This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nyamatusi Camp
Nyamatusi Camp
Nyamatusi Camp
Nyamatusi Camp
Nyamatusi Camp
Nyamatusi Camp
Nyamatusi Camp
Nyamatusi Camp

Reviews of Nyamatusi Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nyamatusi Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2019, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nyamatusi Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

86% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Brockham

"Nyamatusi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2022
"Swish and well run camp.

Rooms very spread out requiring vehicle transport by guide to and from the main dining/reception area.

Lower level of the main area could be more user friendly re dining. All staff delightful." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Michelle & Peter
LDN

"Nyamatusi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2022
"We had a great time at Nymatusi Camp - from arrival the staff make a real effort to welcome you and make sure you are looked after throughout your stay. The food was great and the facilities lovely. This is a very stylish lodge where the focus is on both comfort and great guiding.

Food is served on communal tables for most of the time, which we really enjoyed as other guests in the lodge were good fun and like minded. The camp will facilitate private tables if you prefer.

We took advantage of the chance to go on a canoe trip as well as several walking safaris and the vehicle safaris. Again, for us the walking safaris were the real highlight and the head guide Michael was excellent. Some of the other guides appeared less confident and to still be learning.

The scenery in Mana Pools is stunning and we had beautiful sundowners each night by the river. We were perhaps a little unlucky with our larger wildlife sightings in Mana Pools overall. There are animals everywhere, particularly elephants, hippo, baboon and various antelope but we did struggle to find the big cats and painted dogs.

We managed to approach a lioness quite closely on foot which was incredible and saw some male lions at a distance but went several long drives without seeing the cats. We did not find the painted dogs and heard from the guides and conservationists that the population of dogs is struggling in the park.

Overall we had a brilliant time at Nyamatusi Camp and loved the scenery in Mana Pools - for us it is a great option for a relaxed and comfortable safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs J
Somerset

"Nyamatusi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2022
"Nyamatusi is a beautiful camp, gorgeous tents, breathtaking setting. This was our last stop and I’m glad we left it till the last as it was so special.
The camp is on the edge of the Zambezi so no shortage of hippos and elephants in the camp itself, ( you do need to be constantly on alert about this and keep in touch with the staff)
Had great guiding with Micheal who is more than happy to get everyone out on foot in the bush, had some very close encounters with elephants which will stay with us all forever!
Loved the canoeing experience, it had been a baking hot day so,it was wonderful to be on the river. The canoe guides made us feel very safe.
Sadly missed the leopard and no recent sightings of the painted dogs, good reason to go back though.
Met some lovely other guests, as with all African Bush Camps we were encouraged to eat as a group and that suited all of us.
Lovely, sincere and motivated staff.
Great food and drink, and I really enjoyed the cool of the wine cellar and choosing a special wine for our last night." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs A.
Wells

"Nyamatusi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2022
"Each location we visited was of excellent quality in every aspect, Nyamatusi was no exception with the added point of location and luxury accommodation grading this camp as very special.
Our room was right next to the Zambezi river overlooking the Hippos bathing in the river with the backdrop of the most wonderful mountain range in Zambia. Elephants frequently grazed by our room, whilst the Hippos would trundle past our veranda during the evening whilst travelling to graze. I am not sure you could get much closer to nature, whilst feeling secure in the height of air conditioned luxury.
I would rate this camp outstanding in every aspect.
Our Guide Michael was amazing and took us on foot a few times in the bush, the sheer thrill of facing off Bull Elephants whilst feeling secure under his guidance was another highlight of the trip." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Sevenoaks

"Nyamatusi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2022
"Sadly Mana Pools NP and this camp were underwhelming. The park where we were was very low on wildlife numbers and many of the game drives were bordering on tedious as there is a limit on how many impala you can see!

We were also surprised to find so many vehicles especially self drivers - we counted over 30 on one game drive. This turned out to be a problem when something interesting was found as every truck in the area turned up within minutes.

The camp was not the best organised - the trip from the airstrip to the lodge with 6 guests, the pilot, the driver and luggage for everybody in one vehicle was ridiculous.

Silly and annoying things persisted during our stay - the loo that needed 3 flushes to work, cheese platters at dinner with no crackers and no knife - the pipeline work all around the camp which made it look like a construction site.

Our guide Chris tried really hard to find animals for us but even he could not find what is not there.

The crowning glory was the trip home where we had to leave camp before 7 to fit in with Safari Logistics schedule and then spent over 6 hours waiting around at Harare airport" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

S.
Germany

"Nyamatusi Camp [11-2019]"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2019
"Travel intention: 9th trip to africa, looking for unique safari experience throughout Africa in a comfortable to luxurious Setting

Facilities: Completely new and extremely luxurious. The rooms are superb with every convenience available, some of these conveniences are very welcome (small personal plunge pool at every tent, very spacious, fridge with cold water or other beverages). Some others might lead to a hot debate among safari goes whether this is overdone and really necessary for a bush camp (wine cellar, small air condition not for the whole room but only over bed at night time). Great and thoughtful decoration, very stylish. As tents are placed in a vast area with quite distance from each other, you are supposed to not walk around but call the guide by radio to pick you up by car when going to another tent or the main area. This is a bit complicated but understable as the chance of actually meeting both lions and leopards within the vast camp area is quite high (we saw lions just outside the camp and a leopard within the camp at night).

Service: Due to our personal experiences, I am sorry to delibaretely rate this category with „poor“. First of all, the service of the general staff was friendly, but fell short of the attention of detail shown in comparable camps. Just to name examples, waiters forgot orders, did not know what was served during dinner when asked or the desert served was different from the one on the menu card. These are just examples demonstrating that the workflows behind the scenes were not handled as smoothly as we had experienced in two other camps of African Bush camps immediately before. As the camp was opened 6 months earlier, we are optimistic that with a bit of time and experience of the staff, things will go more smoothly and this was overall no severe problem.
A serious drawback, however, was the camp manager (Russell). Specifically, our journey fell in the time of a South African Airways (SAA) strike with a number of cancelled SA flights and we and other guests were uncertain about the flight status of our flights back (Harare to Johannesburg with SAA, from there on connection flight with other companies). Due to a lack of cell phone connection or WIFI at the camp, guests were unable to access information themselves. Despite our repeated request, Russell did not contact SAA to check for our flight status and we were put off with vague or untrue statements (“everything will be fine” or “just go to the airport and find out”). Our explicit request to contact Expert Africa to seek for help/information was also bluntly ignored. In the end, we ended up in the main office with an unstable internet connection ourselves booking additional new Harare to Johannesburg flights with another flight company just in case. In the end, when arriving in Harare, this was the right decision, as our SA flight was indeed cancelled and we could take our alternative connection, therefore reaching our connection flight in Johannesburg. Another couple travelling in parallel, trusting Russells statements, did not book alternative flights and got stranded in Harare missing their connection flight in Joburg. Overall, I would like to share the feeling that the whole situation was managed poorly and not in a professional manner.

Experience: We combined Zambezi Expeditions and Nyamatusi during our trip in Mana Pools, which proofed an excellent decision. Nyamatusi is the very eastern last camp having been built in the camp and both landscape and animals did not feel redundant but very different, so that our game drive experiences in Zambezi Expeditions and Nyamatusi were quite distinct. Nyamatusi is translated as „lions land“ which is completely due as this is an area oft he park with a high big cat concentration (which we experienced as well). Furthermore, the landscape changes from the very open plain views observed in the more western camps to lots of reed bets with high grasses and shrubs. Specific sightings: Hyaneas at a fresh dead elephant, repeated leopard sightings, python, as well as excellent birding (including rare gems on my bucket list such as crested guineafowl and double-banded sandgrouse). Most noteably, one morning after breakfast, instead of starting our usual game drive, we started walking and approached a lion pack with a fresh buffalo kill still eating just a few hundred meters from our camp.

Overall: A very luxurious (for some looking for classical bush feeling: too luxurious) camp, located in a great corner of Mana Pools with high chances for big cat experiences. Service did not live up to its full potential, but will hopefully improve over time (possibly under a different camp management)" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"A very new, large camp for the luxury market"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"This large camp is strung along a long section of the Zambezi. We were l.ucky to fin it early and missed the large number of guests possible in the 12 huts and 2 large luxury communal lodges. Probably more luxurious that we would prefer (wine cellar, piozza oven adn several bars and lounge areas." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-7 of 7
91%
7 reviews of Nyamatusi Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, Vundu Camp is a small, comfortable bushcamp offering top-notch guiding.


95% (45 reviews)
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


91% (16 reviews)
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


95% (15 reviews)
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking, river safaris, night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


97% (12 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


95% (4 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, along the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa. Each night you'll camp on the banks of the river.


100% (4 reviews)
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


93% (3 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (2 reviews)
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


100% (1 review)
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


80% (1 review)
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Tembo Plains Camp

Tembo Plains Camp

Building commenced on Tembo Plains Camp in February 2021. Details are sparce at this stage but we'll update this page once we know more.


No reviews yet
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet
Mana River Camp

Mana River Camp

Mana River Camp sits on the banks of the Zambezi River, a site formerly occupied by Mwinilunga Camp.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa