This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp


19°22’27.0"S 13°9’0.8"E

Reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoanib Skeleton Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoanib Skeleton Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B
Swindon

"Amazing place, loved it."

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2019
"We felt we were on the moon, landscape spectacular. Very clean and comfortable accommodation, food excellent and staff very pleasant and helpful.

Really good guide and enjoyed our safari trips, especially the one down to the Atlantic coast where we had lunch on the beach.

Lots of elephants, giraffe, oryx etc. No lions as not in the area.

Loved it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs A.
Chobham

"Fantastic safari to the coast"

3 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2018
"Loved the whole experience.

We set off on the 4 hour safari with trepidation due to the the length of time but absolutely loved the trip with the diversity of the land and the wildlife seen. Very special.

Having come from a Wilderness Camp we were disappointed to be eating the same menu as the last camp. " See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Peter
Stockton

"Dry riverbeds, ocean and desert"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"The landscape is stark, but the lodge and rooms are far from that. This is the most striking Wilderness Safaris camp we have stayed at. The camp design is other worldly and accommodations luxurious. Rooms are very large and comfortable with views over a wide valley. En-suite bathroom includes double sinks, large open shower and separate toilet. Each "tent" includes a large, raised, covered stating area that includes a sofa, table and chairs and an outdoor refrigerator.

A highlight of this trip is a drive along the Hoanib River bed to the Skeleton Coast. The landscape changes constantly during the several-hour drive. The ocean along the skeleton coast is spectacular. I could have done without the stinky visit to the fur seal colony.

Evening and morning game drives along the Hoanib River bed were really beautiful and we saw many more animals than we expected. We saw all three of the resident elephant families, many oryx, a large tower of giraffe (that happened to amble by during one sundowner) and steenbok. We also enjoyed a presentation by a local brown hyena researcher. This camp has so much to offer. " See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Herts

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Very luxurious.

Modern and well appointed.

Good food and varied activities." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is stylish and luxurious but in my opinion lacked the atmosphere and hosting of the smaller bush camps.

However the location is wonderful and the activities really gave an insight into the arid, harsh landscape.

The day trip to the coast was excellent. It was amazing to see so much wildlife in such an environment." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Hoanib was a highlight of our Namibian trip"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"We could not fault Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp.The flights too and from where great. Very friendly staff All activities were in a comfortable vehicle with just one other couple. Our tent which was very luxurious and food was really good food, Harunga was a very pleasant and knowledgeable guide.

Our day trip drive to the coast was amazing as you went along the river bed to the marshes, then the sand dunes with the oasis coming out to the coast with its ship wreck, museum and seal colony. this was followed by a good lunch before a low level flight back to the camp.

The game viewing was far better than expected with desert lion, desert elephant, numerous giraffes (Including two fighting) and lots of jackals made better by having Harunga with us who was a great guide" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

The G's
London

"Amazing Place"

3 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2017
"Simply stunning location, accommodation and public areas. the one thing that let them down greatly was the food.

Breakfast was fine but lunch and dinner were poor comparison with previous lodges we had stayed at.
We were not only ones who felt that way." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
J & K
London

"Wow! Great experience at Hoanib."

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"What a fantastic lodge, cleverly built into the rocks. We were upgraded to the only suite for the one night we were there, which was a wonderful treat. Elevated accommodation with a vast bedroom and lounge area, outside bath with a private view and large decking area. We were hot and tired after a long drive and decided to postpone sightseeing to make the most of it (plus the all inclusive bar) .

The food was delicious, as we found throughout our visit to Namibia. The only thing we would have liked in hindsight was a mosquito net. The mosquitos were a bit pesky despite the insect repellant and 'Doom' spray, and I got quite badly bitten. That aside we would have loved to have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Ottawa

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"Absolutely beautiful camp.

The day trip to the coast is well worth.

We also enjoyed that we could go on walks at this camp.

It was very busy and the staff looked a bit stressed." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P M
Derbyshire

"The smartest of the camps"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"The camp is the best equipped of those I stayed in, being the newest, and there was an excellent range of wildlife seen on the game drives. However, I was disappointed to find that an excursion to the Skeleton Coast (described as a highlight by people I spoke to) was only offered as an optional (and expensive) extra to guests not staying three nights. As a result, and since I refused, on principle, to pay the extra amount, I found myself on a final game drive which closely resembled a previous one and which meant that my overall level of satisfaction was a little below earlier expectations.

This arose because the couple I had been with chose not to go out on the final afternoon and this, in turn, triggered a sudden, (strategic?) illness in our guide, leaving me to join a newly-arrived couple, without any advance notice. This was the only time in the Wilderness camps that my status as a single traveller left me feeling slightly spare, possibly not unrelated to the fact that the (excellent and very enthusiastic) camp manager and her husband had earlier left, on their leave." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 33
99%
33 reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (56 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (3 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (2 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa