This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from PA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Kenya

Kenya between 14 Oct 2019 and 21 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Outstanding trip again.

No problems other than losing a jacket.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Everything is first class."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Great hosts, food, guides, tents."

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"Saw what we wanted to see ... rhinos."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"First class in all respects."

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Staff was outstanding. Particularly liked the Masai garb.

Would have preferred more walking.

Evelyn was a joy as well as John, Daniel, Lucas, Marsi, Alex"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2014 trip

Zimbabwe between 9 Sep 2014 and 19 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Starting out at Somalisa was brilliant. It was the basic course that prepared us for the advanced course in bush craft with Stretch at Goliath. Overall we could not have been more pleased. The Expert Africa staff, Nick and Claire answered every one of our stupid questions."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"Ilala Lodge is a beautiful lodge set within walking distance of Victoria Falls. We were given what we believe must have been the best room at the lodge and for that we thank you very much, Claire and Nick! Any time not spent at The Falls, the town, on a cultural tour, on a river cruise or eating and/or drinking in the lodge's lovely dining room or bar was spent on our terrace. I cannot imagine a better way to start our trip. The staff was most helpful and the people who arranged our activities were knowledgeable and eager to chat with us about the various activities open to us. The best tour for us was the cultural tour. Our guide took us to the homestead of Crispen and we learned so much. It was a major highlight of our trip. We also visited the local school. The children are beautiful, polite, friendly, happy, beautifully groomed in crisp uniforms. It hurts that they have so few classrooms available to them and can only attend school for half days because of the number of children and lack of space.
Information on how to avoid the curio touts would be most helpful.

I would follow Nick's advice and wait to arrange any tours after arriving at the lodge. I had thought of doing it ahead of time but, as Nick suggested, there was no need.

The only complaint we have is that the dinners were not good at all. We did not eat our main course the first two nights because the beef on the first night had a strange, unappealing taste. The vegetarian curry dish the following night was too spicy to eat - and we usually enjoy food made with curry. Just too spicy hot to eat. At our first camp, the manager told us Ilala Lodge had recently lost its chef which seems the most likely cause for the poor food. But the breakfasts were outstanding!

Because it is pitch black at night and because there are so many men along the walkways trying to get us to buy things from them, we were too uncomfortable to leave the lodge at night to find a different spot to eat."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Excellent
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"Somalisa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"Yvonne could not have been more helpful. Michael Padiwa, the guide, was the best.He was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable
Food and drink was top notch.
I expected to swim in the pool there but the swimming pool has been taken over by the ellies!
Your information sheet mentions walks and hides at Somalisa. Not the case."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

"Goliath Safaris review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"Stretch lived up to his reputation.
Food and drink excellent.
Views from the camp were outstanding.
Just the right amount of danger to make it interesting.
Safari "mates" very pleasant which helps to make the trip.
One of the couples at the camp was celebrating an anniversary.Stretch and the staff went all out. Cake, songs , dancing etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team