This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge

Reviews of Amalinda Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Amalinda Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Amalinda Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

82% success

Giraffe

45% success

Wildebeest

45% success

Sable antelope

36% success

Hippo

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Cold Ash

"Good for a short stay"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"Spectacular location and accommodation but very many steep steps to be negotiated (difficult particularly at night).

Lovely swimming pool." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr S.
Clontarf

"Luxury camp in stunning national park "

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"We had a very comfortable stay at Amalinda for the end of our trip. The room (10) was amazing and the design of the whole camp is incredible

They organised fascinating trip out to Great Zimbabwe ruins for us, albeit a long day with helpful explanation from our guide Howard.

The cave paintings are well worth seeing and the rock formations create an incredible landscape.

Amalinda organised our travel from Hwange and back to Vic Falls. The journey was comfortable and smooth. Packed lunches on our travels were great.

Well worth visiting for a relaxing time after safari." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Amalinda Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"An amazing place set in the granite hills of the Matopos Hills The views are incredible. Our guide, Kevin, showed us the Bushman drawings in some of the caves in the area. We also saw a Zonkie!!, which was explained to us as a cross with a Donkey and Zebra. We also got to see the White Rhino and were able to get quite close to these magnificent animals.

The food was amazing and the room very comfortable.

our only fault was the lack of places to hang our clothes." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Sue
Cape Town

"Amalinda - a very special place"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"It's hard to find words to describe Amalinda - the rooms and amenities and food and service are right out of deluxe travel magazines, but the environment in which it all takes place is pure and untainted bushveld, and the animals and birds are so close they can touch you.

Our "room" was palatial, beautifully designed and equipped, spotlessly maintained (even the odd lizard in the shower was freshly laundered), and a fine place to sleep peacefully after each day's adventures, but the minute one was in the bush, on foot, tracking a guide who was tracking a rhino, civilisation slipped away and one's world consisted of the grass and the trees and the animals. There was nothing contrived or artificial about the game experiences, except I suppose for the protection of the rangers and guides, and that was not something I would have traded.

Game drives were a constant source of pleasure, and the rhinos were co-operative in the main, despite the distress of the removals a few days before. The visit to the children's home and the village were most interesting. I appreciated the chance to speak with local residents and hear their thoughts about various things. Our fellow guests were a fascinating selection from several countries and cultures. Dinner conversation was most absorbing. I also particularly liked a collection of old books in the open air library with a view.

Special mention of our driver, Mr Edward, who was wonderfully knowledgeable, an ace game spotter, always cheerful and helpful, and a very interesting person to talk to. All the staff were competent, friendly and helpful, but Mr Edward was a stand out. Just to add that while we were there, the staff were almost all involved in fighting a serious fire a short distance from Amalinda, and yet still managed to produce superlative meals and keep the atmosphere unruffled. Bravo!" See all these reviews: 16n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms L
Elma

"Amalinda review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2017
"The rooms and employees Rock this place." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"A Unique and Comfortable Base"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Amalinda's unique selling point is how the whole lodge has been set into the landscape. The 'whaleback' boulders of the Matopos have been incorporated into the rooms and public areas. Note that this does mean a lot of steps everywhere, particularly to reach the bar and dining room. Our room was simply enormous with a high thatched roof and two double beds. The bathroom was bigger than most hotel rooms!

Having been guided around Great Zimbabwe by Paul Hubbard, a local historian of note, he was also our guide here for our exploration of the Matopos. I have a great interest in Cecil Rhodes, the founder of Rhodesia, and it was an ambition realised to have Paul take us through the area to sites and buildings associated with him. His knowledge is truly impressive. The highlight was to visit Rhodes' grave at 'View of the World' at sunset and watch the close of the day with a G&T. Amalinda was an excellent base for these activities and the full day we spent exploring Bulawayo.

The Matopos offers spectacular scenery, cave paintings and rhino tracking." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 8n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Steve King
USA

"Amalinda"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"Nice experiences with Edward on a short sunset hike and seeing rhino the next day.

Not a good experience with the camp itself. A lot of minor issues added up to a mediocre stay. One by itself is no big deal but when there are six or seven it adds up.

Colin and Billy are cheerful enough, but that masks an underlying indifference. There were other people complaining as well. Unique architecture." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs D & family
UK

"Great start to a safari"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"Amalinda is a great start or end to safari it is very relaxing, excellent staff very attentive.

Our guide Kevin was extremely knowledgeable we enjoyed learning about Zimbabwe's History." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
New York

"Amalinda review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Amalinda was excellent. Rooms built into hillside incorporating rocks. Very hospitable. Great meals.

Visited Khami ruins on way from Bulawayo, which were excellent. Only visitors at site. Recommend the longer walk to get full appreciation of the site.

Day trip to Great Zimbabwe was long - very early start. The site is really worthwhile. Very few visitors.

Matopos is a beautiful National Park. Wildlife somewhat limited, though we did (briefly) see rhino." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms H
Kent

"Rock Art and Great Zimbabwe"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2015
"Apart from the better than average likelihood of Rhinos, i think the rock art and Gt Zim are the highlights for Amalinda.

Doing Gt Zim as a day trip is hard, especially for the guide, but for the guests too. That said, staying overnight adds a fair amount of additional expense and (according to Paul Hubbard) in pretty average hotels. But if money isn't a problem, then having more time at Gt Zim and easier travelling over two days would be welcome.

These travellers booked a private guide here, Paul Hubbard, and they commented:

Paul Hubbard is clearly a top guide with excellent knowledge on the archaeology and culture of Zimbabwe and particularly around the Motopos. This undoubtedly enhanced our experience significantly.

Having Paul for the two full days activities was the requirement and was great. I'm not sure that having him for the airport collection and an afternoon walk added quite as much value. Please note - this is not a reflection on Paul, but on how we, and others, might structure their holiday with cost in mind." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 32
96%
32 reviews of Amalinda Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Matobo National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Big Cave Camp

Big Cave Camp

Located on the top of a granite whaleback, Big Cave makes a simple base from which to explore Matobo Hills National Park.


80% (1 review)
Khayelitshe House

Khayelitshe House

In a private reserve bordering the Matobo National Park, Khayelitshe House is an exclusive private house in a remote & less visited area of Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa