This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr W & Ms W + kids from NL

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

11

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

78

Excursions taken

0

Namibia, Zimbabwe and Botswana 2023

Namibia and 2 other countries between 14 Jul 2023 and 7 Aug 2023

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a fantastic trip and we have made many great memories.

We hope to do many such trips in the future."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

"Weinberg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2023
"For what it is - a stopover in the city after our flight - it was excellent.

Very convenient to have so many dining options within the area. And Olivia's was a highlight for lunch.

Also convenient that there was an ATM on the premise."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2023
"As a lodge it was nothing spectacular, but the location and especially the fact that you can leave early and return late made it special.

I do think that by leaving early in the dark you kind of miss the views on the drive up to Sossusvlei, which normally gives you great views of the dunes already. But to be in Deadvlei before the masses arrive and really watch the sun rise over the dunes there, is a unique experience.

We also really enjoyed going to Elim dune for the sunset. Something we've skipped on previous trips as it's much less convenient to do that when staying outside of the park."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Apartments

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2023
"We stayed in the Moringa Gardens Apartment, so not in the main lodge. The apartment was really nice and spacious and had everything we could have asked for. It gave us a chance to do some laundry and also to eat in. It really felt like a nice home away from home.

Breakfast was still served at the main lodge and that was only a few hundred meters away. In general everything was conveniently close by.

One small thing was regarding the garage we had at the appartment. On the first day the gate wasn't working, but this was quickly fixed. But then we found out that our 4x4 only barely fit inside the garage. It wasn't really a problem as it did still fit, and otherwise there would have been plenty of parking space on the street."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2023
"We've stayed here before and knew it would be a highlight. And it really lived up to expectations.

Dinner on the roof under the stars was really special. The singing after dinner was a particular highlight for our son, who did not expect it and was completely blown away.

There was some confusion regarding activities. We were told a few times that a guide would come to meet us after checkin, but that didn't really happen. It didn't matter as we intended to do most of our activities on our own anyway, but it sounded like maybe they are more used to bookings including activities.

We did in the end go on an organised drive to find to desert elephants, which was great (and successfull)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2023
"We stayed in one of the Premier Waterhole Chalets, but were unfortunate in the one assigned to us. It is still great to be able to view the waterhole from your own balcony, but this one had quite a few trees in front of it.

In terms of wildlife Etosha was a bit disappointing this trip. Based on previous trips we had expected to see a bit more. Not only the spectacular animals, but even general game seemed to be hiding a bit. We had quite a few drives where we drove from one empty waterhole to the next empty waterhole. The only waterhole that seemed to consistently deliver was the one in camp!

Services and food in the camp was never really a highlight here, but seems to have gotten a bit worse. We used to like the kiosk where you could get a quick sandwhich for lunch, but that has closed. Also dinner is no longer a buffet, but rather a very limited menu. On our first night it was quite busy and we ended up with pretty much cold food, when we were finally served."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2023
"We really liked the family tent here. Very cosy and comfortable. Food was excellent here as well, even though the first night it took very long before it was served. The marshmellows on our second night were a highlight for our kids.

There was one issue - not really any fault of Mushara - but at the gate after leaving Etosha after our last morning drive, they insisted that if you sleep outside the park your permit is somehow not valid for 24 hours as normal, but only until you leave the park on the night before. In the end they did let us leave, but it left a bit of bad taste. Perhaps good to know that such discussions can occur if you stay outside the park."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View Lodge

"Cheetah View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2023
"We didn't really know what to expect from this stop, and only really chose it because our daughter loves cheetah's and did would at least guarantee she would see them. But it was much nicer than we expected.

The museum was really nice and the cheetah run in the morning was quite spectacular. Also going on an afternoon drive on the nearby reserve (not in the cheetah areas) was also quite nice, even though the wildlife as a bit skittish. And there was also a lot we didn't even have time to see and experience.

The room itself was also quite nice and spacious. We had a bit of a view over a small waterhole where we saw some birdlife and a jackal. The food was quite nice and the staff very friendly."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

"Weinberg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2023
"Even though it was just a stop in the city before our flight, we were actually looking forward to it.

Specifically because of the lunch at Olivia's and even more specifically because of the chocolate milkshakes.

Aside from that this was again a very convenient place to stay."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2023
"Nice rooms in a convenient location to visit the falls. Food at the lodge was really nice as well. Also very easy to book activities from the reception and these were always well organised.

One small thing concerned the swimming pool. It looked real nice and was very cool on a hot day. But they seem to put something strange in there, because it caused some skin irritation and really hurt if you got even a drop in your eyes."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

"Machaba Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2023
"We really loved it here and could have stayed forever.

The enormous family-tent was really amazing and everything was organised really well.

The gamedrives with guide Moss where really good as well."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2023
"Very similar to Machabe in terms of rooms and facilities, so very nice as well. It did seem like there was maybe a bit too much staff, especially for the first days when the camp wasn't very busy.

Our guide Oracle was excellent as well and we were quite lucky with some sightings.

Bush dinner on our last night was really special."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Namibia & Kgalagadi

Namibia and 1 other country between 15 Jun 2018 and 9 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a great trip with lots of very different highlights.

It was also great to share it with the kids.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, thank you for everything."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Nice stopover"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2018
"Nice, spacious chalet with a lovely view of the surrounding bush.

Service was very friendly, nice with the kids as well. Good food."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"Very nice room at Mata Mata"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2018
"We especially liked the room we had, with a lovely patio overlooking the waterhole (with cheetah's on the first evening). Travelling with small children it was nice that we could self cater here.

The park was a bit hit and miss. Sometimes we would see nothing at all and then suddenly a leopard or a hunting lion. The fact that there was only one road meant it felt like pure luck when we would encounter something (rather than a result of our spotting skills)."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Good time at Twee Rivieren"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"Lovely room, a bit away from the others, giving us some privacy.

One small issue was that one of the bedrooms had a resident bat.
The kids found it mighty interesting that the bat would poop on their beds, but didn't want to share the room with it.
Otherwise, the chalet was fine."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Fine stopover in Central Lodge"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2018
"The lodge is located very centrally in Keetmanshoop, which makes it easy to do some shopping.
Otherwise, it was a bit basic, but the service was very friendly."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Good time at Canyon Roadhouse"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2018
"Great lodge to visit with small children. They were constantly looking at all the old cars.

The rooms were very nice. There is the possibility of doing a short walk up a hill, which is nice with sunset.

It is also very close to Fish River Canyon."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"Unusual stopover in Helmeringhausen"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2018
"We had a separate house from the main lodge, which was nice as it gave us a lot of privacy and our own garden and parking area. The room was very spacious.

It was a bit odd that there were no cups or glasses in the house at all and we could only get them (along with everything you'd need to self cater) with a deposit.
In general the amount of warnings on the walls of the lodge suggested that they don't really trust their guests.

Despite this the service was really friendly and the food lovely. We also enjoyed the short walk up a hill behind the lodge to enjoy the sunset."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Lovely time at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2018
"Very nice rooms and great service. The view over the dunes was marvellous.

The access road was a bit longer than we expected.

We didn't go on any organized activities (quite expensive and not ideal with small children), but the lodge is conveniently located to visit the dunes yourself."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Great time at Sandfields"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2018
"It's a very small lodge which gives it a very intimate feeling. It's nicely located in a quiet area of Swakopmund.

The owners are very friendly, and all the tips we received on arrival were usefull."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Very nice walks at Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2018
"We really enjoyed the walking here.

The guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. Beautiful area and very nice rooms.

The staff was very friendly."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great time in our Premier Waterhole Chalet"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2018
"We knew what to expect and it lived up to those expectations.

The room (Premier Waterhole Chalet) was very spacious and of course had a great view of the waterhole."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Enjoyable time at Halali"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2018
"The room (bush chalet) was fine, if a bit far from the waterhole."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Good time at Onguma"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2018
"We had a lovely room connected to the souvenir shop. The gardens are very nice and have a lot seed pods for the kids to collect.

The food was very good. Our son also really like the 'play room'.

Being outside the park is slightly inconvenient with small children as you have to cut your gamedrives at bit short to be at the lodge at a sensible time (for the kids)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Nice finish at Indongo"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2018
"The room was a bit of a challenge with the four of us (including a 2 and 4 year old) and no separate bedrooms.

Otherwise, everything was great."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

A really special family trip

South Africa between 10 Nov 2017 and 26 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was amazing, easily one of the best trips we've ever been on.

The fact that we could do it with our small kids made it all the more special, and it was certainly a lot easier than we expected/feared.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

This trip has really made us interested other parts of South Africa as well.

It would be great if you could expand your coverage of the country. Perhaps in 2019 we can help you 'test' some lodges :)"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Great start at Vineyard"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2017
"We really enjoyed our stay here.

The garden suite we had was a bit removed from the main hotel giving us a great deal of privacy.

The kids also really enjoyed the tortoises around the property."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Lovely stay at Ocean Eleven"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2017
"The appartment was really beautiful and offered great views over the bay."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Nice stopover"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2017
"We stayed here only one night in the separate family room.

The service here was excellent, but the room was a bit small for the four of us."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House

"Super stay in Hunters"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2017
"This was one of the highlights of our trip. The staff was excellent and also great with our kids (they called the waiter, Louis, their friend).

The room was much better than we could have possibly expected with a private pool and plenty of room.

The kids also really enjoyed 'cubs corner'.

When we ask them about their trip to South Africa they still list it as one of the highlights."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Elephant House

Elephant House

"Not the best part of the trip"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2017
"This was certainly the 'worst' of the places we stayed at during our trip, but still fine for a few nights. It's actually more or less what we expected all stops to be like, but the rest just exceeded our expectations (in some cases by a lot).

The location of the lodge is fine and the room was big enough as well. We liked that there were a lot of toys for the kids to play with. This was the only stop where we encountered any bugs, but there were no mosquito nets for the kids. Our boy was stung several times on his face due to this.

The service at the lodge also has room for improvement. With the exception of Charlene at breakfast, none of the staff seemed interested in the guests. Diner was often very chaotic, whereby we once received two courses at once and nothing for the kids. Management was never around."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Perfect finish at Kwandwe Ecca"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2017
"We had an amazing time here. Everything from start to finish was perfect. The staff was very friendly, the food was great, the room was superb with it's private pool, and the gamedrives were done very professionally. Every day here was special.

In terms of game viewing this place still has something to offer even if you've been on quite a few safaris before. We expected it to be difficult to go on gamedrives with our small kids (2 & 3), but this actually went fine.

The ranger, Evan, and tracker, Sibo, were really great with them. Every day the kids looked forward to going in the safari truck with their friend Sibo."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A week in the Mara

Kenya between 16 Sep 2017 and 23 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was an amazing trip.

The Serian camps are really our type of place with a good focus on wildlife and quality guiding. We could spend ages in such camps.

We had some amazing sightings this year as well, and are again thinking about how soon we can return (probably not next year, but who knows...)."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

"Serian Nkorombo review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"We really enjoyed being back here. The focus of this camp is really where we think it should be: enjoying the great wildlife of the area in the company of great guides. We also really enjoyed the flexibilty. One day we went out for a gamedrive at 6 in the morning and only returned at 7 in the evening.

The camp is ideally located for the wildebeest migration, but when we were there most of the wildebeest had already left. Despite this we did witness several crossings. The area can be a bit busy. At one sighting of a coalition of 5 cheeta's there were at least 20 cars present. Our guides were quick to suggest we should just have a quick look and then go look for something else, with which we agreed wholeheartedly.

The camp itself is perhaps a little more basic than the main Serian camp in Mara North, but to us this only adds to the charm. And really for us it's more than luxurious enough."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Serian

Serian

"Serian review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"Driving up to Serian from Nkorombo you pass quite a few Maasai villages and cattle, but we found the wildlife in this area to be at least as good as at Nkorombo. The only difference is that there are no river crossings in Mara North, but on the other side there are far fewer other vehicles as well.

One of the great things at Serian is that when you transfer between their camps you take your guide with you. This allowed us to really get to know Shadrack and Mark quite well, and they also knew very well what we were interested in by the time we reached this camp.

The camp itself has a great atmosphere. We really got the feeling that the staff enjoy working there and have a passion for wildlife. While we were there a baby elephant got trapped by the river and separated from it's mother. The staff went out of it's way to save this elephant and eventually made arrangements to have it transferred to David Shedricks (this was after many attempts to locate the mother)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Super trip to Kenya

Kenya between 17 Sep 2016 and 27 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was an incredible trip from start to finish. We saw way more than we expected to see and experienced excellent guiding in beautiful camps. We're already considering another trip to Kenya next year.

Two very small things that could be improved:

1) On the first day we had to wait about three hours for our flight to Nanyuki. In that time we could have gotten there by car, which might have been cheaper and would have spared Ilona getting sick on the plane

2) On the last day the guide was a bit overly nervous regarding traffic in Nairobi. This left us at the airport with six hours to kill before our flight. It also meant we left Nairobi NP an hour before closing and skipped eating at a nice place before going to the airport.

Note: the above are really very small things and didn't impact our overall enjoyment of the trip at all!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None."

Feedback response

When transferring from the international airport (JKIA) to the domestic airport (Wilson), the traffic can really slow things down, so we try to leave plenty of time for this transfer. However, on occasions the journey is much quicker and this does result in travellers arriving at Wilson several hours before their safari flight. The option to have a road transfer direct from the international airport is one that we are increasingly using. On their last day, we're really sorry these travellers were taken straight to the airport after leaving the national park. They should have been taken to a a hotel for dinner, as was the agreed plan all along. While Nairobi traffic should not be underestimated, this driver seems to have got it out of proportion. We have talked to our transfer company, whose transfers are normally very well timed, to make sure they always keep abreast of current conditions.

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

"Wild dogs in Laikipia"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"We really liked the idea behind the camp, being out in the bush as much as possible and experiencing it in many different ways - not just driving. We also had really great experiences with the wild dogs, lying down next to the road and waiting for them to come sniff us. Something we'll remember for a long time!

Aside from the wild dogs we didn't find that much game. As such it doesn't feel like a prime gameviewing area. But who needs other game when you've got wild dogs anyway!"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

"Nkorombo - excellent in every way"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"Our stay here felt like the highlight of our trip. The camp location is excellent and allows you to go many different directions to find interesting things to see. We certainly had our share of luck here, with countless lion and cheeta sightings. Several crossings, a lion kill, a crocodile kill, a leopard, etc.

Despite being inside the reserve the number of cars at sightings was never a problem. The behaviour of the other vehicles was also much better than what we expected based on what we read/heard beforehand.

The camp itself is very small and intimate. We really felt at home here, rather than just guests."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serian

Serian

"Great time at Serian"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"The camp is very beautifully situated next to the river. The area directly next to the camp is a bit bushy/rocky and was usually not the area were we found our best sightings (we did see lion and leopard close to camp however).

Driving 15-20 minutes from camp we usually entered an area were anything could happen in terms of sightings. Many lions, a cheeta with cubs that hunted regularly (we saw 2 kills, another couple that was there for 4 nights also managed to see 4 kills) and lots of other exciting stuff. A night drive in this area produced an aardvark.

The standard of guiding (both here and at Nkorombo - same guides) was very high and comparable to the best guiding we've experienced in Zambia and Botswana."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great trip to Namibia

Namibia between 22 Aug 2015 and 6 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a great trip.

It was very easy to do it with a pregnant lady and a small child, and he had a great time as well.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Expert Africa's service is great as always. There are a few small things you could improve regarding travelling with (small) children. For example: after arrival in Windhoek we might have (in hindsight) preferred a lodge where we could have dinner and with the option for an early checkin. Also, the vehicle we used was a bit on the small side (everything fit, but only just).

Also, on the feedback form it would be great if you could easily switch between lodges by clicking on the name in the left side menu. Now you can only go back and forth using the 'Previous' and 'Continue' buttons, which is not so efficient if you want to add an extra comment to the first lodge."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2015
"Reception could have been warmer: we were sent away for a few hours, because we were too early (which was true). Not what we were hoping for after a night flight with a small child. Aside from this everything was fine (though they seemed more geared towards German tourists).

Room and breakfast was nice."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Great stopover"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"Very friendly staff, great for children. Great food and a very nice view from the lodge."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Great place for families"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2015
"Very friendly staff and great with children. Location is perfect for east Etosha."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Good time at Halali"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2015
"Nice spacious rooms, very private (except for the honey badgers). Friendly staff at the restaurant, reception and filling station. Good place to start gamedrives from."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Spectacular room and great service"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2015
"The premier waterhole chalet was as great as we hoped. Service was suprisingly friendly and efficient at the restaurant and reception (much better than on previous visits).

Filling station ran out of petrol for a few days. We had a wonderful time here."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Great stopover"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"Room (family room) very spacious but getting a bit old.

Friendly staff, but the restaurant does not have a child seat (they did put in extra effort to make a nice special dinner for our 1 year old). Nice walks in the area."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Namibia with our baby

Namibia between 12 Sep 2014 and 26 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great trip and some very nice memories."

Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"Nice place to stay in the city.

We travelled with a baby and on arrival there was a baby cot ready with some toys in it. We felt this was a nice touch."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2014
"The location is excellent of course. The rooms are fine and the service this time was not as bad as we experienced here before.

If you travel with a baby there is not a lot of room for the cot and the rooms are not very well isolated. We had neighbours and we're sure they knew we had a baby with us."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Etosha Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"Nice place to stay and relatively close to the park.

The rooms are very nice and the view is spectacular. The staff was very friendly."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"The tents have been upgraded since our last time here (2011) and there's a lot more room in the tents.

The atmosphere in the camp is really great."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

"Sun Karros Daan Viljoen review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"Much better than staying inside the city. Beautiful area with nice walking options. Very nice rooms.

The restaurant needs some work and the staff there is not the friendliest.

There is a braai with every room so there is a nice alternative."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"They were upgrading the rooms when we were there and we were lucky to get a room that was already done. Rooms are nice with a great view of the desert. Staff is very friendly.

We travelled with a baby and a very nice touch was that they not only supplied a cot, but also a baby tub for him to have a bath on our veranda.

He enjoyed the most luxurious bath imaginable with a view of a breath taking sunset."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"See earlier comments. [Ed: see below! ]"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Botswana and Zimbabwe, June 2013

Botswana and 1 other country between 31 May 2013 and 22 Jun 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a brilliant trip.

The only thing we might have changed on hindsight was that we wouldn't have ended in Camp Hwange, but started there. We saw significantly more in Botswana, so the change to Hwange required some adjustment on our part."

Arranged By Megan Green


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2013
"We had a great guide (Dutch) and tracker (KB) and that's all we needed. The area is great for game as there is always something going on.

The atmosphere in camp was very relaxed and friendly and even though the tents are a little dated the camp serves it's purpose just fine. We actually quite like the fact that you're still staying in something that looks like a tent as opposed to some of the other 'tented' camps."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Northern Highlights Mobile Safari with Letaka

"Another excellent mobile with Letaka"

9 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2013
"A perfect way to see the public parks of Botswana. As close to nature as possible, but still with plenty of comfort and good food.

Nkosi was the perfect guide for us. We could go on safari with Letaka forever and not get bored."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2013
"We had a good time at Lebala. We had a good guide, but at times felt he could have been a bit more enthusiastic.

In terms of game the area was a bit quiet, but still we saw plenty (wild dogs) due to the active tracking."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2013
"We very much enjoyed the fact that gamedrives in this camp where often combined with short walks to check out something interesting. We also liked the ability (and flexibility) to go on (unplanned) night drives, even after a full day out on gamedrive.

The camp is located in a nice spot overlooking a waterhole and has a very relaxed atmosphere. Especially when Dave is in camp.

The area is probably more spectacular later in the dry season as then there will be more game at the waterholes. Outside of the waterholes a large portion of the area surrounding the camp is covered in mopane."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2013
"Good location to walk to the Falls. Nice history and beautiful gardens."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Our Botswana trip in May/June 2012

Botswana between 18 May 2012 and 8 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip as a whole was great. Despite some issues we had a great time."

Arranged By Megan Green


Thamo Telele

Thamo Telele

"Nice start in Maun"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2012
"Probably the nicest place in Maun to spend a night at. Loved the walking trails on the lodge grounds.

Great food, huge tents and very friendly staff."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Northern Botswana Mobile

"Perfect camping trip with Letaka"

9 nights Arrived 20 May 2012
"We had an excellent trip. Staying in each location for three nights means you really get to know the area before you leave it.

The tents are very comfortable. Not as big as those in some of the tented camps, but you have everything you need.

Our guide, Grant, was excellent. He knew a lot about the areas we travelled in and was a very good storyteller. The staff was friendly and did a good job.

A perfect way to see the parks of Northern Botswana."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Disappointment at Lagoon camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2012
"Guiding was of an extremely low level. Vehicles kept breaking down. Management was indifferent.

The camp was beautiful though and the tents where absolutely huge and very comfortable. The food was great as well. We expected the focus to be on the guiding and the wildlife, however, and it certainly was not."
Terrible
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Nice stay in Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"The guiding was not of the level you hope for with Kwando. We did have a good time.

The camp was excellent with very comfortable tents and very friendly staff."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Little Kwara

"Perfect stay at Little Kwara"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2012
"We had a great guide, Dutch, who knew a lot about the area and was very enthusiastic about the wildlife.

The camp itself was perfect. More simplistic in style compared to Lagoon or Lebala, but this seems more fitting in the bush."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Fantastic honeymoon

Namibia and 1 other country between 2 Sep 2011 and 30 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Absolutely fantastic trip!

From start to finish everything went smooth and was great. Our best trip so far (out of seven trips to Africa).

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No idea. It's already so close to perfection."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2011
"A fine place to spend the night while in Windhoek. Conveniently close to Joe's Beerhouse and easy to reach from the airport.

Parking area can be tight if the place is full and a lot of the guests drive 4x4's.

The staff was very willing to help us with any questions or requests (e.g. stamps, checking in for flights, etc)."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"Good location from which to explore the Sossusvlei area.

The walking trail from camp is wonderful at sunset."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2011
"Fine place to spend the night in Swakopmund. Within walking distance from the beach and easy to reach from the 'highway'.

Very nice garden. Breakfast was excellent."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2011
"Beautiful place to stay. Incredible view from the main area and from the (very large) rooms.

Interesting to spend the night sleeping under the stars on the 'roll-out-of-your-room' bed."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"Unbelievable view. Very friendly staff."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"This camp probably has the best location in Etosha. It seems however that because of this some of the staff is not really motivated to make your stay here even more special.

The waterhole is fantastic and we saw lots of rhino's there at night. We also went on a night drive which proved very productive, but not quite up to the standard of guiding we're used to on night drives in Zambia (the spotlight is operated by the driver so he might miss a few things)."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"Very good camp and friendly staff. Close to the gate."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Beautiful area. A great place for walking around by yourself.

We also went on a game drive on top of the plateau. The guide was very informative and funny and we saw a lot of wildlife (much more than we expected).

While we were there the swimming pool was out of order. It didn't look like anything was done to fix it either."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"Just as good as at the start of the trip. [Ed: see their first review, below]"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"The staff and management were very friendly. Our guide (JJ) was a little bit too much focused on finding leopards. We found them on two of the three days we were there (which was nice), but sometimes we would rush past other interesting sightings (lions, hyaena's on a kill, etc.) in the hope of spotting another leopard.

The room we were assigned was supposed to be the honeymoon room, but was identical to the other chalet rooms. Each chalet is split up in two rooms, and while we were in our honeymoon room the other room of our chalet was also occupied. We could hear everything they were saying...

The rose petals in the room (all over!) were a very nice touch."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Beautiful camp in very wild surrounding.

We were not so lucky with our sightings here, but our guide Stephen was excellent."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"Just like before this was one of the best places we stayed in."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2011
"Mwaleshi lived up to expectations this time!

The guide, Greg, was a very nice guy and he knows a lot. Special is special of course."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2011
"Coming back to Tafika felt like coming back home.

We had ridiculous luck on our game drives with wild dogs everywhere (again). The guiding was excellent (Mukupa and Amon)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

More wildlife than ever

Zambia between 3 Sep 2010 and 18 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We stayed in some great places and saw more wildlife than ever before (as much leopards as on our five previous trips to Africa combined).

We met a lot of nice people, some of who we will try to stay in contact with. We will definitely return to Zambia someday. A very diverse trip!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Perhaps you should market yourself more in the rest of Europe (outside the UK). During our trip we only met British people who booked with Expert Africa. People from other countries (e.g. the Netherlands) would not immediately think of Expert Africa when looking for a travel agent, while you're definitely the best we've had so far (after many Dutch disappointments)."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Great start at Flatdogs"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2010
"We liked the atmosphere at Flatdogs a lot. The staff was very friendly and talkative and made a lot of effort to make us feel like special guests. The accommodation really made us feel at home.

Game viewing was excellent with well maintained and spacious vehicles and a wonderful guide (Yotam).

Another strong point of Flatdogs was the fact that we could eat our meals with just the two of us at whatever time we wanted."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Slightly disappointed at Luangwa River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"The accommodation was fine and as luxurious as we expected based on what we read before the trip. We really liked the sunken baths (though we didn't have a lot of time to try them). The food was fabulous and the staff was generally very friendly.

We were somewhat disappointed by the way game drives where conducted. It seemed there was a bit of a shortage of guides and/or vehicles. This meant that sometimes there were seven people in the vehicle which felt a little cramped. Also the vehicles seemed to lack some maintenance. The brakes tended to make a terrible screeching noise scaring any wildlife within sight.

On morning game drives we left the lodge a bit later than we would have wanted (perhaps this was a request of other guests?). Because we had to cross the river the game drive would start at around 7 in the morning.

We did have a great time here and saw a lot of great stuff."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Excellent Chikoko Camp"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2010
"We liked everything about this camp. It's very quiet and remote. The food, the staff, the guide (Alex), the room, everything was just perfect!

We could spend weeks here!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Relaxed atmosphere at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"The staff and the management really made us feel like part of a family right from the start when we where warmly welcomed by Heather. We felt very sad to have to leave after our three nights here.

Our guide, Mukupa, was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had a lot of fun together and saw many special things (the highlight must have been the wild dogs - third sighting at Tafika this season).

Also, seeing the Luangwa from the air in a microlight was very special. Doing so with someone who knows the area as well as John is a great privilege."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Mwaleshi, not what we expected"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2010
"We had high expectations for this camp, especially after our stay in Chikoko, which was absolutely brilliant. We expected this to be a very special ending to our trip.

However, there were a few things that were a bit disappointing:
- The guide, Gerard, seemed to be new to the area and also new to his role as guide/manager of the camp. You could tell he was a really experienced guide, but he didn't seem to feel sure of himself. He was a very nice guy, but we expected a little more after Alex (our guide at Chikoko).
- We were warned beforehand that the wildlife in the North park would be more skittish and that we would see less. Still, we were disappointed. One morning we had a six hour walk in which we saw one hippo and one puku.
- The camp was much more crowded than we had expected. It was constantly full with six to eight guests. This meant that we had to walk to the airstrip to pick up incoming guests which was a long walk in the hot sun away from the water and the wildlife. At other times we would travel by car with nine people in a car designed for a maximum of six. Also, walks are limited to a maximum of seven guests, so when the camp was full some of us had to go on a drive.

We feel that Mwaleshi can be a great and magical place to stay, but for us it was let down by an inexperienced (for the area) guide and the fact that it was fully booked during our stay."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Comfortable stay at Pioneer camp"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2010
"We just overnighted here before our flight back home. For this the camp is great.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food is great.

The management helped us check in for our flights after dinner which saved us some time at the airport the next morning."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team