This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp


19°22’27.0"S 13°9’0.8"E

Reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoanib Skeleton Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoanib Skeleton Camp.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

43% success

Brown Hyena

29% success

Meerkat

14% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Hoanib was a highlight of our Namibian trip"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"We could not fault Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp.The flights too and from where great. Very friendly staff All activities were in a comfortable vehicle with just one other couple. Our tent which was very luxurious and food was really good food, Harunga was a very pleasant and knowledgeable guide.

Our day trip drive to the coast was amazing as you went along the river bed to the marshes, then the sand dunes with the oasis coming out to the coast with its ship wreck, museum and seal colony. this was followed by a good lunch before a low level flight back to the camp.

The game viewing was far better than expected with desert lion, desert elephant, numerous giraffes (Including two fighting) and lots of jackals made better by having Harunga with us who was a great guide" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

The G's
London

"Amazing Place"

3 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2017
"Simply stunning location, accommodation and public areas. the one thing that let them down greatly was the food.

Breakfast was fine but lunch and dinner were poor comparison with previous lodges we had stayed at.
We were not only ones who felt that way." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
J & K
London

"Wow! Great experience at Hoanib."

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"What a fantastic lodge, cleverly built into the rocks. We were upgraded to the only suite for the one night we were there, which was a wonderful treat. Elevated accommodation with a vast bedroom and lounge area, outside bath with a private view and large decking area. We were hot and tired after a long drive and decided to postpone sightseeing to make the most of it (plus the all inclusive bar) .

The food was delicious, as we found throughout our visit to Namibia. The only thing we would have liked in hindsight was a mosquito net. The mosquitos were a bit pesky despite the insect repellant and 'Doom' spray, and I got quite badly bitten. That aside we would have loved to have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Ottawa

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"Absolutely beautiful camp.

The day trip to the coast is well worth.

We also enjoyed that we could go on walks at this camp.

It was very busy and the staff looked a bit stressed." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P M
Derbyshire

"The smartest of the camps"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"The camp is the best equipped of those I stayed in, being the newest, and there was an excellent range of wildlife seen on the game drives. However, I was disappointed to find that an excursion to the Skeleton Coast (described as a highlight by people I spoke to) was only offered as an optional (and expensive) extra to guests not staying three nights. As a result, and since I refused, on principle, to pay the extra amount, I found myself on a final game drive which closely resembled a previous one and which meant that my overall level of satisfaction was a little below earlier expectations.

This arose because the couple I had been with chose not to go out on the final afternoon and this, in turn, triggered a sudden, (strategic?) illness in our guide, leaving me to join a newly-arrived couple, without any advance notice. This was the only time in the Wilderness camps that my status as a single traveller left me feeling slightly spare, possibly not unrelated to the fact that the (excellent and very enthusiastic) camp manager and her husband had earlier left, on their leave." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Somerset

"Amazing 3 days at Hoanib"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2017
"After a mad series of flights and an hour and a half at Doro! Naras air strip ( thanks Wilderness air.....) it was amazing to arrive at Hoanib. We flew low over the desert following the ephemeral river bed, landing in what really is the middle of nowhere.
We had a wonderful guide here who had just moved from Kulala desert camp, Joas, he was lovely guy to spend a few days with.
The camp still feels very new and pristine, I loved the decor and the spectacular tents, great shower rooms and decks to view the camp water hole.
The atmosphere at this camp is quieter than some, you are seated as couples unless you ask otherwise and don't eat with the guides.
The landscape is extraordinary. The trip to the Skeleton Coast itself is unforgettable, 5 hour drive through constantly changing habitats ( we saw a pair of honey badgers, elephant, giraffe, springbok, a lioness at a distance) and then lunch on what felt like the worlds most desolate beach. Wonderful 15 min flight back to camp.
We also loved walking in the Hoanib river bed for a couple of hours, learning about the desert plants, identifying tracks, observing giraffe and elephants.
Could easily have stayed longer here and would love to go back. They are also running an interesting international study on brown hyena, the professor in charge was visiting while we were there , and one of the female hyenas turned up for a drink at the water hole during breakfast one morning." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"A stunning new camp"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2017
"This 'new' camp is in a stunning location and the rooms are superb, each has a fridge with cold drinks and a really nice shady sitting out area.
Dining room feels a bit like a restaurant rather than a 'camp' but small enough to encourage conversation. Food and service were excellent in the evening but breakfast service quite patchy.
It is worth staying here for three nights to ensure that you are able to do the trip to the coast with the scenic flight back.
The staff 'concert' was particularly good.
It was also good to have the opportunity to visit the research facility which is on site here, where we had a talk from the researcher who has been studying the brown hyaena in the area, and saw a film made by another of the researchers (who we had met down at the coast) about the desert lions." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2017
"Fantastic!

The highlight of our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"A real privilege."

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2017
"Isolated but luxuriously appointed and an eco friendly property where we had some truly wonderful experiences that we shall never forget.

Supplies arrive weekly and can be delayed for all sorts of reasons and this happened during our stay due to rain causing flash floods further up stream. The staff work well to make up for any things that are in short supply which is a tribute to their dedication and professional teamwork.

The rooms are beautifully designed tented chalets with everything you could wish for.

There is not a huge amount of game to see and it was sad to learn of the death of the lions that were here up until 2016. The game drives are well worth the effort, especially to the flood plain area of the river and the sunsets are spectacular and a photographers dream.

When we visited there was water in the river so we flew both ways to the Skeleton Coast which is a day for the memory banks and should not be missed. If you stay 3 or more nights,that excursion is free ." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss A
Okehampton

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2017
"Everything perfect from the start - even coming across a cheetah and cub confronting a group of oryx on the short drive from airstrip to camp! (We were lucky). Delightful staff and an excellent guide in the very nice Pappa G...

The Skeleton Coast day out was totally wonderful - they made it all as varied and interesting as possible, with the 'roaring' dune slide, an amazing lunch set up on the beach and great flight back! Just one negative comment: we would have liked a longer walk at the mouth of the Hoanib River - or anywhere else in the area - especially as we waited at the airstrip for over an hour for the Wilderness Safari pilot to arrive.... ( it seems he was rather over-booked that afternoon) BUT the flight itself was spectacular!

We saw the desert elephants, (and sadly a dead baby one week old baby who seems to have died from exhaustion) giraffe, oryx, springbok with lively young ones, and three 3 month-old lion cubs whose future is uncertain as their mother was killed by a leopard... the big question being should they be kept alive artificially, or allow nature to follow its course...We were all for intervention, but don't know what subsequently happened.

Food was excellent - as was service. In the bar, Limbo makes a superb cocktail. An amazing place simply to 'be' - a very impressive achievement so far from anywhere....it's a very special place." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 38
99%
38 reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (61 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (36 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


97% (35 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


99% (29 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


96% (11 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


96% (9 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa