This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp


19°22’27.0"S 13°9’0.8"E

Reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoanib Skeleton Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoanib Skeleton Camp.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

43% success

Brown Hyena

29% success

Meerkat

14% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-38 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Out of this world experience"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2016
"Really an amazing location to stay and visit. Great rooms and communal areas, combined with friendly staff and opportunity to see animals in a very different desert setting.

The trip to the coast is particularly impressive" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
PG Wales
UK

"Hoanib camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2015
"Hoanib is an amazing place.The location, the camp and the staff and animals all contribute to the best experience we have ever had.

The modern camp makes for a luxurious experience and all the staff are welcoming and efficient as well as great fun. Our guide , Francois was superb and made every day special even getting stuck in the sand !! The ability to see the elephants,lion,giraffe and cheetah living in the desert was an outstanding experience, We had an amazing day at the ocean with seals , flamingos and shipwrecks and flew back to the camp.

Researchers staying at the camp gave interesting talks in the evening - a bonus." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Unique location in spectacular setting"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"Very stylish camp with luxury reception area and large and very comfortable tent/bedroom with a great deck with armchairs and a fridge. The food was imaginative and graciously presented. The day trip to the coast was through the most amazing scenery of huge variety, who can fail to be impressed by the roaring dune! Then the super picnic all laid out on the beach ready for us! And a spectacular flight back. Next day lions 3 of the five musketeers really close up.all a fantastic location.

The only thing that is a problem here we thought, is the vehicles they are using for the trips, the views were rather restricted when sitting anywhere but in the front seat, there was a lifting roof but this could only really be used when stationery, and though they had put a window in the front above the windscreen. To be fair they are clearly aware of the shortcomings of their vehicles, and say the need it to be closed in because of the cold, but they could provide a fleecy blanket, and use vehicles similar to other places" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A
Berkshire

"Amazing place, amazing experience."

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"If you stay at one place in Namibia, it has to be this place." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Drs B
Pennsylvania

"a new camp, needs work"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2015
"I think the problems with this camp is management.

No attention to details, poor maintenance of equipment. Can be simply dangerous." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms L
UK

"This was a stunning experience"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2015
"As suggested by friends who had been previously and by Expert Africa, going to the Skeleton Coast was a brilliant experience and the camp itself is very in tune with the location, comfortable - if not luxurious and the staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. We particularly liked the fact that the modern design and decor, as the standard decor for most lodges tends towards what could be described as Bulawayo Safari Club, circa 1927.

The camp staff and the guides were very good, and one (Gert we think) was outstanding. Once again they appeared to work well as a team and we were again impressed by the competence and confidence of young staff members. Our guide, Gert, drove a party of us down to the coast, to the seal colonies, the Park Ranger station and so, and then we got on a plane and flew back to the Skeleton Coast camp whilst Gert drove the four hours back - he then took us out for a walk in the camp vicinity, looking at what were probably strand loper/San encampments. It would be good if the camp developed more visits to nearby archeological sites as it shows how people managed to live in the desert for centuries.

Overall our experience here was really very good, with a surprisingly high level of good game sightings, including a large pride of adult female and young male lions on the plateau near the camp." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"An interesting place.

The communal areas of the camp are very comfortable and eating dinner in the open one night was delightful. The staff entertained us with singing and dancing after dinner which we loved (ask them to do the Toyota song!)

The staff here are very charming and helpful and fun to be with. Gert our guide was outstanding and we loved our time with him. He was very informative on animals and plants and the geology of the area.

The rooms seemed almost too modern and because we were told to keep windows closed at night you could have been sleeping in a good quality hotel anywhere. You don't have the experience of feeling you are part of the environment as you do in a tent or chalet. It was all very comfortable and good quality but lacked the charm of other Wilderness camps.

We really enjoyed the flights to and from Hoanib." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Hoanib Camp - Desert and Sea"

4 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2014
"This camp was so new the paint had hardly dried! And for such a new camp the presentation was awesome. (The team managing when we were there included some of the staff from Serra Cafema - great to meet them again!) We loved the drive out to the ocean - I will never get enough of the singing sands! - and the short walk was also excellent.

Wilderness have a good strategy for camp location and management and this camp reflects their approach. The rooms are not the 'traditional' chalets or tents, and are rather built as 'modern-eco' units i.e. you won't need air-con because the room design keeps it cool. That's not to say they aren't spacious and very comfortable.

The full water purifying system wasn't on line when we visited, so a lot of bottled water was being used - I trust this is now working, because trucked-in bottled water is just not a good thing.

If I've marked them down here, that's really only the starting up process. We had an excellent time - including a visit to the Skeleton Coast Museum. (Spoiler Alert)

It's one room full of the most amazing random stuff that washed/washes up on the shore..." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-38 of 38
99%
38 reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (61 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (36 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


97% (35 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


99% (29 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


96% (11 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


96% (9 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa