This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp


15°44’7.0"S 29°20’23.0"E

Reviews of Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Stretch Ferreira Safaris and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Stretch Ferreira Safaris.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Good experience at Goliath"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"A visit to Goliath is worthwhile just to experience Stretch and his wealth of knowledge and quirky sense of humour. When we were there the 2 safari vehicles travelled round together and we walked as one big group, which is not our favoured option, as we feel you achieve more by walking in smaller groups. (On the other hand, if you were staying at Goliath and were not in Stretch's group, you would feel short changed).
The accommodation is basic but comfortable and provides everything required. The tents are closer together than in other camps (so there is less privacy)." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Sue
Cape Town

"A peace of paradise "

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"We started on a disappointing note as our flight out of Harare was delayed by an official VIP having to land first, but once we arrived at Goliath, the magic began. We literally landed into a lion tracking trip and our first afternoon was spent up close and personal with two (fortunately) lazy lions. Dinner around the campfire was delightful, and breakfast at 5.30 am only slightly less so. Game drives every morning and afternoon/evening produced a plethora of extraordinary wild-life experiences. It was a little like living in a David Attenborough documentary.

Stretch and Al are an amazing team. From time to time they constitute a knockabout comedy act all by themselves, but their knowledge of the environment, their skills around wild animals and their ability to anticipate what their guests might need are legendary. Many of my best photographs are the ones where Stretch was nudging us forward saying, "Come, it'll make a good shot", or where Al had sped us through the dust to catch the sun rising behind a steaming buffalo herd.

They are ably supported, and sometimes managed, by Megan, Reuben and others we did not meet. The effect of the whole is of invisible clockwork behind a smoothly running machine. Not that there are no dramas or diversions. The odd mishap with a vehicle in a river, the occasional stubborn refusal of wild dogs to move on, an elephant and her calf threatening to come between us and our breakfast, and the inevitable effects on ageing frames of extreme physical activity - but the overall sense was one of peace and a deep love for the place.

Mana Pools is wild and ancient, and Goliath has retained the sense of this while providing extremely comfortable tents with enchanting under-the-stars showers. G&T's on the river bank at sundown, coffee and magical muffins under a massive tree for elevenses, long siestas in the mid day heat, and lullabies of hippo-snuffling wafting over the water.

I have to go back for more..." See all these reviews: 16n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S.
Clontarf

"Good traditional safari camp"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"The experience at Goliath is totally dependent on Stretch’s availabiliy. We had some great experiences walking up to elephant, lion and wild dogs with Stretch who has an incredible relationship with the animals. He also is a great photographer with creative ideas but our access to him and his knowledge was limited.

The camp is more basic than Vundu but perfectly comfortable. It did seem to undergoing some change in management.

We may have suffered from it being in a state of flux with a full camp and inexperienced staff organising the activities. The quality of our activities varied day to day." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr M
Toronto

"This is a wonderful walking camp!"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2018
"Unfortunately we were there in June after two particularly rainy seasons in a row so game was quite sparse. We will try again another time as someone who goes often said it is usually teeming with game.

We did see a number of baby elephants and as the elephant cows are so comfortable with people it was a joy to watch the babies who weren’t hiding from us behind their Moms as they do in other game parks. The setting of the camp is beautiful with the Zambezi river outside your tent and the Zambian hills behind them. The sounds of the hippos at night provide an amazing atmosphere.

Stretch is an incredible guide, not only in terms of his knowledge about the animals but in terms of his passion and enthusiasiasm. A word of warning however: This is a walking camp. If you don’t want to walk you will be able to go out on a jeep with a guide but you are unlikely to get the benefit of Stretch’s expertise." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Interesting trip to Goliath"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2016
"We decided to start our safari to Zimbabwe at Goliath as we were interested in a more walking based safari and had heard and read great reports on the charismatic Stretch Ferreira. Due to the travel arrangements from the UK we arrived at the camp on our first night as dusk fell so our first meeting with the great man was as we all sat down to dinner. He is truly an entertaining character with an obvious love of the country and its wildlife.

The description of the camp by EA is very accurate although one aspect that isn't mentioned is that the lights go out at 21:00 so torches are a must. The tents do have a low voltage battery operated lamp but obviously it doesn't provide a lot of light. The tents are very comfortable with a flush toilet at the rear, accessible via a large zipped canvas flap. The shower requires a fire to be lit behind the wooden fence at the rear of the tent so the camp staff need a bit of notice if you want a shower, you can't simply go and turn on the hot tap and expect warm water. The food was excellent, never ceases to amaze us the quality that is produced with such relatively limited resources and facilities.

However the real strength of the camp is Stretch himself. His wealth of knowledge and ability to see and read tracks which were meaningless to us was incredible. Despite this however he was well and truly beaten during our three night stay by the local lion population who steadfastly refused to be found. The growing frustration in Stretch was quite amusing to see although he did restore his reputation somewhat by getting us up close and personal with wild dogs and also with an elephant which he called JD, whose party piece would seem to be nudging you with his tusk !!.

I suspect we were just a bit unfortunate with the lack of wildlife sightings judging by other reviews, however this was more than compensated for by the wealth of stories provided by Stretch over our too short a stay.

He truly is a character!!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
C
Boston

"Stretch at Goliath can't be beat"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2015
"I can't say enough good things about this camp and particularly Stretch. We selected Goliath specifically because of the reviews we'd read about Stretch and he DID NOT disappoint. Such an entertaining character with an incredibly vast knowledge but also the perfect blend of bond and healthy respect with and for the animals. Watching him track was amazing - I could barely see the prints let alone understand which way they were going, what pace, what time, etc.

The camp was great. To have elephants wandering outside your tent just a screen away is a once in a lifetime opportunity. Whether we were having dinner around the firepit or at the dining table it wasn't just a meal but an experience. Bradley made sure we were constantly hydrated (no matter your beverage of choice) and the food was delicious, including the birthday cake that was made for one of the guests.

It was kind of nice that the power went off at 9, you just have to plan accordingly - a torch is a must! I was under the impression we wouldn't be able to charge anything while we were there, so the charging station was great and a converter wasn't even necessary. Also be aware of the sand flies - they'll nibble on your feet and ankles if you don't have bug spray on.

The only downside was that we were told laundry service was next day, but then our clothes weren't available for 2 days...only a problem if you're looking to re-wear something and can't get it back. But Caitlin was great about hunting down our stuff so it all worked out.

But if you want to see nature up close and personal (walking up to an elephant Stretch knows by name, seeing an impala dragged up into a tree by a leopard, surprising a mother lion while protecting her 2 cubs, canoeing around hippos) this is ABSOLUTELY the place to go!! We miss Stretch already!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Oxon

"Goliath Up Close and Personal"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2015
"Suit energetic bush visitors who want to get up close to animals." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
PA

"Goliath Safaris review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"Stretch lived up to his reputation.
Food and drink excellent.
Views from the camp were outstanding.
Just the right amount of danger to make it interesting.
Safari "mates" very pleasant which helps to make the trip.
One of the couples at the camp was celebrating an anniversary.Stretch and the staff went all out. Cake, songs , dancing etc." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr A
London

"Goliath Safaris review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2014
"Beautiful location, amazing walking safaris, great people.

A truly memorable experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Shropshire

"My dream location for a camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2013
"Goliath Safaris is, amazingly, a temporary camp, totally dismantled each year, and bearing this in mind the attention to detail in the tents, bar and lounge area is superb and makes this location even more perfect. It overlooks the Zambezi and the colours and sunsets here are stunning.

There is a large Apple Core tree shading the communal area, and this is full of birds at certain times of day. On either side of the camp the river banks are alive with Carmine Bee Eaters, and there is a resident Vundu fish adjacent to the lounge area which comes to be fed, as well as the local hippo who wanders nearby.

The food offered here is excellent, particularly the evening meals which are served around a large table with all the guests seated formally and lead by Stretch Ferreria.

The tents are well appointed with an excellent hot outdoor shower and have electricity until 9 pm. The only downside is the charging facilities for cameras etc which is more limited, especially if the camp is full and everyone wants to charge their gadgets at the same time. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here.

The game drives and walks are amazing and are personally led by Stretch and his team, all of whom have excellent knowledge of both animals and birds. We particularly enjoyed the walks led by Stretch, who stopped at nothing to try and find the things we wanted to see. He also leads walks which take you safely and professionally to within feet of elephants etc.

The camp also offers canoe trips down the river which we particularly enjoyed and the fishing is not to be missed either.
We just wish we had had longer." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
94%
14 reviews of Stretch Ferreira Safaris by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, Vundu Camp is a small, comfortable bushcamp offering top-notch guiding.


96% (40 reviews)
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


93% (14 reviews)
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking, river safaris, night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


96% (10 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, along the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa. Each night you'll camp on the banks of the river.


100% (4 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


90% (2 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (1 review)
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


No reviews yet
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


No reviews yet
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa