This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp


19°22’27.0"S 13°9’0.8"E

Reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoanib Skeleton Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoanib Skeleton Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Ms B
Colorado

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2016
"This is the other highlight in regards to setting, people, and management of lodge. Physical location provides access to the vast tough terrain and the skeleton coast. Although it appears to be devoid of life, it is actually chock full of it. The faster you go, the less you see, so thankfully, our guide Gerhansen, was a master in all facets of our drives: expert knowledge, expert off road driving skills, and expert birder. Additionally, his incredibly keen vision and listening skills enabled him to grasp the subtleties of his clientele. When at the lodge, the staff was always one step ahead in making our experience top shelf. We actually now have a new drink, the Oryx (Amarula and Kahlua), created by Robby to serve our friends. Charming singing and dancing (shaking!) wait and kitchen staff...where else can one go and have such a musical staff who have never heard of Bob Marley? Clement oversees the camp with a remarkable unique finesse. Finally, anyone who stays there and doesn't go to the skeleton coast is insane: the dunes, the fog, the coast are so staggeringly wild...beyond cool!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K & Dr B
Ontario

"The highlight of our trip!"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2016
"We spent three nights at Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp and loved every minute. The camp is beautifully situated and comfortably luxurious. The food was fitting of any five star hotel, which is even more impressive given the remoteness of this camp. Our guide, Elias, was perhaps the best guide we have ever had throughout our five separate, month-long trips to Africa. Not only was he knowledgable, safety conscious, and respectful of the animals, he was a great conversationalist with a wry sense of humour. We enjoyed many excellent wildlife sightings - including two black rhinos and a cheetah with two cubs at a kill. We also really enjoyed the drive to the coast and the flight back was spectacular!

The camp staff are all excellent. Beauty exemplified finesse and professionalism as she masterfully handled a mix up that was the fault of our travel agent. What could have been a very inconvenient error turned out to be little more than a momentary ripple for us - even though it meant some complex juggling behind the scenes. Another potential problem - the fact that I was recovering from a recent quad bike accident and so couldn't walk far - was also very tactfully handled by Beauty when she noticed my limp and moved me to the closest tent as soon as it was available. By the way, when I say 'tent,' I really mean 'very luxurious tented chalet.'

Where Damaraland Camp made me feel like a constant nuisance for having a food allergy, Beauty mentioned to me upon my arrival that the kitchen was aware of my food allergy and would ensure my food was all safe. As should be the case, my food safety needs were completely and inconspicuously met and I was never made to feel like I was being a nuisance.

Clement, one of the camp managers, was entertaining. His enthusiastic personality might be a bit overwhelming at first but we came to really appreciate his passion for the wilderness and wildlife photography as well as his very clear devotion to ensuring Hoanib delivers on every front.

Another thing we really appreciated at Hoanib was their ability to ensure guests mingled and met one another but also had time alone with their travel companions. Before dinner, guests mingled freely around the campfire or bar but during meals, each party had a private table. We were close enough to other groups to engage in lively conversation (or even join tables) if we so desired but far enough apart to enjoy a sense of privacy and luxurious dining. A perfect balance.

The things I have mentioned so far are really details. The true stars of the Hoanib experience are the amazing scenery and the wildlife sightings. Both surpassed our very high expectations. The details, however, are what elevated our stay at Hoanib from amazing to truly exceptional." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Porky
Perth

"Simply Brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2016
"Hoanib was definately the highlight of the eight different lodges/facitlies that I visited duirng a four week safari!

First, the location of the Camp is tucked against a hill background at the head of a long valley which is overlooked by surrounding mountains. It is simply a spectacular view along the valley. The individual lodges are reasonably separated from each other and are of a very clever "box" style construction with well place opening windows underneath a broad canvas tent which encourages a breeze way effect both within your lodge and on the comfortable verandah.

There is an artificially supplied water hole about two hundred metres from the lodges and this does attract a variety of wildlife, including lions walking though the camp, but is a bit of a distance away for all but the most enthusiastic and well equipped photographers. A good zoom lens is a definate asset.

The central guest areas are extremely well presented and very comfortable and provide good lounge facilities and a very nice dining area which is based on individual tables. A feature I like!

The Camp is managed really well by Beauty and she has an excellent staff with Elias and Clement being standouts as guides and sources of information. Their professionalism and competence is matched nicely by all other staff. This is a very, very good Wilderness Safaries establishment and well worth the fairly long trip to get there.

There are excellent wildlife and scenic opportunities and the range of animal life and spectacular scenery is simply unexpected as much as it is outstanding." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Surprises on the Skeleton Coast"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2016
"Dramatic location with huge rooms that look like Bedhouin tents from the outside but with all mod cons in sleeping and living "pods". High-octane camp manager Clement is totally on everything! You really do need three nights here. We spent several hours with two lionesses and three cubs at very close quarters and tracked a small herd of desert-adapted elephants (of all ages, including very small) along the river bed. Also saw a rare brown hyena. The trip to the coast, including lunch on Garnet Beach, is full of surprises which we won't spoil for future visitors. Just make sure you go on it! Special thanks to all the staff for making a birthday celebration extra special - everyone had to get up and dance! Food again average for vegetarians (vegetable curry the first night and vegetable biriyani the second doesn't show a great deal of imagination)." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
R & B
London

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp - Unforgettable!"

3 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2016
"In short, the place took our breath away!

The Camp is beautifully situated and maintained to a very high standard. With just 8 tents, the Camp felt not too big and not too small, in other words, it felt just right!

The staff was outstanding, our guide, Elias, in particular, and we, of course, spent the most time with him. When a place operates so well, virtually every member of staff contributes to its success, and unfortunately many of them we never meet. But those whom we did meet and were clearly in part responsible (please forgive any misspellings): Clement, Brigit, Kenny, Stanley, and Beauty. We listed others on our feedback from at the Camp.

The main tent was beautiful and fitting as was our tent. Our tent was very spacious and everything was well maintained.

Our activities will never be forgotten. We spent a lot of time driving through the river bed, and the scenery was stunning. And our drive to the Coast was unforgettable as was the flight back. We were very luck, too, it seems, in that we saw so much wildlife, including two lions and an elephant.

Once again, our guide, Elias, was outstanding. He has an easy way with people and is very knowledgeable about the place and the animals, so we learned a lot!

I would recommend Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp to anyone and without any hesitation. We've travelled a lot, and we have stayed in many of the world's "best" hotels, and the Camp ranks right up there!" See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Out of this world experience"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2016
"Really an amazing location to stay and visit. Great rooms and communal areas, combined with friendly staff and opportunity to see animals in a very different desert setting.

The trip to the coast is particularly impressive" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
PG Wales
UK

"Hoanib camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2015
"Hoanib is an amazing place.The location, the camp and the staff and animals all contribute to the best experience we have ever had.

The modern camp makes for a luxurious experience and all the staff are welcoming and efficient as well as great fun. Our guide , Francois was superb and made every day special even getting stuck in the sand !! The ability to see the elephants,lion,giraffe and cheetah living in the desert was an outstanding experience, We had an amazing day at the ocean with seals , flamingos and shipwrecks and flew back to the camp.

Researchers staying at the camp gave interesting talks in the evening - a bonus." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Unique location in spectacular setting"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"Very stylish camp with luxury reception area and large and very comfortable tent/bedroom with a great deck with armchairs and a fridge. The food was imaginative and graciously presented. The day trip to the coast was through the most amazing scenery of huge variety, who can fail to be impressed by the roaring dune! Then the super picnic all laid out on the beach ready for us! And a spectacular flight back. Next day lions 3 of the five musketeers really close up.all a fantastic location.

The only thing that is a problem here we thought, is the vehicles they are using for the trips, the views were rather restricted when sitting anywhere but in the front seat, there was a lifting roof but this could only really be used when stationery, and though they had put a window in the front above the windscreen. To be fair they are clearly aware of the shortcomings of their vehicles, and say the need it to be closed in because of the cold, but they could provide a fleecy blanket, and use vehicles similar to other places" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A
Berkshire

"Amazing place, amazing experience."

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"If you stay at one place in Namibia, it has to be this place." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Drs B
Pennsylvania

"a new camp, needs work"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2015
"I think the problems with this camp is management.

No attention to details, poor maintenance of equipment. Can be simply dangerous." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 33
99%
33 reviews of Hoanib Skeleton Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (57 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (5 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (4 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa