This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Azura Benguerra
Azura Benguerra
Azura Benguerra
Azura Benguerra
Azura Benguerra
Azura Benguerra
Azura Benguerra

Reviews of Azura Benguerra

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Azura Benguerra and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
EvolvingPatient
UK

"Resort with character"

7 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2019
"A good place to unwind, with the added interest of engagement with the local community and various trips by boat and jeep." See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr. W
SaffronW - UK

"Outstanding - a week in Paradise!"

6 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2019
"A stunning boutique hotel set right on a perfect sandy beach with rooms and service to die for.

The hotel has just 20 rooms - each its own little building in its separate semi-private garden opening out to the beach 20 paces away. We barely used shoes: just walked up the beach to the bar and restaurant area. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. Some romantic touches like twin outdoor showers, as well as an inside shower. A nice deck with plunge pool, sun loungers etc.

The beach is exceptionally clean. It is wide, and at high tide the sea comes to within 30 or 40 paces from the room, but at low tide it goes out a long way as the sandbars are very wide and flat. This makes for great variety during the day, and some interesting bird life (eg flamingoes in the next bay).

The food was delicious, and always individually prepared and well presented. Lots of fish, shellfish, varying daily. I had beef once which was tender and flavoursome.

Prior to going, we were not sure either about using a helicopter to get there, or about having “our own butler”. In fact, the heli ride gave us truly beautiful views over the azure, almost turquoise sea, and we enjoyed looking for dolphins and dugongs on the 8 minute flight. Likewise, Agostino, our butler - in reality, a designated staff member who was waiter at the restaurant and brought us a cocktail each evening in our room - got to know our likes and dislikes very quickly. He, like all the staff at this hotel, was a gentle, thoughtful and unassuming character, and could not have been kinder or worked harder to make our stay better.

Your website could be clearer that there is no house reef - snorkelling is a boat ride away (and costs a bit each time). We were unlucky that they had lost both divemasters and so the guy in charge of the water sports/dive centre was untried, did not know the reef or the water conditions, and was organisationally very weak. We did not dive a second time for those reasons.

We did a lot of snorkelling and the reefs and fish were amongst the best we have ever seen - we requested one particular guy, Paulo, as our guide each day and were able to have a boat to ourselves with him, and could stay in the water for as long as we wanted (1.5 hours +). He gently steered us towards the best time to go and then took us to good places where there were turtles, black tips, and a huge shoal of the beautiful and enticingly named sweetlips. Paulo is another gentle person, who had done the planting for the hotel (as it turned out as we got to know him) who walked an hour and a half each way to and from home every day.

As well as the wonderful staff, we liked the ethos of the hotel. We saw children lugging a bucket of crabs to the kitchen, and walking away happily holding their earnings. The hotel adds a suggested donation to the bill, and on the free round-the-island drive (the driver loved bird spotting for us), they show you the school and medical centre these monies have funded.

We absolutely loved it and are sure we will be back!" See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs JD
W London

"Azura Benguerra review"

6 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"What an amazing place and one that we intend to return to----will speak to someone at Expert Africa this week

We had what is considered one of the best Villas---Villa no. 18---it is only one of their Standard rooms, and is quite sufficient to be honest

The De-:Luxe have separate lounges, but who wants a lounge when you have so much outside space?

We had lovely palm trees in our private garden, giving us a very open view of the sea

Every Villa, regardless of the price paid, gets a plunge pool----"plunge pool" is not quite what it sounds----it is quite large and I was almost out of my depth on tiptoes---and I am 5 ft 5 ins!----some plunge pool

There are 20 villas in total

There are about 9 x Standard Villas like ours

There are also about 6 xs De-luxe Villas, with these separate lounges that I have mentioned

Then there are 2 x Royal Suites, with large pools

Then there is 1 x Family Villa with 2 rooms I believe and 1 or 2 pools

Then finally there is 1 x Presidential Suite with 3 rooms, + a dining room and kitchen + their own butler ----way over the top to us!

This hotel has a very unique idea and one that we loved-----each Villa has a "Personal Host"

He is not a Butler as such (thank goodness---hate the idea of Butlers waiting on you!)----but this guy tends to all your needs, whether that be bringing drinks to our Villa or meeting us at dinner each night and serving us----really brilliant idea and SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE DREADED BUTLER!!!!

We were exceedingly fortunate in having the wonderful Carlos as our Personal Host----he has not travelled anywhere, but is highly intelligent and wanted to have very interesting conversations with us on every topic under the sun----he knows far more about BREXIT and the dreaded Trump than most British people!!

I should add that he was never intrusive in any way---it is just our way to try to get to know any staff wherever we are----it makes our stay so much more enjoyable, and hopefully makes their job looking after us a bit more personal and interesting for them

The food was very good and there were as many drinks as you wanted--both alcoholic and non-alcoholic

At 5 pm every night, your Personal Host brings to your Villa the "cocktail of the evening"---a lovely idea

And the beach---miles and miles of pure white sand with no seaweed at all

No snorkelling from the beach as they sadly don't have a House Reef

Meals on the beach---whether that is breakfasts, lunches or dinners----all of these meals can be served on the actual beach and at night, there are no words to describe the magic of millions of lanterns and candles everywhere dotted all over the beach

Pure romantic magic!

There were 2 x free activities---an evening Dhow sunset cruise lasting 1 x hour---we didn't do this this time, as sometimes the sea was a tiny bit rough----Mike gets easily seasick and I get frightened!

The other free activity was a 2-2 and a half trip around the island by Land Rover---there are 3 x villages on this island, so pristine, neat and clean were the adobe houses, that it was incredible!

The hotel runs something called The Rainbow Trust and has built the school and the hospital, both of which we were shown---10 dollars per person on this Landrover trip goes back to the communities

This hotel really is "putting things back" to he community

Unless you dictate otherwise, 20 dollars is added to every person's bill for the Rainbow Trust---a brilliant thing to do! Or you can opt to give more on departure

There are various other activities that you can do which are expensive but really worthwhile

One is a 4 hour snorkel, picnic and tour around 2 other islands at a cost of 197 dollars per person

Or you can just snorkel, for a fee I cannot remember

Or you can just have a picnic somewhere for about 100 dollars per person

I also think that it is possible to take a fishing trip

A superb hotel, and one which we plan to return to next year--will discuss this with one of you very soon" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M.
Ramsgate

"Azura Benguerra review"

6 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"We had a very enjoyable time at Azura which is set directly on the beach with good levels of privacy for each villa. The staff are lovely and do their best to ensure you have a good time. Meals were excellent and the evening 'cocktail of the day' brought to us on the beach was a lovely treat.

We had a really good day out 'island hopping'. The snorkelling was good, we climbed the great dune and were rewarded by the amazing views and the picnic lunch at North Point was special.

The helicopter flight from Vilanculos to the island and back was a bonus too." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms B & Mr A
Sao Paulo

"Even better than our expectations"

6 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2014
"Azura Benguerra was one memorable experience. Although we've been around on beach and dive resorts and hotels around the world, Azura is beyond any expectations we could have.

It combines a very special, almost empty pristine beach, superior quality accomodations, a staff that is genuinely worried about you and how well you are you being treated, feeling, etc etc with a great 5 star diving operation. It is a rare combination to find nowadays. You can get great resorts, but in very developed áreas, or prístine beaches and diving with very basic comfort and service. It is rare to find all in one place. And Azura offers it, combine to the gentleness of the island staff - so helpful it never ceases amazing us...

We were there a couple of months ago, and I already want to go back !" See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington

"Luxurious beach resort"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2014
"Azura Benguerra was all you'd expect from an intimate and high-end beach resort. Private villas with direct access to the beach and azure waters of the Indian Ocean.

Exceptionally attentive staff that catered to all of our needs with a genuine smile. Excellent food and variety. If you like to dive or snorkel -- exceptional reef opportunities with an abundance of sea life.

Take a drive around the island too -- it is charming with beautiful unspoiled vistas." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T & Ms S
UK

"Heaven"

6 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"From arrival by helicopter to departure by helicopter felt had entered a different world!!! - villas are seriously large and comfortable with views to die for!!

Nothing appears to be too much trouble for the team at Azura and having your own Host/Butler pure luxury particularly when daily cocktail arrived at sunset.

Trips, massage which were included were great particularly Island Tour. Splashed out on trip to Paradise Island - amazing day." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr A
London

"Azura Benguerra review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms V
Chelsea

"Paradise"

3 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2013
"I LOVED it here - perfect place to rest. Tomas the manager was very kind and considerate. Abel my host was outstanding and Ana my housekeeper was also excellent. I was so exhausted and they looked after me so well. Could have all my meals on my terrace and just sleep, read, sunbathe and sleep some more.

Only disappointment was the massage I had which was ok - but not superb - as I would have expected. Guided snorkelling trip was sensational however.

Dying to try their other resort now.." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J of WC2
UK

"Azura Mozambique review"

5 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2011
"A great resort, i think i enjoyed it more than Vamizi. The food was wonderfull, i understand that they have a new chef.

Friendly staff, very private rooms would certainly go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 12
97%
12 reviews of Azura Benguerra by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Mozambique

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Mozambique.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Bazaruto Archipelago

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge is a friendly and efficiently run resort which is great value, with a laid-back, Mediterranean charm that would suit couples and families.


86% (13 reviews)
Anantara Bazaruto

Anantara Bazaruto

Anantara Bazaruto is a family-friendly resort on the west coast of Bazaruto Island; it's the largest resort on these islands, and in design terms probably the most like a conventional hotel.


93% (8 reviews)
Benguerra Lodge

Benguerra Lodge

The oldest lodge in the archipelago, Benguerra has a North African feel amidst tropical gardens. It's a peaceful destination for couples, and children's chalets make it good-value for families.


100% (3 reviews)
Azura Marlin Beach

Azura Marlin Beach

Set on a stunning beach, Azura Marlin Beach is due to open in mid 2020. We are anticipating a luxurious lodge with high standards for food and service.


No reviews yet
Dugong Lodge

Dugong Lodge

Dugong Beach Lodge is a stylish property on a remote stretch of beach just south of Vilanculos. For the level of luxury you get here, this is a very good value lodge albeit not actually on the Bazaruto Islands.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa