This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs T from Sevenoaks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

2

Zimbabwe - at last !

Zimbabwe between 10 Sep 2022 and 23 Sep 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"We waited a long time to do this trip and it turned out to be very nearly as good as we hoped.

As in life in general, there were ups and downs - Bumi Hills was a massive surprise in a good way and Nyamatusi/ Mana Pools was a disappointment.

Overall we enjoyed it hugely and it was really nice to be back in Africa again."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2022
"An ideal lodge in which to relax after tiring international travel - the staff, rooms, dining and facilities are all first class and for a short stay to view the Falls and its surrounds it ticks all the boxes."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

11 Sep 2022 • All-day excursion

A gentle reintroduction to Africa with a clued up boat captain, plenty of food and drink and stunning scenery
Excellent
Guided tour of Victoria Falls

Guided tour of Victoria Falls

"Guided tour of Victoria Falls review"

12 Sep 2022 • All-day excursion

We visited Victoria Falls in 2007 from the Zambian side - the view this time from Zimbabwe was 100% better and quite spectacular.

We had a very good guide and also saw a surprising amount of wildlife whilst walking around the viewing paths - warthogs, waterbuck, vervets etc.
Excellent
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"Somalisa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2022
"A very well run ABC camp with comfortable tents, good food and very friendly staff.

A special mention should be made about our guide Mike who is a larger than life character with a seemingly inexhaustible knowledge of the bush and a wicked sense of humour.

This is the park to come to if you are a fan of elephants - we have never seen so many and I would estimate that we saw literally hundreds every day !

Just a small point on the tents - we were in Tent 5 and when the wind got up, the noise from the guy ropes and stanchions was deafening and kept us awake - structural issue ??"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

"The star of the show"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"This lodge and surrounding area are very unique and different from anywhere else we have stayed.

The views, levels of personal service, food, facilities etc are all at the very top end and the wildlife viewing turned out to be miles better than we expected.

Special mention to Tatenda or guide and Sasha, Tabs and Anusa who looked after us in the lodge - all of them are class acts."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

"Nyamatusi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2022
"Sadly Mana Pools NP and this camp were underwhelming. The park where we were was very low on wildlife numbers and many of the game drives were bordering on tedious as there is a limit on how many impala you can see!

We were also surprised to find so many vehicles especially self drivers - we counted over 30 on one game drive. This turned out to be a problem when something interesting was found as every truck in the area turned up within minutes.

The camp was not the best organised - the trip from the airstrip to the lodge with 6 guests, the pilot, the driver and luggage for everybody in one vehicle was ridiculous.

Silly and annoying things persisted during our stay - the loo that needed 3 flushes to work, cheese platters at dinner with no crackers and no knife - the pipeline work all around the camp which made it look like a construction site.

Our guide Chris tried really hard to find animals for us but even he could not find what is not there.

The crowning glory was the trip home where we had to leave camp before 7 to fit in with Safari Logistics schedule and then spent over 6 hours waiting around at Harare airport"
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Our return to the Selous

Tanzania between 1 Sep 2019 and 10 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed our trip immensely and were sad to leave - our guide Rama was excellent and made the whole experience memorable with his deep knowledge, great sense of humour and his obvious love of the bush and its animals & birds.

Another member of staff also deserves a mention - Jossina always had a wide smile and kind word at camp meals, bush dinners, breakfasts, in fact all the time

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

If we decide to return to Africa, your company will be our first port of call - I think that says everything"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Welcome travel break !"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"Does exactly what it says on the tin - a good overnight hotel with a nice restaurant which allows you to recuperate after tiring air travel"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

"A class bushcamp in the Selous"

6 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"This is a class camp with good facilities and very good staff working to the Asilia template.

There are a couple of small things that they could maybe change - more choice on dinner menu? - reorganize the morning coffee routine ? but really this is nitpicking and overall the camp works to a very high standard for the benefit of their guests"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team