp so that there is no false expectation.

Beautiful location on the edge of the lake with game highlights being cheetah, lion and elephant and water birds"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2014
"Brilliant guiding here (Alistair Chambers). Highlights being a wonderful hour spent with wild dogs at their den with pups; a super walk to sit within yards of a lion and hyena and a hair-raising canoe trip down the Zambezi. We enjoyed the camp, although perhaps a little old-fashioned (needs a feminine touch?). A couple of glitches with regards to hot water and a game drive were handled properly"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2014
"Very good game viewing and excellent guiding. The camp is up-to-date and well-run. We would have preferred to have one guide for the 3 days (we had a different one each of the 3 days and felt a little like spare parts to be added on to other groups)
Travel to and from the camp by road was long and tedious compared to some of the excellent flights we had between other camps."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Ruaha & Selous

Tanzania between 22 Oct 2011 and 30 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really enjoyed the trip - Our fourth visit to Africa and we wondered beforehand whether it could match previous trips - It certainly did.

The contrast between the two parks was stunning and the camps, although quite different in style, had the common thread that the guiding was brilliant.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Perhaps more explanation as to why the specific itineraries have been put together - e.g. Grant's Gazelle programme"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"Fabulous 3 night trip to Ruaha. Mdonya Old River Camp was excellent.

Our guides were outstanding, with the highlight being a "cat-trick" (lions, leopards and a cheetah) all on the same game-drive. The camp itself whilst not luxurious was comfortable, sociable and Sara, the manager was friendly, and quite determined that we should enjoy our stay.

We would certainly return - Perhaps in a "wet" season to see the contrasts."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2011
"We stayed at Selous Impala for 3 nights and really enjoyed the camp. Guiding was superb and varied (boat, vehicle, walking and fishing). Tents were very comfortable and the food was outstanding.

The camp & Selous were an ideal contrast (in wildlife and scenery) to our 3 night stay in Ruaha. I couldn't choose a favourite between Old Mdonya & Selous Impala - Very different camps, but both excellent. We'd gladly return!

Highlight was Wild Dogs - Our guide was determined that we should see them and he managed it!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun (formerly the Holiday Inn) review"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2011
"Very good choice for a one night stay in Dar Es Salaam.

Helpful staff (e.g. checking in online and printing boarding passes).

Comfortable rooms and good food"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Perakani

Zambia between 1 Aug 2009 and 13 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fabulous holiday, would recommend to anyone with a sense of adventure and an interest in wildlife. We have some great pictures to keep the memories alive.

Suggestions for improvements:

None, I think the fact that Anna knew the places well was crucial to choosing two of the smaller operators and gave us an exceptional holiday"

Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2009
"Arrangements ran smoothly, very welcoming atmosphere, despite the camp being full. We were lucky enough to see a lion kill and a leopard on the first evening during a drive with John Coppinger.

Food was of a very high standard, as was the accomodation. Microlight flight outstanding.

Guides (Alex) took a specific interest in what we wanted to see, and were extremely knowledgeable. We liked the way that there was a different "host" for each meal.

Would be very happy to return/recommend Tafika & Remote Africa"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2009
"Excellent walk to Crocodile, Cameron was a super guide who made us feel safe in the bush.

Crocodile camp was welcoming. Food was exceptional, considering the facilities. The camp was well supplied with a good team of porters.

Rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"Lovely location and we particularly liked the design of the tree houses.

Pattersons's food was up to the standard of Crocodile.

We enjoyed all of the walks and saw plenty of wildlife"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"Very good welcome from Derek Shenton (ferried across the river). Camp was full and there wasn't quite such a personal touch as at Tafika (we were probably spoilt)

Night drives were slightly disappointing, with less seen than at Tafika. Good drives during the day. Hippo hide was particularly good.

Rooms were comfortable and clean"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"Good walk to Mwamba with Patrick - Very knowledgeable with a real african perspective. Food was of a very high standard (one of the best!) Young camp catering manager (Josh) was particularly enthusiastic and welcoming. His team worked hard to give us a memorable stay.

Tracking lions on foot with Meyam (super guide) & Gideon was a highlight of the entire trip. Night drives covered some of the same territory as Kaingo, but some good sightings at dusk.

Several animals in the camp (Elephant, hyena and leopard) but safety was an absolute priority"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"Ok for one night, transfers were fine - good help with checking in online"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team