This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zambezi Expeditions
Zambezi Expeditions
Zambezi Expeditions
Zambezi Expeditions
Zambezi Expeditions
Zambezi Expeditions

Reviews of Zambezi Expeditions

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zambezi Expeditions and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Zambezi Expeditions.
Lion

83% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

50% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

83% success

Buffalo

67% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Wildebeest

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
S.
Germany

"Zambezi Expeditions [11-2019]"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2019
"Travel intention: 9th trip to africa, looking for unique safari experience throughout Africa in a comfortable to luxurious Setting

Facilities: Located directly at the the Zambesi river, the landscape is breathtaking overlooking the river and the Sambian mountain side of the steep northern Zambezi Escarpment (the southern Escarpment on the Zimbabwe side is much gentler with a rather large area where wildlife has more space to roam). The camp provides a „glamping“ feeling – while everything is located within tents that will be removed at the end of the season, nothing is lacking including readily filled bucket showers and flush toilets. This allows the camp to really melt into the surrounding nature. For us, it started immediately as we had to wait for a crossing elephant group before we could get from the main to our tent. While relaxing in main area or in front of tent, there is always something going on (from catching a foto of a pygmy kingfisher in the branches in front of our tent to grazing/drinking animals).

Service: The camp host was Michelle, who was attentive and helpful (enabled us to use emergency WIFI for a family problem at home) and provided during family style dining interesting discussions about the changing face of the Zimbabwian society in modern times. Pre-dinner drinks and partly food were taken at a bush fire, good food.

Experience: Due to the 2019 drought, all of the pools were dried up, however, due to Zambesi river animal were still doing better than compared to Hwange (fewer dead elephants). A great place for game drives as the open areas beside the river can be overviewed nicely with a clear long-range view. Specific sightings: Unique elefant behaviour (standing up or climbing tree stems with forefeet to reach lower branches), close and extensive Eland sightings (rare elsewhere), Nile waran sitting in tree hole, excellent birding (Lilian lovebirds, African hoopoe, woodland kingfisher, as well as river birds such as fish eagle or different storks/herons). TK was one of the buest guides we ever had due to his entertaining, knowledegable and talkative nature.

Overall: Mana pools is one of the best places for safaris in Africa combining an excellent touristic infrastruture (while avoiding overtourism) with abundant wildlife and an eye-catching landscape. A bit more basic camp for those who want to go „glamping“ but will lack no comfort completely surrounded by nature. Camp is in a great location within Mana Pools park. Ask for TK, he is one of the best guides we ever had." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Great experience at Zambezi Expeditions"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"Great location beside the Zambezi, with animals - elephants, hippos, lions - coming right into camp. Wonderfully welcoming, helpful and friendly staff, led by our exceptional host, Sabasten. Tents were quite basic but very comfortable, with bucket showers available whenever we wanted. The food was excellent, provided by Derrick the chef and his assistants. Our guide, Cloud, was wonderful, very knowledgeable and friendly. He worked very hard for us to get the best experience from our safari, including having to pull our canoe in places as the river levels were so low. The canoe safari provided excellent viewing of hippos and elephants from a different perspective. We would not hesitate to return." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Andy & Karen
Hereford

"Simple but perfect"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"This is a fantastic simple camp on the banks of the Zambezi run by a truly wonderful team.

The tents are not luxurious but are clean and very comfortable, looking out over the Zambezi River to the hills of Zambia beyond. Outside en-suite facilities include perfectly acceptable bucket showers and heated water in the mornings or when you want it. To lie in bed listening to the sound of hippos and other camp visitors at night is the archetypal African experience and this is the place to do it (Africa as it used to be).

Without doubt it is the staff, however, who turn this camp from good to brilliant. It was like staying with friends for 3 nights and we wish we could have stayed longer. Every single person in camp was a delight and a credit to African Bush Camps." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Bert
NL

"Zambezi Expeditions review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2018
"From the moment we arrived, everyone made us feel welcome in a non-fabricated way. Staff and guides all gave the impression of genuinly enjoying their work and their enthousiasm was contagious. Very high level of professionalsm without being formal. The emphasis on guiding is obvious, but other members of staff were just as good, which made the camp a complete picture. Location right on the riverbank is fantastic. The park itself is packed with wildlife and at the same time relatively quiet when it comes to tourists. Even with the wild dogs sightings we never saw more than 6 vehicles at the same time. Incredible encounters with elephants, hyenas and all kinds of antilope right in front of the tents. African Bush Camps keep a very good balance between a true safari experience on one side and environmental care, safety and sustainability on the other side. We were impressed by the level of knowledge the guides showed, ranging from the latin names of plants to mixing the perfect G&T.
In all; very highly recommended and a shame we had to leave." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Kingston

"Wonderful down to earth Zambezi Expeditions"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful, down to earth tented camp. It was exactly the experience we wanted. Would be perfect for someone who is not wanting "luxury". The tents are simple, there is sufficient storage, cotton robes are provided, a bucket shower (which does 2 showers) which can be ordered cold, warm or hot, a flush toilet and cold running water. Refillable metal bottles in the room for drinking (not recommended for guests to drink the tap water).

It was quite hot when we visited (although we understand it will get hotter). A fan in the room is the only suggestion we have for improvement.

We were driven to the camp by Guide TK (then Cloud was our wonderful guide for the duration of our stay) and met by the staff singing and dancing. Wow! Camp Host Dophas was a warm and congenial man ("down to earth" was his description of the camp) and we enjoyed the conversations around the fire. All the staff were great. They tried to help me with my Shona pronunciations, Ndatenda!

We found the meals here were the best of our 3 camps. Lunches were self serve, some dinners were plated. Especially loved the tilapia bream plate one night and the oxtail stew on the traditional night. Veggies always cooked perfectly, good salads, lovely desserts. All good!

Mana Pools was a bit busier than Hwange NP in that we saw vehicles from other camps more frequently, and many self drivers. But this did not really detract from the experience, it's just worth noting. Certainly, if anyone had a sighting, they passed on the information to other drivers.

We noticed a difference in the sightings from Hwange as well: animals seemed to be sighted as individuals or in small groups. We did not see many larger groups of animals. Although we were lucky to see a pack of wild dogs twice (a group of 9 including pups). Among our other sightings were many eland, cape buffalo, of course many elephants, hippos, 2 male lions, and zebras.

On our last morning, we were given a takeaway lunch as we left, which was much appreciated.

Thank you to Cloud and Dophas especially, also Peter, TK, Sebastian and all of the wonderful staff. Apologies for forgetting or misspelling some names. Dophas: you did indeed exceed expectations." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

9 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Miss J
Bushey

"Laughter!!"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2018
"A day on a walking Safari is a must do, you defiantly see thing's from another perspective, very exciting moment when we bumped into a Bull Elephant on it's own, another highlight, was the canoeing down the Zambezi, trying to keep out of the way of the Hippo's, all the staff were lovely and banter was excellent, just lot's of laughter, love those guy's!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Fabulous spot on the river"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"There was an issue with the guiding which has now been addressed by Expert Africa with African Bush Camps" See all these reviews: 14n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Zambezi Life Styles review"

5 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2016
"This camp was totally different to Somalisa but no less amazing. To be so close to the wildlife is something neither of us will forget. Every night we heard hyena, hippos and the occasional lions.

Although the tents were not as luxurious as Somalisa they were still comfortable and had all we needed.

Again all the staff were friendly and as we were the only ones in the camp they were very attentive.

Considering the Chef was cooking on open fires the food was incredible.

Our guide, Lovemore, took us on a couple of walking safaris which was an experience in itself. On one walk we came across a lioness on a buffalo kill which took all of us by surprise, especially as it turned out she was part of a pride of eight lions.

This was a wonderful experience being by the Zambezi River with all the wildlife around us." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Halifax

"Great Safari with Zambezi Life Styles"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"Zambezi Life Styles is a bush camp but the food and the service provided is first class.

The camp staff are excellent, and the Game drives & walks led by the amazing Lovemore were fantastic.

We had Elephants in camp during the day and Lions in camp at night, along with the occasional Hyaena.

All this and canoeing on the Zambezi River....Wonderful" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P
Agde, France

"The best of all!!!"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"A special thanks to Fisher and all the staff for making such a wonderful stay for us.
Alone ( with the staff) at the camp, with hyenas, lions, elephants, hippos, buffalos... during the night, ang we just stay into the room and listen to them! The game drive, with some walks, at last, but so fantastic. Chasing the buffalos walking, approach lions or elephants... Waht a special feeling! The camp is in a beautiful location, the shower so nice and the "chef" is simply fantastic. How can he cook such delicious meals in this conditions, it seems not to be possible.
For me one of the best camp of Africa." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
96%
10 reviews of Zambezi Expeditions by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
0
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, Vundu Camp is a small, comfortable bushcamp offering top-notch guiding.


96% (40 reviews)
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking, river safaris, night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


93% (14 reviews)
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


94% (14 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, along the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa. Each night you'll camp on the banks of the river.


100% (4 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


90% (2 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (1 review)
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


No reviews yet
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


No reviews yet
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa