This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp

Reviews of Gomoti Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Gomoti Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Gomoti Plains Camp.
Lion

93% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

39% success

Wild dog

28% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

93% success

White Rhino

32% success

Spotted Hyena

30% success

Roan antelope

23% success

Eland

19% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

8% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 1-10 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
The Bosun
Falmouth

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2020
"Excellent facilities in a wonderful location with outstanding staff made this an unforgettable experience that will long be savoured.

The facilities were pitched perfectly for a visit to the Okavango, anything else would have been 'over the top'. The game viewing was excellent (and we visited out of season).

No hesitation in commending this for anyone that wants an excellent safari experience. " See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

9 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mssrs RMN/AT
London

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2019
"our first camp, and an excellent guise, Carl. We had only one other person with us on the vehicle for part of our stay, so that was a bonus, and Carl was keen on the birds and very accommodating to us.

The accommodation was good, but in the heat we missed a ceiling fan as opposed to a standing fan. The place was very quiet. The game was excellent and we were very lucky to see cheetah at close range. Also porcupine and honey badger birth by day and by night.

Excellent lion viewings close to the camp, with seven young cubs" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 7n in Botswana; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Wiljo
Norfolk

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round - accommodation, catering (too much food!) and guiding. Staff at Camp were especially hospitable.

Unfortunately, a wildfire which swept through the area earlier in the season has destroyed many of the trees (although regeneration is evident) and the lagoon in front of Camp had long since dried up as a result of the unprecedented dry conditions. This possibly affected the amount of wildlife activity directly around the Camp itself although quiet observation with binoculars revealed a fair bit of game passing through, including a family of kudu coming to the swimming pool to drink! The Gomoti river, although low was still flowing and inevitably, there was much more of interest around the water, both plains game and birds. It was still possible to experience the river by mokoro and we would highly recommend this activity to experience the different perspective offered.

The daily formula consisted of morning and afternoon game drives. The latter merged with a night drive for the last hour or so on the way back to camp after dark. Guides in different vehicles were in constant communication with one another to alert colleagues to interesting sightings. One one occasion, this enabled us to locate a pair of cheetahs and later on, we watched them hunting impala (unsuccessfully)." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Oxon

"Excellent stay at Gomoti Plains camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2019
"We had a brilliant time at Gomoti Plains, seeing plentiful wildlife. We were lucky to have Lister and the safari vehicle to ourselves.

The bush dinner was a lovely surprise. The back of house tour with Natasha was very interesting.

We had many sightings of cheetah, leopard and lion, and also 2 honey badgers early in the morning running across the path on our way to breakfast, and 2 porcupine" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S & Mrs S
UK

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"Amazing! We were so lucky. We saw in 3 days what the guides say occurs quite rarely.

Lots of lions, leopards, cheetahs, and all the rest....

The camp was excellent, and appeared to be well run, with a lot of very happy staff.

Our guide Luckym was superb. Viewings were paced to suit us and we liked to watch and observe over many minutes rather than snap and move on. No negatives. Everything was perfect." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr&Mrs B
Wensleydale

"Gomoti Plains, excellent wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Luckym our guide here was very good. We were again very fortunate and had all game drives to ourselves. On the drive to the camp we saw wild dogs resting in the shade of a tree. They moved a few hundred yards and then resettled. We saw the same pack later that afternoon as well as many herds of common animals. The highlight for my husband was the porcupine and honey badger we saw, after dark, returning from the game drive. The moroko trip was very good with Chief and Gringo.

Animals were close to camp and a group of elephants walked right beside our tent one afternoon. Lions had killed a zebra close to one of the guide's room's the night before we arrived. At the start and end of each activity we watched the 2 females and their 8 young cubs eating the kill. Luckym explained the behaviour of the animals. The adult moving the kill under the shade of the tree so it was cooler and out of sight of other animals and covering the blood on the ground with sand, again to deter other animals.

The accommodation was good but we prefer to have a mosquito net and/or solid doors to prevent insects in the room and avoid use of sprays. Due to the lack of water there was no water channel in front of the lodge.We were unsure why one couple each evening were seated at a separate table. We felt we were isolated and would have preferred if we had been asked if we wanted to sit separately." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

FunOnly
Calgary

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
"Gomoti Plains Camp has been adversely affected by the multi-year drought. The area around the camp had no water in the pan that limited the number of sightings in the camp. The accommodation tents were the least luxurious on out trip to Botswana and Namibia. The tents were closed by flaps rather than a glass door so were very cold and noisy when the winds came up. The staff should have anticipated the adverse weather and preemptively closed the outside tent flaps before dark and the guest outside curfew.

The facilities at the lodge need attention, the internet was a joke, we were never able to get online. The swimming pool had green algae so were only used by the monkeys to drink from. The water was vey cold and it could easily be connected to a solar heated hot water system that would make it much more usable. The curio shop is tucked away in a separate tent and was never open even when advised by the staff that it would have bee. The electricity in the tent failed the first night for no obvious reason. A better internet service with WiFi in the tents along with a USB charging station would be a significant improvement. We also had some issue with linen in the tents.

Elephants roam the camp and were seen within 10 feet of the tents. There were two lion kills within 200 meters of the campsite so it is mandatory that the guides escort guests to their tents after dark. The water levels were so low that the motorized boat was unable to operate. The mokoro ride was disappointing with regards to wild life sightings. The boats are very unstable and we almost capsized. If i had it to do again I would leave my expensive camera at the lodge and take my waterproof camera with a change of dry clothes for the trip, OR I may skip it all together and sit in the pool (it had better water quality).

The highlight of the visit was the excellent and professional guide, Listor whom we had for the 3 days. He was able to show us the majority of the wildlife except Leopard, Cheetah and Rhino.

We enjoyed the family style dining with staff members present as we were able learn more about the daily lives and concerns of the local people. We would not return to this camp unless we were certain that the water levels were high enough to flood the areas close to the camp.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr Mitchell
Weybridge

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"Wonderful to sit and watch "Africa" come to you from you room. Shame about the area in front having been burned - but doesn't really detract from the magic." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Paula
Atlanta

"wonderful experience"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"Camp is beautiful and very private. Not other camps around which was nice. Very comfortable. Great sightings." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R.
Wadhurst

"Excellent staff and food at Gomoti Plains"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"Surprisingly, the camp was only half full beginning September. The staff were delightful, helpful and polite. The manager, Onx, was much in evidence helping and chatting to guests, as was the (deputy?) manager Ponchee. Food was excellent and abundant. Dinner was served at a long table in the open, outside the main dining area despite the adjacent small river/stream being dried up. Breakfast and brunch were served at individual tables in the dining area and some guests had individual tables at dinner. This could be rather 'cliquey'

Accommodation was in elaborate and comfortable tented units on wooden platforms which lacked nothing inside. Nevertheless, we preferred the sliding doors at the previous camps to having to unzip and zip-up the tent door. No mosquitos encountered. The tent had socket outlets for both a variety of worldwide plug types and also S. African 3 round pin plugs as well as USB plugs. By taking a UK plug to S. African round pin socket adapter, we were able to simultaneously utilise these 2 sockets to charge 2 gadgets.. Unlike other camps, staff were willing to wash our 'smalls'.

The only camp of 4 visited to just have a guide but no tracker. We found the guide + tracker model far superior.

Aborted a mokoro ride to rush to a rhino sighting, only for the rhino to disappear into an impenetrable thicket seconds before our arrival, not to be seen again! Having only seen small groups of buffalo at the previous 3 camps, we were pleased to twice see, and drive through, very large herds of them. Another mokoro trip was enjoyable although the hippos all remained in the water with only their nostrils showing above. The highlight was seeing a lioness with 4 one month old cubs catching a warthog to feed the cubs.

Able to download emails both at the 'internet desk' and in our tent but more ambitious internet access was not possible." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 29
92%
29 reviews of Gomoti Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
6
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa