This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Anantara Bazaruto
Anantara Bazaruto
Anantara Bazaruto
Anantara Bazaruto
Anantara Bazaruto

Reviews of Anantara Bazaruto

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Anantara Bazaruto and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
California

"Anantara Bazaruto review"

5 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Muzzillo's
Newtown

"Honeymoon Vacation "

6 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2017
"This was the most amazing place, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the accommodations were beautiful.

It is a spectacular island and perfect for honeymooners." See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Guildford

"Anantara Bazaruto review"

9 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2017
"Fantastic resort in a stunning location with excellent staff. Great attention to detail, food was bounteous & extremely good, and plenty of activities to keep everybody happy. Dive sites were really good, with great variety and good divemasters. The villas were really well positioned up the hill to benefit from the views and were extremely comfortable. The cultural tour was also interesting but the hotel could probably do more to show its interaction with the community and what guests could do to contribute." See all these reviews: 9n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Vancouver

"Anantara Bazaruto review"

6 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"top notch resort

- too much use of plastic little drinking water bottles - should use safari camp system of handing out metal water bottle (with your name on it) for use during stay - and have filling stations - would cut use of plastic bottles in half.

food amazing, service over the top - sometimes too much - no need to replace towels every day (didnt use on floor system)" See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family G
UK

"Bazaruto Break"

5 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"This island resort was a perfect antidote to recover from a dusty African safari.

We did stay in the luxury villas which are magnificent and really do give you a sense of desert island paradise.
We had a great family break and would recommend the Paradise Island snorkeling and kayaking on the wonderfully warm Indian Ocean.
The staff are attentive and the seafood exquisite." See all these reviews: 5n in Mozambique; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Guildford

"Anantara Bazaruto review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2014
"AMAZING! Stayed in 215 up the hill and absolutely loved the place.... fabulous staff.....wonderful food......incredible views and beachfront location.

Plenty to do: diving was very well run, horse riding too. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Downsides? Tennis courts needed some TLC but nothing else" See all these reviews: 5n in Mozambique; 5n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Boston

"Lovely beach resort and spa"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2011
"Indigo Bay is a very nice resort and I enjoyed my stay. My beach villa was almost as large as my apartment and also had a veranda and a small yard of sorts. All of the personnel were very nice and friendly. The spa was very, very nice and had amazing views.

As a head's up for other travelers, most of the activities are not included in the room rate and the activity fees are not nominal. The spa prices are comparable to the spa prices in the U.S. That said, I enjoyed the activities I did, particularly the day trip to Santa Carolina Island. I also enjoyed the spa service I had." See all these reviews: 3n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The rock Pipits
UK

"Indigo Bay review"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2008
"very nice place . Rooms are very good , Staff is very nice , good food .

the only downside for me was the water in front of the hotel . Beach is nice but there were a lot of seaweed in the water . Not quite what i expected when you see the brochure or when you fly to get there . Don t worry you can still swim it s not that bad !" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
93%
8 reviews of Anantara Bazaruto by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Mozambique

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Mozambique.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Bazaruto Archipelago

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge is a friendly and efficiently run resort which is great value, with a laid-back, Mediterranean charm that would suit couples and families.


86% (13 reviews)
Azura Benguerra

Azura Benguerra

Azura Benguerra is very chic and romantic, with particularly good service and food. The choice of activities is wide, and its spa is top-notch!


97% (12 reviews)
Benguerra Lodge

Benguerra Lodge

The oldest lodge in the archipelago, Benguerra has a North African feel amidst tropical gardens. It's a peaceful destination for couples, and children's chalets make it good-value for families.


100% (3 reviews)
Azura Marlin Beach

Azura Marlin Beach

Set on a stunning beach, Azura Marlin Beach is due to open in mid 2020. We are anticipating a luxurious lodge with high standards for food and service.


No reviews yet
Dugong Lodge

Dugong Lodge

Dugong Beach Lodge is a stylish property on a remote stretch of beach just south of Vilanculos. For the level of luxury you get here, this is a very good value lodge albeit not actually on the Bazaruto Islands.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa