This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp


19°22’27.0"S 13°9’0.8"E

Reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoanib Skeleton Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoanib Skeleton Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

43% success

Brown Hyena

29% success

Meerkat

14% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review Luxury camp"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2022
"Great location. Excellent wildlife sightings. Excellent guiding by Joas who had a good eye for the right angles for photos and for predicting where animals would move to. Great trip to Skeleton Coast. Helpful staff.

Rooms are particularly spectacular here.

Saw a wildcat and lots of jackals." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

9 sightings

Ms & Mr P
USA

"Chic, Remote Camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"My husband and I had a fantastic time at this chic, remote camp, which blends perfectly with the surrounding rugged terrain. Being able to encounter animals thriving in such a harsh environment was truly fascinating! Our guide Michael was very engaging and knowledgeable and shared a wealth of information about the area and various animal adaptations; he truly made our experience so memorable, particularly the drive out to the Skeleton Coast! We actually preferred the drive over the flight back given the ability to better appreciate the changing landscapes.

As for the camp, the staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating. The main lodge is comfortable and inviting, with an ice cold pool offering relief during the hot afternoons. The tents are spacious, powered by solar, and smartly appointed. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning, which made lounging in the room during the afternoon as well as sleeping a challenge; it took very long for the room temperature to drop at night and opening the windows was not an option given small holes in the screen, which allowed a considerable number of bugs to enter. (And we traveled in winter; I cannot imagine visiting in summer!) That said, our only suggestion is to include air conditioning units (similar to those at Little Kulala), or at least address the holes in the screens to allow ventilation at night without inviting bugs in the room.

Overall though, we loved the camp and would highly recommend!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs V
York

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2022
"Wonderfully remote location in the Hoanib valley, accessible only by light aircraft. The camp is very stylish, a sort of Bedouin / Scandinavian chic , comfortable and spacious . The staff were outstanding, nothing too much trouble. They work as a team, from laundry worker and waitress to management, and on one memorable occasion clearly enjoyed dancing and singing together for our entertainment.

We came to immerse ourselves in a desert landscape and environment but were very surprised to see so many different types of wild life , in addition to desert adapted elephants . A photographer's dream . Even spotted a Caracal. The full day excursion to the Skeleton Coast, where we saw a seal colony being watched over by a hyena and a couple of jackals, is a must.

Our guide throughout our stay, Joas, was great company, having great social and professional skills." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Meerkat

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr K
New York

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2021
"This was my favorite camp of the trip.

Beautiful rooms, superb location, great meals. Staff was wonderful.

Really enjoyed the day trip to the coast, lunch at the beach and then the flight back." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs B
Swindon

"Amazing place, loved it."

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2019
"We felt we were on the moon, landscape spectacular. Very clean and comfortable accommodation, food excellent and staff very pleasant and helpful.

Really good guide and enjoyed our safari trips, especially the one down to the Atlantic coast where we had lunch on the beach.

Lots of elephants, giraffe, oryx etc. No lions as not in the area.

Loved it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs A.
Chobham

"Fantastic safari to the coast"

3 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2018
"Loved the whole experience.

We set off on the 4 hour safari with trepidation due to the the length of time but absolutely loved the trip with the diversity of the land and the wildlife seen. Very special.

Having come from a Wilderness Camp we were disappointed to be eating the same menu as the last camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Dry riverbeds, ocean and desert"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"The landscape is stark, but the lodge and rooms are far from that. This is the most striking Wilderness Safaris camp we have stayed at. The camp design is other worldly and accommodations luxurious. Rooms are very large and comfortable with views over a wide valley. En-suite bathroom includes double sinks, large open shower and separate toilet. Each "tent" includes a large, raised, covered stating area that includes a sofa, table and chairs and an outdoor refrigerator.

A highlight of this trip is a drive along the Hoanib River bed to the Skeleton Coast. The landscape changes constantly during the several-hour drive. The ocean along the skeleton coast is spectacular. I could have done without the stinky visit to the fur seal colony.

Evening and morning game drives along the Hoanib River bed were really beautiful and we saw many more animals than we expected. We saw all three of the resident elephant families, many oryx, a large tower of giraffe (that happened to amble by during one sundowner) and steenbok. We also enjoyed a presentation by a local brown hyena researcher. This camp has so much to offer." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Herts

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Very luxurious.

Modern and well appointed.

Good food and varied activities." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is stylish and luxurious but in my opinion lacked the atmosphere and hosting of the smaller bush camps.

However the location is wonderful and the activities really gave an insight into the arid, harsh landscape.

The day trip to the coast was excellent. It was amazing to see so much wildlife in such an environment." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Hoanib was a highlight of our Namibian trip"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"We could not fault Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp.The flights too and from where great. Very friendly staff All activities were in a comfortable vehicle with just one other couple. Our tent which was very luxurious and food was really good food, Harunga was a very pleasant and knowledgeable guide.

Our day trip drive to the coast was amazing as you went along the river bed to the marshes, then the sand dunes with the oasis coming out to the coast with its ship wreck, museum and seal colony. this was followed by a good lunch before a low level flight back to the camp.

The game viewing was far better than expected with desert lion, desert elephant, numerous giraffes (Including two fighting) and lots of jackals made better by having Harunga with us who was a great guide" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 37
99%
37 reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (61 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (36 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (32 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


99% (27 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


96% (10 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


96% (9 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa