This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge

Reviews of Amalinda Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Amalinda Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Amalinda Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

87% success

Giraffe

50% success

Wildebeest

43% success

Sable antelope

36% success

Hippo

23% success

Eland

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs J
Somerset

"Amalinda Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"Great experience to stay here, just an extraordinary place. I loved the first approach when you end up driving up a rock face, we couldn’t believe there was a lodge up there!
We had a massive beautifully appointed room, food and catering was brilliant.
Really enjoyed drinks by the pool and exploring the grounds. We even saw the legendary zonkey…
It isn’t really a game lodge in the traditional sense, the Matopos felt to us to be more about history, culture and a good break between 2 game heavy areas with one caveat. We tracked white rhino on foot with the help of our guide Paul and the local game rangers and that was wonderful. They found an adult female with a male calf and adolescent daughter, such a privilege to get so close." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs A.
Wells

"Amalinda Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"The welcome by our host Billy was excellent, then the surprise of staying in a luxury cave was another special moment of the trip. Once again the facilities, food and drink were exceptional, complimented by wonderful people who could not do enough to look after us for the duration of our stay.
Our guide Paul was outstanding in his knowledge, entertainment and excitement, making the activities in the mountain terrain another life time experience that should not be missed. The life story of Cecil Rhodes to the 10,000 year old cave paintings were explained in Technicolor detail by Paul who also managed to get us up close with a family of Rhinos, absolutely stunning experience. Thanks to Billy and Paul for making such an effort to look after and entertain us." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

White Rhino

3 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr + Mrs M
Oxford

"Amalinda Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2022
"This was a very different experience from the hide and offered additional activities including viewing ancient petroglyphs, hiking to the Cecil Rhodes grave for the most amazing views as well as wild life sightings.

Again our guide was extremely knowledgeable and our driver took us on a tour of the historic area of Bulawayo on the way to the airport" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs U.
UK

"Amalinda Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2022
"Amalinda is a unique and extraordinary place, that feels quite other worldly tucked away amongst the granite boulders.

It is peaceful and extremely comfortable, with huge rooms and bathrooms, excellent food, great service, knowledgeable guides and some fantastic activities. We tracked white rhino on foot, visited Rhodes grave with a couple of G&Ts and a stunning African sunset and hiked over the rocky terrain past amazing butterflies and antelope before reaching ancient cave paintings.

Evenings around the fire before and after a 3 course dinner were a real treat, our guide joining us sometimes too, giving us an opportunity to get to know him and the Zimbabwean culture a little more. The infinity pool, set apart from the lodges, was stunning, the freezing cold water offering welcome relief from the hot sun. There was even a chameleon nestled in the plant by the bar to provide us with entertainment.

All in all, a very special place." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr D
Salisbury

"Amazing architecture in striking envirnoment"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"Amalinda is an extraordinary lodge, built between the massive granite boulders of the Motopos National Park. We were in the two 'honeymoon 'rooms (9 and 10), which were thatched cathedrals between the granite outcrops at the top of the lodge, with spectacular views over the Motopos. Just being there is an amazing experience.

The pool is a stunning pool in a natural, granite bowl, looking out over the Motobos. The poolside bar has a sunset lounge where you can drink you sundowners if not out on a drive or on the high rocks above the lodge.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and Melissa, the new lodge manager, was on top of her job after only 10 days in post. The food was excellent and service impeccable.

Our guide Kevin was a very switched on guy, with an in-depth knowledge of nature from the smallest plant and insect, up to the rhinos, along with detailed knowledge of the history and culture of Zimbabwe (ancient cave paintings included). Kevin took us to see the cave paintings, walking with rhinos and to a memorable sundowner at the View of the World burial site of Cecil Rhodes, high in the Motobos. he was great company in every respect.

I would highly recommend a stay at Amalinda for the stunning lodge on its own merits, but particularly for a stay focussing on the geology, culture and history of Zimbabwe and the Motobos. You won't see the range of wildlife seen at the Zim lodges, but you do get the chance to track rhinos on foot with the guide and Park Rangers - a real privilege.

Disabled access might be an issue for many areas of the lodge, with steep and narrow access through gaps in the boulders." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

B family
Surrey

"Lovely setting"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"Not an ideal trip due to extensive fires in the park, meaning we could not safely visit the caves.

Seeing rhino is dependant on finding the rangers who know where they are.

We wasted time while the guide disappeared looking for them to no avail - this was not atypical of having a well meaning guide, but who did not listen properly to our wishes." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Great Zimbabwe and rock art from Amalinda Lod"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"Amalinda Lodge reflects the local scenery with rooms built into the great rocks. You needed a degree of agility to get to our room!

The main dining area felt slightly cramped with insufficient room for everyone to comfortably gather and mingle before meals and the mix of one large table and two small tables seemed awkward. However, the whole lodge felt friendly and well run and it was a superb base for exploring the Motopos area. The work done by Amalinda to protect the local habitat and wildlife is laudable.

We had the pleasure of two days with Paul Hubbard, a local archaeologist. We had a 4 hour drive to Great Zimbabwe where we spent 5 hours exploring the fascinating medieval ruins. Paul's knowledge of the beautiful sight was inspiring.

The following day we had another full day out with Paul, firstly tracking a group of 6 White Rhino, then exploring a number of sites with stunning rock paintings. The quality and state of preservation of the paintings was staggering and again Paul's knowledge made for a fascinating day." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs J,
Edinburgh

"Just a wonderful place - highly recommended!"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"Amalinda was our favourite stop of our whole trip to Zimbabwe - beautiful setting, wonderful rooms, fantastic infinity pool and great hospitality.

Although the game drives are quite benign compared to elsewhere in the country, but scenery is stunning and the close encounters with the white rhino are an amazing experience we will never forget.

Our day being guided by Paul Hubbard was also a real highlight, with Paul really bringing the history and rock art to life.

We didn't want to leave this very special place." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Fantastic location, amazing rooms in rocks"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"Totally amazing the ingenuity in working out exactly how to make rooms among the rocks which form parts of the interiors of the rooms.

We had our first sight of a white rhino due to the persistence in searching by "Bones" our guide, with the help of a couple of park rangers, unfortunately the rhino had been dehorned, supposedly to prevent it from being poached.

Great views from Cecil Rhodes grave.

The highly polished concrete floors in the rooms mean that it's very easy to slip and fall - which my wife did!!!" See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

White Rhino

1 sighting

Andy & Karen
Malvern

"Unique lodge built around granite boulders"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2019
"This is a special lodge, set amongst and within the granite boulders of the Matopo landscape, and a good base for exploring the sites of Matopo NP.

The rooms are designed to reflect the surrounding landscape, moulded around boulders and utilizing the crevices of the cliff face against which it sits. But this is no Fred Flintstone experience and the rooms are spacious, well furnished and cleverly designed. We stayed in Room 3 and frankly could have fitted a coach party in there! Its is one of the lower rooms (good if you are a little unsteady on your feet), but I would have chosen a room up above the elevated dining level given a choice.

Billy and the staff were all very friendly and attentive, the food excellent. Bit more choice on the soft drinks would be nice for us non drinkers!

Good guide took us around the local sites and into the park, although wildlife pretty scarce. Come here for the rhino tracking and landscapes." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

White Rhino

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 36
96%
36 reviews of Amalinda Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Matobo National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Big Cave Camp

Big Cave Camp

Located on the top of a granite whaleback, Big Cave makes a simple base from which to explore Matobo Hills National Park.


80% (1 review)
Khayelitshe House

Khayelitshe House

In a private reserve bordering the Matobo National Park, Khayelitshe House is an exclusive private house in a remote & less visited area of Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa