This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C & Mr A from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

Excellent trip, would definitely go back

Kenya between 5 Aug 2017 and 13 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an excellent trip to the Masaai Mara and the Matthews Range/Samburu. The two locations we chose were very diverse but were both beautiful and interesting in their own ways.

Everything on the trip was smoothly arranged, with a minor exception.

Would highly recommend Expert Africa. They have organised multiple trips for us in the past, which have always been exceptional."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"Very nice, albeit brief, stay"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"We stayed here for one night after we arrived in Nairobi and before heading to the Masaai Mara.

Very nice accommodation, lovely staff, good food and very convenient in Nairobi National Park"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Fantastic few days at Naibosho"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"We really enjoyed it here. Della and Rich were excellent hosts, as were the rest of the staff.

We had a huge rain storm while we were there which turned the whole area green in a matter of days. It was an amazing transformation. The volume of wildlife both in the Naibosho Conservancy and in the Mara itself was amazing. Unfortunately we didn't get to see a crossing but it is the luck of the draw.

The tents, accommodation, food and service at the camp were all excellent.

We would highly recommend Naibosho but would also recommend combining it with a few days in the Mara National Park itself."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sarara

Sarara

"Unbelievably beautiful and interesting"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2017
"We absolutely loved Sarara. It's a bit off the beaten track for most safari goers and so the people here tend to be a bit more intrepid. The setting is spectacular and the interaction between the lodge, the conservancy and the local people is excellent.

We particularly enjoyed visiting the singing wells. The wildlife is increasing and we had the opportunity to visit the local elephant sanctuary, which was well worth it. We tried hard to see a leopard but were unlucky this time.

Rob, Meg and the team are excellent and so welcoming. Mark, our guide, had been around the area his whole life and so was full of knowledge about the area, the people, the wildlife etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Amazing trip. Can't wait to go back.

Namibia between 24 Dec 2016 and 6 Jan 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent. We had such a good time.

The only down note was Etosha Onguma Aoba but overall the trip was fantastic. One that we'll never forget."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Excellent experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2016
"We loved Okonjima. It's on the way north from Windhoek to Etosha. The accommodation was lovely and we had giraffes outside our hut a number of times.

The service and general ambience in the main areas we great. Everyone was very friendly. Our guide was excellent and really tried hard to get us a glimpse (however fleeting) of a leopard.

We had a fantastic experience walking close to Cheetah and Rhino and then really enjoyed the AfriCat centre. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Let down by poor service"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2016
"We were disappointed by this lodge. Although it's in a lovely setting, from the moment we arrived it seemed that everything was too much trouble.

Over the Christmas break (when anyone should expect that it would be busy), there apparently weren't enough guides to allow us to do some of the activities that were clearly advertised as being available. We asked to speak to the Manager, who never contacted us.

Other staff also weren't welcoming, friendly or helpful. In comparison with all the other places we stayed, this was such a disappointment.

The accommodation was very nice, though simple. Comfortable beds and nice decor. The food was excellent and was certainly the highlight."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"A great few days"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2016
"We really enjoyed Ongava Tented Camp. From the moment we arrived the staff greeted us with smiles and a positive attitude. Nothing was too much trouble.

The accommodation was lovely, in permanent tents. The setting was great and the common area was lovely to spend time in, with a little pool and a water hole not far away. We were there after they had had significant rain which meant that not a lot of wildlife came down to the water hole but it was still great.

Our guide (Leon) was fine, although he could have been more forthcoming with his knowledge of wildlife and birds. We saw a lot of rhino, a large bull elephant, plenty of antelope etc. but the lions and other cats were elusive.

Would definitely recommend Ongava Tented Camp. Might be better to go during the dry season when the wildlife is likely to be more visible."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Quirky and excellent"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2016
"We loved Camp Kipwe. It was quite a long drive from our previous lodge and some of the roads weren't great but it was a very nice surprise to arrive in such a starkly beautiful location/setting. The rooms/huts are quirky and lovely. The plunge pool is great on a hot afternoon. The sunset from the top of the hill as also lovely.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We went to see the desert adapted elephants with Taffy, who is an excellent guide. He really went out of his way to talk to us about the environment and how things work for the elephants and other wildlife but also for the people living in the area. Kipwe is a great place to spend a few days. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Spectacularly beautiful"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2017
"Amazing staff that made us feel so welcome and spoiled at Desert Rhino Camp. Everyone went out of their way to treat us as family.

The location was starkly spectacular and there was lots of wildlife. The game drives were very bumpy and it sometimes took a long time to find the rhino or elephant but we were always rewarded. Food was excellent and we had a lovely BBQ on the last night hosted by the staff who sang and danced for us.

We really enjoyed our time here and would definitely recommend a few days stay."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"The experience of a lifetime"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2017
"We can't say enough about how amazing our time at Hoanib was. From the staff to the accommodation to the food to the guide (Elias) to the setting to the wildlife, it was all perfect. A must do.

The trip down to the Skeleton Coast was breathtaking and the flight back gave us a completely different perspective on the whole area. This was the perfect way to end an unbelievably great holiday in Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jun 2014 trip

Zimbabwe and 2 other countries between 7 Jun 2014 and 21 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"One of the best trips we've done. Loved every minute of it."

Pamushana Lodge

Pamushana Lodge

"Pamushana Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2014
"Really amazing. The work they are doing in the Malilangwe reserve is amazing.

The lodge is beautiful and the staff/service are fabulous."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

"Goliath Safaris review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2014
"Beautiful location, amazing walking safaris, great people.

A truly memorable experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

York Lodge

"York Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"Great. Like a home away from home."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental O.R. Tambo

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"A good hotel, conveniently located at the airport."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Azura Benguerra

Azura Benguerra

"Azura Benguerra review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2014
"Gorgeous. An oasis of calm."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team