This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs J from Somerset

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2018 trip

Namibia between 1 Sep 2018 and 12 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a fantastic trip. Better than just "very satisfactory". It was organised for us by Tom who put together a great mix of experiences for us. Importantly all the logistics and connections worked perfectly. Thank you Tom and Expert Africa."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Elegant Guesthouse was ideal for us as an overnight stopover. I have stayed in the Olive Exclusive which is smarter and has larger rooms but as we were not staying in Windhoek for long we were happy with this guesthouse."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"We had a fantastic experience at Mundulea. Bruno is a wonderful guide and knowledgeable about many subjects. No-one should be bored spending time with him! Tommy looked after us in camp and cooked delicious meals. This is a different experience to most other lodges I have stayed at. For us it was a highlight of our trip but it is not for everyone. It helps to be reasonably fit because all activities are based around walking. I understand that Bruno will adjust activities to suit his guests but if you can't walk at least 10km (I suggest) I think you would not get the most from this experience. Also, being on foot brings you into contact with fewer animals but the landscape, tracking and stories more than make up for any deficit on that score. Personally I loved the wildness of it and the sink holes and cave systems. I hope I will return one day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"We stayed here overnight before heading into Etosha. This elevated camp overlooks a water hole which attracted a lot of birdlife. The rooms are very nice although some people might feel a bit exposed using the showers. These work very well but the corrugated iron cubicle provides 2/3 - 3/4 screening. This allows you to view the waterhole while showering. I doubt whether the animals and birds are interested in looking back at you!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"Safarihoek Lodge was another highlight. Our excellent guide was Michael who has an interesting life story. The lodge itself is situated in a fantastic elevated position overlooking the plain below which stretches to the horizon. There is a waterhole below the camp (best viewed through binoculars or a scope) which attracts a variety of animals including elephants and giraffe. There is a very superior viewing hide right next to the hole with a photography 'room' at ground level and a viewing platform above.

The lodge is very modern with lovely well-appointed rooms and communal areas. If I am completely honest, the dining area is a bit soulless but this shouldn't detract from the overall experience.

The guiding by Michael was excellent and brought us into contact with more animals than any other lodge. Black rhino was a particular highlight. We experienced 8 sightings (some were repeats), an uncomfortable stand off between two mature males which had been fighting and a more peaceful family group comprising a cow and two offspring of different ages.

Another highlight was lunch near a waterhole which was visited by a boisterous group of bachelor elephants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"This was a different experience from our stay at other lodges. It was much less about animals and bird life although rock hyraxes were everywhere. The rock formations around the camp are amazing - more like massive boulders piled on top of each other. I understand that geologically they are very old. Our sundowner on the first evening took us up some rocks which reminded me of Picnic at Hanging Rock for those of you who remember that film. However, we all returned safely! We went on one of the suggested walks - the 5km walk. This was very worthwhile and I would recommend it to anyone. We also went on the trip to see the cave art which was very worthwhile.

Just one point to note is that the camp is built around the rocks/boulders so it is very up and down, so would prevent some challenges for the less able."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Trip to Namibia August 2017

Namibia between 3 Aug 2017 and 15 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful time in a beautiful country. We have previously visited Kenya, Zambia and Malawi and this trip was quite different. There was less game to view in the areas we visited but we came away with a greater understanding of what we did see and a huge respect for the desert adaptions necessary to survive. Namibia felt safe and vibrant, the camps were lovely ( Hoanib stood out for me) and the staff were great.
We had chosen to fly throughout the trip as time was limited to 11 days, glad we did but Wilderness air did their best to turn easy trips into long slogs on occasions...4 hours to get from Desert Rhino to Hoanib? Some poor organisation from them but the pilots and planes were great.
Thanks!"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

"Olive Exclusive Overnight"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2017
"We had an enormous suite at Olive Exclusive, not strictly necessary of course but nice after a long journey. The staff were great, quite feisty which we actually liked! They looked after some of our excess stuff while we went on safari which was really useful.
Dinner was ok, breakfast better.
Don't think anyone stays longer than one night which is probably a shame.
Couples only though, it's all open plan , and anyone with any mobility issues won't get up and down the steps.
Would def go back. After speaking to other people whilst travelling around clearly a big step up from the sister hotel next door."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"This is a lovely quite simple but very friendly camp. The little lodges are all private and nicely decorated in traditional safari style, good food , especially at the bush supper/BBQ. We enjoyed the communal meals.
Rhino trekking is the thing here, we may have had a good day but it was a doddle! Rhinos only 1 hours drive plus a 5 minute walk. Everyone has to walk in single file and behave, which nearly everyone managed. The work this camp and the associated trust are doing really deserves support.
Apart from the rhinos , we saw desert adapted elephants, giraffe, oryx, springbok, black backed jackets, amongst others.
The really special thing about this camp is the staff, they either love working there or are all talented actors. Singing was constant and seemed genuine! Just really lovely people."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"Amazing 3 days at Hoanib"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2017
"After a mad series of flights and an hour and a half at Doro! Naras air strip ( thanks Wilderness air.....) it was amazing to arrive at Hoanib. We flew low over the desert following the ephemeral river bed, landing in what really is the middle of nowhere.
We had a wonderful guide here who had just moved from Kulala desert camp, Joas, he was lovely guy to spend a few days with.
The camp still feels very new and pristine, I loved the decor and the spectacular tents, great shower rooms and decks to view the camp water hole.
The atmosphere at this camp is quieter than some, you are seated as couples unless you ask otherwise and don't eat with the guides.
The landscape is extraordinary. The trip to the Skeleton Coast itself is unforgettable, 5 hour drive through constantly changing habitats ( we saw a pair of honey badgers, elephant, giraffe, springbok, a lioness at a distance) and then lunch on what felt like the worlds most desolate beach. Wonderful 15 min flight back to camp.
We also loved walking in the Hoanib river bed for a couple of hours, learning about the desert plants, identifying tracks, observing giraffe and elephants.
Could easily have stayed longer here and would love to go back. They are also running an interesting international study on brown hyena, the professor in charge was visiting while we were there , and one of the female hyenas turned up for a drink at the water hole during breakfast one morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"Little Kulala was our last lodge on the trip and I think it was a good place to finish. We felt the lodge had a more hotel vibe than any other place we had stayed, far less game ( although we did see spotted and brown hyena, emus , oryx and springbok) but a truly spectacular landscape.
The lodge was very friendly with a great atmosphere in the evenings. We tried sleeping on the roof on one night, my husband lasted till 5a.m! We also completed an early morning balloon ride which was excellent. Climbing the dunes ( and running down) was an unforgettable experience.
The Lodge is very stylish, nicely designed although the individual accommodation lodges are a bit ugly from the outside.

Whilst staying here these travellers did an early morning ballooning trip, here are their comments:
We loved this! Only 10 min drive from our lodge to the launch site , we were in the last of 3 balloons. A very slick operation, beautiful views of the desert. We even landed exactly on the trailer at the breakfast site. Lovely breakfast too."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

"Olive Exclusive review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"See earlier review!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team