This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp

Reviews of Gomoti Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Gomoti Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 37 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Gomoti Plains Camp.
Lion

95% success

Leopard

54% success

Cheetah

42% success

Wild dog

28% success

Buffalo

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

97% success

Wildebeest

94% success

Spotted Hyena

26% success

White Rhino

25% success

Eland

21% success

Roan antelope

21% success

Sable antelope

11% success

Aardvark

6% success

Black Rhino

6% success

Pangolin

3% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G.
Egham

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2023
"Gomoti Plains was different in some respects to Lagoon and Splash which we had visited earlier on our trip. It was owned by a different company and just recently had changed manager. Overall it was our favourite and whilst service at all of the camps was excellent this one just slightly went above and I think this was in no small part to the new managers who are clearly trying hard to excel.

Evening meals were different in location and nature every night and the bush dinner (on Saturdays) was special with a male lion roaming around. The rooms are in large tents which were very well maintained and quite well spread along the river away from the main building. Wildlife was close by and lions leopards and elephants all came close to our tent.

The game drives were all good, although no trackers here so not quite as adventurous. Having said that, the boat trip and mokoro trips were really excellent. Wildlife highlights included a leopard and cheetah fighting over a kill, seeing a goliath heron on a nest and zebra attacking a pack of wild dogs.

The rhino that were here have been relocated however due to disease concerns" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

MR & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2023
"We loved Gomoti Plains - such a nice camp, and the staff were so friendly, like a big happy family.

The food was amazing - probably the best out of all our trip. And the drinks (including branded spirits) were all included.

Wildlife often came through the camp - in fact, elephants held us hostage in our tent a couple of times, as they seemed to love the leaves just outside - a very special experience!

The tent was also really nice - a bit nippy on the windy night, as the velcro sides didn't stay fastened, but all part of the experience, and a 'breather' after some very hot days.

We did a mokoro trip - that was nice to see things from a different perspective, and always good to try something new.

Sadly there were no rhinos in the area - our guide told us that they had been moved to a different part of the country a few years ago. Had we known that, we would have booked to go somewhere else, as trying to spot rhinos (albeit always a low chance) was the main reason for our holiday.

As a tip for others, we didn't really need any non-safari clothes, as we went to meals straight after the game drives." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr W & Ms W + kids
NL

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2023
"Very similar to Machabe in terms of rooms and facilities, so very nice as well. It did seem like there was maybe a bit too much staff, especially for the first days when the camp wasn't very busy.

Our guide Oracle was excellent as well and we were quite lucky with some sightings.

Bush dinner on our last night was really special." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2022
"Gomoti is in a lovely setting with the tents well-spaced out to ensure privacy. Watching wildlife from the deck proved a very tempting alternative to an afternoon siesta!

The tents were very spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. This was the first time we had stayed in a camp with the benefits of round-the-clock electricity thanks to solar panels and battery arrays.

The staff were lovely and so helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
Epsom

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"An excellent camp to start off our safaris.

We love tented camps and the views were outstanding, as were the wildlife viewings.

A well-run camp with a good feel to it." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr I C
Great Dunmow

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2022
"My husband, son and I had the most amazing time, everything was perfect: the camp was luxurious and the food cooked by Ouna and her team was something we looked forward to every day (as well as the glass of wine around the large campfire at night with our fellow guests). The staff were wonderful and we really did feel like a part of the family - nothing was too much trouble. However it was the wildlife itself we could not believe it when we were met on arrival at the airstrip by 3 giraffes, two minutes later we literally bumped into a heard of elephants at the watering hole and had an encounter with a teenage bull (and we had not even reached the camp!). The best was still to come and it is difficult to pick out the highlight - the 3 young male lions we tracked twice on the first morning or the night when two older male lions came roaring their challenge to the younger ones to give up their territory or the two lionesses casually walking past the side of the truck. For me it was our encounter with 3 separate leopards (one we spent almost 30 minutes with) and my first sight of a Jackal. Our guide Carl was knowledgeable, easy going and would go to great lengths to make sure we saw everything we wanted and as close up as possible.
Thanks the Calder family - you created memories that will stay with us for ever." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2022
"We had a hiccup at the start of our visit to Gomoti Plains when we were unable to land at the airstrip. What could have been a disaster became an unexpected highlight of our trip. MackAir were amazing and within an hour we had landed at Maun and were airborne in a private helicopter on our way to camp. This camp is a community run concession and the staff were both professional and friendly. The food was delicious and the staff entertainment was enthusiastic and extremely entertaining. We saw lions, lions and more lions. Three brothers were resident on the concession and one was engaged in a romance during our visit affording us all much entertainment. The other two brothers paid us a visit in camp and ran across our path as we made our way for lunch. Our excellent guide was extremely knowledgeable and always managed to find us an interesting sighting including a female cheetah and her three cubs." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms B
Arizona

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2022
"Beautiful location and camp.

Safari drives and boat trip on the river were all exciting and we saw a lot of wildlife and bird species. The staff was exceptional.

Safari tent rooms were huge and fancy. Nice placement of tents and nice family style dinners.

Animals were close to us throughout the day and nights." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr R
Florida

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2021
"We were in the family tent and that was fabulous. My daughter was quite ecstatic, two really large beds on each end and a small sofa, easy chair and table in the middle.

We were greeted by the manager, Onyx. He was great! If we had a request he would handle it immediately.

We had to have a nurse fly in to give us a Covid test and he made sure that they emailed him the results so that he could print them and give them to us to ensure that we would have the results.

The only negative was our guide. He had some trouble finding the animals. We had three instances which were very disappointing, one of which was a lion kill that he said was only vultures over some old bones and did not try to go see for sure. The other guide found the kill." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

The Bosun
Falmouth

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2020
"Excellent facilities in a wonderful location with outstanding staff made this an unforgettable experience that will long be savoured.

The facilities were pitched perfectly for a visit to the Okavango, anything else would have been 'over the top'. The game viewing was excellent (and we visited out of season).

No hesitation in commending this for anyone that wants an excellent safari experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

9 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 38
93%
38 reviews of Gomoti Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
7
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (220 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (86 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (77 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (76 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Shinde Footsteps

Shinde Footsteps

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (45 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (36 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (9 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


90% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (2 reviews)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Karangoma

Karangoma

New for 2024, Karangoma is a classic, tented camp offering walking, canoeing and game drives, in partnership with the local Bukakwe San clan.


No reviews yet
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Sitatunga Private Island: in this pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, even the name is evocative.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa