This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Betchworth

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

Excellent

Botswana between 25 Apr 2018 and 8 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful safari and our love for Botswana is as strong as ever.

Re the camps themselves, the luxury and style we experienced at several (mainly Duba Suites and Mombo) rather eclipsed the feel of being ‘in the bush’. We prefer something more simple - less luxury and less grand accommodation. Therefore we may head off next time to Zambia or Tanzania.

We presume the companies owning the camps are marketing the USA market and that the luxury is designed to attract many first timers who would otherwise not visit. Quite a few guests we met were Americans who had not been to Africa before and just wanted to ‘tick off’ the big five. And not interested in birds or trees/plants. There is a danger of a Disneyland type situation."

San Camp

San Camp

"Brilliant time at this camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Beautiful setting and camp lovely.

At present the tent accom is lit by lamps, which is romantic and charming. However it is difficult to see clearly when sorting out possessions. There is a discussion whether they should have electricity installed. If they do, then we would like to think it would be minimal and just enough to get by, but NOT with a lot of lights/switches. We say this because we arrived late at the camp at dusk and by the time we got into the tent we could hardly see what we were doing.

The cuisine at the camp is worthy of a Michelin star. Staff charming. We had a great time with Alejandra (camp manager)
Miss B, Danica and Lego. Harold our guide was first class."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Gomoti Plains Camp great location"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2018
"For us this camp was too large. For the three days we were with a foursome in the vehicle who were obviously not expecting two more and were not welcoming, so that put a little edge on our stay. The heads of the camp were very friendly and pleasant, particularly Ponche and Julia, who was American and sort of volunteering. We felt some of the serving staff were not really enjoying their job - perhaps because of the size of the camp. We didn’t like the grey bed linen, which also seemed rather worn.

We had a delightful evening dinner away from the camp and obviously a lot of effort had been put into this.

The food was not as plentiful and varied as most of the camps we have been to in the past. We didn’t like the communal main room/lounge, which seemed cramped for the numbers and was cafe style with overly simple furniture. Breakfasts and lunches were adequate rather than being memorable.

The guide TK was excellent. Really went out of his way to find what we hoped to see."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

"Total luxury at Duba Plains Suites"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2018
"We were upgraded to The Suites and were totally spoiled.

Very impressed with all aspects of the camp which is very well run.

Our guide Mots was excellent. He put himself out to show us as much as possible."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

"Very enjoyable stay."

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2018
"This camp was run by the delightful Megan and Sean and was more the type of camp we have been used to from past safaris, giving us more of a feeling of being in Africa in the bush, which is what we prefer.

However this does not mean it was at all downmarket. The quality of the meals was very good and the accommodation excellent.

Our guide Emanuel went out of his way to find our ‘favourites’ in the wildlife world."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

"Amazing camp and safari"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"An amazing camp and a superb wildlife experience.

Our guide Sefe was first class.

Food worthy of a Michelin star. The camp manager, Will, was charming, as were all the staff with whom we came in contact.

We particularly loved the lunch by water near the camp, complete with elephants passing by."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

brilliant all round

Tanzania between 16 Jul 2016 and 27 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We'd recommend this entire trip to everyone, despite the cost! Highlight was Mahale National Park and Greystoke. Selous we were very impressed with, regarding the amount of wildlife we saw. Location of the camp excellent but we'd choose a smaller camp in future."

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

"only one night so no firm view"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2016
"Only spent one night at camp so difficult to have a firm opinion. Location by small river disappointing as river dried up. In fact Ruaha very dry and wildlife seemed much less than the last time we were there, though that was a different time of year. However as only spent a short time there perhaps not fair to have the above comment!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chada Camp

Chada Camp

"great"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"Camp brilliantly run, very atmospheric and in a great location. Staff a pleasure to be with."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Greystoke Mahale

Greystoke Mahale

"wonderful"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"This place has to be heaven on earth. Just wonderful in every way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Siwandu

Siwandu

"very good"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"Camp very well run and everything very good, particularly the guiding. Camp large and very spaced out, so a lot of walking to get to reception and dining. Too big a camp for our liking and more of a hotel feel than intimate camp, but nevertheless it was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Brilliant safari and holiday

Botswana and 1 other country between 18 Jul 2014 and 31 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Could not have been better. Had a wonderful time.
Thanks to Chloe for all the hard work she put in sorting out the logistics/dates and all her friendly emails.

Very impressed with &Beyond as we can't recall having been at one of their camps before. Good to mix Wilderness
and &Beyond.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. Expert Africa the tops."

Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"very convenient for Vic Falls"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2014
"Good location and friendly staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

"good choice with lovely staff"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"The Chef should be at a 5 star London hotel. Fabulous food.

Lovely staff and great spot covering mini safaris, river and The Falls. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

"only one night but very pleasant"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"only one night but very enjoyable, although food at boma (local) not cooked properly"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

"great place and great safari"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Enjoyed the company of Philly - fun manager from Kwazulu"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

"peaceful and beautiful location"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"So glad we had the one night at Jacana with super boat trip there from Tubu.

Very relaxing place and small - which we like."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Wonderful all round"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2014
"Feel Little Vumburu could not be bettered. We love the watery location and boat trips. Good consistent game viewing too.

Great staff and well run camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Sandibe Luxury Mobile Safari

"Great experience"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"Had a great time. & Beyond certainly looked after us. Great camaderie between staff with lots of singing to greet and say goodbye. The last night the whole camp came together for a singsong and dance. Food was wonderful. Different from Wilderness as no buffet or choice, but great meals and some BBQ meals. Male chef was hilarious.

They run an excellent camp and we just hope they keep it going, despite the building of the main camp, which we visited and would NOT like to stay in (too modern for us and not such a pretty location). Champagne in our room the last night. They could not have done more to make our stay memorable. Only hiccup (teething problem) was hot water, which was to order and then in short supply, but they will rectify that we are sure and even if they didn't we would go back again if the camp still there! Most highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team