This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge

Reviews of Amalinda Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Amalinda Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Amalinda Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

82% success

Giraffe

45% success

Wildebeest

45% success

Sable antelope

36% success

Hippo

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P & Mr C
Weeton

"Not long enough at Camp Amalinda"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"We loved Camp Amalinda. We were given Room 10 which was very spacious and set around a huge boulder. The showers in the bathroom area were excellent and very hot. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of extra seating both inside and outside the room.

We had booked Paul Hubbard as our private guide for our stay and had the most amazing time with him. We stayed out in the National Park both days. Day one we took an extended walk to Nswatugi Cave to see the rock art and after another long and very enjoyable walk through the Park back to the vehicle, we drove to World's View to the site of Cecil Rhodes' grave. We had the entire site to ourselves and had a very pleasant time drinking sundowners while watching the sunset and listening to Paul talk about the history relating to Matabeleland.

Day two we spent the morning 'boulder bashing' in another part of the Park. The boulder scenery is stunning and we had great fun with Paul climbing up and down the huge domed granite rocks, many of which were covered in a beautiful yellow lichen. In the afternoon we went rhino-tracking. A Parks ranger accompanies you and within a short time we had found the dominant male white rhino and then later on a white female with her calf. On both sightings we were able to get very close to the rhino on foot.

We were the only guests initially at camp and a special mention must go to Colin, our young host, and Zeph, the barman/waiter who has been with Amalinda over 20 years. We were extremely well looked after by both of them and they were a pleasure to spend time with.

We could have spent at least a couple of more days in Matopos looking at other rock art caves and walking further in the Park, and we would definitely recommend booking Paul as your guide." See all these reviews: 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Matobo Hills"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"Set in the Matobo Hills this is an excellent lodge where Billy, the manager, takes excellent care of all his guests.

Our guide Kevin was tireless in his efforts to find rhino for us - on one occasion haring up a kopje with his binoculars to try to view any movements from on high. Just before dusk he found a magnificent male white rhino and we were able to approach it on foot within 50 yards. Magical!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Hemel

"Amalinda review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"Thrilled with our room which we suspect was the best! (room 10). Service was somewhat haphazard but always very friendly. Had interesting fellow guests from different countries which added to our enjoyment.

Guiding: first class visit to cave paintings in a morning and Cecil Rhodes grave in the pm of one of our days. Paul Hubbard was an exceptional guide and a mine of information. (Thanks Nick!).

A unique and fascinating camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Bucks

"very different to camp hwange"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"The weather has a big effect on the availability of game and the tourists attitude, so a drop of 20degC from 40 in Hwange to 20 in Matopos is bound to colour my comments and the staff at Amalinda were very good but they suffered in comparison with Camp Hwange. It felt more like a"commercial organisation" which was relying a little too much on the funky chalets built into the rocks, which had their problems particularly when the power failed in the dark. Game viewing was O.K. but because of the temperature we didn't see Rhino until the 11th hour.

Enjoyable but if I had to miss out on something this would be my choice." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Cambs.

"Fantastic Amalinda"

4 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"Everything about this stay was excellent, except we had a thieving mouse who stole the early morning flapjack biscuits and our soap!!

The guides and staff were superb, so was food and service. The location and ambience were wonderful.
Our visit to the orphanage was eye opening and game drives and rock paintings were excellent.

Electric blankets were a nice touch, as it was cold in the early morning. We were sad to leave?
This park is a bit devoid of mammal species due to the poaching activities some years ago. We were told populations were slowly re-establishing." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"A broad and rewarding experience"

5 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2013
"We wanted to do something which was a bit different to the 'normal' safari experience and, in a very positive way, Amalinda provided just that.

First, the Matopo Hills are scenically very beautiful and worth a visit for this alone.

Second, one of our main reasons for going was to see some of the cave paintings. We were really impressed by the paintings; and, in Amalinda's Paul Hubbard, had the best possible guide. Paul also impressed us with his more recent historical knowledge. Paul's (wet afternoon) lecture on the early white incursion into what became Rhodesia and reflections when we visited Rhodes's grave were both highly informative and entertaining; and we were delighted that he devoted an afternoon to take us round the Bulawayo museum, which is well worth a visit.

In between the cultural activities, we had some good birding and were delighted to find white rhinos during our stay.

The camp itself is well run by Priscilla, Billy and the team." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Essex

"Motobo Hills, Camp Amalinda"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2012
"Fantastic room with wonderful views.

Made welcome on arrival by pool after a long journey from Harare.

Howard, our guide was excellent and infinitely patient. Cannot speak too highly of his knowledge and skills." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms E
London

"A cave with a view"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2012
"We booked 4 nights because we thought there it would provide a wide range of experiences. We weren't wrong! The camp is set in an amazing location in the Matopos Hills. Most of the rooms are folded into the granite rocks. We had one of the honeymoon suites (again!). We had to squeeze through a crack in the rocks which opened out to the pathway to our large cave house that had a veranda and a swinging walkway to a gazebo looking out over the hills. It was just the best place to relax, remember our place in the grand scheme of things, and learn something about the culture of Zimbabwe.

The camp staff were great - very kind and efficient - and we were lucky to have Paul Hubbard as our guide during the stay who is a real expert not just on Matopos but on archaeology and the history of the area generally. He took us into the Matopos National Park to look at some amazing cave paintings; to see Rhodes grave; and to visit a rural school and children's home and was a generous and friendly companion. We didn't go on game drives here but the white rhino are nearby.

The camp was a great place just to hang. It has a good library, a lovely natural swimming pool, and an interesting mix of guests. We'd really recommend it." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
E & D
New Mexico

"Amalinda review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2012
"On our approach into the Matoba Hills area we were preparing ourselves for a bit of disappointment, with its dry and seemingly uninviting landscape. This quickly changed to an absolute wonderland of nature's rock sculptures, head-high grasses and stunning vistas.

Our guide, Nduzi Ndlovu, was priceless, although we did figure out on the third and final day that we weren't finding black rhino because he and our accompanying park ranger were afraid to stumble over the often-angry creatures in the bush. Fair enough.

The lodge was spectacular, our room without equal, and the staff was top-notch." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Malawi; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms C
Dublin

"Amalinda review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2011
"Very good. Beautiful place.

Great staff. Howard is top guide.

Only negative is breakfast. Cornflakes, all bran, cartons of yogurt and full English. Not everyone wants this kind of unhealthy food especially in such a wonderful place. Need healthy options as in the Hide.

Lunch and dinner were good." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 32
96%
32 reviews of Amalinda Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Matobo National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Big Cave Camp

Big Cave Camp

Located on the top of a granite whaleback, Big Cave makes a simple base from which to explore Matobo Hills National Park.


80% (1 review)
Khayelitshe House

Khayelitshe House

In a private reserve bordering the Matobo National Park, Khayelitshe House is an exclusive private house in a remote & less visited area of Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa